RED

RED Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Frank, Joe, Marvin and Victoria used to be the CIA's top agents - but the secrets they know just made them the Agency's top targets. Now framed for assassination, the must use all of their collective cunning, experience and teamwork to stay one step ahead of their deadly pursuers and stayFrank, Joe, Marvin and Victoria used to be the CIA's top agents - but the secrets they know just made them the Agency's top targets. Now framed for assassination, the must use all of their collective cunning, experience and teamwork to stay one step ahead of their deadly pursuers and stay alive. To stop the operation, the team embarks on an impossible, cross-country mission to break into the top-secret CIA headquarters, where they will uncover one of the biggest conspiracies and cover-up in government history. [Summit Entertainment] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Even the more cartoonish performances, like John Malkovich's acid-damaged paranoiac, fit the movie's vision of the vanished, wild-and-woolly heyday of spycraft.
  2. RED is so much fun -- and its Over the Hill Gang so likeable -- that this is one of those rare cases where I wouldn't mind seeing them come out of retirement again for another romp.
  3. 75
    Red isn't edifying, ennobling, or artful. It's just an utterly satisfying combination of big kicks, cheap thrills and real laughs.
  4. 63
    Excels at bringing on the high-power pyrotechnics.
  5. Red starts repeating itself and spinning its wheels and looking for an ending, well before the ending arrives. The actors have considerable fun with it, though.
  6. Unfortunately, while RED's stars may have gotten better with age, its many clichés have not.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Nov 20, 2013
    20
    The movie doesn’t have a funny bone in its body, clomping from one unoriginal set piece to the next with a head-scratching lack of urgency.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 73
  2. Negative: 7 out of 73
  1. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Man, this movie is awesome! This is how you make an old-people action movie, Expendables!! I saw them film part of this in New Orleans, so IMan, this movie is awesome! This is how you make an old-people action movie, Expendables!! I saw them film part of this in New Orleans, so I was pretty excited about this movie. But when I saw the first trailer with Helen Mirren with automatic guns and John Malkovich running after some guys with bombs strapped to his chest, I knew this was gonna rock, and it did!!! The entire cast seems to be having a blast, which just helps their awesome performances. I'm a huge Bruce Willis fan, and I wasn't dissapointed. The action scenes are awesome and cartoony, and the comedy had me rolling on the floor!! Overall, with a strong cast, clever wit and dialouge, and some awesome action scenes, RED is an awesome ride that blows this years other action movies out of the water!! Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    This movie was exactly what I thought it would be. A roller coaster ride of action and comedy. It has been a while since I have sat down andThis movie was exactly what I thought it would be. A roller coaster ride of action and comedy. It has been a while since I have sat down and watched a movie that was just fun to watch. All these nay sayers crying about realism and character plot should stay home on their couch and enjoy their Oscar winning selections. For the rest of us that want to escape realism for a couple of hours and enjoy being entertained then this is the movie to see. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    This movie is a lot of fun. It is a quintessential "popcorn picture" -- not a lot of substance, but it doesn't really matter because the castThis movie is a lot of fun. It is a quintessential "popcorn picture" -- not a lot of substance, but it doesn't really matter because the cast is so fantastic. If you are looking for an enjoyable diversion of the type that Hollywood rarely makes these days, then I highly recommend checking this out. In terms of quality, it is miles above most summer blockbusters. Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2011
    7
    This movie was extremely well played, I have to admit even to someone like me who rarely like any movie I liked this one more then I thought IThis movie was extremely well played, I have to admit even to someone like me who rarely like any movie I liked this one more then I thought I would. Its clash of action and comedy really made it a hit but not only that the well chosen actors in the movie fed my interest and kept me biting my nails beginning to end with the exciting graphics and action scenes. Now I would recommend this movie to anyone because I was able to watch it with my entire family and my kids loved it I had to dub out the profanity but there were hardly any swear words and my husband loved this movie.. I liked it. I think this is the first movie I enjoyed since I was a child;. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2014
    7
    I never, ever, ever would've expected to see Helen Mirren hold up a gun and take a perfect shot. Red manages to get Helen Mirren to do that...I never, ever, ever would've expected to see Helen Mirren hold up a gun and take a perfect shot. Red manages to get Helen Mirren to do that... except it's an AK-47. And it's awesome, because Mirren can actually pull it off. Red is far better than the scummy action flicks all year long--and with an outstanding ensemble of actors. Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2012
    6
    I was pleasantly surprised about this movie. Even if the action looks fake here and there, you can still enjoy this movie very will because ofI was pleasantly surprised about this movie. Even if the action looks fake here and there, you can still enjoy this movie very will because of crazy John Malkovich and Helen Mirren who are killing it in there. Bruce Willis is boring as always, but his supporting actors make a very nice cast together. No masterpiece, but worth your time! Expand
  7. dmr
    Dec 14, 2010
    0
    simply awful..........................................................................................................................................

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews

    Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 18, 2010
    You might be hearing the phrase "Game of the Year candidate" a lot this week, and this new Wild West adventure from the creators of Grand Theft Auto is a major reason why. Find out exactly what the critics are saying about this new PS3/360 title.
  2. Music Monday (6/20): This Week's New Albums + Videos

    Music Monday (6/20): This Week's New Albums + Videos Image
    Published: June 20, 2016
    Our guide to this week's (and last week's) album releases also features the week's top new music videos from artists like Dinosaur Jr., Danny Brown, and Red Hot Chili Peppers, plus brand new streaming music from The Avalanches, Phantogram, Deerhoof, Peter Gabriel, and more.
  3. Music Monday (5/31): This Week's New Albums + Videos

    Music Monday (5/31): This Week's New Albums + Videos Image
    Published: May 31, 2016
    Our guide to this week's (and last week's) album releases also features the week's top new music videos from artists like Bat for Lashes, The Kills, Chance the Rapper, and Gwen Stefani, plus brand new streaming music from Paul Simon, Dinosaur Jr., Red Hot Chili Peppers, Death Grips, Swans, and more.
  4. Music Monday (5/9): This Week's New Albums + Videos

    Music Monday (5/9): This Week's New Albums + Videos Image
    Published: May 9, 2016
    Our guide to this week's (and last week's) album releases also features the week's top new music videos from artists like Radiohead, Grimes, and DJ Shadow, plus brand new streaming music from Band of Horses, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Justin Timberlake, Alicia Keys, and more.