User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 59
  2. Negative: 29 out of 59
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JackG
    Mar 7, 2008
    7
    The movie itself is based on the true events of mahmudiyah killing in Iraq where a group of US soldiers raped a 14 year old girl, burned her body, and murdered her family. They all kept their mouths shut until one of the men told a psychiatrist. Months later 2 soldiers from the same platoon were abducted/tortured/murdered in an act of revenge, the reasons as to why were not made public The movie itself is based on the true events of mahmudiyah killing in Iraq where a group of US soldiers raped a 14 year old girl, burned her body, and murdered her family. They all kept their mouths shut until one of the men told a psychiatrist. Months later 2 soldiers from the same platoon were abducted/tortured/murdered in an act of revenge, the reasons as to why were not made public until months after the kidnappings. The movie stays pretty close to the facts. It does shine a negative light on the American invasion of Iraq but it is also a film about a gang rape and murder of a 14 year old and her family. I thought it was a pretty good movie overall, the special effects, locations, and props used were very good. The acting may have seemed a little cheesy a couple times, but this movie is about getting the story out more than anything. If this movie makes you mad at the filmmakers, then you really need to open your eyes at the bigger picture. Expand
  2. ChadS.
    Feb 21, 2008
    8
    An internet slam poetess self-aggrandizingly vociferates about Hollywood's uneven depiction of American and Third World lives, in which a film like "Casualties of War" would be an exception to the rule, because it forces an audience to face the dissonant music of war; that the soldiers, "our boys", we see in the military recruitment videos nothing but mere end-products of wishful An internet slam poetess self-aggrandizingly vociferates about Hollywood's uneven depiction of American and Third World lives, in which a film like "Casualties of War" would be an exception to the rule, because it forces an audience to face the dissonant music of war; that the soldiers, "our boys", we see in the military recruitment videos nothing but mere end-products of wishful thinking. Like the underrated 1989 film starring Michael J. Fox & Sean Penn, American soldiers rape and kill a girl in "Redacted", a no-holds barred film that indicts everybody from filmmakers(even himself, he who directed "Casualties of War") to journalists, as profiteers of other people's misery and suffering. The faux-documentary, the film within the film, shows us how the media, not only soldiers, occupy a military state and act as collaborators of death. Salazar(Izzy Diaz) shoots his "war diary" to get into film school; the French documentarians shoot their film(judging by their flagrant use of artistry; the ants taking down the scorpion) to gain entrance into film festivals and win awards. When a young Iraqi girl's body is delved into by an American soldier's hands at checkpoint, the man behind the camera should turn it off, walk into that private holding room, and separate that marine from the nubile. It's more important to the filmmaker that he catch an American soldier behaving badly than being a decent human being. "Redacted" deconstructs the documentary film. To quote director Francis Ford Coppola when asked by a reporter about "Apocalypse Now" at the 1979 Cannes Film Festival, "This is Vietnam..." Expand
  3. MannyR.
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    Really should not have been released in theaters. However, it is solid made for TV material. The cast, for the most part, is horrible but they are supposed to be. You will never see these actors again save for one perhaps, the Blix character. Anyhow, it does represent the insanity and truth of the Iraq war well and what sends it over the top are the refugee interviews included with the Really should not have been released in theaters. However, it is solid made for TV material. The cast, for the most part, is horrible but they are supposed to be. You will never see these actors again save for one perhaps, the Blix character. Anyhow, it does represent the insanity and truth of the Iraq war well and what sends it over the top are the refugee interviews included with the DVD. For those giving it zeroes based on its 'propaganda', I would suggest that it is you who are completely and utterly brain-washed. One listen to Winter Soldier or Dar Jamaal's site or alternative news should correct that. It isn't a technical marvel but it is thought-provoking and does attempt to convey truth. Expand
  4. EdwinN
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    Excellent reconstruction of a disgraceful act,Brian De Palma's Redacted is a shocking,saddening and absorbing portrayal of American soliders in Iraq. Just like in his precedent masterpiece,"The Casualties of War", De Palma films soldiers in a way nobody ever could,in a cinema-verite approach that reminds Peter Watkins 70s flicks like "The War Game" or some of Watakamatsu's more Excellent reconstruction of a disgraceful act,Brian De Palma's Redacted is a shocking,saddening and absorbing portrayal of American soliders in Iraq. Just like in his precedent masterpiece,"The Casualties of War", De Palma films soldiers in a way nobody ever could,in a cinema-verite approach that reminds Peter Watkins 70s flicks like "The War Game" or some of Watakamatsu's more abstract features about the Japanese army. "Redacted" also posesses visual and technical advances, with ambivalent camera movements and masterful editing with dual shots and different types of views(in the narrative sense of way).Influences are heavy, but in a positive way,not in a Quentin Tarantino way:Watkins,Costa-Gavras or even early Godard(This films presents diverse similitudes to Le Petit Soldat).It floats between fiction and reality, between documentary and stylish cinema,and remind us of the atrocities of the Iraqi war with a powerful touch: This is triple the shock, a lot more than lesser documentaries such as "Iraq in Fragments" or "Taxi to the Dark Side".Chapeau,Mr. De Palma, for your work has been as rich on the outside,than on the inside. Style and substance grandeur never felt better. Expand
  5. equality7-2521
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Just saw this at Sunset & Cresent Heights. Not sure why only one showing per night... at 9:50PM. I think even Laemmle theaters is afraid of the film. Well, I'm in awe of Brian DePalma. I tip my hat to him. Ranks among his best, right alongside "Blow Out", "Casualties of War", "Carrie", "Sisters", and what was that underrated flick with Rebecca Romain - she played twins? Anyway, even Just saw this at Sunset & Cresent Heights. Not sure why only one showing per night... at 9:50PM. I think even Laemmle theaters is afraid of the film. Well, I'm in awe of Brian DePalma. I tip my hat to him. Ranks among his best, right alongside "Blow Out", "Casualties of War", "Carrie", "Sisters", and what was that underrated flick with Rebecca Romain - she played twins? Anyway, even if you're a not a DePalma fan, you'll get to see what the American media refuses to show us. THIS IS WHAT IT'S REALLY LIKE, PEOPLE! Not only is it a well crafted film, it has something to say!! It wants YOU to WAKE UP!! So a couple of human interest stories got through the corp. and gov't filtered media: Abu Ghraib and the rape of a teenage Iraqi girl by U.S. military personnel... I wonder what else we've been missing. I saw the 16 minute press conference on YouTube, that's what compelled me to drive over and check it out. BTW, most of the reviewers posting on here are merely lemming disciples of FOX News and B. O'Reilly. Posting reviews about a film they haven't seen. Sad. Expand
  6. RogerC.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    A passionate 21st century anti-war movie. It's like "Casualties of War" in theme: war creates war criminals. But it's very up-to-date technically. We no longer believe in the third-person omniscient camera. Now we wamt to know who's holding the camera and why and how. So we see the video from the aspiring film student, the French documentary, the Arab TV station, the video A passionate 21st century anti-war movie. It's like "Casualties of War" in theme: war creates war criminals. But it's very up-to-date technically. We no longer believe in the third-person omniscient camera. Now we wamt to know who's holding the camera and why and how. So we see the video from the aspiring film student, the French documentary, the Arab TV station, the video blog for Iraq spouses, the exclusive footage for embedded Americam journalists, the Arab website, the terrorist video, the home movie of the returned veteran etc. DePalma is reminding us of how we get our information. But, when you reconstruct all these pieces, you get back to the same message. War is brutal and brutalizing. Expand
  7. MartinF.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    The Americans hate the fact that the world hates them. Their propaganda machine is powerless against one thing: truth. Only simple truth distinguishes ugly from the pure. Likewise, users and critics didn't hesitate to show their ugliness and beauty with their ratings here, as if they can bend the truth in any way.
  8. JadeK
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    It's important that someone portrays what is really happening. A must see for the whole family!
  9. MarcS.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    The neocons will hate it.
  10. paulh
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    A very brave movie interestingly told. It is not anti-american:rather against the american presence in iraq and cant be called leftist in any degree.the montage sequence of photos at the end is incredibly powerful. A thoroughly modern piece of film-making and de palma deserved his award at venice. For those who are angry at this movie remember that it is based on real events.in the end it A very brave movie interestingly told. It is not anti-american:rather against the american presence in iraq and cant be called leftist in any degree.the montage sequence of photos at the end is incredibly powerful. A thoroughly modern piece of film-making and de palma deserved his award at venice. For those who are angry at this movie remember that it is based on real events.in the end it does not make one angry but sad.this movie of course will get savaged in the states but for those interested it is definitely worth checking out. Dont expect saving private ryan however. Expand
  11. DogSoldier
    Oct 19, 2008
    10
    To all the Fascist that gave the film a 0:The check point in your mind has been over run. Nothing,not 7 years of occupation, will win the hearts and minds of this "Axis of Evil", "WMD threat to us", country. Reminds me of Nam 1967/8. And now,long after 11years war,58,000 dead and I can buy quality Vietnamese merchandise at many superstores throughout the US. Its not politics,its economics To all the Fascist that gave the film a 0:The check point in your mind has been over run. Nothing,not 7 years of occupation, will win the hearts and minds of this "Axis of Evil", "WMD threat to us", country. Reminds me of Nam 1967/8. And now,long after 11years war,58,000 dead and I can buy quality Vietnamese merchandise at many superstores throughout the US. Its not politics,its economics and I sure hope we get a good OIL deal. I mean we EARNED it, right FASCISTS scum ? Expand
  12. PeterF.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    An important contribution to recognizing the hidden costs of our illegal invasion.
  13. PeterP
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    This movie is great, stop complaining
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Anyone who sees the suffering faces of the victims in "Casualties" and "Redacted" knows that De Palma not only despairs over what he’s showing us but implicates his own medium--his own male gaze--in the crimes against nature.
  2. 60
    Brian De Palma's Redacted doesn't quite work as a movie. But it works as SOMETHING.
  3. De Palma's screenplay is outstanding, and he draws wonderfully naturalistic performances from his youthful cast.