RED 2

Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Jul 19, 2013
    88
    Red 2 not only delivers the action, laughs and thrills of the original — in many ways it surpasses it.
  2. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jul 17, 2013
    67
    Like its predecessor, it’s a one-joke movie; the difference is that this time around, the joke is better.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 18, 2013
    63
    The film has its charms but the end result feels like warmed-over James Bond… and not even especially good 007, at that.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jul 18, 2013
    50
    My favorite thing in the movie is the way co-star and Korean action icon Byung Hun Lee uses his feet of fury to hoist a paint can and send it flying.
  5. Reviewed by: Jamie S. Rich
    Jul 18, 2013
    50
    Willis appears to have finally grown bored of his own shtick, and Malkovich spends most of the movie looking humiliated.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Aug 3, 2013
    40
    Dean Parisot, who made the delightful Galaxy Quest, has a funnier sensibility than the first movie’s director, Robert Schwentke, but he’s still defeated by a script that’s over-complicated and under-sophisticated.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jul 17, 2013
    25
    An awfully expensive and grossly extended Cialis commercial.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43
  1. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Simply put if you are a fan of the first movie and how excellent it was done, then you will enjoy the same formula again with Red 2, its aSimply put if you are a fan of the first movie and how excellent it was done, then you will enjoy the same formula again with Red 2, its a wonder again with my attempt to understand critic reviews, I wonder how many of them purchase the same bagel, cup of coffee or meal from their favorite establishment. A movie like Red 2 needs to keep with the same formula as the first because it worked another movie that comes to mind is Taken and Taken 2, same formula used with Taken 2 and just as entertaining. Red 2 gets the job done even with a few scenes of absurdity, but coolness blended in, the movie is entertaining. Go See it. Collapse
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    great action and interplay with a awesome cast...fun date night movie....both my wife and I liked it. the line play between the characters gotgreat action and interplay with a awesome cast...fun date night movie....both my wife and I liked it. the line play between the characters got laughs from the crowd throughout the movie Expand
  3. May 13, 2014
    8
    In 2010, DC Comics introduced the world to one of it's lesser known series, R.E.D. (Retired Extremely Dangerous). What I loved about that filmIn 2010, DC Comics introduced the world to one of it's lesser known series, R.E.D. (Retired Extremely Dangerous). What I loved about that film was that it took old school action stars and put them into a modern action movie. The expectations for action movies are much higher today, no longer are they just chases, explosions, and gun fights. Today, people expect action films to have some kind of story, characters with personality, and even some humor. RED delivered all that and more and so does it sequel. Even though there are some bigger names in RED's second installment, the humor didn't play as big a role as it did previously and the story moved a lot faster. To some, this may have been a good thing, but for me, too much happened too quickly. I liked it better when we didn't know the characters or what to expect from them, when things were explained, and not just delved into. The first film made RED seem very original, but it's sequel really does play like a story that was adapted from a comic. Don't get me wrong though, while the second film doesn't compare to the first, it is still far better than some of the other action films released lately. You really can't go wrong in having an action film that stars Bruce Willis and John Malkovich, they seem to just be oblivious to the signs of aging and are as believable today as they were in their prime. Alone, this pair would have been terrific, but you add true legends of the screen like Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirran to the cast, and honestly, I don't see how any movie fan would want to miss that! The acting is terrific and the story, while proceeding much too quickly, was still a pretty interesting one. I did really enjoy RED 2, my only wish is that they had slowed things down a little and let us catch our breathe. Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2015
    7
    Red 2 is a great sequel that recaptures the stupid, dumb fun of the original. So if you happened to like RED, then RED 2 will certainlyRed 2 is a great sequel that recaptures the stupid, dumb fun of the original. So if you happened to like RED, then RED 2 will certainly satisfy. If you didn't like the first movie, however, RED 2 will also suffer the same fate. I had fun and Anthony Hopkins was a blast! Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2015
    6
    Bottom line: I didn’t expect much from Red 2 and I wasn’t disappointed; it is funny at times and is, overall, a pleasant enough movie.

    I
    Bottom line: I didn’t expect much from Red 2 and I wasn’t disappointed; it is funny at times and is, overall, a pleasant enough movie.

    I didn’t see Red because I was never the biggest fan of movies where the kick is that older people are doing things typically associated with younger people. I will say that I would rather see old people in a film than children. Both groups make snarky comments but I feel like once you reach a certain age, it is fine. I was pleasantly surprised by Red 2. It’s funny here and there and it isn’t really trying to be anything more than a comic book movie. It isn’t too stylized but it isn’t too realistic. “Stylized,” mind you, isn’t inherently bad but is when executed poorly. I suppose anything could be bad but it’s the difference between Kill Bill and Baytown Outlaws.

    Red 2 is about a bunch of retired CIA (MI6, KGB, etc.) agents going back into action to track down a missing Cold War super-weapon before it falls into villainous hands. I liked each of the characters. I was a little wary of Mary-Louise Parker. She teetered on annoying but she was sympathetic enough to not make me hate her.

    The humor in Red 2 is a lot like the following joke:
    Two hunters are out in the woods when one of them collapses. He doesn't seem to be breathing and his eyes are glazed. The other guy whips out his phone and calls the emergency services. He gasps, "My friend is dead! What can I do?" The operator says "Calm down. I can help. First, let's make sure he's dead." There is a silence, then a gun shot is heard. Back on the phone, the guy says "OK, now what?"

    There is something matter-of-fact about the violence which intertwines with the humor. “It’s been months since you’ve killed anyone, Frank,” says Marvin (Malkovich). “That’s a good thing, Marvin,” Frank responds.

    One thing I thought was kinda funny was the word choice. If you recall Live Free or Die Hard using ‘technical buzzwords’ like “download”, Red 2 uses the word “Internet”: “Ever since that document was put on the Internet....” and “There’s no way to take down the list after it was posted on Wikileaks on the Internet.”

    A driving subplot is the relationship between Willis and Louis-Parker. He is a former operative and she is a former phone operator for the Social Security Administration office. Much like the rest of the movie, it isn’t tense or drawn out. It provides opportunity for quick little jokes such as the scene where John Malkovich (another retired CIA hitman) and Byung Hun Lee (the world’s best hitman) give relationship advice to Bruce Willis. I can imagine how having three hitmen talk about feelings might not seem worth a sequel, but it is. Instead of adding stupid jokes Red 2 let’s silly little situations speak for themselves. This is to say that Red 2 generally shows restraint, which I appreciate.

    Overall, I’d recommend Red 2 for a Sunday matinee kind of thing. It could make for a cute date movie. It isn’t the best movie ever in any respect but it was good enough for me to want to see the original some time.
    Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2013
    6
    As far a sequels go, the usually don't work so well. This one surprisingly works. Grant it it's no "The Dark Knight" but for a movie likeAs far a sequels go, the usually don't work so well. This one surprisingly works. Grant it it's no "The Dark Knight" but for a movie like this, it's fun and enjoyable. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" and let me know what you think. Overall it's a fun popcorn movie to watch on a Saturday night. Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    0
    Lazy, stupid, boring, and unfunny. What is going on with the state of movies these days? Have we forgotten everything about how to make aLazy, stupid, boring, and unfunny. What is going on with the state of movies these days? Have we forgotten everything about how to make a decent movie? I'm thinking this must be made for very stupid children.
    How about adding some suspense, by not mixing the emotional tone of the movie every damn 2 minutes. Funny, serious, funny, serious, funny, serious, angry, funny and so on. If you mix this with the totally unbelievable conversations, that sound sooo rehearsed, you have a freakin recipe for disaster.
    Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Trailers