Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: November 21, 2012
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 173 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
45
Negative:
77
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
KadeemluvmusicNov 25, 2012
I love the original Patrick Swayze version of Red Dawn, it was one of the best 80's movies that we certainly don't have time for a reboot. The new version starring a Hunger Games star and an Avengers star is pretty much says it. After a longI love the original Patrick Swayze version of Red Dawn, it was one of the best 80's movies that we certainly don't have time for a reboot. The new version starring a Hunger Games star and an Avengers star is pretty much says it. After a long period of delays since MGM (the movie's former company) headed for turbulance. And even bankruptcy, they should've released it when Sony acquired the rights to the troubled studio. Red Dawn is nearly half as bad as the floppy reboot Total Recall, so I thought it was gonna be called "Crap Dawn" or "Turkey Dawn." Jennifer Grey (the original Dirty Dancer) could send a message to the late Patrick Swayze that the director who is responsible for the remake is making a fool out of himself making a stupid idea to remake Red Dawn. I already got the movie on VHS, sadly I retired the tape and wait for the Blu-Ray release. Reboots are nothing more than con artists and so does the Red Dawn reboot. A terrible, indulgent, and as Joe Biden said in the Democratic debate that I've never heard that "Malarkey" word, but it's incredible. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
0
oliver1hFeb 20, 2013
North Korea attacks The U.S. A. This is the point where you should stop considering watching this teen fantasy movie! Some untrained kids from the local town later form a resistance group, and fight back the highly trained and fanaticizedNorth Korea attacks The U.S. A. This is the point where you should stop considering watching this teen fantasy movie! Some untrained kids from the local town later form a resistance group, and fight back the highly trained and fanaticized N.K. soldiers! Honestly I can not say how dumb that is... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
CameronmorganDec 8, 2012
Worst movie I have seen. Bad acting, bad plot, bad directing, and so on. Please do not waste your hard earned money or your precious time on this garbage. It's BAD!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
BrianMcCriticMar 9, 2013
Another pointless remake that should have never been made. The 1984 version has a story that's compelling because you have kids that are put through the worst circumstances, that ends up bringing two brothers together. In this one all theAnother pointless remake that should have never been made. The 1984 version has a story that's compelling because you have kids that are put through the worst circumstances, that ends up bringing two brothers together. In this one all the kids look like they just got out of the shower while just being in a bloody battle and you just don't care about the brothers relationship at all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
newtee2Nov 24, 2012
Absolutely disgusting. Nothing short of a pathetic excuse of a remake that does not live up to it's original. Patrick Swayze would roll in his grave if he knew how much of a disgrace this movie was. The plot makes very little sense, and isAbsolutely disgusting. Nothing short of a pathetic excuse of a remake that does not live up to it's original. Patrick Swayze would roll in his grave if he knew how much of a disgrace this movie was. The plot makes very little sense, and is overly patriotic. It is almost like they gathered inspiration from the awful video game Homefront. Do not waste your money. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
ShutUpJustDieNov 24, 2012
"Oh how the mighty have fallen." That is a phrase that you will repeat quite a bit if you've watched the original Red Dawn and maybe even played the video game Homefront before watching this. The movie is a gigantic rush job, which is a"Oh how the mighty have fallen." That is a phrase that you will repeat quite a bit if you've watched the original Red Dawn and maybe even played the video game Homefront before watching this. The movie is a gigantic rush job, which is a shame, as I'm pretty sure the original writer seems to have made the trio of American invasion movies/game, as the style is distinctly that of the original. The only problem? The execution. While the style it is done in has little differences, the script is a mess, spending no time developing female characters and constantly juggling ridiculous dialogue with a horrid plot, Much like Homefront, the original villain seemed to have been the Chinese. However, it seems to have been changed at the last second to avoid controversy. The writing is also a mess, and the action is like that of having a string puppet show involving a cowboy and a waving inflatable-arm tubeman duking it out. Do not watch this mess of a movie, and avoid it at all costs. Collapse
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
hcookieNov 22, 2012
It's a little hard to get drawn into a movie when the main villain is a country that can barely has enough of anything in their own fridge, let alone invade another country.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
analogkid280Dec 10, 2012
Completely preposterous. There is a scene in the middle of the film where they run into a friendly and they tell him who they are. His response "I was afraid of that", My response "I couldn't agree more". I just could not believe I wasCompletely preposterous. There is a scene in the middle of the film where they run into a friendly and they tell him who they are. His response "I was afraid of that", My response "I couldn't agree more". I just could not believe I was sitting through this weird mess of a film. The only reason it is still in theaters is because there is nothing else to take its place. Why sit through this when there is a perfectly decent version of this movie from the early 80's to watch sitting in the discount bin at your grocery store. That one starring that chain smoking sex symbol Swazee back before he died choking on his own regurgitated tobacco tar. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
wapNov 26, 2012
Wow! I can't believe someone actually likes this movie. We are all unique and different. This was by far the worst movie i have ever seen. Who ask them to remake this movie? The script was equally bad as the acting.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Jerik02Nov 25, 2012
Aside from the fact that Hollywood caved to Chinese pressure, and altered the antagonists from China to North Korea - Ironic in the extreme because this movie is about Americans standing up to communists - this movie is pure garbage. How theAside from the fact that Hollywood caved to Chinese pressure, and altered the antagonists from China to North Korea - Ironic in the extreme because this movie is about Americans standing up to communists - this movie is pure garbage. How the hell would North Korea invade America? With what Navy? This is just simple tripe and typical of the crap Hollywood produces. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
SmeeMar 2, 2013
what the hell i just watched this is terrible as Dark knight rises and Amazing spider man 3. For heaven shake people should not made this sort of war porn movies.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
DollisNov 27, 2012
The worst remake movies i seen is The Stepfather (2009). and Psycho (1998). Planet of the Apes (2001). The Wicker Man (2006). Red Dawn (2012) , And wait for more bad remakes movies Carrie 2013 and . Robocop 2013.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
1
Patrick94Jun 8, 2013
This is just a really boring movie. I wasn't going in expecting anything other than a bad movie, but even with that mindset this movie disappoints. Not even worth a rental. Absolute waste of time and money.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
J_Thom123Apr 6, 2013
O.k. so in this version of Red Dawn in lieu of an actual powerful, adversarial nation like during the Cold War the United States is instead invaded by a country with less then half the GDP of the poorest US State and roughly the population ofO.k. so in this version of Red Dawn in lieu of an actual powerful, adversarial nation like during the Cold War the United States is instead invaded by a country with less then half the GDP of the poorest US State and roughly the population of Texas. This vast gulf in military power and funding is offset slightly by having China and Russia help out North Korea; which doesn't make much of a difference since the US Military has more equipment then the next 13 largest militaries...combined, and most of them are our allies. Of course they could get few actual Koreans to act in this movie, so the "North Korean" army looks more like the "Peoples Republic of Greater Asia", which in retrospect would have made a much more realistic storyline. Beyond the horrible plot that serves as a perfect example of the kind of paranoia that's driving our nation to bankruptcy spending untold billions on a gigantic military, the movie does do two things rather well. First, the comparison between the Wolverines and the insurgents fighting the US and the North Korean invasion force proclaiming that it wants to "save" America make the movie an excellent walk in "the other sides" shoes, essentially saying: "this is what it feels like to Iraq, Afghanistan, etc." The second thing which it does well are explosions. They are done very well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
hoops2448Apr 23, 2013
Remakes are all the style now as if Hollywood has run out of things to say so here is Red Dawn, a modern day remake of a 70s cold war paranoia picture. Back then the idea Russia could descend the world into darkness was very real and now itsRemakes are all the style now as if Hollywood has run out of things to say so here is Red Dawn, a modern day remake of a 70s cold war paranoia picture. Back then the idea Russia could descend the world into darkness was very real and now its the same with North Korea, oh wait, no it isn't. The film follows a group of survivors of a full scale invasion of suburban America by the North Koreans (I am honestly not joking). This group must band together and start a campaign of guerrilla warfare to take back their neighborhood and their country. (yet again, I am not joking) I really should have hated Red Dawn more than I eventually did. Don't get me wrong, I still pretty much loathed it. The cast is filled with miscast actors or just plain dreadful ones but it also has a few pretty great ones. For instance Chris Hemsworth is the right kind of charming/brooding to play former soldier Jed although Josh Peck is just horrendous as his hot headed (which he plays as constipated) brother Matt. Adrianne Palicki seems to be making a thing of the whole action woman thing but has had to wait a good 2 years for her two action films to be released after being held back for years. However she entertains as tomboy Toni although Isabel Lucas irritates and infuriates as her sister Erica. A pre Hunger Games Josh Hutcherson is in the film but I honestly cannot say anything about him because his presence isn't memorable. The main problem is that there is a borderline decent film hidden beneath the bad acting and illogical story that was changed as not to irritate the Chinese (the Chinese that were never going to see the film in the first place) as if they hadn't heard of a story before. The main draw of Red Dawn is the fact it is directed by Dan Bradley, a stunt coordinator who understands what makes good action as he has proven in the Bourne films he has worked on. The action is never short of fantastic from the opening invasion to the final showdown in a taken over police station. Its visceral and honestly some of my favorite action in a while, its that good. It's shocking that a film with this caliber of effects and stunts is let down by an idiotic plot change late into production and some woefully bad acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
aznassassinMar 3, 2013
Shallow plot, shallow characters, shallow action and a horrible ending. They just took a hugeass dump on the original while creating one of the worst action flicks Ive seen in a long time. Hell, even Bourne Legacy was better than this pile ofShallow plot, shallow characters, shallow action and a horrible ending. They just took a hugeass dump on the original while creating one of the worst action flicks Ive seen in a long time. Hell, even Bourne Legacy was better than this pile of excrement. I felt sorry for the cast who had to put up with the cheap SFX, generic script and boring, uninspiring sequences that shouts below mediocrity. This should've been a made for TV movie from the start. Hell, had they retained the China vs U.S premise instead of this ridiculous North Korea vs U.S one it might've been a bit better. Because totally...the North Korean Army uses Hummers as part of their arsenal and are perfectly groomed like Korean pop stars. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
heychrisfoxFeb 8, 2014
This movie was almost entirely unintelligible. It felt like watching a typical action movie on fast forward the entire time. Any form of realism or plot did not exist. There was so little time for any acting due to the immensely fast pace ofThis movie was almost entirely unintelligible. It felt like watching a typical action movie on fast forward the entire time. Any form of realism or plot did not exist. There was so little time for any acting due to the immensely fast pace of the story that the fact that actors were even hired for the roles is a miracle. Even with a wealth of subject matter to draw from with the original story as a launching pad, this movie failed so dramatically that it should win awards to better encapsulate how poor of a job it did. The best moments were the opening credits It was all downhill from there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FoxhoundCriticJan 9, 2013
Red Dawn has some good action scenes and some pretty actors thats where the good stops. Story telling is horrible, felt forced and predicable, Dialogue horrible feels like a standard Hollywood student script nothing special, CharacterRed Dawn has some good action scenes and some pretty actors thats where the good stops. Story telling is horrible, felt forced and predicable, Dialogue horrible feels like a standard Hollywood student script nothing special, Character Development sad(not in a good way) and horrible, seriously what made the old Red Dawn so good was the character development. You had time to get to know the people and feel what they feel and when they die its horrible but that's the point to involve the audience. , Weapons and tactics horrible. I was looking so forward to this movie... Why did you have to mess up such a awesome genre. Could have made a classic, just another Hollywood B movie with lots of money pumped in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BreakingBradJan 24, 2013
Red Dawn is a remake of the 1984 film that starred Patrick Swayze, and sadly this remake is even more ridiculous than the original. I have seen the original film a few times, and although it has its problems, it was a fun movie because ofRed Dawn is a remake of the 1984 film that starred Patrick Swayze, and sadly this remake is even more ridiculous than the original. I have seen the original film a few times, and although it has its problems, it was a fun movie because of how silly it was. This new version just isn't very fun and has nothing really special about it at all. The characters are really unlikeable, the action is nothing we haven't seen before, and I honestly didn't care what was happening in the story the whole time. When I walked in the theater I had an open mind, and I actually hoped that this would be a fun and silly action film. Well sadly this movie really doesn't do anything fun or original to keep it interesting, and I walked out of the theater feeling like I had my money stolen from me. What also disappointed me was that this movie actually has a good cast of actors too, and they just waste the talent they have. I realized this was supposed to be a dumb and mindless action flick, but I at least wished I had some characters that were fun enough to cheer for. I like brainless action films if they realize it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
khutchNov 7, 2013
You can not believe what is thrown in your face, even if it is a film, where imagination has no limits, the idea sounds so shallow and misguided. You are not convinced at any time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
VibroKnifeMay 28, 2013
Whoa. Was this a joke? I couldn't tell have the time if the makers were trying to be serious or not. The movie goes way too fast. At one point, the narrator literally says 2 sentences on how their group is training over the span of what isWhoa. Was this a joke? I couldn't tell have the time if the makers were trying to be serious or not. The movie goes way too fast. At one point, the narrator literally says 2 sentences on how their group is training over the span of what is supposed to be weeks in 2 minutes. There is NO attention to detail here. There is no way you could cram such a epic idea in a hour and a half movie. The characters were unlikable and forgettable. I don't remember any names. At all. It was clearly rushed to make some cash. Perhaps the worst part of the movie is pretty much the ending where the narrator quotes the worst sequel baiting I have ever heard in my life. He pretty much simmers down and gives a big emotional speach on how they will fight back and take their homeland after weaksauce of battles. You really just have to see the ending to believe how bad this movie was pushed out for a quick buck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheZebraMay 3, 2013
When I saw the trailer, my first thought was "oh God, not this, anything but this!" I decided to go and see it anyway, and I was right. A good 80's film was born again as a cheap, and just plain boring film riddled with corny and overusedWhen I saw the trailer, my first thought was "oh God, not this, anything but this!" I decided to go and see it anyway, and I was right. A good 80's film was born again as a cheap, and just plain boring film riddled with corny and overused plot elements. Please, just watch the original film and let the new one stay in the Best Buy value bin. That's where it should remain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
tylerdurden1Nov 25, 2014
Where do I start?!?! Simply awful casting for every role, especially for the role of Matt. Not one character flowed or was even close to resembling the characters originally portrayed in the first version. They took certain parts that hadWhere do I start?!?! Simply awful casting for every role, especially for the role of Matt. Not one character flowed or was even close to resembling the characters originally portrayed in the first version. They took certain parts that had value in the 1st flick like the hunting just as an example that was one of many and devalued it. The main enemy is the ultimate slap in the face though....North Korea has opened a can of whup ass on the U.S. and it's laughable to the point of hysterics. What a total waste of time, wish I never took the time to watch it. Some movies you should just leave alone and never re-do and this was one of them....Can't be PC and make a movie like this work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
bryce7454Nov 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was by far way worse then the first red dawn which was ok but this one was horrible North Korea or whatever countries would have ha pretty hard time invading America. Also one military soldier could would not train wimpy civilians that have absolutely no discipline to be better than US special forces.
And how could the chinese and North Koreans not take out like 7-10 guys with ponds of C4 plastic explosives that they some how easily stole?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
chwAug 22, 2014
Red Dawn was a terrible remake. Hiring young actors who only whisper and mumble is a terrible choice, and re-hiring for other movies (Battle of the Year) is worse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SkyrimGuy935Feb 20, 2015
Quite possibly the definition of an unnecessary remake. The original wasn't all that great either, but this movie is just terrible. The acting and dialog are both underwhelming, the characters are massively underdeveloped, and the effectsQuite possibly the definition of an unnecessary remake. The original wasn't all that great either, but this movie is just terrible. The acting and dialog are both underwhelming, the characters are massively underdeveloped, and the effects still look like they're stuck in the 1980s. The only reason this gets a 3/10 is for the mildly entertaining action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews