Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Feb 19, 2013
    91
    This could be a recipe for excessive self-indulgence, but the meta quality of Red Flag is entirely irrelevant to its low key charm and persistent irreverence -- anchored, as always, by Karpovsky's loopy screen presence.
  2. Reviewed by: Katie Walsh
    Feb 21, 2013
    83
    It’s a fun, laugh-out-loud dark comedy, and proves that Alex Karpovsky and crew have made their mark.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Feb 22, 2013
    80
    If it's all reasonably familiar indie-comedy terrain, it's delivered at a brisk, economical clip with plenty of laughs, and a series of running gags that keep getting funnier.
  4. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Feb 22, 2013
    80
    A hilarious meta-comedy in which Karpovsky, playing a version of himself, goes on a roadshow tour for a movie he's directed.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Feb 20, 2013
    75
    Modest, personal, and nicely proportioned, Red Flag resembles one of Hong Sang-soo’s self-reflexive doodles about relationships and filmmaking — "Oki’s Movie," in particular — and it wisely doesn’t take too big a bite.
  6. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 20, 2013
    75
    It's conventional stuff, only executed with a smart, improv-y verve.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Feb 19, 2013
    70
    Some genuinely tender moments—especially the final scene, which at this admittedly early point in 2013 qualifies as one of the best of the year—offset the occasional dramatic misfire.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    2
    It was funny at first but then it just turned out to be super generic. Same old hipster racist sexist comedy we're all getting tired of. IIt was funny at first but then it just turned out to be super generic. Same old hipster racist sexist comedy we're all getting tired of. I guess that's just where the culture is at right now though so it's not like I hated it, it just isn't what I'm into. Full Review »