Twentieth Century Fox | Release Date: January 20, 2012
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 99 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
44
Mixed:
31
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BHBarryJan 22, 2012
â
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
GarrMay 24, 2012
This movie has great characters, action, and emotion. After watching it, I literally stood up and held my hand to my heart. This is the best African American action picture and the best aerial dogfight movie. This is a very important storyThis movie has great characters, action, and emotion. After watching it, I literally stood up and held my hand to my heart. This is the best African American action picture and the best aerial dogfight movie. This is a very important story that everyone needs to know about. It looks and sounds spectacular on blu-ray. The extra features are superb. I just wish there were more of them. That's not because they're lacking but because I love the movie so much. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
frogwipeJan 20, 2012
The Tuskegee Airmen Part 2. Didn't they already make a movie about this? I know the politically correct people who make these movies want to do everything they can to shove a story like this in everyone's face so they can feel better aboutThe Tuskegee Airmen Part 2. Didn't they already make a movie about this? I know the politically correct people who make these movies want to do everything they can to shove a story like this in everyone's face so they can feel better about themselves but enough is enough. They lost me with the trailer and the airmens' supposed pre-flight/pre-game chant as if Ray Lewis is flying one of these planes. Stupid. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
BenardenJan 27, 2012
Unless your totally burned out by decades of Swedish art films

your Inner Child will love Red Tails.

Great sets, 1940's dialogue

Terrific production, phenomenal action
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
IronmongerJan 21, 2012
This movie had its flaws, just like every movie out there has. It did a great job, however, at showing the struggle the "colors" had to go through, even when defending our country. I can't give it a perfect score, because a 10 to me means iThis movie had its flaws, just like every movie out there has. It did a great job, however, at showing the struggle the "colors" had to go through, even when defending our country. I can't give it a perfect score, because a 10 to me means i think it is the best movie for all of 2012. I can, however, say i can't wait to see it again! Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
jewliwolf52Feb 3, 2012
I really enjoyed this film. It was entertaining. The air-to-air combat scenes were pretty amazing. I loved the photography and cinematography. And the special effects blew me away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
This was a good movie but not great and what's unfortunate is that it had the potential to be that. The actors were great and the story being based on true events gave it a perfect opportunity to do great things. But unlike the men in theThis was a good movie but not great and what's unfortunate is that it had the potential to be that. The actors were great and the story being based on true events gave it a perfect opportunity to do great things. But unlike the men in the film, it didn't take advantage of it. The stereotypically needless explosions seemed more abundant than usual, the dialogue was hammy, and the plot (not the part that was true but the added character drama) was too predictable. Combine those things with a horrible soundtrack and you get an average movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Bustergundam4Jan 27, 2012
I loved Red Tails because it is a fun, action-packed, shoot-em-up movie that incorporates an important story too often left out of history. I found the chemistry between the actors to be wonderful, and the story to be captivating -- i.e.,I loved Red Tails because it is a fun, action-packed, shoot-em-up movie that incorporates an important story too often left out of history. I found the chemistry between the actors to be wonderful, and the story to be captivating -- i.e., underdogs fighting for a chance to kick some Nazi butt (not to mention just get recognized by their fellow countrymen as human beings). Lastly it's refreshing to see a broader story told about our past, and celebrate a group of often unsung heroes. Thankfully, much of Red Tails is spent in the skies, where fighter planes swoop and zoom in thrilling dogfights with incendiary direct hits. Executive producer George Lucas apparently gave Hemingway the keys to his CGI kingdom, creating marvelously designed in-flight action and a sappy, snappy salute to the Tuskegee Airmen.'ve read have some merit. Some of the dialogue may be stilted, some of the acting is stiff (but the acting of one of the lead pilots, Joe Little - a.k.a. "Lighting" is fabulous), the historical accuracy might not be spot-on... BUT, frankly I don't think these flaws take away from the bigger package of an exciting action movie. Cuba Gooding, Jr. as Major Emanuel Stance

Nate Parker as Martin "Easy" Julian

David Oyelowo as Joe "Lightning" Little

Lars van Riesen as "Pretty Boy" (the German antagonist pilot)

Ne-Yo as Andrew "Smoky" Salem

Tristan Wilds as Ray "Ray Gun" or "Junior" Gannon

Andre Royo as Chief "Coffee" Coleman
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
friedasandersJan 20, 2012
Great Movie! So proud to be Tuskegee ALUM!!! Great acting and great script! So much rich history!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This speaks to the numerous untold stories of American Americans and other great pioneer of other races in this country!
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
flyboyalaJan 20, 2012
I just got back from watching RED TAIL, It was an ok movie however, I thought it very much short of the movie a few years ago titled "TUSKEGEE AIRMEN", now that was a great movie about the Tuskegee Airmen and a goo war air movie about these guys.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
drjaviJan 23, 2012
This movie is excellent. It is very historically accurate as well. Most importantly it does address race and discrimination in a meaningful way without making that the focal point of the film. As the theme states, "courage has no color"This movie is excellent. It is very historically accurate as well. Most importantly it does address race and discrimination in a meaningful way without making that the focal point of the film. As the theme states, "courage has no color" and that is expressed throughly as this is not a sad story about victims but a triumphant story about heroes despite all odds serving their country and excelling in it. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
md5269Jan 22, 2012
Red Tails should go down as a classic film. The acting was good, the action was amazing, and the story was great. I think too many people came to see this movie with their predjudices already warmed up, never willing to give this film aRed Tails should go down as a classic film. The acting was good, the action was amazing, and the story was great. I think too many people came to see this movie with their predjudices already warmed up, never willing to give this film a chance. It's an important story, that far too many people in the world just aren't ready to face. This is a definite choice to be in my DVD collection, and should be shared by fathers to their sons for generations. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ImJoshingJan 22, 2012
I loved Red Tails because it is a fun, action-packed, shoot-em-up movie that incorporates an important story too often left out of history. I found the chemistry between the actors to be wonderful, and the story to be captivating -- i.e.,I loved Red Tails because it is a fun, action-packed, shoot-em-up movie that incorporates an important story too often left out of history. I found the chemistry between the actors to be wonderful, and the story to be captivating -- i.e., underdogs fighting for a chance to kick some Nazi butt (not to mention just get recognized by their fellow countrymen as human beings). Lastly it's refreshing to see a broader story told about our past, and celebrate a group of often unsung heroes.

Many of the criticisms I've read have some merit. Some of the dialogue may be stilted, some of the acting is stiff (but the acting of one of the lead pilots, Joe Little - a.k.a. "Lighting" is fabulous), the historical accuracy might not be spot-on... BUT, frankly I don't think these flaws take away from the bigger package of an exciting action movie. I think part of the criticism comes from people holding this movie to a higher standard because it deviates from the typical Hollywood formula (i.e. it's an action movie with an all-Black cast), which in my opinion is not fair. No this movie is not "Saving Private Ryan", but George Lucas didn't set out to create high-drama. His goal here was to create a pop-corn, feel-good, action movie, and in that regard the movie is a tremendous success.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
Yea-or-NayJan 22, 2012
The movie Red Tails is an amazing movie, that finally captures and embodies many of the emotions, and experiences of the African-American pilots of the 1940's. Not only does it manage to do this in a way that is somewhat nostalgic, but alsoThe movie Red Tails is an amazing movie, that finally captures and embodies many of the emotions, and experiences of the African-American pilots of the 1940's. Not only does it manage to do this in a way that is somewhat nostalgic, but also successfully conveys the much needed to be heard aspirations of African-Americans to be respected within society. I believe the movie somewhat parallels the present day conditions we are experiencing now. Critics seam to be deliberately under rating the movie in an atempt to debase the movie's relevence, for whatever dubious reasons, but because the movie is exceptionally well done, like the African-American pilots of the Tuskegee experiment, success of the Red Tails movie is inevitable. I only hope and trust that people will remember which critics were correct, and which were way off in their assessment of Red Tails and movies like it. I loved this movie, and have hopes that more films like it will follow. It scores 10 out of 10 !!! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Cellus357Jan 22, 2012
I really enjoyed this film! Granted the dialogue could have been better, but it was action packed, it had romance, and keep in mind, Lucas probably has prequels and other things that he wrote into the movie. I doubt if they will see the lightI really enjoyed this film! Granted the dialogue could have been better, but it was action packed, it had romance, and keep in mind, Lucas probably has prequels and other things that he wrote into the movie. I doubt if they will see the light of day, being that he didn't get HUGE numbers like he had wanted, but it had action, and romance, and lot of other things that stood out.

Besides, he was going off of the information given to him from surviving Tuskegee Airmen, and trying to make it as accurate as possible in their eyes as he could. Well played, Mr Lucas, that was $11.00 well spent!!
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
MX312Jan 23, 2012
Not a perfect movie, but definitely enjoyable. The characters are likable and the aerial combat is spectacular. This movie was not meant to be a docudrama about the Tuskegee airmen, but more of an action movie set to inspire today's youthsNot a perfect movie, but definitely enjoyable. The characters are likable and the aerial combat is spectacular. This movie was not meant to be a docudrama about the Tuskegee airmen, but more of an action movie set to inspire today's youths and show a side of WWII that few know about. If you want factual accounts, then watch the History channel, but if you want to be entertained by a movie that was inspired by the Tuskegee Airmen, then please go see this movie. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
GinqsJan 27, 2012
Wow. Many critics have slammed the film. Not every movie is the artsy, indie, twisting plot will be a mess. I do not like the move from time to time, but it is not one of those films. If you are looking to feel like you're full of goodWow. Many critics have slammed the film. Not every movie is the artsy, indie, twisting plot will be a mess. I do not like the move from time to time, but it is not one of those films. If you are looking to feel like you're full of good movies, great special effects (and you do not take this film to be) inspired and learn something about history, then, to see this film and do not listen to critics. I see the movie opening night with my wife and we both love!

It was a great pace, the action was great, the game was great and we got it, was never really a part of World War II led to the big screen to see until now. I can not stress this point. The war ended in 1945, is a sad story and we have finally achieved in 2012.

We have seen the show late. Friends to meet the film, and was the last time "they" could not, we have shown that flaked and did not show up so we went ahead, and he saw it. Even a week after a long, cold working and the fight against a very long day, I was at the end of the film, and then glued and not fall asleep. In fact, when the end credits came up, then sat on the seat in the theater and for the first time I was served. (My film before the end of the film is good, you know, rather than a film you can not wait until the end)

It is interesting to criticism almost universally criticized for representing the interests of Hollywood and Hollywood, this film was that it is not George Lucas contributed to this film in the first place. You must be a connection.

A lot of respect for red-tails. The Red tails "into the fight just to fight" and "Top Gun" had their day. Man, these guys all had to go through the struggle, and perhaps only opportunity to see a country of their second-class citizens who died as a huge amount of integrity and humanity. Many, many people say that any color or origin should not forget, you guys fight your own war. level rarely seen and it really speaks to the quality of these people is integrity. It was really inspiring!

P51 Mustang fighter that I think is my new favorite. 300 MPH cruising speed and maneuverability with a top speed of 450 mph and that was it, 1940 is a prop driven plane. Sweet!

Thank you Mr. Lucas to the movie. Is doing well, so I hope I will be able to see more.
For more Reviews visit here ginq.com
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
franklanzkieJan 31, 2012
Red Tails is a really great film. It starts with action and doesn't let up until the end. Lucas and his team have deftly used the movie to tell the main story of the Tuskegee Airmen while leaving the origin and after-effects of the war forRed Tails is a really great film. It starts with action and doesn't let up until the end. Lucas and his team have deftly used the movie to tell the main story of the Tuskegee Airmen while leaving the origin and after-effects of the war for another time. This gives it a more action oriented feel rather than being a documentary. It's light on the drama and heavy on the action to give it more entertainment heft. I think this works in favor of the movie as it keeps the viewer engaged while learning of the exploits of Easy and Lightning the film's main heroes. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
psiclistFeb 1, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hokey story but so what? Flight scenes were fantastic! POV in the fighters and the bombers really showed how fast things happen. Most obvious cliche to me: I knew the guy was dead as soon as she said yes. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
dana73Feb 5, 2012
I thought this movie seemed to give a good representation of the Tuskegee Airman. I am a WW2 Aviation history buff, so I loved the movie. It was full of great flying action and a good story. By the way, did you all know the Red Tails wereI thought this movie seemed to give a good representation of the Tuskegee Airman. I am a WW2 Aviation history buff, so I loved the movie. It was full of great flying action and a good story. By the way, did you all know the Red Tails were the ONLY fighter squadron in the ENTIRE war that NEVER lost a bomber to enemy aircraft?! I think this says a lot about the courage, training and ability of the Tuskegee Airman. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SwarleyStinsonMay 5, 2012
Lots of great action and a good story. Some of the non action scenes go on too long and it would be better if they cut a bit from each of them to reduce the length of the movie, but they do contribute to the story. There is one guy who'sLots of great action and a good story. Some of the non action scenes go on too long and it would be better if they cut a bit from each of them to reduce the length of the movie, but they do contribute to the story. There is one guy who's acting is laughably bad but he only has a tiny role. (The p38 pilot) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 8, 2016
The actors' convincing portrayals and realistic bond with each other, along with the spectacular visual and sound effects created by Lucas, makes Red Tails feel genuine and powerful.

Watch here for free
The actors' convincing portrayals and realistic bond with each other, along with the spectacular visual and sound effects created by Lucas, makes Red Tails feel genuine and powerful.

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-82139-Red-Tails-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews