RED

Summit Entertainment | Release Date: October 15, 2010
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 333 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
243
Mixed:
64
Negative:
26
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Red deserves a red. This is movie brought together a bunch of old farts to do some action scenes. Bruce Willis needs to give it up and Helen Mirren looks like an idiot shooting a gun. This is was a waste of time. I guess they needed one moreRed deserves a red. This is movie brought together a bunch of old farts to do some action scenes. Bruce Willis needs to give it up and Helen Mirren looks like an idiot shooting a gun. This is was a waste of time. I guess they needed one more highlight before they all die. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
spudOct 16, 2010
A dreadful screenplay that goes for a walk down the most commonplace of alleyways. A particularly bloated Malkovich was reduced to a cartoonish persona; Mary-Louise Parker was her usual quirky self, which not meant here as a compliment. HelenA dreadful screenplay that goes for a walk down the most commonplace of alleyways. A particularly bloated Malkovich was reduced to a cartoonish persona; Mary-Louise Parker was her usual quirky self, which not meant here as a compliment. Helen Mirren and Morgan Freeman were their usual selves, which is not too bad, but does not mean much anymore. It is almost like they have quit trying to act in their old age; like saying "Here I am. I am Helen Mirren/Morgan Freeman" is enough. Well, it is not. And, of course, it goes without saying that Bruce Willis's presence would be a more suitable at a greengrocer's than any endeavour involving acting of any kind. The man has the charisma of a paving stone. And its emotional range too. It really still surprises me that projects such as this still get greenlit. I suppose people with more money than sense need to have a target at which to hurl their children's potential inheritance. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
3
mobyslickOct 16, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. DO NOT WANT. This movie is bad on many levels despite the all-star cast. The main reasons are that the SUPER LOUD action is simply ridiculous and therefore boring, and the plot is not credible in the slightest. To elaborate, none of the characters here behave in a manner consistent with what a real person would do. They are exaggerated caricatures that come across as very shallow. Are these the kind of people you can agree with, much less cheer for? I hope not. An ex-CIA operative comes stalking (literally) out of retirement. Shows up in the home of a much younger, attractive, and apparently self-sufficient woman who somehow can't find a boyfriend. Why? Don't ask questions, it ruins the only chance you will enjoy this tripe! OK, so she puts up very light, almost comic faux-resistance to being kidnapped by her stalker, and when he finally reveals he's the target of an expensive full-team assassination plot by the good ol' gummint of the USA (why not just poison him or snipe him at his mailbox that he is shown walking to), immediately joins forces with him WITHOUT QUESTION. This former Social Security desk employee is now a fully-committed rebel acting against her government. Unbelieveable. And when she gets assault rifles pointed at her, or sees people blown up and shot, this former customer service phone-answerer does not bat an eyelid nor does she quiver in fear, but turns out to have the reactions of a trained infiltration agent. Credit given to audience for intelligence: 0. Next!
Now on the the very wearisome gathering of allies. Nothing original here - Bruce makes a few stops where viewers can go "Look! It's %former_A_list_actor%!" And each one does their tapdance to make the audience chuckle, skipping off arm-in-arm with our rebel. OK so now we've got the heroic rebel, his Stockholm-suffering hostage, the dependable foil, the crazy gun dude, the former nemesis turned ally, and the dont-mess-with-me granny. Blah!
As far as plot this movie alternates thus - a scene of of comic relief / intelligence gathering / plan making, followed by a scene of US government employees being tricked and / or killed in cold blood. Especially awesome is when John Malkovich cracks a joke right after making a fresh kill. Bruce, just die already and save the country a lot of grief and the taxpayers a lot of money. I'm not even that fond of the institution, but this movie actually made me wish they would win.
The plot is an insult to any self-respecting person, especially Americans. The whole thing just makes the government look like demonic clowns. I sat and sighed through the first hour and a quarter, then finally left in disgust as the same shallowness and terrible ideas were repeated over and over. You've seen all the action before, there is nothing but special effects to it. You've heard the story told much better and without the insulting elements. Save yourself the time and avoid the tarnish that this stinker puts on some formerly stellar actors.
Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
1
trilbyOct 16, 2010
I just cannot believe some of the reviews for this piece of absolute garbage. I had high hopes but 43 minutes in, and one too many exploding rogue agents later, by a returned grenade from no less the butt of a high-tech CIA gun swungI just cannot believe some of the reviews for this piece of absolute garbage. I had high hopes but 43 minutes in, and one too many exploding rogue agents later, by a returned grenade from no less the butt of a high-tech CIA gun swung ridiculously by john malkovich (who is just plane embarrassing), i gave up. No more!! This is a plot without an ounce of intelligence or originality, whose characters plod aimlessly from one sub par A-Team TV series set piece to another. I just didn't care enough about anyone or anything....please...do yourself a favour...Do ANYTHING else but watch this tripe. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
dmrDec 14, 2010
simply awful..........................................................................................................................................
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
SpangleAug 23, 2015
An incredibly stupid film that tries to be like "lol old people shooting guns" throughout, RED falls flat on its face repeatedly. The acting is fine due to the very talented cast, but the plot is beyond dumb and the film, intended as aAn incredibly stupid film that tries to be like "lol old people shooting guns" throughout, RED falls flat on its face repeatedly. The acting is fine due to the very talented cast, but the plot is beyond dumb and the film, intended as a comedy, is never funny at all. Overall, this one left me largely speechless as I am unable to think of much else since practically all of it sucked. The acting saves it a touch, but that is not enough when the plot, writing, and crutches it leans on are all so dumb. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ydnar4Mar 7, 2015
Bruce Willis should maybe just retire. Its hard to hate on such an important action actor but he just can't do anything right at this time. Strong actors that are lacking in this movie and the humor is just so lame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews