Red Riding Hood

Red Riding Hood Image
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Valerie is a beautiful young woman torn between two men. She is in love with a brooding outsider Peter, but her parents have arranged for her to marry the wealthy Henry. Unwilling to lose each other, Valerie and Peter are planning to run away together when they learn that Valerie's olderValerie is a beautiful young woman torn between two men. She is in love with a brooding outsider Peter, but her parents have arranged for her to marry the wealthy Henry. Unwilling to lose each other, Valerie and Peter are planning to run away together when they learn that Valerie's older sister has been killed by the werewolf that prowls the dark forest surrounding their village. For years, the people have maintained an uneasy truce with the beast, offering the creature a monthly animal sacrifice. But under a blood red moon, the wolf has upped the stakes by taking a human life. Hungry for revenge, the people call on famed werewolf hunter, Father Solomon, to help them kill the wolf. But Solomon's arrival brings unintended consequences as he warns that the wolf, who takes human form by day, could be any one of them. As the death toll rises with each moon, Valerie begins to suspect that the werewolf could be someone she loves. Panic grips the town as Valerie discovers that she has a unique connection to the beast--one that inexorably draws them together, making her both suspect...and bait. (Warner Bros. Pictures)

    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 36
  2. Negative: 21 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: William Thomas
    Apr 11, 2011
    60
    Oldman and Seyfried prove to be the big attractions, but Hardwicke's Riding Hood legend still lacks bite.
  2. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 10, 2011
    50
    My, what sharp teeth Ms. Hardwicke doesn't have: working from David Leslie Johnson's screenplay she takes on the story's grown-up themes of sex and death directly but weakly.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 12, 2011
    42
    Oldman makes a four-course dinner out of the scenery with enough slash and burn to leave you wondering if he is vying with Nicolas Cage for the title of filmdom's biggest hambone.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Mar 10, 2011
    38
    Far more grim than "Grimm," and not nearly as much fun as it should have been.
  5. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Mar 10, 2011
    30
    Like an idiot, I came to this movie hoping that director Catherine Hardwicke-who made her debut with the bad-girl shocker "Thirteen" (2003)-might engage in a feminist interrogation of the old fairy tale, just as French filmmaker Catherine Breillat has with "Blue Beard" (2009) and "The Sleeping Beauty" (2010). Instead this is a muddle-headed horror flick.
  6. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 11, 2011
    25
    I have no idea how to blow up a two-page fairy tale into 100 minutes of blockbuster, but frankly I was hoping for more backstory about the titular cape in Red Riding Hood. Thread count? Machine washability?
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 10, 2011
    10
    This tedious retelling of the venerable fairy tale-"Twilight" with Oedipal kinks-takes place in a medieval village that is plagued by a werewolf, and that looks like a shtetl settled by California actors.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 46
  2. Negative: 21 out of 46
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like it. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    I just got back from the theater, and I can tell you that I really enjoyed it. Not the best movie, but a good one. I really didn't know whatI just got back from the theater, and I can tell you that I really enjoyed it. Not the best movie, but a good one. I really didn't know what to expect because of the critics, but I have learned not to listen what other people say but to see it with my own eyes and then, talk about it. And to be honest, I walked into the theater a little bit nervous about what am I going to see, does it really suck so bad? But walked out with a smile. Everyone's got their own opinion, the critics say it is so bad, I say it's good. If your looking for a cliched love story, a little bit of suspense and, well, Amanda Seyfried, then this movie is for you. Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2011
    7
    I found the acting overall to be very well done, with the single exception of Gary Oldman who was never plausible in that particular role. TheI found the acting overall to be very well done, with the single exception of Gary Oldman who was never plausible in that particular role. The cinematography was at times stunning but the script seemed a little too contrived to hold up well. All of that being said I saw it a second time with my Twihard Tween who absolutely adored it from beginning to end. Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2012
    4
    this is not a good movie, because the actors are not good and the only part of the film is the mystery that is easy to figure out who is thethis is not a good movie, because the actors are not good and the only part of the film is the mystery that is easy to figure out who is the wolf, this movie only serve if you when there is nothing to do in your life Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2011
    3
    What the hell ? They just ruined the classic fairy tale ! they wanted to made another twilight !!! Twilight sucks and this sucks 3 times moreWhat the hell ? They just ruined the classic fairy tale ! they wanted to made another twilight !!! Twilight sucks and this sucks 3 times more then that ! Only positive thing i found was the Village set ! but other then that nothing works...Nothing ! They ruined the classic story , To the Director "Never do one thing over and over again" , Acting was so bad ! Amanda tried but failed and the director wanted to make 2 more "Edward" in this movie and guess what like Robert they should also take acting lessons . i had only hope in Gary Old-man but i think it was his worst acting job ever .

    Story : .3/2 [Ruined the classic]
    Directing : .4/2 [Stop thinking about twilight]
    Acting : .3/2 [There are a lot of people who can act . take them]
    Sound : 8/2 [only two of then were good]
    Edit & Effect : 1.2/2 [like the village set]

    OVERALL : 3/10
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2011
    2
    I guess there is no way I can use the rating system here when you have people admittedly saying the movie was just alright but not haveI guess there is no way I can use the rating system here when you have people admittedly saying the movie was just alright but not have anything really good to say about it, but then giving it a 9 or 10. This movie was a disaster and even though Amanda Seyfriend is in it, is not a good enough reason to rate it high. That is not a true review. She is a very limited range actress, and while has done a couple of good things, she really can't due dramatic roles with the depth they require. A really good actress can sometimes do something good with the character despite crappy writing and wierd animals flying around. I suppose it is young people who keep saying they like this crap and therefore will never get anything better..what a shame. Filmaking in the last decade has hit it's lowest point. The continual dumbing down of american youth. *sigh*.I'll stick to the older character and dialogue driven oldies. I don't need a lot of bells and whistles to keep my attention. I can have deep thoughts about a good plot and find entertainment in that, as always. I am so glad I was born in the 50's. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2011
    0
    Twilight with a new skin. I am divided on if this is a movie or purposely insulting to the original story from Grimm. Same topic of being inTwilight with a new skin. I am divided on if this is a movie or purposely insulting to the original story from Grimm. Same topic of being in love with a monster that should be eradicated if they ever appear. Same topic of a slut being the protagonist. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: January 21, 2011
    This week, get the latest news on Christopher Nolan's next "Batman" and new projects from Ridley Scott, Clint Eastwood, and Alexander Payne, plus watch new trailers for "Scream 4," "Red Riding Hood," and more.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.