Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 11, 2011
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 145 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
39
Mixed:
41
Negative:
65
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
S1r-R34lMar 9, 2017
This is a well thought out and up-to-date rendition of the fairie tale. The location of the Ye Olde Village in wintertime, with falling snow, makes for a beautiful film. I liked the fact that by making the enemy a werewolf (who could beThis is a well thought out and up-to-date rendition of the fairie tale. The location of the Ye Olde Village in wintertime, with falling snow, makes for a beautiful film. I liked the fact that by making the enemy a werewolf (who could be anybody in the village) everybody was under suspicion. This made for a whodunnit as well as creating tension. The contained Love Story is also well told. There are some drawbacks, but not enough to make me cease watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kilacrJun 18, 2016
This movie is one of the best movies I have ever seen because of its plot twists
It was undoubtedly a good movie with love triangle's and again, plot twists. I don't really get how people could dislike this movie a lot but I guess when
This movie is one of the best movies I have ever seen because of its plot twists
It was undoubtedly a good movie with love triangle's and again, plot twists. I don't really get how people could dislike this movie a lot but I guess when someone likes it there would be someone who hates it.
To me, this movie isn't that much of a cliche because of its storyline.
If there's going to be a sequel, I would very much watch it with excitement and if maybe the story would go along with Valerie and Peter having a child and then them being in grave danger.
I would scream my lungs out.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Mar 9, 2016
Gary Oldman is the one bright light in this tired drama that deserves neither his talent or your time.

Watch this online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-24ff95-Red-Riding-Hood-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheDude-May 10, 2015
The film creates a creepy atmosphere and has great cinematography/ action sequences but the acting is trash along with the cliched uninspired story and script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FranlaviSep 26, 2014
I think a fun way to play a classic tale. amanda seyfried makes an incredible interpretation. the only flaw is perhaps that it is a bit slow. I personally like dark stories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Mad_Hatter91May 23, 2013
Red Riding Hood is a 2011 horror film directed by Catherine Hardwicke. Valerie is a beautiful girl in love with Peter but his parents want him to marry Henry. Valerie and Peter are planning to run away but in the meantime Valerie's sister isRed Riding Hood is a 2011 horror film directed by Catherine Hardwicke. Valerie is a beautiful girl in love with Peter but his parents want him to marry Henry. Valerie and Peter are planning to run away but in the meantime Valerie's sister is killed by a werewolf. This will cause the arrival of his father Solomon, and will begin a monster hunt.
Amanda Seyfried in the role of Valerie is very convincing and this shows his talent as an actress. Even Gary Oldman in the role of father Solomon makes no exceptions. The problem is that the cast is not able to identify with the role and large flaws, the plot full of cliches avoidable, the tension is not felt at all and too many similarities with the Twilight saga (the girl fought over by two men, the appearance of the werewolf etc
Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Rox22Mar 14, 2013
An alright movie that really isn't anything special. It is really unclear why Gary Oldman gets top billing as he is barely in the movie. However it does take an interesting approach to this story. So I will give it a partially positive reviewAn alright movie that really isn't anything special. It is really unclear why Gary Oldman gets top billing as he is barely in the movie. However it does take an interesting approach to this story. So I will give it a partially positive review just for trying to be something new. Overall: OK movie, but you're really not missing much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Jan 5, 2013
While the concept might seem a little corny being based on a kids nursery rhyme this was actually a pretty decent film. Slow to get going but once it does it manages to hold your attention and keep you guessing as to who the identity of theWhile the concept might seem a little corny being based on a kids nursery rhyme this was actually a pretty decent film. Slow to get going but once it does it manages to hold your attention and keep you guessing as to who the identity of the wolf it (and I love those whodunnit movies). Amanda Seyfried is gorgeous as always and plays the role of young Valerie very well, but in general the cast is just average. Overall it's worth a look and not as bad as its made out to be by the critics! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jetpackulleySep 8, 2012
So, I'm gonna be frank over here. I don't really understand where all the bad reviews come, if it makes such an improvement in Catherine Hardwicke's previous disgusting directing. I really saw an improvement here, from the mother of theSo, I'm gonna be frank over here. I don't really understand where all the bad reviews come, if it makes such an improvement in Catherine Hardwicke's previous disgusting directing. I really saw an improvement here, from the mother of the worst, Twilight. I liked Red Riding Hood really much because it is quite interesting and unpredictable, but werewolves are monsters, not normal animals ms. Hardwicke, you should've worked on that and I could give it the 8 it could deserve (not saying the movie is bad) If they make a sequel, which I really doubt, I'm gonna be one to see it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
MarceloPaiAug 30, 2012
One of the worst films that i have seen on the last year. It's like a Twilight version for red riding hood, terrible. Please tell to the director that lycanthropes are people that transform into normal wolves, werewolves are MONSTERS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vini1904Aug 14, 2012
One of the best films I've ever seen, extremely underrated, Amanda's performance is incredible. And the mix of romance, suspense and a touch of goth in the scenery is breathtaking. Worth seeing, especially the scenes with Amanda walkingOne of the best films I've ever seen, extremely underrated, Amanda's performance is incredible. And the mix of romance, suspense and a touch of goth in the scenery is breathtaking. Worth seeing, especially the scenes with Amanda walking through the forest red hood. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
spomposelloJul 27, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Grimm fairy tales have always been ripe for adaptation, but unfortunately, the people behind "Red Riding Hood" seemed to have overlooked this. http://spomposello.hubpages.com/hub/Movie-Review-Red-Riding-Hood-2011 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
rafael14Jul 14, 2012
this is not a good movie, because the actors are not good and the only part of the film is the mystery that is easy to figure out who is the wolf, this movie only serve if you when there is nothing to do in your life
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
AutiTakahashiJul 13, 2012
So this is what you get when you insert the Twilight characters into a children's fairy tale. "Red Riding Hood" is a wannabe horror movie starring dumb and lifeless teenagers who are tremendously drunk with hormones. Alcohol may produceSo this is what you get when you insert the Twilight characters into a children's fairy tale. "Red Riding Hood" is a wannabe horror movie starring dumb and lifeless teenagers who are tremendously drunk with hormones. Alcohol may produce better behaviors.

The setting is a medieval village in the woods. A girl named Valerie stands out from the crowd because she wears a bright red cape and because she is played by Amanda Seyfried. Right across her is Peter, the hunky wood chopper. His face appears to be stuck in a state of no emotion. Even when he's really mad, we can't feel a single thing. I think it's a talent.

Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/red-riding-hood/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MegWhiteleyMar 29, 2012
I remember when I watch the trailer of Red Riding Hood, I think, a new twilight, but with other characters?, really?, after I watch the movie, and I say: This is a new Twilight version but with other characters, terrible, is ugly, a disaster.I remember when I watch the trailer of Red Riding Hood, I think, a new twilight, but with other characters?, really?, after I watch the movie, and I say: This is a new Twilight version but with other characters, terrible, is ugly, a disaster. All this words be the better to describe Red Riding Hood. The cast is very regular, Amanda Seyfried not is a great actress, but have her moments, but in Riding Hood, no, is horrible, with a same face of Stewart on Twilight, and the rest of the cast, really? have a horrible performances, and do a boring movie. Now the screenplay, have good intentions, but really? the father is the wolf? what happen?, is a terrible idea. Now do this classic tale like a horror film, or poor intent or horror movie is bad. I think that the movie have some good (but no excellent effects), the screenplay terrible, horrible performances, and the final do of Red Riding Hood one of the worst films of the last year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 7, 2012
I can't say that it is the best movie I ever watched but it is very interesting film and i like this film ! It is show something new to us and I think it maybe better than twilnight !
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
debjyotinsecJan 7, 2012
generally ending matters in this types of moviez.....but here it is different & better
i like this one. acting great
at least 150 char so u dont mind about the rest:
hfdbkjbkjxbkjxnvkf vkjh
nbduoiu
mk vihbiovdjo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Alexander_FredDec 31, 2011
Catherine Hardwicke, the same director who directed the utterly terrible Twilight, takes a beloved children's fairy tale and mutilates it so that it becomes a tiresome and tedious medieval soap opera filled with talking werewolves. The actingCatherine Hardwicke, the same director who directed the utterly terrible Twilight, takes a beloved children's fairy tale and mutilates it so that it becomes a tiresome and tedious medieval soap opera filled with talking werewolves. The acting is lackluster at best with Amanda Seyfried leading the pack of bad performances. The makeup design was horrible with the female and male actors all dolled up as if they had the luxury of twenty-first century cosmetics. The score is nothing to brag about and the dim lighting used in all scenarios prohibited this film from becoming at all emotionally impactful. The only saving grace is the twist ending, which then soils itself with the defecation of the final ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
heyitsmegrif4Dec 21, 2011
You should watch it and expect to like it because of its premise Who is the Wolf but really besides Amanda Seyfried's amazing a just hot performance it is a waste of time and ends up being completely stupid. I give this movie 14%.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
1
RodrigoBGCOct 15, 2011
Only one thing was good in this film and his name is Gary Oldman, everything else is a crap, Amanda Seyfried must stop acting, every movie she does is a ****
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AkkharAug 19, 2011
What the hell ? They just ruined the classic fairy tale ! they wanted to made another twilight !!! Twilight sucks and this sucks 3 times more then that ! Only positive thing i found was the Village set ! but other then that nothingWhat the hell ? They just ruined the classic fairy tale ! they wanted to made another twilight !!! Twilight sucks and this sucks 3 times more then that ! Only positive thing i found was the Village set ! but other then that nothing works...Nothing ! They ruined the classic story , To the Director "Never do one thing over and over again" , Acting was so bad ! Amanda tried but failed and the director wanted to make 2 more "Edward" in this movie and guess what like Robert they should also take acting lessons . i had only hope in Gary Old-man but i think it was his worst acting job ever .

Story : .3/2 [Ruined the classic]
Directing : .4/2 [Stop thinking about twilight]
Acting : .3/2 [There are a lot of people who can act . take them]
Sound : 8/2 [only two of then were good]
Edit & Effect : 1.2/2 [like the village set]

OVERALL : 3/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
shimano6000Jul 29, 2011
I wish I had checked out other reviews of this movie before watching it. Very average movie. I would probably encourage you to watch this once you have watched everything else you want to see. The acting is a bit average. The story not asI wish I had checked out other reviews of this movie before watching it. Very average movie. I would probably encourage you to watch this once you have watched everything else you want to see. The acting is a bit average. The story not as engaging as it should have been. When you find out who the wolf is, its like, meh, ok. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Edward9630Jul 23, 2011
Red Riding Hood is an ok film. The wolf scenes in the film are pretty cool. My problems with this film is the fact the title is misleading. The Red Riding Hood I heard in my childhood was nowhere near what this movie was. I couldnt reallyRed Riding Hood is an ok film. The wolf scenes in the film are pretty cool. My problems with this film is the fact the title is misleading. The Red Riding Hood I heard in my childhood was nowhere near what this movie was. I couldnt really care about the characters or who lived or die and the film is just boring. I would say see this film if you want but for me i wouldnt watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BadsniperJul 23, 2011
This movie has very little to go on; It's not scary, or funny, and it has a plot that is forgettable. The characters were unimaginative; the story was fallible. There are other, better movies to be watched.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
Khunter4382Jul 18, 2011
Interesting score, but that is about it. With a very talented cast, that talent never shows itself, and this film nearly falls into B-movie status. It is just as corny as cornbread casserole! The whole thing is just odd, unrealistic, andInteresting score, but that is about it. With a very talented cast, that talent never shows itself, and this film nearly falls into B-movie status. It is just as corny as cornbread casserole! The whole thing is just odd, unrealistic, and choppy. Easily one of the worst films of the decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BeKJul 12, 2011
The truth is, I wasn't really expecting much of this movie, but it definitely wasn't as bad as I expected. The story is really not that complicated, even though at certain points you're always wondering, who is who, what's going on, and soThe truth is, I wasn't really expecting much of this movie, but it definitely wasn't as bad as I expected. The story is really not that complicated, even though at certain points you're always wondering, who is who, what's going on, and so on. Very well made, probably the fact that it doesn't follow the story which we loved when we were children, made the public not appreciate this film. Great acting, small flaws in the movie, but in my opinion, a film worth seeing. Amanda, an impressive actress, couldn't have chosen a better role, followed by a strong male cast, and of course a mystery to mix them all up. Some elements really represent a sort of childish game, but all in all I would suggest you watch this movie. Not something you will remember in the past years, but still, if you're a fan of this kind of genre you won't be disappointed. I love movies and I liked this one. I really don't know what's the reason for all the small graded reviews, it was not at all that bad, that someone would rate it 0, for example, but I guess some people just don't appreciate the effort put in movies, even though you don't really argue with tastes. See it and rate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SradJul 4, 2011
Sure, this isn't the deepest thought out movie but nevertheless entertaining enough. the pace of the movie is reasonably fast and doesn't give you too much time to think about the not-too-thick plot. Overall, its not a bad movie if you haveSure, this isn't the deepest thought out movie but nevertheless entertaining enough. the pace of the movie is reasonably fast and doesn't give you too much time to think about the not-too-thick plot. Overall, its not a bad movie if you have you're looking to have a lazy evening at home. The visuals are good Amanda Seyfried fits into her role extremely well. Same can't be said of Gary Oldman though! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MechMarineJun 23, 2011
Twilight with a new skin. I am divided on if this is a movie or purposely insulting to the original story from Grimm. Same topic of being in love with a monster that should be eradicated if they ever appear. Same topic of a slut being theTwilight with a new skin. I am divided on if this is a movie or purposely insulting to the original story from Grimm. Same topic of being in love with a monster that should be eradicated if they ever appear. Same topic of a slut being the protagonist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MsrysnnobJun 18, 2011
I guess there is no way I can use the rating system here when you have people admittedly saying the movie was just alright but not have anything really good to say about it, but then giving it a 9 or 10. This movie was a disaster and evenI guess there is no way I can use the rating system here when you have people admittedly saying the movie was just alright but not have anything really good to say about it, but then giving it a 9 or 10. This movie was a disaster and even though Amanda Seyfriend is in it, is not a good enough reason to rate it high. That is not a true review. She is a very limited range actress, and while has done a couple of good things, she really can't due dramatic roles with the depth they require. A really good actress can sometimes do something good with the character despite crappy writing and wierd animals flying around. I suppose it is young people who keep saying they like this crap and therefore will never get anything better..what a shame. Filmaking in the last decade has hit it's lowest point. The continual dumbing down of american youth. *sigh*.I'll stick to the older character and dialogue driven oldies. I don't need a lot of bells and whistles to keep my attention. I can have deep thoughts about a good plot and find entertainment in that, as always. I am so glad I was born in the 50's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
A pleasant movie and that surprised and impressed me greatly. Didn't expect it to be that good. At first I was interested by the proposal, and the trailer gave me even more enthusiasm to see this movie. I concluded deeply I was right aboutA pleasant movie and that surprised and impressed me greatly. Didn't expect it to be that good. At first I was interested by the proposal, and the trailer gave me even more enthusiasm to see this movie. I concluded deeply I was right about this movie. The people whose more criticize this film are filled with prejudice to the last strand of hair. Hardwicke made a bad movie? Yes, Twilight. But nobody can condemn it for life for this mistake and its consequences. Hardwicke went very well, created a tense atmosphere for a full history mysteries that bind you to the end of the film. Photography, scenery, beautiful costumes! Although the movie develops little information with some racing scenes in the early, plotâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
iamtrent424May 22, 2011
This movie was okay. It was boring at the beg but then it pick up in the middle. The first 30 minutes of the movie is so boring. This movie is more like a twilight than a horror movie. I like that they made red riding hood older. You wouldThis movie was okay. It was boring at the beg but then it pick up in the middle. The first 30 minutes of the movie is so boring. This movie is more like a twilight than a horror movie. I like that they made red riding hood older. You would think since Red Riding Hood is older that this movie will be for older people. You wrong. Still the same type of movie as twilight. More romance than horror. I thought this movie was going be a horror film. THis movie has the same type of music that a twilight movie would have. Im kind of a twilight fan. I like twilight way more than this movie. I think that they might try to make another movie of this. If you like Gothic movies than you will love this. A very bored and very entertaining Gothic Horror movie. More drama and romance than horror. This movie does has dip of horror. Just a little dip. The scary parts in the movie might be scary to only kids under 10. If you over ten it might not be scary to you. A great movie to see if you love Twilight. I think twilight fan is loving this movie. The screenwriting was dry but it was an average movie. Beginning is boring but it pick up after the beginning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mirrorboy90Apr 26, 2011
I just got back from the theater, and I can tell you that I really enjoyed it. Not the best movie, but a good one. I really didn't know what to expect because of the critics, but I have learned not to listen what other people say but to seeI just got back from the theater, and I can tell you that I really enjoyed it. Not the best movie, but a good one. I really didn't know what to expect because of the critics, but I have learned not to listen what other people say but to see it with my own eyes and then, talk about it. And to be honest, I walked into the theater a little bit nervous about what am I going to see, does it really suck so bad? But walked out with a smile. Everyone's got their own opinion, the critics say it is so bad, I say it's good. If your looking for a cliched love story, a little bit of suspense and, well, Amanda Seyfried, then this movie is for you. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Dilop93Apr 25, 2011
Lástima que tenga casi el mismo estilo de Crepúsculo, pero la película me gustó harto.
Banda Sonora: (8.5) Sentí que le faltó algo.
Efectos: (10.0) sin duda, los
Lástima que tenga casi el mismo estilo de Crepúsculo, pero la película me gustó harto.
Banda Sonora: (8.5) Sentí que le faltó algo.
Efectos: (10.0) sin duda, los efectos son muy buenos, no me quejo.
Personajes:(10.0) La verdad que los personajes fueron muy bien seleccionados. el Hermano de Valerie si no tiene sentido
Otra opinión, el Hombre-Lobo le faltó haber sido más tenebroso, sólamente era un Lobo Negro grande.

Total: (9.5) / (10.0) No lo redondeo, por lo tanto mi Resultado: (9.0)
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
RogerSmith97Apr 14, 2011
All I Can Say About Red Riding Hood Is Of Corse It Is Not Going To Win Any Awards.. But Overall This Is A Good, Fun Movie!
The Acting, Plot, And Writing Is All Fine!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
guardboy21Apr 11, 2011
I really liked this movie. I thought that Seyfried and Oldman were great. But the 2 young guys I thought were kind of weird. I really liked the atmosphere. There was some point in the movie where it was getting tiresome, but it was pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
lala303Apr 10, 2011
Bad editing, bad acting, bad directing, and bad writing all amounts to a waste of money. If you're looking for a good movie, you are definitely in the wrong place. It's a shame to think that a good plot would be ruined like this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NinaBeeApr 7, 2011
I found the acting overall to be very well done, with the single exception of Gary Oldman who was never plausible in that particular role. The cinematography was at times stunning but the script seemed a little too contrived to hold up well.I found the acting overall to be very well done, with the single exception of Gary Oldman who was never plausible in that particular role. The cinematography was at times stunning but the script seemed a little too contrived to hold up well. All of that being said I saw it a second time with my Twihard Tween who absolutely adored it from beginning to end. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
shrineApr 7, 2011
Why? Oh, why they have to make movies like this? I was hopping to see a Red Rinding Hood story filled with horror and slaughter of villagers.. and what did I get? A love triangle and stupid plot although Grandma was kind of creepy. The bestWhy? Oh, why they have to make movies like this? I was hopping to see a Red Rinding Hood story filled with horror and slaughter of villagers.. and what did I get? A love triangle and stupid plot although Grandma was kind of creepy. The best thing about this movie is that it was pretty funny. Maybe the scene where Red is talking with the Wolf telepathically would be nominated for MTV 's Best WTF? moment. As lame the movie is I can find one thing that is pretty usual in all Medieval times villages: there is Always an Idiot. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
jpeepz96Apr 6, 2011
i enjoyed the film in the beginning, it had the nice mystery on who the wolf is and they mixed it up to where several people could be the wolf. However i started to dislike the movie when i discovered that you couldn't really see the wolfi enjoyed the film in the beginning, it had the nice mystery on who the wolf is and they mixed it up to where several people could be the wolf. However i started to dislike the movie when i discovered that you couldn't really see the wolf kill anyone and how she could understand what the wolf was saying. Amanda Seyfried is a fantastic actress and i always give her 5 stars for her acting, but the movies that she plays in just arn't the best movies. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
ShiiraMar 24, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the maker of "Thirteen", the 2003 film that depicts the accelerated speed in which kids are growing up in today's society, now comes "Red Riding Hood", the latest retelling of the ancient faerie tale made famous by The Brothers Grimm(known as "Rottkappchen") that shows how young medieval wenches from yore were no chaste angels either. Billed as a reworking of the popular "Twilight Saga", the film's theme of a young girl's lost innocence aligns itself equally well with the Larry Clark-lite indie, since in the recent "Eclipse", Bella(Kristen Stewart) keeps her virginity, whereas Valerie(Amanda Seyfried) gives it away quite freely for a nineteenth century chick. Starring Evan Rachel Wood and Holly Hunter, "Thirteen" examines the ramifications of a mother who tries too hard to be her daughter's contemporary. In one scene, set at a high-end Melrose clothing boutique, Tracey emerges from the changing room outfitted in garb more suitable for a bar than middle school. Most mothers would throw a fit, but Melanie, a former flower child, wanting to be "the hot big sister" that Evie(Nikki Reed) labels her as, endorses the tight-fitting ensemble by remarking, "You look incredible." In effect, encouraging her little girl to flaunt her wares around boys through coquettish behavior. Similarly, in "Red Riding Hood", Valerie, who had previously looked as if she were a Renaissance fair fashion victim, accepts the scintillating red cloak from her proto-hippie grandmother(Julie Christie), who all but encourages the young lass to dress provocatively and to engage in sexual activities by warning the newly-ordained Red Riding Hood to be "careful". She makes for an equally poor role model as Valerie's mother, who gave birth to a love child, her half-sister Lucy. Betrothed to a wealthy blacksmith, Valerie still possesses some unresolved feelings towards a lowly woodcutter, who should have been the original wolf instead of a red herring, since the final plot twist creates some unintended sexual tension among family members. The red cloak, originally intended as a wedding present to be worn on the night she was supposed to consummate her nuptials with Henry(Max Irons), the sexually-charged garment instead is utilized as a means to seduce Peter(Shiloh Fernandez) in a premarital fling, thereby spoiling the girl's chances for gainful holy matrimony. Valerie ends up living in the forest as an outcast, cohabitating with an animal outside the sanctity of marriage. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
Kellkel1Mar 19, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Worst movie i had seen since "The Fog". The lead had absolutely no chemistry with her counter parts. The dialog was horrible, the screen shots were jagged, the celebration reminded me of a village full of inbreed villagers set in Mardi Gras. The villians were laughable as villians... the cruelty was over the top & seemed faked. The best part of the movie was when Gary Oldman died (I guess everyone is facing hard times in this economy)... as his character gave me a headache.

I was actually on the side of the wolf... kill all the stupid, inbreeded town people... they bring the stupid curve to a whole new low. Amanda Seyfreid was the best thing in this movie (which believe me is not saying much) but her character shows no emotion & I had a tough time seeing the evil side that they tried to focus on. During the movie I actual googled the listing time to see how long I was required to be tortured by this movie... the 12 year olds l took w/ me liked it... but this movie - which had the making to be a cult classic fell so short of anything worth watching.

I want my money or time back from this movie.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
hollyvMar 18, 2011
Amanda Seyfried is, visually, perfectly cast as Red Riding Hood... and was the best acting in the film. I don't know what Gary Oldman was thinking when he took on this project. Did he lose a bet? Either way, Grandma, what lame acting! IAmanda Seyfried is, visually, perfectly cast as Red Riding Hood... and was the best acting in the film. I don't know what Gary Oldman was thinking when he took on this project. Did he lose a bet? Either way, Grandma, what lame acting! I found myself rooting for the big bad werewolf... and wondering why, despite living in a snowy mountain village, no one ever wore a coat. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
MonopolyBagMar 15, 2011
The movie was good. I expected better, but movies these days are not that good. I would say it is borderline worth the price of a ticket. If you have the money, then sure. If you are trying to save, don't see this in the theatre. I am glad IThe movie was good. I expected better, but movies these days are not that good. I would say it is borderline worth the price of a ticket. If you have the money, then sure. If you are trying to save, don't see this in the theatre. I am glad I say it, but was hoping for it to be better. It is not scary, and has cheesy parts trying to be creepy. But the story is strong, and the watcher understands where they are going with it in the movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Nick5414Mar 15, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like it. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
3
PapaCheeseMar 14, 2011
I'm one of those people that finds a way to like if not love 9 out of 10 movies. That said, RRH is that 1 out of 10: the Stinker...just a weird and stilted film that never finds its footing. One of the funkier things about the movie isI'm one of those people that finds a way to like if not love 9 out of 10 movies. That said, RRH is that 1 out of 10: the Stinker...just a weird and stilted film that never finds its footing. One of the funkier things about the movie is that it has the trappings of a period piece where you expect the characters to have at least a little bit of British accent, but they all end up talking like your standard modern American (with the exception of Gary Oldman who overacts--or maybe it just seems likes he overacts b/c the other actors barely are acting). Visual, Design and Costumes were cool... especially RRH's deep red Hood/Cape contrasting with the cool colors. Bottom Line: Amanda Seyfried's beauty saves the movie from being a zero. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
mrdmMar 13, 2011
The real title of this movie should be "The Twilight Saga continues: Red Riding Hood". The movie is blandly filmed as independent feature with a few epic shots here an there. By here and there I mean, the beginning and end of movie. LessThe real title of this movie should be "The Twilight Saga continues: Red Riding Hood". The movie is blandly filmed as independent feature with a few epic shots here an there. By here and there I mean, the beginning and end of movie. Less than talented acting cast, a storyline where the director says to himself " it doesn't matter if it's confusing, let's focus on the cheap love triangle". Poor graphics. The guessing game of "whose the wolf" is marvellously praised. However, it falls flat as a movie that makes up it's story along the way. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
BartMar 12, 2011
If you are a teenage girl that thinks the Twilight series is art and the best thing ever, or that the Justin Biber movie was great, then you may like this film. Otherwise, it is a steaming pile of werewolf poo. What a waste of time, withIf you are a teenage girl that thinks the Twilight series is art and the best thing ever, or that the Justin Biber movie was great, then you may like this film. Otherwise, it is a steaming pile of werewolf poo. What a waste of time, with bad acting and bad CGI effects. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews