RED

Summit Entertainment | Release Date: October 15, 2010
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 329 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
241
Mixed:
62
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MasterRileyDec 20, 2016
RED is a pretty good action movie with good casting and performances all around. It didn't wow me in any way but it was definitely an entertaining watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Oct 27, 2016
Fortunate blend of action and comedy, supported by dynamic roles of Willis, Freeman, Mirren and Malkovich. Good choice for a between day evening with the needly bag of popcorn
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 28, 2016
Red is my favorite color. RED proves that my reds are effortless. RED is somehow getting a good score but at the same time could end up being in the mixed section.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscAug 30, 2014
awesome but not better then red 2 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 29, 2014
I never, ever, ever would've expected to see Helen Mirren hold up a gun and take a perfect shot. Red manages to get Helen Mirren to do that... except it's an AK-47. And it's awesome, because Mirren can actually pull it off. Red is far betterI never, ever, ever would've expected to see Helen Mirren hold up a gun and take a perfect shot. Red manages to get Helen Mirren to do that... except it's an AK-47. And it's awesome, because Mirren can actually pull it off. Red is far better than the scummy action flicks all year long--and with an outstanding ensemble of actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
rafingal23Aug 26, 2014
I loved this movie the most for it's humour. The action was good. The casting was good. Helen Mirren did a fantastic job in this movie. Good movie but room for improvement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 24, 2014
Entertaining, amusing and a well-contained action flick. Good times all around. Didn't get boring for a second.

The build-up between a retired CIA agent Frank Moses and a bored-of-her-life Sarah was perfect and almost hilarious, and the
Entertaining, amusing and a well-contained action flick. Good times all around. Didn't get boring for a second.

The build-up between a retired CIA agent Frank Moses and a bored-of-her-life Sarah was perfect and almost hilarious, and the steady growth and deepening of their relationship worked very well without taking the film away from what it was really about.

The style, humor and action all blended well together. All the characters had their parts to play, more or less, and no one was left sitting in the side lines.

Want some guilty-pleasure, carefree action and lots of shooting without it raining blood and guts every other second? This is for you.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StaticSpineApr 19, 2014
The whole thing with retired secret agents is pretty interesting, but the story seems pretty silly most of the time. On the other hand there is a bunch of great actors here. Overall, the movie is a bit boring, because it has very few badassThe whole thing with retired secret agents is pretty interesting, but the story seems pretty silly most of the time. On the other hand there is a bunch of great actors here. Overall, the movie is a bit boring, because it has very few badass action scenes and the comedy-oriented stuff is not that fun too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ACanadianCatOct 29, 2013
A fun outing to the theater. It does not take it self to seriously but is not silly either. The characters are all very interesting and loads of fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 16, 2013
Red delivers the goods (action, explosions, fun,) senior style. It takes a handful of some of Hollywood's best actors and actresses, and throws them in a silly, goofy, CIA-style world full of car chases, bazookas, paranoia, and, of course,Red delivers the goods (action, explosions, fun,) senior style. It takes a handful of some of Hollywood's best actors and actresses, and throws them in a silly, goofy, CIA-style world full of car chases, bazookas, paranoia, and, of course, action! And it has Morgan Freeman Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RealMuthaFApr 28, 2013
A great action comedy with great actors and plot, RED shows that even such "peaceful" actors as Morgan Freeman and Helen Mirren can be great action movie stars. There are two characters which stand out for me. Firstly, Malkovich's characterA great action comedy with great actors and plot, RED shows that even such "peaceful" actors as Morgan Freeman and Helen Mirren can be great action movie stars. There are two characters which stand out for me. Firstly, Malkovich's character is outright hilarious, he made a great performance playing that paraniod psycho. However, it's the Bruce Willis' main hero character that stands out in a negative way, in my opinion. Perhaps I'm just fed up with Willis, but his whole acting comes down to a constant ironic grin, calm voice and nothing more, so he's the only minus of the movie for me. In all other aspects, RED's awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
iLightningApr 5, 2013
Red boasts shockingly comical violence, an unpredictable plot and is overall a brilliant film. The action is suitably balanced, with enough crazy and enough gritty to please everyone. The cast of big names deliver great performances creatingRed boasts shockingly comical violence, an unpredictable plot and is overall a brilliant film. The action is suitably balanced, with enough crazy and enough gritty to please everyone. The cast of big names deliver great performances creating a truly unique set of lovable characters. A fantastic action movie for any action fan, comedy fan, Bruce Willis fan, and their grandma. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jimbo82Apr 3, 2013
Red is an excellent film with a perfect mixture of comedy, action, and thrills and spills. In addition to this, you get an intelligent script and some great acting (Malkovich in particular was brilliant). Highly recommended viewing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Andys_ReviewsMar 10, 2013
I must say this film does exactly what it says on the tin; it’s brash, explosive and it also has some humour splattered about in there. I did like Bruce Willis in this one; some of his wise cracks put me in mind of his character David AddisonI must say this film does exactly what it says on the tin; it’s brash, explosive and it also has some humour splattered about in there. I did like Bruce Willis in this one; some of his wise cracks put me in mind of his character David Addison in “Moonlighting” (an old TV show for those too young to remember it). I loved John Malkovich as the, almost paranoid, member of the team; he added some great comic moments. Helen Mirren was great (as ever), as was Richard Dreyfuss as the bad guy and Brian Cox. Also a mention fro Karl Urban who played his role with great aplomb; he’ll go far I’m sure. As to the film; well I enjoyed many aspects of it although I did find the age difference between Willis and Parker a tad creepy. Other than that, bring on the sequel! I found it a lot of fun and everything ‘The Expendables’ isn’t; well worth the price of the disc.

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

My score: 6.9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
You are never too old to make a great action comedy, and Bruce Willis and John Malkovich prove that in RED. This wasn't just another shoot um up kill fest with a story you've seen a million times. RED is action packed, but it's also clever,You are never too old to make a great action comedy, and Bruce Willis and John Malkovich prove that in RED. This wasn't just another shoot um up kill fest with a story you've seen a million times. RED is action packed, but it's also clever, exciting, and hilarious. It's a fresh movie in a typically repetitive genre. Honestly they don't get much better than this! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
bram29Jan 18, 2013
the main plot gimmick of the movie never ceases to lose it's charm, and the actors give their best performances. of course, over the years, this kind of stuff must almost come natural to them now. now philosophical depth to be found, but athe main plot gimmick of the movie never ceases to lose it's charm, and the actors give their best performances. of course, over the years, this kind of stuff must almost come natural to them now. now philosophical depth to be found, but a wonderful evening all the more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It's not exactly as intelligent as it is almost mindlessly entertaining, but "Red" is still a worthwhile cinematic experience, with some interesting twists and turns scattered throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RikiegeSep 25, 2012
It's the best action movie I've seen in my life! It is so good and fun! also has parts of comedy. I recommend it to everyone! Fewer women over 60 years ... In short: Not to be missed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
skyminsterJul 23, 2012
Red is, well, cool. Very cool. Maybe awesome. It's a great film anyway. Its got exciting, fast-moving and tense action sequences, funny moments that make you laugh out loud, good acting, good character building and a kinda nonsensicalRed is, well, cool. Very cool. Maybe awesome. It's a great film anyway. Its got exciting, fast-moving and tense action sequences, funny moments that make you laugh out loud, good acting, good character building and a kinda nonsensical story-line, it doesn't really explain much, but you can tell it's more thought than something like Transformers. I could easily give it a nine out of ten, but it has a few minor problems scattered around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
First off, this is a 9.25 out of 10. This has about everything. Action, comedy, it's real great. Acting is good. Everyone does a good job. Story and score are both really good. Overall this is a funny action ride that you should watch. It'sFirst off, this is a 9.25 out of 10. This has about everything. Action, comedy, it's real great. Acting is good. Everyone does a good job. Story and score are both really good. Overall this is a funny action ride that you should watch. It's really good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JaySupertrampFeb 6, 2012
Cool action movie with a typically linear predictable story. Nice movie for a silent sunday evening to chill down and only watch without thinking. Just enjoy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
filmtrashreviewJun 20, 2011
RED takes action films to a new level never discovered before. Pure badassness that will have any Michael Bay fan screaming in his seat is impressive but to do it without having an explosion around every corner as well as developing a storyRED takes action films to a new level never discovered before. Pure badassness that will have any Michael Bay fan screaming in his seat is impressive but to do it without having an explosion around every corner as well as developing a story line that will let everyone else enjoy the film, is just 100% impressive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
roddersj04May 11, 2011
I gotta say, I didn't find this film as good as I thought it would be. I thought it would offer more to action-comedy films, but ended up being another actioner with comedy, but the film does manage to hit that place in between being charmingI gotta say, I didn't find this film as good as I thought it would be. I thought it would offer more to action-comedy films, but ended up being another actioner with comedy, but the film does manage to hit that place in between being charming and brutally violent. The cast are brilliant. Short of The Expendables and Inception, this is probably the best cast list of 2010. Bruce Willis, Morgan Freeman, John Malkovich and Hellen Mirren as retired CIA agents, Mary Louise Parker (love her in Weeds) as Willis' love interest and Karl Urban as CIA agent, all acting at top notch form. Did the cast take badass pills during filming, because thats what they (bar Julian Mcmahon and Mary Louise Parker) seem to primarily be. Especially Willis and Urban, whom have a fantastic fight within the CIA headquaters. Props have to be given for Hellen Mirren, wielding machine guns and using turrets like she's been using them her entire acting career, as well as threatening Mary Louise Parker to "kill her and bury her body in the woods" should she break Franks heart. Morgan Freeman isn't actually in the film for much time, but the parts that he is in, he lights up the scenes, and manages to provide one of the films best moments, where Richard Dreyfuss gloats that he can't be touched and Morgan Freeman smacks him across the face. John Malkovich is definately the breakout star of this film, the shining star of this movie. From his first appearance, he proves to be the best character of this film with his wonderfully madcap attiude and his method of madness, including carrying around a stuffed pig that carrys a fold-up gun inside, which is also used to hit back a grenade at an enemy. The best scene in the film has to be the fight at the docks, with Malkovich proving rocket launchers can be beaten by a simple bullet. There's a brilliant pause after the enemy remarks "Thats right, old man" where Malkovich just stops and questions "Old man?" followed by him proving his worth and saying the line of the film, "Old man my ass". So all in all, Red may not be the most groundbreaking film there is, but what is there is undoubtably a fun ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
smijatovMar 30, 2011
"Red" is a surprisingly funny comedy that has a great plot, that just leaves you wanting more. With what would seem a typical action flick story about ex-CIA agents, it is the surprise factor how good the film is, that really got me to"Red" is a surprisingly funny comedy that has a great plot, that just leaves you wanting more. With what would seem a typical action flick story about ex-CIA agents, it is the surprise factor how good the film is, that really got me to appreciate it. The story is ok, but the dialogues are just extremely witty, especially John Malkovich's lines. That being said, John Malkovich and Mary-Louise Parker steal the show. By far the funniest of the cast, they are show-stealers, especially Malkovich with his stuffed (with guns) pig toy. Very creative, very entertaining, very funny, very action packed, and very good acting in the film. Highly recommended if you want a film that will make you laugh out loud for an hour and a half and not feel as if you've lowered your IQ. Great film! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
NinjaAsokMar 9, 2011
This movie reminds me of tha good old action movies from the 80s... it even have a touch of the Die hard movie.. why isn't there more of these films... you cant always look at Oscar nominated suicidal depressing stuff. Its a good cast asThis movie reminds me of tha good old action movies from the 80s... it even have a touch of the Die hard movie.. why isn't there more of these films... you cant always look at Oscar nominated suicidal depressing stuff. Its a good cast as well and Mary-Louise Parker teams good with Bruce Willis as the innocent sexy girl looking for an adventure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
l_fesoMar 7, 2011
This movie was extremely well played, I have to admit even to someone like me who rarely like any movie I liked this one more then I thought I would. Its clash of action and comedy really made it a hit but not only that the well chosen actorsThis movie was extremely well played, I have to admit even to someone like me who rarely like any movie I liked this one more then I thought I would. Its clash of action and comedy really made it a hit but not only that the well chosen actors in the movie fed my interest and kept me biting my nails beginning to end with the exciting graphics and action scenes. Now I would recommend this movie to anyone because I was able to watch it with my entire family and my kids loved it I had to dub out the profanity but there were hardly any swear words and my husband loved this movie.. I liked it. I think this is the first movie I enjoyed since I was a child;. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MikePushkinFeb 14, 2011
The movie was great! Packed with action, hardly believable, but action non the less! Memorable characters, silly episodes, nice jokes every little once in a while, Can recommend that movie for those who are searching for a good laugh, as wellThe movie was great! Packed with action, hardly believable, but action non the less! Memorable characters, silly episodes, nice jokes every little once in a while, Can recommend that movie for those who are searching for a good laugh, as well as for those who enjoyed A-Team. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
peakchuaFeb 5, 2011
This movie contains high octane, great characters and some humor. The critics who rated this movie are definetely wrong because this movie is the best action movie since the Expendables i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jefequesoFeb 1, 2011
'Red' certainly isn't high-art, but it's an over-the-top, fun, funny, and decpetively smart (and well-acted) rollercoaster ride that utterly entertains from beginning to end. It also happens to be one of the most kickass films I have seen in'Red' certainly isn't high-art, but it's an over-the-top, fun, funny, and decpetively smart (and well-acted) rollercoaster ride that utterly entertains from beginning to end. It also happens to be one of the most kickass films I have seen in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
back2schoolbooDec 15, 2010
To enjoy this movie, you can't expect an action movie with a few small jokes. You need to expect over-the-top action sequences that are only half of the movie, with the other half being hilarious comedy. If you have that mind-set beforeTo enjoy this movie, you can't expect an action movie with a few small jokes. You need to expect over-the-top action sequences that are only half of the movie, with the other half being hilarious comedy. If you have that mind-set before going to the movie, you're in for a delightful couple hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews