Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: November 16, 2007
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 63 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
7
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
PhilPJun 1, 2008
I'm as liberal and anti-war (this one) as you can get. The movie simply sucks. You guys ought to focus on that. I haven't seen such a poorly acted or scripted piece of crap since Point Break. Horribly done in every way. If somebody I'm as liberal and anti-war (this one) as you can get. The movie simply sucks. You guys ought to focus on that. I haven't seen such a poorly acted or scripted piece of crap since Point Break. Horribly done in every way. If somebody wants t make a good movie about this incident, I'm all for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RAug 3, 2009
Isn't modern-day cinema great? Steven Spielberg can make a movie like "Saving Private Ryan" that not only shows the horrific realities of war, but also shows the Americans as the good guys. I've seen "Saving Private Ryan" be called Isn't modern-day cinema great? Steven Spielberg can make a movie like "Saving Private Ryan" that not only shows the horrific realities of war, but also shows the Americans as the good guys. I've seen "Saving Private Ryan" be called "biased" simply because the real bad guys, the Nazi soldiers, are portrayed as, guess what, the bad guys. But when a movie like "Redacted" is released, the far left nut jobs who hate America simply because its the latest fad hail it as a cinematic masterpiece because it shows the American troops as the good guys. Those three soldiers disgraced themselves and their country and are now rightfully rotting away in prison. However, this de Palma takes the heinous actions of just three individuals and makes them seem like the commonplace activities of the brace men and women overseas. He exploited a tragedy solely so he could push the leftist agenda of antagonizing the soldiers who have fought and died to give him the right to make this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TedM.Nov 18, 2007
Neocons will hate it? Hardly. Neocons won't see it. Frankly, Liberals won't see it either. 2 of my liberal friends started watching it on HDNet on Thursday night and were bored to death before the first hour concluded. That's Neocons will hate it? Hardly. Neocons won't see it. Frankly, Liberals won't see it either. 2 of my liberal friends started watching it on HDNet on Thursday night and were bored to death before the first hour concluded. That's the biggest sin in moving-making. Don't bore your audience. What a pathetic Friday showing, by the way. The movie didn't even register at Boxofficemojo. Why the Landmark in LA would waste a screen on this pity party is beyond me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MatthewFNov 19, 2007
Dreadfully boring, poorly acted, and hateful and bigoted in its design. Arguably the worst film of the year and easily the nadir of DePalma's career. Even for propaganda, it's trash. Save your $9.50 and give it to a charity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MCNov 24, 2007
Someone just trying to make a name for themselves and hasn't made a movies worth watching in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesR.Nov 20, 2007
How about a movie showing AQs beheading of children, Brian, ever thought of making that? Between this and Scarface you have a nice little body count on your hands. Oh yeah, the movie sucked by the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidANov 29, 2007
Brian De Palma's "Redacted" argues that the horrors of the Iraq war are being kept from us by inept or venal news media and the government's propaganda machine. That's a tenable premise for a provocative documentary; the Brian De Palma's "Redacted" argues that the horrors of the Iraq war are being kept from us by inept or venal news media and the government's propaganda machine. That's a tenable premise for a provocative documentary; the horrors of every war elude description, and Mr. De Palma is clearly desperate to get a purchase on the chaotic nature of this one. But his film isn't a documentary. It's a work of propaganda in its turn, a digitally photographed meditation on our media-saturated age in which our men in uniform, like the news crews that cover them, create their own realities by shooting digital video of their exploits. The film's core is a speculative and utterly unconvincing reconstruction of an incident that reportedly involved, among many horrors, the rape and savage killing of a 14-year-old Iraqi girl by members of a U.S. army squad. The Americans are portrayed with varying degrees of loathsomeness, but there's not much variety in the film. It's all an awful aberration. Why not make a film about the many rapes of Iraqi women by their fellow Muslims? Or about how many U.S. troops have saved countless women from the mass raping of Uday and Qusay Hussein or the rapes by their fighting Sunni and Shi'ite co-religionists? Well, DePalma would never do movies on those things. Because, hey, they aren't anti-American. And that would portray the Muslims, not American troops, in a bad light. And we can't have that in Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelM.Dec 1, 2007
I snuck in after another movie got out, Watched about 20 minutes got tired of it fast and left. There was 3 people in the theater when I left.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Davidd.Dec 4, 2007
I couldn't have said it any better Jason! What a piece of trash!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
robsApr 19, 2008
The reason the world hates the U.S. is because of dishonest movies like this one made by the blame America first crowd.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
R.LopezNov 15, 2007
Psuedo-documentary whose only purpose is to advance the idea that US soldiers in Iraq are beasts. DePalma should be tarred and feathered. If it were 1944 and FDR was president, that is exactly what would happen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JasonS.Nov 16, 2007
Hateful anti-war propaganda.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoshHarveyNov 16, 2007
Bad from start to finish. If you loath America you may like this movie. For anyone else you will just be relieved when it's over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhillipP.Nov 17, 2007
Strident left-wing hate made all the more irritating by the holier than thou pretentiousness of DePalma. Ironic coming from a man who's made a living making pseudo-pornos of women being slaughtered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EtainPNov 18, 2007
Are you a hardcore leftist who wakes up every morning seething with hatred towards Chimpy McHitler? Well you'll probably hate this movie too. It may be a leftist propaganda movie, but its an incredibly poorly made leftist propaganda Are you a hardcore leftist who wakes up every morning seething with hatred towards Chimpy McHitler? Well you'll probably hate this movie too. It may be a leftist propaganda movie, but its an incredibly poorly made leftist propaganda movie. Sorry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ShawnNov 21, 2007
This isn't anti-war, its anti-american.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaneTNov 21, 2007
This film is just great, isn't it? We have about 200,000 men and women presently in combat zones, and far-left Hollywood loons want to denigrate the country..The film is based on a real-life event that has resulted in three soldiers This film is just great, isn't it? We have about 200,000 men and women presently in combat zones, and far-left Hollywood loons want to denigrate the country..The film is based on a real-life event that has resulted in three soldiers being tried, convicted, and sent to prison for life. Yet DePalma wants the world to see this horror in living color. He wants this for political reasons, as he freely admits. Speaking before journalists in Italy, DePalma said: "The movie is an attempt to bring to reality what's happening in Iraq to the American people ... the pictures are what will stop the war." Here's how stupid that statement is: Overwhelmingly, American forces in Iraq have behaved with restraint and are trying to protect Iraqi civilians from terrorists who blow up women and children. That is the reality, pal. Your movie takes the exception and attempts to make it the rule. Not only that, but "Redacted" will play around the world and may well incite young Muslim men, already steeped in hatred toward America and the west, to act on their hatred. If just one of those men straps on a bomb vest and murders people, that is on Brian DePalma. My question is, why make a film like this? Most people will avoid it; who wants to see that kind of stuff? It definitely smears the military, and may even put our forces in physical danger. Why do this? In the summer of 1942, the Office of War Information, set up by President Franklin Roosevelt, censored American films which depicted scenes that might be used as "enemy propaganda." Few in Hollywood objected to the so-called "Production Code." The liberal icon, FDR, understood that war is so gruesome and chaotic that no civilian population could absorb it visually and still remain upbeat and committed to victory. Imagine seeing live shots of the D-Day invasion or the horror of Iwo Jima. Even during the Vietnam War, Hollywood did not examine the terrible conflict on film. It was only after the war had ended that you had movies like "The Deer Hunter" and "Apocalypse Now." But things have changed drastically in America. Today, it is chic among some in the entertainment industry to bash America and put it in a harsh light... even while Americans are dying overseas. It's freedom of expression, they say. Well, just because you have the right to do something, doesn't make it right. Fair-minded Americans should realize that in any war, mistakes will be made; horrifying things like Abu Ghraib will happen. These things need to be dealt with, but not exploited for political gain. The American military is doing important, noble work. Brian DePalma and the others who back him should be ashamed. They are hurting their own country. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JasonSNov 22, 2007
Liberals and terrorists will love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LasloO.Nov 16, 2007
Pure garbage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoshCNov 21, 2007
Just in time for Thanksgiving, the vile movie "Redacted" is opening in a few theatres this week. The film, financed by billionaire Mark Cuban and directed by far-left bomb thrower Brian DePalma, features drunken American soldiers in Iraq Just in time for Thanksgiving, the vile movie "Redacted" is opening in a few theatres this week. The film, financed by billionaire Mark Cuban and directed by far-left bomb thrower Brian DePalma, features drunken American soldiers in Iraq raping and murdering a 14-year-old girl and then slaughtering her family. There isn't any doubt in my mind that film like this will be displayed prominently on jihadi websites, and will be used as a recruiting tool by terrorists. No doubt. Both DePalma and Cuban are unrepentant and apparently could not care less about putting U.S. troops in even more danger. Cuban opines that it is wrong to condemn the film without seeing it, but that's incredible nonsense. No one denies the movie puts American soldiers in the worst light possible. Saying you can't condemn 'Redacted' without seeing it is like saying you can't condemn crystal meth without taking it. So what's to be done here? In a free society, Mark Cuban is entitled to make this despicable movie. Our military people have fought and died to give him that right. Isn't that ironic? Cuban uses his freedom and his money, made in America, to put our troops at further risk. How does the guy live with himself? This isn't about the Iraq war or the war on terror. This is about fellow citizens. Even during the ultra-contentious Vietnam conflict, Hollywood didn't make films that aided the enemy. Jane Fonda made a personal appearance in North Vietnam that did that, and she is still paying for it to this day. Mark Cuban owns the Dallas Maverick basketball team and has been seen gyrating on TV's "Dancing With the Stars." While Cuban is doing the cha-cha, almost 200,000 brave Americans are on far-away battlegrounds. Picture the image of Cuban dancing around juxtaposed with scenes of the hardship our troops face everyday. Sounds like it would make an interesting movie sequence, don't you think? There comes a time when good people must make a stand, and this is one of those times. Cuban and DePalma have done a bad thing; they have made life even harder for our troops. There is no excuse for "Redacted." The incident is based on a true story, but those who committed the crimes are in prison for life. You don't celebrate this kind of aberration with a movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewTNov 26, 2007
Total anti-military/anti-American trash. liberals and terrorists will love it. i just wish it was in print, so at least I could wipe my a.s with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CarlCDec 13, 2007
Just horrible to watch and directed by someone that is past his prime and really needs to retire.
0 of 0 users found this helpful