User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 88
  2. Negative: 24 out of 88

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2013
    7
    TLDR: Repo Men is a sci-fi thriller about the dangers of treating peoples lives, health and well-being become a commodity. It deals with ethics and morality, and while it never reaches the great heights, it is a solid movie with a surprise twist.

    Full Review: A movie set in a bleak future reminiscent of a Ayn Rand-esque society where money decide whether you get to live with the help of
    artificial bodyparts or die, "Repo Men" sets out to show us what happens when one those tasked with repossessing the organs that people can no longer afford the payments on, finds himself with an artificial heart.

    The setting is fairly clever, and it is a dark and cautionary tale of what happens when the health and well-being of people is treated like a commodity. The movie has a gritty and occasionally extremely bloody artistic expression, best seen in the disused housing complexes where those who try to avoid being killed and having their organs repossessed by the repo men. The violence is in no way toned down and there are scenes that will make anyone with a weak disposition feel ill, but this only adds to the feeling that the movie has a message about the ethics and morality of "just doing your job"

    The actors are a bit "flat", but this may be as much from their characters being desensitized after killing people and ripping their hearts, livers, kidneys and so on out for years, as from a lack of acting enthusiasm.

    The ending, which many have disliked struck me as a necessity. Yes, it angered me too, but without the last few minutes we would be left with a generic sci-fi action thriller, while this ending made the moral and ethical questions stay with me, and force me to think more deeply on the implication of this movie.

    It is not a masterpiece, but it is a good movie that has a message to us all.

    7/10
    Collapse
  2. Jul 23, 2013
    5
    A solid sci-fi action film with a pretty cool premise. Jude Law and Forest Whitaker work pretty well together in buddy cop sort of way, Liev Schreiber also does well. The story though is pretty generic and the ending will both surprise and irritate.
  3. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    This movie was more than just decent. From all the negative reviews I've heard about it in the past I had ignored this movie for so long, which I now regret after finally watching the movie. I rated this movie so highly because I felt I needed to average out all of the horrible scores/reviews the movie received, when in actuality I feel like this movie was just misunderstood by too many.
  4. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    This movie is one of those good underrated movies. Do not listen to the critics on this one, they're very often wrong. The movie was one of the best action movies of 2010. The story was very interesting, and it carried all the way to the end. I really wasn't expecting anything from this movie when I bought it, but now I think I'm even gonna read the book.
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    6
    Although Repo Men is quite predictable and cliche, it's gory and entertaining, and it even has some funny moments in it as well.
  6. Apr 7, 2011
    8
    i watched the movie yesterday and it was pretty good!! and trust me i've seen a lot of movies in my life!! a lot of people are hating the movie because of the ending!!? grow up!!
  7. Mar 1, 2011
    2
    It's shocking how this film was ruined so much by a pathetic excuse for an ending. It was a little slow at times but overall the film wasn't too bad, but to end it in such a sloppy way is just unforgivable. Change the ending and you have yourself an OK thriller.
  8. Jan 31, 2011
    8
    This movie isn't that bad. I mean okay it's doesn't really have the greatest dialog ever, but this movie has some great action sequences and a very shocking ending.
  9. Nov 22, 2010
    3
    Good first thirty minutes, but turns dull soon after. The setting is futuristic, but it seems like deja vu because you've seen the same futuristic city scape too many times before. The film is too dark, and the action is average. Oh yes, let's not forget about Jude Law. What can I say, a role that seemed to fit perfectly with the film, but the film didn't fit perfectly with him. If you have money to spare, see it. Although, you'll be forgetting about it soon after. Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2010
    8
    For me, it is a good stylish old-fashioned Sci-fi movie, looks like Total Recall (Total Recall is also a gore one, isn't it?). Sometimes funny, a little bit of references, cool music. As much of gore as we used to see and as exist in any medical profession.
  11. Nov 2, 2010
    4
    A Film Review by: Sam Fragoso "Repo Men" ** There were many good things in this movie but also alot of really bad scenes that kinda of ruin the movie in some ways. How ever there were some up sides like... Jude Law has a solid performance and the action in Repo Men was really new and inventive and I truly enjoyed seeing that. They didn't overdue the action which is probably a first in most movies, so thats what kept me interested. When it's all said and done the ending is pretty rediculous and you realize you wasted the last half hour (need to see movie in order to understand). Anyways it was a half way decent movie with solid performances and new action so with that alone I say "Rent it". Expand
  12. Oct 13, 2010
    4
    Not a good movie, but an interesting ending. I was sad for the protagonist, but it would have been a ridiculous if everything just happened to go so well for him.
  13. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    Very similar themes and twists to Logan's Run, Equilibrium, Minority Report (men carrying out morally questionable jobs discover the error of their ways). The excessive & needless blood-letting seems to have alienated reviewers. Look beyond it and it's well performed, reasonably enjoyable, and with the best ending of this brand of movie.
  14. Sep 22, 2010
    0
    The only good thing about this movie is its premise. OH WAIT Repo! The Genetic Opera got there first. The premise sure was original when Repo! first used it. I guess someone thought it would be a good idea to take all the music and enjoyment out of Repo! and replace it with failure.
  15. Sep 21, 2010
    7
    Seen so many bad movies, this one doesn't reserve such bad critics, think most bad critics are because of its argued disregard for life maybe.
    Anyway, watchable movie and in its genre quite unique.
    >>7
  16. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    They would have done a much better job then they did on this. They should have been repoing cars or other cool stuff.. not body parts1.. come on that was wack Jay
  17. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    I really enjoyed this film. People seem to be taking this film far too seriously. An interesting future concept which held together some unexpected action sequences.

    Take it with a pinch of salt and suspend your disbelief. You might just like it.
  18. Aug 13, 2010
    7
    I saw Repo Men today. It was an entertaining film, that was extremely violent and had an interesting premise and story. The cast was good, but the predictability of the plot and the adrupt ending left something to be desired. Still, it was good. A 7.5/10.
  19. Aug 12, 2010
    2
    Pornographic gore from excellent cast. Why did they agree to do this? Great premise wasted on hyperbolic direction. We wish for the camera to cut away every time Jude Law thrusts his hands inside another living creature. Save me from this nightmare.
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 31
  2. Negative: 16 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    0
    The movie shares this premise with 2008's "Repo!: The Genetic Opera." It would be worth researching who ripped off whom if both weren't ghastly.
  2. 38
    This is not a bad cast, but whatever wit the script aims for is lost in the queasy details director Miguel Sapochnik found more fascinating.
  3. A grisly one-note chase thriller.