Summit Entertainment | Release Date: March 12, 2010
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 199 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
158
Mixed:
17
Negative:
24
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
kiarakMar 13, 2010
Disgustingly exploitative ending. to those who are saying that people just don't like the ending because it's a robert pattinson movie, or that it's no different from films like "titanic" or "life is beautiful": at least those Disgustingly exploitative ending. to those who are saying that people just don't like the ending because it's a robert pattinson movie, or that it's no different from films like "titanic" or "life is beautiful": at least those films put the entire movie in the context of the respective tragedies they depict. this one does not do that. it just uses 9/11 as a way to kill off a character, which is despicable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RobbyNMar 18, 2010
Robert Pattinson and the rest of the cast are actually very good. Unfortunately, they can't save the film from its own lifeless direction, drab cinematography, and insultingly ridiculous screenplay. Remember Me isn't the worst Robert Pattinson and the rest of the cast are actually very good. Unfortunately, they can't save the film from its own lifeless direction, drab cinematography, and insultingly ridiculous screenplay. Remember Me isn't the worst romantic drama I've seen this year (that title goes to the upcoming Nicolas Sparks adaptation The Last Song), but it certainly is the most blatantly offensive. Skip it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KateB.Mar 12, 2010
You know, I went to see this in order to find out if Robert Pattinson could act, since my rentals of the Twilight DVDs didn't really convince me. I wasn't expecting much, considering that it looked like your typical tearjerker You know, I went to see this in order to find out if Robert Pattinson could act, since my rentals of the Twilight DVDs didn't really convince me. I wasn't expecting much, considering that it looked like your typical tearjerker romance, but hey, every girl has to see one of those every once in a while. And apparently, today was my day. It's blandly inoffensive in its familiarity for all but the last few minutes. Angsty boy and angsty girl fall in love and share the tragedies that are inevitably in their respective pasts. Both have family issues, both just need someone to love. This sort of story is analogous to the trope of the young underdog defeating evil - you know how it'll end, but you still want to see a variation in the theme once in awhile. However, the ending completely killed any interest I had previously had in giving this film a more positive rating than what I have given it. It felt dirty, cheap, exploitative, and thoroughly unnecessary, and I encourage anyone who thinks they want to see this film not to do so. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MelissaS.Mar 12, 2010
Awful, horrible, gaudy ending destroyed what would have otherwise been an enjoyable piece of fluff.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AleciaM.Mar 12, 2010
A typical schmaltzy romance movie. i would have given it a 5 if it weren't for the borderline-offensive twist at the end that was difficult to swallow in terms of realism. it felt tacked on for the sake of adding to the insurmountable A typical schmaltzy romance movie. i would have given it a 5 if it weren't for the borderline-offensive twist at the end that was difficult to swallow in terms of realism. it felt tacked on for the sake of adding to the insurmountable amount of tragedy that this couple had faced, and it definitely smacked of exploitation and a lack of sensitivity. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
GreenStreetMar 14, 2010
The ending was the biggest cop out in writing history (second only to it was all a dream"), it was manipulated and contrived and ruined the entire movie for me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ChristyA.Mar 14, 2010
I'd rather have all my teeth pulled without novocaine than see this one again. The synopsis was NOT what this movie was and the cheap, insensitive use of September 11, 2001 at the ending was like having a knife stuck into my heart I I'd rather have all my teeth pulled without novocaine than see this one again. The synopsis was NOT what this movie was and the cheap, insensitive use of September 11, 2001 at the ending was like having a knife stuck into my heart I walked out - as did many others- BAD Movie Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SShaoDec 29, 2011
[SPOILER!] Terrible - The main characters in this didn't bring it back all the way home for me - Ally is said in the synopsis to be the girl "that lives life to the fullest" but it wasn't clearly demonstrated in the movie. Tyler's supposed to[SPOILER!] Terrible - The main characters in this didn't bring it back all the way home for me - Ally is said in the synopsis to be the girl "that lives life to the fullest" but it wasn't clearly demonstrated in the movie. Tyler's supposed to be this rebellious, lost young man with a bad relationship with his father, yet Robert Pattinson only brings out a cold, emotionless character. The romance between Ally and Tyler looked so strained and fake - it didn't come across as real feelings, they both just looked too cold and heartless, especially in each other. The part where "Tuesday September 11 2001" was written on the chalkboard came as a huge shock to me and made my heart skip a beat. However using it as a way to kill off the main character just to end the movie in the last 5 minutes does not depict the real tragedy behind 9/1/1. Waste of my time, I'm so disappointed in this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
JaggedMay 19, 2014
Good god, what a Terrible movie. Horrible performance by Pattinson and the premise is just moronic. 3 people walked out when the "twist" came. Pierce Brosnan is poor also.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SharonGMar 17, 2010
This movie has left a lasting impression on me. Robert Pattinson was mesmerizing, but the entire cast was good. The story was beautifully crafted and the scenes of New York ranged from gritty to postcard beautiful. I have gone back to see it This movie has left a lasting impression on me. Robert Pattinson was mesmerizing, but the entire cast was good. The story was beautifully crafted and the scenes of New York ranged from gritty to postcard beautiful. I have gone back to see it several times since it opened with various friends. To a person everyone was extremely impressed with the film. I hope movie goers will give it a chance and not believe some of the more outlandish reviews. It is a well done movie with heart that exploits nothing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RaysNBeaniesSep 12, 2010
It was simply a beautiful movie. I don't know why people would get offended by it. The whole cast did an amazing build up, you really, really felt for them. The movie just shows perfectly how can almost anyone can vanish and that you mustIt was simply a beautiful movie. I don't know why people would get offended by it. The whole cast did an amazing build up, you really, really felt for them. The movie just shows perfectly how can almost anyone can vanish and that you must care for the ones as if its the last day. The relationship between Tyler and Ally is just different from the other relationships they now show on some movies, it's not about only being attracted to each other, but to know them fully. I simply loved this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
Broken_BonesNov 20, 2010
This movie had a lot of cliches and the ending was just a cheap and insulting way to get girls to cry. I thought it had a good script and good intentions but it comes off as just a quick gimmick. The acting was alright, but Emilie de RavinThis movie had a lot of cliches and the ending was just a cheap and insulting way to get girls to cry. I thought it had a good script and good intentions but it comes off as just a quick gimmick. The acting was alright, but Emilie de Ravin was really good :) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
JenSMar 29, 2010
[***SPOILER***]Really REALLY depressing! it had like 3 deaths in it one from a suicide, one from a murder, and one from a 9/11/2001 death. SAD! it also had a crappy ending! The main character dies. also there is about like two fights a car[***SPOILER***]Really REALLY depressing! it had like 3 deaths in it one from a suicide, one from a murder, and one from a 9/11/2001 death. SAD! it also had a crappy ending! The main character dies. also there is about like two fights a car fight! good but sad me and my friend were like up all night depressed and talking about sad events in the USA. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
8
MyrnaD.Mar 15, 2010
Amazing movie. It makes you think and reevaluate your life and priorities.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LynnMar 20, 2010
After the many lukewarm-to-bad reviews, I was surprised to find this a well-acted, very engaging movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CarolD.Mar 12, 2010
I went to see Remember Me this morning and really enjoyed it. I was very moved by it and will think about some of the scenes for awhile. I only wish I hadn't read some of the "professional" reviews out there, because they never seem to I went to see Remember Me this morning and really enjoyed it. I was very moved by it and will think about some of the scenes for awhile. I only wish I hadn't read some of the "professional" reviews out there, because they never seem to be able to stop themselves from putting spoilers into their reviews. I usually find movies predictable, but I don't think I would have ever guessed what happens in this one if not for the spoilers these reviewers provide. There should no longer be any doubt that Robert Pattinson can seperate himself from his Twilight role. The two roles are nothing alike and he played them that way. I thought he did a really good job and was very believable as Tyler, I look forward to more from him in the future. I liked this movie and recommend you see it. "Bring tissues" Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GeorgiaDMar 12, 2010
This is a good film worth the price of admission if the genre is for you. The acting is strong across they board. You will care about the characters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MarnyeV.Mar 12, 2010
Viewed a small screening last week. I am, like, the hugest RPattz fan, but it's yet another romantic epic with the usual: dope, young death, nothing very original, but Rob brooded beautifully unlike many other wooden planks. Although, Viewed a small screening last week. I am, like, the hugest RPattz fan, but it's yet another romantic epic with the usual: dope, young death, nothing very original, but Rob brooded beautifully unlike many other wooden planks. Although, his father was more interesting and had a longer career too. By the way, for those complaining about the ending. Rob DESERVES the use of this tragedy! He is PERFECT. It's no different than movies using the HOLOCAUST. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KateLMar 13, 2010
Not every movie is supposed to be filled with happy endings and out of this world, unrealistic romance. This movie portrays real life: small romances with ordinary people that anyone can encounter. The destiny of Notebook-worthy romance is Not every movie is supposed to be filled with happy endings and out of this world, unrealistic romance. This movie portrays real life: small romances with ordinary people that anyone can encounter. The destiny of Notebook-worthy romance is ignorant. As for those saying the ending was insensitive: 9/11 happened. The story behing the character of Tyler just puts in perspective what thousands went through. Insensitive? No. If anything it honors the memory just in that we remember them. Stashing away 9/11 as something we shouldn't mention or portray is nothing less than an insult to all of those who lost their lives. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
HermiaJMar 15, 2010
I saw the film over the weekend and loved it. Is it perfect? No. There are spots where the script needed a bit more work, but it was entertaining and effective. The ending wasn't gratuitous, it wasn't perverse in its attention to I saw the film over the weekend and loved it. Is it perfect? No. There are spots where the script needed a bit more work, but it was entertaining and effective. The ending wasn't gratuitous, it wasn't perverse in its attention to detail, and it wasn't overly preachy. It left me feeling much like I did on that day - both confused and shocked by an act that seemed so calculated to kill innocents who just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. To me the gravity of the end was that the character, Tyler, wasn't supposed to be there at all. How many were killed that day simply because they were in the wrong place at the wrong time? Normal everyday people with their issues and their triumphs, whose lives were cut short by a senseless act of murder. I thought it was well done and that the performances were very strong. In my mind it certainly doesn't deserve the hate and knee-jerk reaction so many critics have given it. I half wonder if they saw the same film I did? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AshleyF.Mar 15, 2010
This movie was hands down amazing...Its a must see. This movie keeps your attention and the end is so unexpected. In my opinion as a 17 year old girl, id have to say this was the best movie iv ever seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DouglasR.Mar 15, 2010
Robert Pattison. Oh boy. I'm going to try to tone down the hyperbole because, in all honesty, I found this performance to be completely mesmerizing. Every tic of his character, every word spoken is so natural it burns. Yes, the film is Robert Pattison. Oh boy. I'm going to try to tone down the hyperbole because, in all honesty, I found this performance to be completely mesmerizing. Every tic of his character, every word spoken is so natural it burns. Yes, the film is well-directed and the technical aspects are top as well (I don't know about you but I thought the film was wonderfully photographed and editied) but without Pattinson, I doubt I would have loved this film as much as I did. For the film itself to work, especially with its ending, the audience really needs to connect to Tyler. And we do. Pattinson's fearless dive into the darker and shady mental pitfalls of his character are fascinating to watch, just as they are sometimes difficult to as well. But in the scenes between Tyler and Ally (Emilie de Ravin) we see the charming aspects of him and we follow his blossoming into a man who has found what he needed.... someone who understands him. Pattinson reminds me of a young Monty Clift here. (Or dare I say Jimmy Dean.) And this is all coming from a guy who thinks he deserved Razzies for the "Twilight" movies. This movie works so well because of Pattinson's blistering performance! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RossGMar 17, 2010
I am not a Twilight fan. I am not a Robert Pattinson fan. I am not a fan of chic flicks, or romantic films in general. And yet, I thoroughly enjoyed this film. I, like other users on here, do not understand the critic bashing the film has I am not a Twilight fan. I am not a Robert Pattinson fan. I am not a fan of chic flicks, or romantic films in general. And yet, I thoroughly enjoyed this film. I, like other users on here, do not understand the critic bashing the film has recieved. Robert Pattinson shows with the film that he's acting capabilities are far beyond that of a emotionless vampire. Tyler, his character, is not a good guy. I dont necessarily like the character.. but what Robert does with the character, is create a sense of realism about him. Hes not perfect. This film is one of the very few "romantic" films that I enjoyed purely because it doesnt need to rush things along. It stays with the characters, explores them, and allows us to connect with them. Only twice in the film did I feel it resorted to a Hollywood chilche.. but by film end- all was forgiven. An amazing film that I really wish people would just see. It stays with you well after the films end. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BellaTMar 20, 2010
Best movie in a long time! I loved Caroline and Allie and of course Rob! Sad ending and beginning but it makes you remember it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
KelseyMar 27, 2010
Remember Me far surpassed my expectations; the reviews have it wrong this time but of course their job is to make a profit and not necessarily publish the truth. Apparently a profit is equitable to patronizing "RPatz", and stating that he Remember Me far surpassed my expectations; the reviews have it wrong this time but of course their job is to make a profit and not necessarily publish the truth. Apparently a profit is equitable to patronizing "RPatz", and stating that he will only be an "it" with a career as long as Twilight continues. I digress. Remember Me was a bittersweet story, an ordinary setting with refreshing touches and therefore all the more likeable. I find that occasionally I tire of the stories that are unrealistic, however I enjoyed Remember Me for its plausible reality. Robert Pattinson and Emilie de Raven performed an excellent job, perfecting the occasional awkwardness that occurs between new and old couples overcoming trials, while at the same time the dynamic emotions that overwhelm individuals at the toughest times as they seek to overcome the tribulations they face. As for the ending; when does the ends ever arrive in a manner that we expect or comply with? Next time I will not pay heed to the reviews I read, and instead sit back to enjoy the ride. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SharonT.Mar 12, 2010
Thoroughly enjoyed it - especially surprised at how good Pattinson was.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
qiupMar 12, 2010
Beautifully shot movie. Authentic to the feeling of NY city, and I would wish people could be a bit more open minded and less cynical when they discuss the ending. People call it exploitative should check out the NewsWeek and Time article to Beautifully shot movie. Authentic to the feeling of NY city, and I would wish people could be a bit more open minded and less cynical when they discuss the ending. People call it exploitative should check out the NewsWeek and Time article to gain some perspective. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MariaFMar 12, 2010
People need to stop being so sensitive about the ending. Spare me the "you didn't have a family member perish" garbage. I thought it was a great ending and in no way is insensitive or diminishes that tragedy. Why can't a "pop" People need to stop being so sensitive about the ending. Spare me the "you didn't have a family member perish" garbage. I thought it was a great ending and in no way is insensitive or diminishes that tragedy. Why can't a "pop" movie ever be a good movie?? What is wrong with a movie that gives people what they want and entertains the "commoners." I'm sorry I don't enjoy some euro-trash boring ass movie and actually really enjoyed this one. I guess that makes me a sheep...well, ya know what...BAAHHHH! and proud of it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JonnyG.Mar 12, 2010
The wife dragged me to this one, and I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. It held my interest throughout, and I thought it was well done. The end had quite a powerful twist. People who think it's offensive need The wife dragged me to this one, and I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. It held my interest throughout, and I thought it was well done. The end had quite a powerful twist. People who think it's offensive need to calm down. It's not; it's reality. It happened. Are you mad about Saving Private Ryan? That was a fictional story in a nonfictional setting as well. It's not a "gimmick". You grow attached to these characters throughout the movie, and then something happens to them that actually occurred in real life. It helps us empathize with the people who had loved ones involved with that incident. I was impressed with the ending. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarlyHMar 12, 2010
For anyone who was alive for 9/11, or has experienced terrible tragedies in their life, this is a beautiful film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SaraDMar 13, 2010
I am not a huge pattinson fan....and thought this movie was going to suck just from the beginning, but as the movie goes along you get sucked into it. Rob can actually act and his british charm shines through and Pierce and emily were quite I am not a huge pattinson fan....and thought this movie was going to suck just from the beginning, but as the movie goes along you get sucked into it. Rob can actually act and his british charm shines through and Pierce and emily were quite good.. quite a few giggly moments and the ending wow..totoally unexpected..do not read any of the reviews they ruin it for you. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarcoR.Mar 13, 2010
It was a very beautiful movie, it had humor but tragedy as well, the ending was very unexpected and the movie delivered a great message about life to the viewers. Robert Pattinson is a great young actor and he has a big future.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
jamieg.Mar 13, 2010
Exploited? Really? I wouldn't say that at all. Although it ends with a very soft subject in all of our hearts,it was reverent and not exploited. Rpatz still can do better but he did good here.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimMMar 13, 2010
This movie is one of those types of movies you go into not really expecting too much from it. But when i left the theatre I found myself still thinking about it and I couldnt stop. This movie affected me profoundly and I loved that it did.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AudreyH.Mar 14, 2010
This movie is now considered to be my FAVORITE MOVIE. It expresses many characters, emotions, and scenes that most people experience in life. With many character developments and subplots, this movie portrays an amazing moral and a good but This movie is now considered to be my FAVORITE MOVIE. It expresses many characters, emotions, and scenes that most people experience in life. With many character developments and subplots, this movie portrays an amazing moral and a good but sad twist at the end. When I saw the teacher writing down the date at the end, I knew it... It was very well done, and the acting was substantial. I really liked the tension between father and son to. It was very hard not to cry! Overall I would give it a 9 1/2 rating. Very well done compared to other movies out in theaters. I loved it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CarolMar 14, 2010
I haven't been that affected by a movie in a long time! You just feel for the characters so much. The acting was fantastic by all especially Robert Pattinson (suprise suprise that boy can act!), Ruby Jerins (what a talented young actor) I haven't been that affected by a movie in a long time! You just feel for the characters so much. The acting was fantastic by all especially Robert Pattinson (suprise suprise that boy can act!), Ruby Jerins (what a talented young actor) and Pierce Brosnan (as always). You really should go see this movie!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Mar 14, 2010
"Remember Me" is not a Rudy Giuliani biopic; it's Robert Pattinson's maiden foray into acting. As Edward Cullen, Bella's fella, all Pattinson had to do was hit his marks and throw smoldering glances Kristen Stewart's way. "Remember Me" is not a Rudy Giuliani biopic; it's Robert Pattinson's maiden foray into acting. As Edward Cullen, Bella's fella, all Pattinson had to do was hit his marks and throw smoldering glances Kristen Stewart's way. There's not a whole lot of heavy lifting involved if you're playing the undead. Can Pattinson look alive? As the star of this modestly engaging indie ensemble drama, the London-born actor, portraying a lost boy named Tyler, accomodates the moviegoer with enough proof that he has a pulse. Pattinson is convincing as a warm-blooded mammal, and he plays well with others, but still, the glittering bloodsucker of Cullen lore can't quite escape the twilight. Remember he, Rod Serling, the man who begat M. Night Shyamalan. A sense of irony that would pull the rug from under the television viewer's feet was what typified a good "Twilight Zone" ending, a payoff that prevailed upon you and the protagonist a simultaneous epiphany. For instance, in one episode, a man who thought he had made it to heaven, actually was in hell. Irony, however, doesn't belong here; irony rears its ugly head in "Remember Me", spoiling an otherwise highly watchable romantic melodrama. (***SPOILER ALERT***) Late in the film, after Tyler seems poised for a reconciliation with his difficult father(Pierce Brosnan), the camera pulls back dramatically while he stares out a skyscraper window. His locality is the Serling-esque twist, which recalls the groundbreaking anthology series(that aired on CBS before the much-missed buildings were even a twinkle in the architect's eye), because this moment of reckoning sucker-punches the moviegoer. It's not a new beginning for Tyler; it's the end. A tragedy of such monolithic proportions is the wrong time for the filmmaker to show off his cleverness. It's not too soon; it's just tacky. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ginMar 14, 2010
The entire cast was remarkable. The ending portrayed a traegic event, but was a tasteful reminder. Well done.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MitziF.Mar 14, 2010
Great acting. Really felt connected and concerned for characters in this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DremaH.Mar 15, 2010
Remember Me was one of the most touching movies that I have ever watched. It was a movie that causes you to think of your own life and those you love. Rob Pattinson totally made the movie. He truly was Tyler Hawkins. We felt his pain, Remember Me was one of the most touching movies that I have ever watched. It was a movie that causes you to think of your own life and those you love. Rob Pattinson totally made the movie. He truly was Tyler Hawkins. We felt his pain, sorrow, grief, and love. The deep love that Tyler has for his sister is truly the love story in this movie. This movie is definitely not a chick flick. It is a movie with substance. Men need to go see it also. It will be a movie that sticks with you long after it leaves the box office. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EMar 15, 2010
A lot of people seem to have a problem with the ending, to feel that it is "cheap" or "exploitative." However, for me, it made a tragedy real to me which was previously too abstract; it made me more able to empathize with the people who A lot of people seem to have a problem with the ending, to feel that it is "cheap" or "exploitative." However, for me, it made a tragedy real to me which was previously too abstract; it made me more able to empathize with the people who really have experienced that tragedy. Rather than exploiting a tragedy, I believe that it brought the tragedy - and its victims - back to the forefront of people's minds, helped us to "Remember," much like the title suggests. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobertaC.Mar 15, 2010
Rob Pattinson was great. Chemistry with Emilie D.R. was terrific. Rob's relationship with his sister was awesome. Both Dads too intense, overdone. The Mom of Rob. Why was she even there?? The roommate, put a lightness in the movie. I Rob Pattinson was great. Chemistry with Emilie D.R. was terrific. Rob's relationship with his sister was awesome. Both Dads too intense, overdone. The Mom of Rob. Why was she even there?? The roommate, put a lightness in the movie. I liked the movie. And will see anything Rob P. is in. I think he is a very unique and talented actor. It's only just begun for him. The James Dean of our time. Maybe a "Rebel without a Cause" or Giant movie will be in the future for Rob! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SaraJ.Mar 15, 2010
Excellent movie.. a much needed change from the normal romantic comedies. The characters were everyday people and written well. This is one of the most real movies I've seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaBrownMar 15, 2010
Iactually enjoy this movie!! i find this movie a tear jerker!! The ending was not what i expected!! I was actually surprised!! But in my opinion, this movie is worth my time and money and i can't wait until its out on blu-ray so i can Iactually enjoy this movie!! i find this movie a tear jerker!! The ending was not what i expected!! I was actually surprised!! But in my opinion, this movie is worth my time and money and i can't wait until its out on blu-ray so i can add this to my movie collection. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JessicaRMar 18, 2010
I found myself heading into this movie with low expectations. I fancy myself an open minded person (I've read Twilight and seen the movies), but I also consider myself a fair and realistic movie critic. Twilight sucked. Entertaining? I found myself heading into this movie with low expectations. I fancy myself an open minded person (I've read Twilight and seen the movies), but I also consider myself a fair and realistic movie critic. Twilight sucked. Entertaining? Sure. But let's be real about this honestly. So, when I agreed to attend the premier of Remember Me with some of my excessively Twi-Hard friends, my critic hat was on cautious mode. As the film progressed I found myself cringing through some fairly cheesy cliched dialogue, but I also found myself surprised by moments of genuine emotion and straight up good acting (I am NOT talking to you Pierce Brosnan's New York accent). I was sincerely moved by the story - I really did care about the characters and I BELIEVED them. I found myself smiling at the tender moments and laughing at some of the more comical ones (and I am not referring to Tyler's obnoxious friend and roomate). And the most miraculous moment was when I found myself hoping for the redemption of these grieving families - and redemption seemed to be coming! And not in a "and everything worked out once they all figured out what they were doing wrong" kind of way. And then they blew it. A big explosion of disappointment in the final few moments of an honest look at struggling to understand one's purpose in life. Listen folks - I definitely don't think that the use of 9/11 was an insensitive move. In fact, there have been and certainly will be films in which the reference will be absolutely necessary. But here, it was cut and paste. Insert ending here. The movie was so focused on these characters, these people - and then a switch was flipped. In fact, one barely pays attention to which city the movie even takes place! And it didn't really matter, because the characters were the real meat and potatoes of this movie. Forget insensitivity - I was just hoping for some relevance. Good start to a movie career for both Rob and Emilie - I can certainly say that they will only continue to get better at their craft and in the choices they make. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JenniferFMar 19, 2010
I have been reading these comments and I can't help but feel like those who are smashing the movie and calling it "exploitative" in its ending are seriously missing the whole point, and therefore have missed out on a meaningful I have been reading these comments and I can't help but feel like those who are smashing the movie and calling it "exploitative" in its ending are seriously missing the whole point, and therefore have missed out on a meaningful movie-watching experience. When I saw it, I was shocked by the ending of course, but I also felt that it pulled me back to thinking about and remembering a time that was indeed terrible and disturbing, I have no qualms about that fact, but how many people like Tyler were just in the wrong place at the wrong time? A movie that employs the use of an ending such as 9/11 is in no way exploitative, it is simply using history in a movie to pull on viewers' real-time emotions and memories in order to make them "feel" the movie more....it is a very clever tactic! To say that "Remember Me" was exploitative in its ending by using 9/11 would also mean that "Sophie's Choice" with Meryl Streep was exploitative and offensive with its use of the Holocaust (which it wasn't), or that Titanic was offensive (which it wasn't) or that ANY movie that calls on the history of our country, our neighbouring countries, or our world is offensive and should not be remembered in movies and therefore people should just forget about them and move on, because all movies should have a happy ending and Gosh forbid that we are moved to remember what happened to all those people involved in those terrible happenings. All in all, I think "Remember Me" was a brave and moving film with exceptional performances by young and talented actors, and the ending really caused me to think about all the people like the fictional Tyler who lost their lives because of what happened on September 11th, 2001. I thank the creators of "Remember Me" for finally making a movie that really made me FEEL, because nowadays movies like that are few and far between. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KristiBMar 19, 2010
Critics have not been fair to the actors, writers or ANYTHING about this film! I personally LOVED this movie. I agree, its not perfect, but I'm not sure I've been to a movie that is. Will Fetters addressed a lot of subject matter Critics have not been fair to the actors, writers or ANYTHING about this film! I personally LOVED this movie. I agree, its not perfect, but I'm not sure I've been to a movie that is. Will Fetters addressed a lot of subject matter that was previously considered taboo and I felt like the actors did a marvelous job in their roles. Thank you for such a compelling story. I originally went because I adore Robert Pattinson, but I walked away with an appreciation of Will Fetters work and everyone who was part of this film! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DeannaMMar 21, 2010
Moving story and natural, subtle dialog give this film an authentic feel that you can really connect with. The end is meant to wake us up from our complacency. It's a quiet celebration of life, complete with a reverence for loss.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LovisaLMar 21, 2010
This film was perfect. Especially the way Taylor and Ally interacted. A beautifully made movie from a wonderful script. And Rob looked perfect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
laurenhMar 21, 2010
Okay, so most people will probably see it because Robert Pattinson is in it. But it is genuinely a good movie, the acting was amazing, by everyone, especially the girl who played Tyler's little sister. It wasn't a happy go lucky Okay, so most people will probably see it because Robert Pattinson is in it. But it is genuinely a good movie, the acting was amazing, by everyone, especially the girl who played Tyler's little sister. It wasn't a happy go lucky story, it was kind of sad, and really made you think about the destruction of the twin towers. It was an all round good movie, and in someplaces entertaining, and well acted. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AmritaMMar 20, 2010
I saw this movie because I had a free ticket and wanted to kill some time. I despised the main actor's wooden performances in his other movies and was truly pleasantly surprised by his performance here. I thought the love story/family I saw this movie because I had a free ticket and wanted to kill some time. I despised the main actor's wooden performances in his other movies and was truly pleasantly surprised by his performance here. I thought the love story/family issues bit was getting a little long and drawn out, but even then found myself getting involved and wound into their complex lives. I did not expect the ending, but was relieved that the film didn't dwell to long on that tragedy. This is something that we all as Americans have experienced. The only thing I felt was gratuitous was the voice over monologue at the end. Over all the movie was thought provoking, believable and worth paying for. I have to see it again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JessCMar 25, 2010
I had to watch Remember me because I wanted to see if it could live up to all the hype. I'm not a huge fan of R Patz, his acting in Twilight is very poor, in this film however I was creatly surprised, I loved the films realism. The cast I had to watch Remember me because I wanted to see if it could live up to all the hype. I'm not a huge fan of R Patz, his acting in Twilight is very poor, in this film however I was creatly surprised, I loved the films realism. The cast were perfect and a few situations made me laugh out loud, the shocking ending had me in tears, i'd forgotten i'd heard there was a twist at the end so was shocked. I like the way they ended it with the other characters and how they had developed throughout the film. I didn't think it dragged at all, I wanted to see more of them. I liked his friend! Loved it. Watch it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LCMar 12, 2010
Seamless, engrossing performances, especially from Emilie de Ravin, Robert Pattinson, Ruby Jerins, and Chris Cooper, make for a moving and emotional cinematic experience I will not forget. A must see film!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JulieMMar 12, 2010
Just for clarification, I am not a "Twi-hard". I believe this movie was awesome. Contrary to some opinions, Robert Pattison CAN ACT and is extremely talented. This movie was gripping, passionate, and kept me on the edge of my seat. I took my Just for clarification, I am not a "Twi-hard". I believe this movie was awesome. Contrary to some opinions, Robert Pattison CAN ACT and is extremely talented. This movie was gripping, passionate, and kept me on the edge of my seat. I took my Mom to see it, who is out of touch with today's Pop Culture and she loved it as well. The emotions that the actors captured were palpable. I will see this again in theaters and buy it once it is out. My compliments to the cast and crew...just ignore the ignorant haters that don't objectively rate this movie based on previous bias. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ADelMar 12, 2010
I enjoyed the performances and it is truly touching if you give it a chance.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChristySMar 12, 2010
It was so much more than I expected. Even if I had no idea who Robert Pattinson was, I would have seen this performance and still became a devoted fan. This movie is life changing if you let it be.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielleDMar 13, 2010
I saw Remember Me last evening mainly because I love romantic/drama movies and Rob Pattinson as well. I think the critics took quite harshly to the movie. It was real, very believable. It depicted real life, where there's not always a I saw Remember Me last evening mainly because I love romantic/drama movies and Rob Pattinson as well. I think the critics took quite harshly to the movie. It was real, very believable. It depicted real life, where there's not always a happy ending. In contrast to the crap we typically see where all ends well. Rob Pattinson did an amazing job and it was refreshing to see him in something other than Twilight. I don't feel that it was really predictable. The movie took you on an emotional rollar coaster with the constant pain these characters went through but I still felt myself connecting deeply with them. The people around me in the theater were just the same as I was. No one has taken such a bold move as to making a movie that encompasses 9/11 like they did. The ending blew my mind because I wasn't expecting more drama since it seemed like a love story up until then. I think everyone needs to take a step back and look at the big picture of "Remember Me" because honestly, I will remember this movie. It left a mark on me unlike any other movie. Congrats to Rob Pattinson on an amazing performance and being able to handle the ups and downs of his character. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CindiC.Mar 14, 2010
Loved the movie. thought all did a great job. Loved the way they handled a difficult event very delicately. Loved how they panned from him looking out the office windows out to the view of the towers.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DonnaBMar 14, 2010
Rob Pattinson has some strong moments here especially with his"sister" and Pierce Brosnan. Liked the relationship with his roommate Aiden. Much better than I thought it was going to be. I have mixed feelings about the end though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EliseBMar 14, 2010
I saw the movie with an open mind and disregarded those critics that were negative about it. The movie got good reviews from some of the more respected critics, like USA today and Roger Ebert, to name a few. Anyway, the movie was brilliant I saw the movie with an open mind and disregarded those critics that were negative about it. The movie got good reviews from some of the more respected critics, like USA today and Roger Ebert, to name a few. Anyway, the movie was brilliant and my take on it was that it was a beautiful love story and a very touching tribute to the events of the day, a reminder that sometimes we get lost in numbers and forget that each and every individual that was taken that day had their own personal story. Robert's acting was amazing and should silence the critics once and for all. He is in Hollywood to stay that's for sure, so for all those negative critics out there - just suck it up. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KarenMar 14, 2010
I thought the film was great and held my interest the entire time - I never looked at my watch wondering when it would end. The performances were heart wrenching at times - Pierce Bronson's character made you want to hate him for being I thought the film was great and held my interest the entire time - I never looked at my watch wondering when it would end. The performances were heart wrenching at times - Pierce Bronson's character made you want to hate him for being such a lousy father. RPatz was more of a father to his little sister and I thought his performance was honest and believable. I hadn't read any reviews or spoilers - so the ending caught me totally by surprise - an ending that I still can't get out of my mind. Three words sum up the move....very well done. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StephanieGMar 15, 2010
Emotional and heartbreaking movie from start to finish. The story is so compelling and makes you think for hours after you've seen it. The acting was wonderful by all.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EKMar 16, 2010
My family and I kept thinking about this movie, discussing it days later. The ending was not "tacked on". It had to be this way, unexpected like the event, and we had to care about the characters. I appreciate how brave the producers and My family and I kept thinking about this movie, discussing it days later. The ending was not "tacked on". It had to be this way, unexpected like the event, and we had to care about the characters. I appreciate how brave the producers and actors were to take this on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
Lopez17Aug 16, 2010
When I heard that Robert Pattinson (one of my least favorite actors) was going to loss the fangs and the pale skin to play a regular human being in a movie that has actually moral meaning and a story not half-baked and dull to unlawfulWhen I heard that Robert Pattinson (one of my least favorite actors) was going to loss the fangs and the pale skin to play a regular human being in a movie that has actually moral meaning and a story not half-baked and dull to unlawful extremes I nearly fell out of my chair it was just too unbelievable, too unfathomable for me too comprehend Robert Pattinson is not the type you would exactly associate with a movie with this kind of deep subject matter the films story revolves around death, loss, suffering and violence all of which are very heavy themes and echo sadly throughout the film. I had no interest in seeing this even if it did have some of my favorite actors in it namely Chris Cooper and Pierce Brosnan (both of which are phenomenal in this film) it had almost been two maybe three months into this film release that I started to become interested in it. Especially after a news article surfaced about the film talking about the films twist ending my interest in this film soared. You see controversy surrounding a film always for some reason or another intrigues me. Allen Coulter's "Remember Meâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Benga1s85Aug 14, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was a fantastic movie, I was recommended it by many friends and finally decided to watch it. I was not disappointed at all. I find it funny what some of the critics are saying on here about how its just about some guy who has sex and ends up bullying little school girls, no, there is soooo much more to this story, it is a very hearth clenching one and the ending was completely unexpected. I just want to say that its funny how bad critics rate some films when the actual audience loves it, Makes you wonder why there is even Critics? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
NightianSep 6, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Again, the casting is the ace in the hole for every movie, Robert Pattinson did a great performance as a rebel young guy. I should say I felt identified with "Tyler" because the bad relation with his father and the anger against every situation that warrants. At this part, the script is real but I comes predictable when everything goes well. Sad and dramatic ending. But still poor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
VidsRuleJun 11, 2012
This movie has all that is required for me to fully enjoy it and at the same time make my girlfriend think she's watching a girlie movie. I found RP to be quite good, that caught me off guard and makes me certainly look forward to cosmopolis.This movie has all that is required for me to fully enjoy it and at the same time make my girlfriend think she's watching a girlie movie. I found RP to be quite good, that caught me off guard and makes me certainly look forward to cosmopolis. The movie had the right balance of boys/girls interacting with boys/girls, but also much more serious stuff. I'll watch it again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
margo1Apr 17, 2011
i thought this was much, much better than the critics gave it credit for. i was expecting a maudlin mess, with robert pattinson slouching about and mumbling, which he was guilty of in a few scenes; and the boardroom fight was verging oni thought this was much, much better than the critics gave it credit for. i was expecting a maudlin mess, with robert pattinson slouching about and mumbling, which he was guilty of in a few scenes; and the boardroom fight was verging on ludicrous. however, it was so well acted otherwise i found myself drawn into the story, and willing to overlook the embarrassing (mostly pattinson) moments. yes, it's manipulative, aren't all movies? it had an indie feel to it that i really liked and i plan to watch it again. i like movies that capture new york's "personality", and this one did. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelDNOct 10, 2012
This is the most underrated movie in recent years. I won't spoil anything, but I think the reviewers who are angry at this movie don't understand its intent. The ending of the movie is the essence of the movie; the movie's whole point. It'sThis is the most underrated movie in recent years. I won't spoil anything, but I think the reviewers who are angry at this movie don't understand its intent. The ending of the movie is the essence of the movie; the movie's whole point. It's the kind of movie that needed to be made. There have been other movies that have tackled this topic, and very few have had the impact with it that this one had, and its because of its clever execution. Without saying too much, the issue tackled in this movie came across in real life the way it came across in the movie: shocking. By handling the topic in this manner, the viewer was able to feel the same emotions all over again. The movie was an in depth look at the life, struggles, and relationships of someone who experienced what happened at the end of this movie, and how it affected the people around that person, and it was executed in such a way that it came across to the viewers just like how it came across to that person's family. The only reason I didn't give it a higher rating was because of everything leading up to it. It wasn't a very well written script up to that point, although it had its moments. This had the potential to be one of the greatest movies of all time, as the essence of the movie was absolutely brilliant. However, up to that point, it was really just a typical teen romance movie. Had this movie had stronger character development and a more fascinating storyline, it would've been Best Picture worthy. I know that seems like saying if Mrs. Lincoln's husband wouldn't have been shot she would've enjoyed the theater, but the first two hours of the movie really aren't what the movie's about. The movie really is the last few scenes. Those scenes are more emotionally powerful, and make more of a statement than most Best Picture winners. Like I said: this is an idea for a movie that had to happen. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
abductionOct 1, 2011
This movie is very good. The only thing that ruins every little part of the entire movie is when robert pattinson dies. i felt bad for the little sister. that was her only other older brother. One thing that is good about this movie is thatThis movie is very good. The only thing that ruins every little part of the entire movie is when robert pattinson dies. i felt bad for the little sister. that was her only other older brother. One thing that is good about this movie is that it interfeeres with the twin towers and that made me very emotional even though I did not lose anyone that day. The united states did. They lost hope. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
AmyNozomiOct 26, 2011
Love the movie. Robert Pattinson does an outstanding job in this movie, it made me a fan of his, despite Twilight. Although it's a pretty slow movie, the ending is beautiful, and the more times I watch the movie, the more I like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ashley_Jan 15, 2012
Remember Me was a movie I will definitely remember. Critics can say all they want about the movie's ending being offensive, but I don't understand how anyone can have that opinion. The movie portrayed a tragedy. It did not belittle it, makeRemember Me was a movie I will definitely remember. Critics can say all they want about the movie's ending being offensive, but I don't understand how anyone can have that opinion. The movie portrayed a tragedy. It did not belittle it, make it sound lighter than it really was. The story and its characters were intriguing, and each had their demons that kept you wondering what their past was. Robert Pattinson really shined in this movie, as did Emilie de Raven. I'm hoping that people won't disregard this movie without watching it because they don't like Twilight. Rob was phenomenal in this, much better than Twilight. But all in all, the movie was sweet, compelling, and very emotional. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JawsLaxerDramaJan 3, 2013
Remember Me isn't a horrible movie. it won't make you question the sanity of others, it's more or less of a romantic comedy that slowly descends into one of the most stunning ends I've ever seen (even though it may be predictable) I enjoyedRemember Me isn't a horrible movie. it won't make you question the sanity of others, it's more or less of a romantic comedy that slowly descends into one of the most stunning ends I've ever seen (even though it may be predictable) I enjoyed Rob Pattinson (even though Twilight gets on my nerves- he's a good actor if he actually tries) It's depressing enough to see someone die, but what could be sadder than 9/11 combined with a love story? You guessed it. I advise you to have your favorite comedy near you after you watch this. Pros: Great acting, great script. Cons: Too depressing. Diagnosis: See it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
chris247482Jul 1, 2016
Really the ending is just hollywood exploiting 9/11 as some sort of plot device. It was completely unnecessary as any other cause of death would same the same purpose without being exploitative. I would be shocked if the people involved hadReally the ending is just hollywood exploiting 9/11 as some sort of plot device. It was completely unnecessary as any other cause of death would same the same purpose without being exploitative. I would be shocked if the people involved had any connection to NYC on 9/11. This was distasteful and the film belongs in the garbage heap as a result. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
MattBrady99Nov 22, 2015
Here's my message to the idiot who came up with the ending to this movie...

You are a freaking **** for using 9/11 has a cheap tearjerker ending that comes out of nowhere and doesn't fit at all. Did the person honestly think this was
Here's my message to the idiot who came up with the ending to this movie...

You are a freaking **** for using 9/11 has a cheap tearjerker ending that comes out of nowhere and doesn't fit at all. Did the person honestly think this was appropriate to put at the end? The rest of the movie was alright until the ending happened. F**k this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
VinceRocks123May 15, 2015
well i thought the movie was between 5 and 6 until the ending made my score plummeted to 2 then i thought what a cheap way to end a movie and get more money, meh :(
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews