Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 11, 2011
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 146 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
39
Mixed:
42
Negative:
65
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
ShiiraMar 24, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the maker of "Thirteen", the 2003 film that depicts the accelerated speed in which kids are growing up in today's society, now comes "Red Riding Hood", the latest retelling of the ancient faerie tale made famous by The Brothers Grimm(known as "Rottkappchen") that shows how young medieval wenches from yore were no chaste angels either. Billed as a reworking of the popular "Twilight Saga", the film's theme of a young girl's lost innocence aligns itself equally well with the Larry Clark-lite indie, since in the recent "Eclipse", Bella(Kristen Stewart) keeps her virginity, whereas Valerie(Amanda Seyfried) gives it away quite freely for a nineteenth century chick. Starring Evan Rachel Wood and Holly Hunter, "Thirteen" examines the ramifications of a mother who tries too hard to be her daughter's contemporary. In one scene, set at a high-end Melrose clothing boutique, Tracey emerges from the changing room outfitted in garb more suitable for a bar than middle school. Most mothers would throw a fit, but Melanie, a former flower child, wanting to be "the hot big sister" that Evie(Nikki Reed) labels her as, endorses the tight-fitting ensemble by remarking, "You look incredible." In effect, encouraging her little girl to flaunt her wares around boys through coquettish behavior. Similarly, in "Red Riding Hood", Valerie, who had previously looked as if she were a Renaissance fair fashion victim, accepts the scintillating red cloak from her proto-hippie grandmother(Julie Christie), who all but encourages the young lass to dress provocatively and to engage in sexual activities by warning the newly-ordained Red Riding Hood to be "careful". She makes for an equally poor role model as Valerie's mother, who gave birth to a love child, her half-sister Lucy. Betrothed to a wealthy blacksmith, Valerie still possesses some unresolved feelings towards a lowly woodcutter, who should have been the original wolf instead of a red herring, since the final plot twist creates some unintended sexual tension among family members. The red cloak, originally intended as a wedding present to be worn on the night she was supposed to consummate her nuptials with Henry(Max Irons), the sexually-charged garment instead is utilized as a means to seduce Peter(Shiloh Fernandez) in a premarital fling, thereby spoiling the girl's chances for gainful holy matrimony. Valerie ends up living in the forest as an outcast, cohabitating with an animal outside the sanctity of marriage. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
iamtrent424May 22, 2011
This movie was okay. It was boring at the beg but then it pick up in the middle. The first 30 minutes of the movie is so boring. This movie is more like a twilight than a horror movie. I like that they made red riding hood older. You wouldThis movie was okay. It was boring at the beg but then it pick up in the middle. The first 30 minutes of the movie is so boring. This movie is more like a twilight than a horror movie. I like that they made red riding hood older. You would think since Red Riding Hood is older that this movie will be for older people. You wrong. Still the same type of movie as twilight. More romance than horror. I thought this movie was going be a horror film. THis movie has the same type of music that a twilight movie would have. Im kind of a twilight fan. I like twilight way more than this movie. I think that they might try to make another movie of this. If you like Gothic movies than you will love this. A very bored and very entertaining Gothic Horror movie. More drama and romance than horror. This movie does has dip of horror. Just a little dip. The scary parts in the movie might be scary to only kids under 10. If you over ten it might not be scary to you. A great movie to see if you love Twilight. I think twilight fan is loving this movie. The screenwriting was dry but it was an average movie. Beginning is boring but it pick up after the beginning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
A pleasant movie and that surprised and impressed me greatly. Didn't expect it to be that good. At first I was interested by the proposal, and the trailer gave me even more enthusiasm to see this movie. I concluded deeply I was right aboutA pleasant movie and that surprised and impressed me greatly. Didn't expect it to be that good. At first I was interested by the proposal, and the trailer gave me even more enthusiasm to see this movie. I concluded deeply I was right about this movie. The people whose more criticize this film are filled with prejudice to the last strand of hair. Hardwicke made a bad movie? Yes, Twilight. But nobody can condemn it for life for this mistake and its consequences. Hardwicke went very well, created a tense atmosphere for a full history mysteries that bind you to the end of the film. Photography, scenery, beautiful costumes! Although the movie develops little information with some racing scenes in the early, plotâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SradJul 4, 2011
Sure, this isn't the deepest thought out movie but nevertheless entertaining enough. the pace of the movie is reasonably fast and doesn't give you too much time to think about the not-too-thick plot. Overall, its not a bad movie if you haveSure, this isn't the deepest thought out movie but nevertheless entertaining enough. the pace of the movie is reasonably fast and doesn't give you too much time to think about the not-too-thick plot. Overall, its not a bad movie if you have you're looking to have a lazy evening at home. The visuals are good Amanda Seyfried fits into her role extremely well. Same can't be said of Gary Oldman though! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
shimano6000Jul 29, 2011
I wish I had checked out other reviews of this movie before watching it. Very average movie. I would probably encourage you to watch this once you have watched everything else you want to see. The acting is a bit average. The story not asI wish I had checked out other reviews of this movie before watching it. Very average movie. I would probably encourage you to watch this once you have watched everything else you want to see. The acting is a bit average. The story not as engaging as it should have been. When you find out who the wolf is, its like, meh, ok. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
rafael14Jul 14, 2012
this is not a good movie, because the actors are not good and the only part of the film is the mystery that is easy to figure out who is the wolf, this movie only serve if you when there is nothing to do in your life
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
debjyotinsecJan 7, 2012
generally ending matters in this types of moviez.....but here it is different & better
i like this one. acting great
at least 150 char so u dont mind about the rest:
hfdbkjbkjxbkjxnvkf vkjh
nbduoiu
mk vihbiovdjo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Rox22Mar 14, 2013
An alright movie that really isn't anything special. It is really unclear why Gary Oldman gets top billing as he is barely in the movie. However it does take an interesting approach to this story. So I will give it a partially positive reviewAn alright movie that really isn't anything special. It is really unclear why Gary Oldman gets top billing as he is barely in the movie. However it does take an interesting approach to this story. So I will give it a partially positive review just for trying to be something new. Overall: OK movie, but you're really not missing much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FranlaviSep 26, 2014
I think a fun way to play a classic tale. amanda seyfried makes an incredible interpretation. the only flaw is perhaps that it is a bit slow. I personally like dark stories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheDude-May 10, 2015
The film creates a creepy atmosphere and has great cinematography/ action sequences but the acting is trash along with the cliched uninspired story and script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews