User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 91
  2. Negative: 21 out of 91

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    I just got back from watching RED TAIL, It was an ok movie however, I thought it very much short of the movie a few years ago titled "TUSKEGEE AIRMEN", now that was a great movie about the Tuskegee Airmen and a goo war air movie about these guys.
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    This movie had its flaws, just like every movie out there has. It did a great job, however, at showing the struggle the "colors" had to go through, even when defending our country. I can't give it a perfect score, because a 10 to me means i think it is the best movie for all of 2012. I can, however, say i can't wait to see it again!
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Great Movie! So proud to be Tuskegee ALUM!!! Great acting and great script! So much rich history!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This speaks to the numerous untold stories of American Americans and other great pioneer of other races in this country!
  4. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    I loved Red Tails because it is a fun, action-packed, shoot-em-up movie that incorporates an important story too often left out of history. I found the chemistry between the actors to be wonderful, and the story to be captivating -- i.e., underdogs fighting for a chance to kick some Nazi butt (not to mention just get recognized by their fellow countrymen as human beings). Lastly it's refreshing to see a broader story told about our past, and celebrate a group of often unsung heroes.

    Many of the criticisms I've read have some merit. Some of the dialogue may be stilted, some of the acting is stiff (but the acting of one of the lead pilots, Joe Little - a.k.a. "Lighting" is fabulous), the historical accuracy might not be spot-on... BUT, frankly I don't think these flaws take away from the bigger package of an exciting action movie. I think part of the criticism comes from people holding this movie to a higher standard because it deviates from the typical Hollywood formula (i.e. it's an action movie with an all-Black cast), which in my opinion is not fair. No this movie is not "Saving Private Ryan", but George Lucas didn't set out to create high-drama. His goal here was to create a pop-corn, feel-good, action movie, and in that regard the movie is a tremendous success.
    Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    Wow. Many critics have slammed the film. Not every movie is the artsy, indie, twisting plot will be a mess. I do not like the move from time to time, but it is not one of those films. If you are looking to feel like you're full of good movies, great special effects (and you do not take this film to be) inspired and learn something about history, then, to see this film and do not listen to critics. I see the movie opening night with my wife and we both love!

    It was a great pace, the action was great, the game was great and we got it, was never really a part of World War II led to the big screen to see until now. I can not stress this point. The war ended in 1945, is a sad story and we have finally achieved in 2012.

    We have seen the show late. Friends to meet the film, and was the last time "they" could not, we have shown that flaked and did not show up so we went ahead, and he saw it. Even a week after a long, cold working and the fight against a very long day, I was at the end of the film, and then glued and not fall asleep. In fact, when the end credits came up, then sat on the seat in the theater and for the first time I was served. (My film before the end of the film is good, you know, rather than a film you can not wait until the end)

    It is interesting to criticism almost universally criticized for representing the interests of Hollywood and Hollywood, this film was that it is not George Lucas contributed to this film in the first place. You must be a connection.

    A lot of respect for red-tails. The Red tails "into the fight just to fight" and "Top Gun" had their day. Man, these guys all had to go through the struggle, and perhaps only opportunity to see a country of their second-class citizens who died as a huge amount of integrity and humanity. Many, many people say that any color or origin should not forget, you guys fight your own war. level rarely seen and it really speaks to the quality of these people is integrity. It was really inspiring!

    P51 Mustang fighter that I think is my new favorite. 300 MPH cruising speed and maneuverability with a top speed of 450 mph and that was it, 1940 is a prop driven plane. Sweet!

    Thank you Mr. Lucas to the movie. Is doing well, so I hope I will be able to see more.
    For more Reviews visit here ginq.com
    Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    This movie is excellent. It is very historically accurate as well. Most importantly it does address race and discrimination in a meaningful way without making that the focal point of the film. As the theme states, "courage has no color" and that is expressed throughly as this is not a sad story about victims but a triumphant story about heroes despite all odds serving their country and excelling in it. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    Red Tails should go down as a classic film. The acting was good, the action was amazing, and the story was great. I think too many people came to see this movie with their predjudices already warmed up, never willing to give this film a chance. It's an important story, that far too many people in the world just aren't ready to face. This is a definite choice to be in my DVD collection, and should be shared by fathers to their sons for generations. Expand
  8. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    The movie Red Tails is an amazing movie, that finally captures and embodies many of the emotions, and experiences of the African-American pilots of the 1940's. Not only does it manage to do this in a way that is somewhat nostalgic, but also successfully conveys the much needed to be heard aspirations of African-Americans to be respected within society. I believe the movie somewhat parallels the present day conditions we are experiencing now. Critics seam to be deliberately under rating the movie in an atempt to debase the movie's relevence, for whatever dubious reasons, but because the movie is exceptionally well done, like the African-American pilots of the Tuskegee experiment, success of the Red Tails movie is inevitable. I only hope and trust that people will remember which critics were correct, and which were way off in their assessment of Red Tails and movies like it. I loved this movie, and have hopes that more films like it will follow. It scores 10 out of 10 !!! Collapse
  9. Jan 23, 2012
    9
    Not a perfect movie, but definitely enjoyable. The characters are likable and the aerial combat is spectacular. This movie was not meant to be a docudrama about the Tuskegee airmen, but more of an action movie set to inspire today's youths and show a side of WWII that few know about. If you want factual accounts, then watch the History channel, but if you want to be entertained by a movie that was inspired by the Tuskegee Airmen, then please go see this movie. Expand
  10. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    The Tuskegee Airmen Part 2. Didn't they already make a movie about this? I know the politically correct people who make these movies want to do everything they can to shove a story like this in everyone's face so they can feel better about themselves but enough is enough. They lost me with the trailer and the airmens' supposed pre-flight/pre-game chant as if Ray Lewis is flying one of these planes. Stupid. Expand
  11. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Unless your totally burned out by decades of Swedish art films

    your Inner Child will love Red Tails.

    Great sets, 1940's dialogue

    Terrific production, phenomenal action
  12. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    I loved Red Tails because it is a fun, action-packed, shoot-em-up movie that incorporates an important story too often left out of history. I found the chemistry between the actors to be wonderful, and the story to be captivating -- i.e., underdogs fighting for a chance to kick some Nazi butt (not to mention just get recognized by their fellow countrymen as human beings). Lastly it's refreshing to see a broader story told about our past, and celebrate a group of often unsung heroes. Thankfully, much of Red Tails is spent in the skies, where fighter planes swoop and zoom in thrilling dogfights with incendiary direct hits. Executive producer George Lucas apparently gave Hemingway the keys to his CGI kingdom, creating marvelously designed in-flight action and a sappy, snappy salute to the Tuskegee Airmen.'ve read have some merit. Some of the dialogue may be stilted, some of the acting is stiff (but the acting of one of the lead pilots, Joe Little - a.k.a. "Lighting" is fabulous), the historical accuracy might not be spot-on... BUT, frankly I don't think these flaws take away from the bigger package of an exciting action movie. Cuba Gooding, Jr. as Major Emanuel Stance

    Nate Parker as Martin "Easy" Julian

    David Oyelowo as Joe "Lightning" Little

    Lars van Riesen as "Pretty Boy" (the German antagonist pilot)

    Ne-Yo as Andrew "Smoky" Salem

    Tristan Wilds as Ray "Ray Gun" or "Junior" Gannon

    Andre Royo as Chief "Coffee" Coleman
    Expand
  13. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hokey story but so what? Flight scenes were fantastic! POV in the fighters and the bombers really showed how fast things happen. Most obvious cliche to me: I knew the guy was dead as soon as she said yes. Expand
  14. May 24, 2012
    10
    This movie has great characters, action, and emotion. After watching it, I literally stood up and held my hand to my heart. This is the best African American action picture and the best aerial dogfight movie. This is a very important story that everyone needs to know about. It looks and sounds spectacular on blu-ray. The extra features are superb. I just wish there were more of them. That's not because they're lacking but because I love the movie so much. Expand
  15. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    I really enjoyed this film. It was entertaining. The air-to-air combat scenes were pretty amazing. I loved the photography and cinematography. And the special effects blew me away.
  16. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    Red Tails is a really great film. It starts with action and doesn't let up until the end. Lucas and his team have deftly used the movie to tell the main story of the Tuskegee Airmen while leaving the origin and after-effects of the war for another time. This gives it a more action oriented feel rather than being a documentary. It's light on the drama and heavy on the action to give it more entertainment heft. I think this works in favor of the movie as it keeps the viewer engaged while learning of the exploits of Easy and Lightning the film's main heroes. Expand
  17. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    I thought this movie seemed to give a good representation of the Tuskegee Airman. I am a WW2 Aviation history buff, so I loved the movie. It was full of great flying action and a good story. By the way, did you all know the Red Tails were the ONLY fighter squadron in the ENTIRE war that NEVER lost a bomber to enemy aircraft?! I think this says a lot about the courage, training and ability of the Tuskegee Airman. Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jan 27, 2012
    50
    You leave Red Tails thinking of what might have been instead of what is – a missed opportunity.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jan 25, 2012
    50
    Red Tails is both a stirring and simplistic tribute to the men that not only shattered the U.S. Army Air Corps' racial barrier but also saved the lives of many a white, B-17 crew member, all while downing countless numbers of Hitler's formidable, jet-propelled Luftwaffe.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jan 20, 2012
    75
    Thankfully, much of Red Tails is spent in the skies, where fighter planes swoop and zoom in thrilling dogfights with incendiary direct hits. Executive producer George Lucas apparently gave Hemingway the keys to his CGI kingdom, creating marvelously designed in-flight action and a sappy, snappy salute to the Tuskegee Airmen.