Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: September 29, 2000
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 125 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
114
Mixed:
8
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
ydnar4Nov 22, 2014
This is probably the best sports film I've ever seen. Just a great ensemble cast that grows more and more comfortable with each other as time goes on. Denzel Washington is not exactly but he seems to tone himself down because there are pointsThis is probably the best sports film I've ever seen. Just a great ensemble cast that grows more and more comfortable with each other as time goes on. Denzel Washington is not exactly but he seems to tone himself down because there are points in the film where he does not need to be the star of the show. All the members of the cast undergo some significant development in this movie and its a true inspiration. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dante_finnSep 14, 2014
This is such a good movie. It has so many characters and memprable scenes and it teaches a valuable lesson of working together no matter what ethnicity you are. Denzel Washington does a good job with his character. It's also cool to look backThis is such a good movie. It has so many characters and memprable scenes and it teaches a valuable lesson of working together no matter what ethnicity you are. Denzel Washington does a good job with his character. It's also cool to look back and focus on a young Ryan Gosling. I will "remember the Titans". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
bfoore90Jun 25, 2014
Another great movie about how sports can transcend issues beyond the field. I greatly enjoy movies like this and Remember the Titans has to be one of the best sports movies out there. The acting here is very well and you almost feel yourselfAnother great movie about how sports can transcend issues beyond the field. I greatly enjoy movies like this and Remember the Titans has to be one of the best sports movies out there. The acting here is very well and you almost feel yourself getting emotional during the intense moments in this movie aside from Denzel Washington and Will Pattons great performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
spollardMar 10, 2014
A Disney story with a Disney ending. The movie tweaks a few details of the true story to make it pleasing for everyone watching. And that is exactly what it was, enjoyable to watch with great quotable speeches. But it was just too predictableA Disney story with a Disney ending. The movie tweaks a few details of the true story to make it pleasing for everyone watching. And that is exactly what it was, enjoyable to watch with great quotable speeches. But it was just too predictable and too "soft" for my taste but good insight to what it was like in those days. My final score is 71.8 out of 100. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cag11Nov 24, 2013
When first saw this, I knew what was going to happen and such, but it's how they get there, with an amazing emotional turn and fun, this is one of my favorite movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Sir_applepieApr 27, 2013
Are the metacritics just ignorant or what? How does this movie not have 90metascore (atleast), This is one of the best movies ever made. I can watch this movie over and over again, without being bored. Simply, amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
molemaster43Apr 6, 2013
Remember the Titans is an inspirational sports film about a football team in Virginia. The plot in this movie is great and everyone was absolutely great at acting. From Denzel Washington to the barely seen football players on the team. In myRemember the Titans is an inspirational sports film about a football team in Virginia. The plot in this movie is great and everyone was absolutely great at acting. From Denzel Washington to the barely seen football players on the team. In my opinion, this is a good inspirational movie for everyone that I recommend you see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bh92Jan 4, 2013
This film is incredible! One of the best I've ever seen! Truly inspirational with great performances all round and based on a real life story! A must see in my eyes!!! I can and have watched it a number of times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
The embodiment of excellent modern sports dramas, "Remember The Titans" is inspiring, compelling, and intelligent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TTW107Feb 11, 2012
Really surprised the critics didn't like this one. I have seen this movie so many times i can practically recite the whole thing off the top of my head. One of my favorite sports movies ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cowboy9066Nov 15, 2011
I think you should ignore the critics on this one. This is definitely one of my favorite movies! I can watch this movie over and over again. The story is absolutely great! Personally I like football a lot, which makes this movie even moreI think you should ignore the critics on this one. This is definitely one of my favorite movies! I can watch this movie over and over again. The story is absolutely great! Personally I like football a lot, which makes this movie even more appealing to me. And the fact that it's all based on actual events from 1971, makes this movie to what it is; a masterpiece! A must-see!! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
gautam_kJul 20, 2011
RTT is a movie that tries to fit 2 things in one movie: Racial Desegregation and Titans football, but fails to do justice to either. The movie is an inspiring one as all sports movie tend to be, but if you are a tough nut to crack, you mayRTT is a movie that tries to fit 2 things in one movie: Racial Desegregation and Titans football, but fails to do justice to either. The movie is an inspiring one as all sports movie tend to be, but if you are a tough nut to crack, you may start yawning at some places. It is quite predictable if you look at the movie objectively. There's the first half with all the good-for-nothing individuals, inspiration, motivation and boot camp training. Then there's the second half with the initial hardships, near losses, the inspired masterstroke and the big final win. But thanks to the racial undertone, the proceedings are dramatic enough to watch.

The script is inconsistent that is it is too weak/lame at some points but very strong in other instances. Almost all energy has been put into making sure that everything looks right from the outside. Individual characterizations are poor and it shows in the actors' performance. Some scenes are written beautifully but some scenes fail to impress. The director Boaz Yakin too surprisingly sticks with the script and doesn't explore the many possible angles.

Denzel Washington does an amazing job at the centre playing the insanely tough and bullish coach, Herman Boone. Will Patton who plays his calm deputy Bill Yoast is passive in the first half (thanks to the poor writing) but comes to the foreground and gives an acceptable performance as the movie progresses. Wood Harris and Ryan Hurst share a great chemistry and give believable combined performances playing leaders of the black and white bandwagon respectively.

The football scenes are a treat to watch. Make sure you know the jargon and tactics of football because if you don't enjoy them, you are gonna miss half the fun. Everything from the warm ups, the handful play sequences, the individual player's sacrifice for the good of the tea and the exchange between the coaches. The choreographer (if its the right word) deserves a round of applause for his work. Watch it if you are a fan of Denzel Washington or if you want to discover the meaning of team spirit. Watch the movie expecting exactly whats present in it and you will be impressed and walk out completely satisfied. But if you randomly walk in hoping to see something a class apart from others, this one will be a bit of a disappointment. But all in all, the experience will be worth 'remembering'...well at least for sometime.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Nov 4, 2010
just perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
peacegirlSep 5, 2010
My Favorite Movie! I taped it and I will play it even if I am not watching the whole movie, I love the soundtrack! I graduated in '72.... I know the racial issue during this time... I am white and the school was integrated. I was aMy Favorite Movie! I taped it and I will play it even if I am not watching the whole movie, I love the soundtrack! I graduated in '72.... I know the racial issue during this time... I am white and the school was integrated. I was a cheerleader (one of three white girls and two black girls). I developed friendships with white and black.... and there were white schoolmates that Chastised me. However my family (who I would never imagine at that age, were not prejudice ,,,hmmm) my parents met my friends and it didn't matter their color, but they met them as a human being. This is what this movie is about. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
CodyM.Feb 24, 2008
I hate critics this movie was one of the best movies ever made and shows a truly captivating experience. ive noticed that everyone should ignore critics and they should all be fired because they are obviously not human. This is a must see I hate critics this movie was one of the best movies ever made and shows a truly captivating experience. ive noticed that everyone should ignore critics and they should all be fired because they are obviously not human. This is a must see for families or anyone who isnt racist. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EstherS.Oct 16, 2007
I love this movie it is my all time favorite and I love to watch over and over again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbbyLSep 27, 2007
This movie was so good and touching. Who cares if it's inaccurate? It's a damn good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarlFSep 8, 2007
This is a fantastic movie that I enjoyed very much. I loved the era appropriate music and I remember the tension of those times as well. The story being true and my love of sports drove this on to the bank for me. The critics boorish and This is a fantastic movie that I enjoyed very much. I loved the era appropriate music and I remember the tension of those times as well. The story being true and my love of sports drove this on to the bank for me. The critics boorish and childish admonishments are clearly screwed along geo-political lines as the contrast between ACTUAL viewers and snotty reviewer prejudices could not be more clear here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
theorangeAug 10, 2007
This movie is a sports classic. Its moral and sports parts go well hand in hand and make the movie what it is. It is not a Fellini-like piece but it is about as much as you could expect from a high class sports movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyO.Mar 2, 2007
These critics are so stupid! I bet if the critics had to do it all over again they'd give it a much higher grade. Even We are Marshalls got a better rating than this! WTF!! I cried when I first saw this movie, the story was emotional These critics are so stupid! I bet if the critics had to do it all over again they'd give it a much higher grade. Even We are Marshalls got a better rating than this! WTF!! I cried when I first saw this movie, the story was emotional and told from the heart. It's the only movie I never get tired of watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EthanS.Oct 5, 2006
I'm sick of all these snooty uptight movie critics that can't recognise a movie masterpiece, and bad mouthing such an amazing movie. Not only are there strong emotional content but there are also the necessary kick butt football I'm sick of all these snooty uptight movie critics that can't recognise a movie masterpiece, and bad mouthing such an amazing movie. Not only are there strong emotional content but there are also the necessary kick butt football scenes!!!!!!!!!! Collapse
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SheenaSFeb 8, 2005
I don't understand how people can actually say that this was a bad movie. It was so emotional and powerful and for people to say that it wasn't a good lesson learned are obviously on the wrong track. This shows everyone how far we I don't understand how people can actually say that this was a bad movie. It was so emotional and powerful and for people to say that it wasn't a good lesson learned are obviously on the wrong track. This shows everyone how far we have come as a whole society, and how petty people used to be about the color of someones skin and how some people still act the same way today. People need to take a lesson and watch the movie to be educated if they still believe in colors today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
lorraineDec 22, 2004
First time I have seen this movie. I hate football with a passion....but... this was BRILLIANT... A Must See Movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RolandoB.Jul 12, 2004
Too bad... too formulaic and predictable, boring...
1 of 7 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeM.Dec 26, 2003
I don't get how the real critics rate this. This was a great movie. If the critics want to rate a movie, rate a movie they know somethjin about. Most of these critics prolly just like romantic movies and garbage like that and they dont I don't get how the real critics rate this. This was a great movie. If the critics want to rate a movie, rate a movie they know somethjin about. Most of these critics prolly just like romantic movies and garbage like that and they dont know how to appreciate a good sports movie when you see one. They also gave Rush Hour 2 a score similar to this onme, and that was a funny movie. Stupid humor is funny, and this movie was great. Maybe these critics should get a sense opf humor or pay attention to sports and then they might be able to rate movies well. Anyway, I love this movie, just got it for xmas, am gonna go watch it now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BostjanP.Apr 30, 2003
Excellent, I only wish that people learn something from it. P.S. Sorry for my english I'm from Europe ...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrystalS.Nov 27, 2002
I think this movie was great! I don't see how anyone wouldn't think that. We have to do a movie review in my Composition class and this was the first movie that came to mind because I enjoyed it so much!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimL.Jul 11, 2002
This movie made you think about what a lot of people had to go through no matter what race they were. This is definitely one of the best movies I have seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanetA.Jul 22, 2001
This is one of the best movies I have ever watched. I am a big fan of football and also really into history, civil rights and integration.. This is a movie I can watch everyday.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackieA.Jun 17, 2001
Definitely something evreyone should see.. I loved it so much! and the soundtrack is something I also want to get!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakkeR.Jun 13, 2001
It was an all around great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyB.Jun 9, 2001
Fabulous from start to finish!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephG.Jun 6, 2001
Definitely a 10! What a great movie! Full of inspiration and motivation! Really uplifting! Great for athletes and shows the truth about life!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseN.May 24, 2001
It rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieD.May 15, 2001
This is my all time favorite movie!! I hate football but this movie was a great one. Ryan Hurst was hotter than ever, and I watch this movie every night!! P.S. I am watching it right now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieD.May 15, 2001
This is my all time favorite movie!! I hate football but this movie was a great one. Ryan Hurst was hotter than ever, and I watch this movie every night!! P.S. I am watching it right now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ValerieG.Apr 6, 2001
I thought it was a great movie, but the daughter's role could have been cut down...a lot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AudreyH.Apr 3, 2001
The best sports films deal with tragedy. This one doesn't do that, but for some reason it works. Way too candy-coated, but it works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesS.Mar 23, 2001
This is a very heart-touching movie about overcoming the very injustices that built this country; and it shows how diversity is a win-win situation for all involved. Great Movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DenizE.Mar 15, 2001
It's a superb movie, don't miss it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful