User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 420 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 420
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonB.
    Sep 14, 2008
    10
    Without a doubt, one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. It grabs hold of you and doesn't let go. 98% of the brilliance of this movie is in its excellent music. Clint Mansell is brilliant.
  2. AnonY
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    A powerful, underrated, classic film. Those who decry this movie as an overly simplistic caricature of the horrors of drug use completely miss the point of the film; what makes this film compelling and different from other drug films is its ability to show how drug addiction can afflict anyone and comes in many forms. From television to caffeine to heroin, everyone self medicates, and A powerful, underrated, classic film. Those who decry this movie as an overly simplistic caricature of the horrors of drug use completely miss the point of the film; what makes this film compelling and different from other drug films is its ability to show how drug addiction can afflict anyone and comes in many forms. From television to caffeine to heroin, everyone self medicates, and anyone can fall victim to serious addictions, be they old or young. Expand
  3. GarvinVanG
    Apr 23, 2009
    10
    Greatest use of audio and visual technology of any film ever. Engrossing to the bitter end, building into a sensual crescendo metaphorically described as a classical rapsody of soundtrack and cenematics that overwhelms the senses into submission, leaving only the body to sink into the comfortable couch of emotion and stimulation. Perfectly cast, brilliantly edited, genius direction and Greatest use of audio and visual technology of any film ever. Engrossing to the bitter end, building into a sensual crescendo metaphorically described as a classical rapsody of soundtrack and cenematics that overwhelms the senses into submission, leaving only the body to sink into the comfortable couch of emotion and stimulation. Perfectly cast, brilliantly edited, genius direction and interpretation of the writers vision and desire. 10/10 Expand
  4. DevinW.
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    Unbelievable masterpiece. It's so deep on so many levels, that weeks afterwards you find yourself discovering new meanings. I see a lot of very ignorant reviews of this movie. Do not be fooled because however depressing or dark the movie is, it leaves you in a way of striving to avoid the downfall of the characters in the movie. A lot of bad reviews read of how terrible it was, but i Unbelievable masterpiece. It's so deep on so many levels, that weeks afterwards you find yourself discovering new meanings. I see a lot of very ignorant reviews of this movie. Do not be fooled because however depressing or dark the movie is, it leaves you in a way of striving to avoid the downfall of the characters in the movie. A lot of bad reviews read of how terrible it was, but i think that most of the people who wrote those reviews did not get the point of the movie at all, ruining the whole experience. Brilliant, just brilliant. Expand
  5. JayF.
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    The most brilliantly directed film in American motion picture history. How Ellen Burnstyn did not win the Academy Award for this film is far, far beyond my realm of thinking.
  6. GusF.
    Dec 28, 2006
    9
    I just had to respond to Richie C.'s comment. Richie, do you only go to the movies to watch fairy-tale endings and Jim Carrey movies? That's like saying the only books that should be printed are kids' stories. If you can't handle drama, fine, but that's no reason to give the movie a 3. That said, this movie is hard to watch and does leave you bummed, but I just had to respond to Richie C.'s comment. Richie, do you only go to the movies to watch fairy-tale endings and Jim Carrey movies? That's like saying the only books that should be printed are kids' stories. If you can't handle drama, fine, but that's no reason to give the movie a 3. That said, this movie is hard to watch and does leave you bummed, but itis' beautifully done and the fact that it can affect its viewers just goes to prove its power in grabbing you. Watch it. Expand
  7. NeilW.
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    Saw it, and ordered the dvd the day after. Just totally blew me away. I felt empty as the credits rolled, as if someone had grabbed my soul and dragged it out of me. Also the soundtrack is just so powerfull, never has a soundtrack had such in impact on me. And that Ellen didn't win the oscar is just unforgivable. One of my all time favourites, just behind Alien and Shawshank.
  8. Megan
    May 22, 2002
    10
    Never have I ever been so touched by a movie. I stared at the screen for 5 minutes after the film ended and could not think of anything else besides what I had just seen. Mind-numbing, breath-taking, heart-stopping, eye-opening. You just gotta see it.
  9. Mr.Green
    Nov 2, 2002
    10
    This was the best drama movie I have ever seen. It has extremly nice acting. The plot is great and the filming was better. I love the scene where they see Ellen Burnstyn cleaning her apartment. I also loved the cradle camera they had on the actors. I think the only reason it got a lousy 72 was because people thought it was too depressing for them. I saw Traffic the same year and could not This was the best drama movie I have ever seen. It has extremly nice acting. The plot is great and the filming was better. I love the scene where they see Ellen Burnstyn cleaning her apartment. I also loved the cradle camera they had on the actors. I think the only reason it got a lousy 72 was because people thought it was too depressing for them. I saw Traffic the same year and could not figure out how anyone thought it was a better movie then this?? Traffic does not even compare to this movie. Expand
  10. Bob
    Mar 3, 2002
    10
    It was perfect. I cannot understand what anyone did not like about it. The music, acting, storyline, cimeatography, and everything I left out was the best I have ever seen,
  11. StarK.
    Apr 8, 2001
    10
    Completely out of this world amazing. Can't get it out of your mind.
  12. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This movie is simply awesome, it show the things the way it should be and the way it happens, along with Eyes wide shut, this movie is one the best drama movies i ever seen and i think that every single teenager should watch this movie and realize that drugs and excess never will end well
  13. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This film has a great and original vision, never before have you seen or will you ever see a movie like this one. Great style acting and pace. This movie has one of the best paces to a movieI have ever seen. It will not let you down with its powerful cimax
  14. May 28, 2012
    10
    Amazing piece of film. I agree that it is a little over rated and people think they're artsy for liking it and even knowing about it, but any movie that could take the place of every single life education class we ever had to take growing up in school about how drugs are bad is a success in my book. Very powerful. Jared Leto delivers, Jennifer Connolly kills it, Marlon Wayans showsAmazing piece of film. I agree that it is a little over rated and people think they're artsy for liking it and even knowing about it, but any movie that could take the place of every single life education class we ever had to take growing up in school about how drugs are bad is a success in my book. Very powerful. Jared Leto delivers, Jennifer Connolly kills it, Marlon Wayans shows diversity, and Ellen Burstyn steals the whole show. True acting from true actors. Expand
  15. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Aronofsky's film is a haunting and hypnotic show, fueled by a bracing score and a heart wrenching performance from Ellen Burstyn. Though the cuts may seem quick and sloppy to the naked eye, Requiem is carefully and precisely put to together, and the effect will floor you.
  16. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Requiem for a Dream is a film which is Fearlessly Directed and Acted. Its very raw, which wont make many audiences appreciate the film, But its true to its story without a tiny sliver of fake. Its one of those films which scare you, make you cry by experiencing the downward spiral of these characters along with them. And though even at times when you don't agree with them [that's mostly],Requiem for a Dream is a film which is Fearlessly Directed and Acted. Its very raw, which wont make many audiences appreciate the film, But its true to its story without a tiny sliver of fake. Its one of those films which scare you, make you cry by experiencing the downward spiral of these characters along with them. And though even at times when you don't agree with them [that's mostly], you can't help but feel for them and finally embrace them by the end. There is no better Horror Movie than reality. In that sense this definitely is one. Each and Every actor had a lot to emote, and they did so beautifully. But Ellen Burstyn takes the cake, Have not seen a performance as beautiful as that ever, Period. Expand
  17. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  18. May 16, 2011
    10
    Fine piece of work. From every aspect. You can tell the cast and crew worked so hard to compose a phenomenal film, like nothing you have seen before.
  19. MarkusR
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    This film was amazing. I loved every second of it and was thinking about it days after watching it. The music was perfect through the whole thing.
  20. MikeW
    Dec 18, 2008
    9
    Intricate, dark, amazing.
  21. WhoCares
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    No movie has made me feel the way i did after i watched this. Plus the music was amazing.
  22. RafaellaT.
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    This movie is amazing! I love Jared Leto!!!
  23. ChadS.
    Aug 5, 2007
    9
    A great movie in every aspect. one that will surely stick with you for years to come. Don't miss out.
  24. AllanT.
    Jan 17, 2003
    10
    This is a fantastic movie!!!!!!!!! Like duh it's god O.K.!!!!!
  25. SammyP.
    Jul 24, 2001
    9
    It is disgustingly beautiful. A must-see for anyone whose life is slipping.
  26. YanG.
    Jun 1, 2010
    10
    Great!
  27. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    I've got my cousin to thank for making me watch this movie. He told me to hang on when I got kind of bored in the middle. Lo and Behold! Nothing can ever prepare you for what happens during the climax. Everything that you imagine can go wrong goes wrong! If you want to be put off drugs for good, watch this.
  28. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    With a shattering performance from Burstyn that lost out disgustingly at all major award ceremonies, and artistic genius from Aronofsky, Requiem for a Dream is without a doubt the most powerful film I've yet to endure. Brutally honest, daringly filmed and masterfully acted, this film traps you within the minds of the helpless characters it follows using impressively unique and effectiveWith a shattering performance from Burstyn that lost out disgustingly at all major award ceremonies, and artistic genius from Aronofsky, Requiem for a Dream is without a doubt the most powerful film I've yet to endure. Brutally honest, daringly filmed and masterfully acted, this film traps you within the minds of the helpless characters it follows using impressively unique and effective editing and filming techniques. But technicalities aside, this film is emotional and heartfelt, and will provide any viewer with taste, a brain and emotion a gut-wrenching yet massively rewarding experience a perfect film. Expand
  29. JenniferF.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    This movie is insane. I was glued to the T.V
  30. KaraW
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Amazing movie. If you didn't like it, you didn't get it. The acting was amazing, the soundtrack was amazing, the cinematography was amazing. I LOVED it.
  31. ShaunH.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    This movie is by far the most disturbing yet realistic outlook at how drug users become completely dislocated from themselves. The acting is outstanding (especially Burstyn and Connelly). Burstyn was robbed of the Academy Award for her performance in this movie. Ellen Burstyn's portrayal of "Sara" devastated me long after the movie was over. Simply amazing....
  32. Chadmon
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Like many others that have stated it, this is indeed a life changing movie. The first time I watched I.. I couldn't stop thinking about it. I had to go around and ask everyone if they'd seen it, and if they hadn't I told them they must!...The acting was amazing, the soundtrack (by Clint Mansell) was truly worth buying after hearing it and the true message of the movie made Like many others that have stated it, this is indeed a life changing movie. The first time I watched I.. I couldn't stop thinking about it. I had to go around and ask everyone if they'd seen it, and if they hadn't I told them they must!...The acting was amazing, the soundtrack (by Clint Mansell) was truly worth buying after hearing it and the true message of the movie made me wish I'd seen it 5 years earlier. Clint Mansell and Darren Aronofsky work amazing together. It was a dark movie sure, but to say reality isn't dark is ignorant. The critics giving it a 20 and 30 really must've been doing what the main characters in the movie got addicted too. I'll let you find out what that is if you haven't seen it. This movie is a must see in my books. Expand
  33. DM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    Haunting. Just haunting.
  34. AbhinavG.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Undoubtly, this is the best movie I have seen this whole year. I cant believe that I didnt see this movie till today. Awesome direction, terrafic performances by actors and storyline is like something I cant be explain in words. If you havent watched it yet, watch it now.
  35. EvilB.
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    Hard to describe. Gut wrenching, disturbing, thrill ride, engrossing; just to use a few. Darkly fascinating and wildly entertaining. Any movie that can get your pulse racing, be it good or evil, is an epic flick for sure.
  36. EricC
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    Chris K., it's not about the drugs. It's about the pursute of happiness. There's the spring board for starting to understanding this intense, earth-shatteringly bleak film. Also has the most incredible score of our generation.
  37. JennyL
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    Brilliant-honest and artfully put together.
  38. joes.
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    This movie blew my mind....I've never seen a more powerful and disturbing movie, but it was great...just unspeakably disturbing.
  39. KevinC
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    I cant find words for this movie. One the one side a beautiful work of art and at the other site cruel reality. There are some small negatives but without them this movie wouldn't be THAT good! You have to see it to understand.
  40. egemen
    Jul 20, 2005
    10
    Best film i ve ever watched.
  41. RoyH.
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    I quote the Rolling Stone review " No one interested in the power and magic of movies should miss it. " Such a powerful movie should not be missed by those who really care for their purpose which is to capture the audience in a way few films are capable this days. All the elements of film are focused in this movie, which are effects, music, story, scripts, characterization, camera takes, I quote the Rolling Stone review " No one interested in the power and magic of movies should miss it. " Such a powerful movie should not be missed by those who really care for their purpose which is to capture the audience in a way few films are capable this days. All the elements of film are focused in this movie, which are effects, music, story, scripts, characterization, camera takes, cinematographic emotion and feeling, and a lot more. A movie that when you finish watching you literally can't get off your seat, whether you liked it or not. It deliver such kind of suspense and drama and thriller and (in a matter of speaking if you watched the movie) such propaganda for drugs and at the same time its opposite, that at the end of the movie you can't realize that you've actually been watching what I think should have been a greatly acclaimed movie! Expand
  42. AlirezaM.
    May 14, 2006
    10
    A very touching story of falling of four people mixed with brilliant acts and perfectly matched music.
  43. Dr.Gonzo
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    Haunting. Dreamy. Gritty. Not sure how those three mix together but they do. Amazing film, do not miss.
  44. ChrisM.
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    Like it or lump it, this film is an expirence like none other.
  45. DavW.
    Jan 15, 2007
    9
    Repulsive, disgusting, intriguing, strange, ironic and utterly irresistible. This film is disturbing to the core, however there is a powerful message delivered, one that puts most of the rest of the film in context. This is truely a great cinematic work and should be admired as such. I suppose you can either love this movie or hate it, but if for nothing else, the soundtrack rocks! Mother Repulsive, disgusting, intriguing, strange, ironic and utterly irresistible. This film is disturbing to the core, however there is a powerful message delivered, one that puts most of the rest of the film in context. This is truely a great cinematic work and should be admired as such. I suppose you can either love this movie or hate it, but if for nothing else, the soundtrack rocks! Mother looses her sanity, son looses his arm, girl looses her dignity and black guy looses his freedom, everything that we take for granted is ripped away at the end, and thats a pretty damn interesting message. Expand
  46. AdlaiH.
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    A technical and directorial masterpiece with amazing cinematography, music, acting, plot, pace, direction, and every other element of a movie. Simply top-notch; Aronofsky brings the Shakespearean tragedy into the present day and adds his own dark touch. Watch it, but make sure you watch the unrated version; Aronofsky made it that way for a reason, and watching an edited version would A technical and directorial masterpiece with amazing cinematography, music, acting, plot, pace, direction, and every other element of a movie. Simply top-notch; Aronofsky brings the Shakespearean tragedy into the present day and adds his own dark touch. Watch it, but make sure you watch the unrated version; Aronofsky made it that way for a reason, and watching an edited version would simply defeat the film's purpose. Expand
  47. Carolyn
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    I bought this movie today at Wal-Mart called 'Requiem for a Dream'. Of couse I got the R-rated Edited Version. I truly believe that it deserves WAY more than $5.50. I love this movie, it is a masterpiece, but I did not enjoy it. Why? Because it deals with lots of drugs. Nothing good happens in this film. Absoluely nothing. This was the first movie ever to make me cry, especially I bought this movie today at Wal-Mart called 'Requiem for a Dream'. Of couse I got the R-rated Edited Version. I truly believe that it deserves WAY more than $5.50. I love this movie, it is a masterpiece, but I did not enjoy it. Why? Because it deals with lots of drugs. Nothing good happens in this film. Absoluely nothing. This was the first movie ever to make me cry, especially at the end. I wish I could say that it had a happy ending. I really do. Definitely a must-see. Expand
  48. ChrisB.
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Requiem for a Dream is a masterpiece and a movie you will never forget. The title alone should let you know it is not going to be a happy, uplifting movie. If you aren't a schizo on the subject of drugs, then this movie is a muse see. The theme song is incredible too!
  49. AR
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing movie. It makes you relate to the 4 characters first, then slowly spiral you into the oblivion that is addiction. Aronofsky does this through the amazing lens of a gifted filmmaker.
  50. JackL.
    Jul 25, 2007
    9
    This is a great movie. Very stylish and thought provoking. The movie slowly sucks you in the leaden nightmare in which is filled up with harrowing truths, deep thoughts and breathtaking performances, especially by Ellen Burstyn.
  51. BushM.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    Changed my life. Made me rethink things I've said and done. truly a masterpiece.
  52. fitchbuck
    Sep 8, 2007
    9
    Hugely disturbing masterpiece. Some of the best acting across the board you will ever witness, period. If you've ever had a personal connection to any of the themes explored here, it will make your blood boil. The downward spiral of the 3 lead characters is putrid, uncomfortably hellacious.
  53. RobertB.
    Dec 19, 2004
    10
    This movie wont let you move, the the artwork that is this movie is haunting, and it is some of the best ive ever seen.
  54. JustinN.
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    One of the most powerful films I've ever watched. An amazing look at addiction of many types (drugs, entertainment, sex, affection) which illustrates in painful detail just how empty these things are.
  55. DanielTaylor
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    This movie is one of the best movies I have ever seen. It's stunning cinematography and hauntingly appropriate violin score only add to the emotional power of a film about the world as it really is. In the world there are rarely the happy endings that we see in the movies and it scares most people, but thats what Aronofsky delivers. A compelling yet gut wrenching look at the world of This movie is one of the best movies I have ever seen. It's stunning cinematography and hauntingly appropriate violin score only add to the emotional power of a film about the world as it really is. In the world there are rarely the happy endings that we see in the movies and it scares most people, but thats what Aronofsky delivers. A compelling yet gut wrenching look at the world of drugs. It is unbearable to watch an oscar worhty Ellen Burstyn (who reminds you of your grandmother) go through such a terrible transformation. Her lonely saddened life along with her longing for something more becomes her eventual downfall and the tragic climax that the audience is forced to see leaves us devastated. Her son Harry even though somewhat ego-maniacal does not lack any sympathy. Expand
  56. LinoG.
    Mar 17, 2004
    10
    I would give it more than a ten if i could. This is the most powerful, thought provoking, most perfectly acted film I have ever seen (and yes, I've seen many of the so-called classics). I cried at the end. Burstyn was robbed, end of story.
  57. LynnR.
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    God!!! I luuve this movie...
  58. Lux
    Mar 18, 2003
    10
    This is a movie, that i personally got totally lost in. (and i mean that in a good way). It's so real and it torments me to watch it beause i know to an extent what i feels like to be addicted. I like how they gradually sink into the addiction so you can actually see what drugs do to you, and how much they impact your whole life.
  59. RigellioR.
    Jan 20, 2002
    10
    One of the best films, i've ever seen...
  60. SamC.
    Jun 19, 2001
    10
    Emotionally gripping, the director makes you feel as if you are living in hell with the characters.
  61. MarianneK.
    Jan 9, 2002
    10
    This is a frightening movie and really shows how horrible life could get by drugs. And also so great=)
  62. SaraE.
    Oct 15, 2001
    10
    This film was definitely for the intellectuals. Not too many others would truly appreciate it's worth. True, it's a terribly negative piece, but aren't you sick of covering up everything bad in the world?
  63. PatrickF.
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    This is the best movie I have ever seen and only wish that I had been able to see it in the theatre.
  64. Beily
    Jun 28, 2001
    10
    Wow.
  65. TangentUniverse
    Sep 15, 2002
    9
    This movie made me puke, and thats a good thing... if you don't see it, you aren't complete.
  66. Fightthepower
    Apr 4, 2003
    10
    I would like to know jennifer connelly, biblically.
  67. Sameer
    Sep 26, 2002
    9
    Powerful indeed. Undoubdtedly delivers the intended messege.
  68. JanaC.
    May 7, 2001
    10
    This movie is definitely IT.
  69. TheGilbertMulroneycakesEffect
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    Despair so massive it almost swallows itself whole. That's the tone of this film. Doesn't appeal to you? Watch it anyway. It's just-so-important that it cannot be missed.
  70. BillB.
    Mar 21, 2003
    10
    This movie is an intelligent, smart movie. It enforces its theme without any troubble, yet there is so much underlying the obvious.
  71. JeffD.
    Apr 20, 2002
    10
    How could anyone give this movie a bad rating? Not only are the audio and visual aspects of the movie stunning, the plight of the characters is heartbreaking and true-to-life.
  72. MichaelF.
    Jul 28, 2002
    10
    It's SO damned good. It's really f.....d up but so damn good and powerful and emotional and just sickening at times. I thought that I had lost all faith in Jared Leto after PANIC ROOM and I KNEW that I lost all the faith that I didn't have in Marlon Wayans after The SCARY MOVIE movies, but those two just blew me away. Jennifer Connely has never been this hot hot hot ever. It's SO damned good. It's really f.....d up but so damn good and powerful and emotional and just sickening at times. I thought that I had lost all faith in Jared Leto after PANIC ROOM and I KNEW that I lost all the faith that I didn't have in Marlon Wayans after The SCARY MOVIE movies, but those two just blew me away. Jennifer Connely has never been this hot hot hot ever. She was amazing. Ellen Burnstyn was incredible and deserved that oscar, she's always great. Darren Aronofsky is one of the most talented directors/writers in Hollywood today. It has that same feeling as PI did but more disturbing. One of the 3 best films of the year, short of AMORES PERROS and TRAFFIC. Expand
  73. Troy
    May 20, 2002
    10
    There are few movies in existence that can emotionally draw you into the pit of despair that accompanies Harry, Marion, Tyrone, and Sara. If you even tolerated the movie, read the book. Amazing, that's all there is to it.
  74. RobertP.
    Jul 7, 2001
    10
    I used to think "Trainspotting" was disturbing. As drug films go, this one makes "Trainspotting" look like "Up In Smoke."
  75. CatherineV.W.
    Mar 25, 2001
    10
    Perfectly embodies the hopelessness of today's American society.
  76. HeleneS.
    Jul 30, 2001
    10
    This is a film witch makes you learn more about the cruel reality for these victims. The film starts with normal people, no fear, and ends with total hell. The best film ever.
  77. DylanB.
    Jul 1, 2001
    10
    Schockingly true about the perils of addiction.
  78. DDefRush
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    Just awesome...if you are in the drug's world you would enjoy it 1000, but if you don't know about these things, just shut up.
  79. RyanT.
    Oct 11, 2002
    10
    One of the most shocking films ever made. It is a great film with supurb acting especially by Ellen Burstyn. This film makes you never want to take drugs.
  80. BangkokDave
    Jul 29, 2002
    9
    A stunning & powerful film that shakes you to the core & stays in your mind long after you've seen it. Its portayals of addiction & self-delusion - and their terrible consequences - may be extreme, but they have a powerful resonance. Ellen Burstyn's performance is especially poignant & heartbreaking - it is a depiction of tragedy itself.
  81. Ricki
    Jun 23, 2001
    10
    THe filming of the movie was very well done and dramatic. It showed a lot of emotions.
  82. LelaL.
    Jul 29, 2001
    10
    A visual and audio masterpiece.
  83. Judgedanforth
    Nov 15, 2003
    9
    F....ing deck. You know how it is. This is Chank and scheist, yea.
  84. [Anonymous]
    May 29, 2001
    10
    Simply the best film of 2000 and in decades. Simply the most harrowing since "Exorcist" and "Psycho," yet it is not a horror film. Simply the best anti-drug film ever made...yet it is not truly about drugs.
  85. BenC.
    Nov 25, 2001
    10
    It's just so nice to see something that doesn't follow the typical Hollywood formula. Because of this, it tugs on your emotions in ways other movies can't. Is funny in a sad and sincere way.
  86. KatieP.
    Jan 30, 2004
    10
    They should show this in school. I'll never do drugs, and I have this movie to thank. Completely honest.
  87. Jack
    Jan 19, 2004
    10
    Perfect and heartbreaking. It's not the fancy FX but the performances that will haunt you.
  88. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    BE CAREFUL WHILE WATCHING THIS MOVIE!

    This piece of work brings it. It really does. This excellent movie was one of the best movies I've ever seen in a lot of terms (soundtrack, editing, originality, and so on...) BUT you have to be very carefull while whatching it. It brings with itself a stereotic abordation of the drugs senary. That's a beautiful way of spending quality time but, at
    BE CAREFUL WHILE WATCHING THIS MOVIE!

    This piece of work brings it. It really does. This excellent movie was one of the best movies I've ever seen in a lot of terms (soundtrack, editing, originality, and so on...)

    BUT you have to be very carefull while whatching it. It brings with itself a stereotic abordation of the drugs senary. That's a beautiful way of spending quality time but, at the same time, doesn't deliver enough information for any person to create an opinion about the drugs and abuse subjects.
    Expand
  89. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Hooray for portraying how the world really is, in raw material. Kudos for the insanity factors and showing how bad addictions affect others. No, this is not a promotional thing - it's the exact opposite. Great acting (30 Seconds To Mars' Jared Leto made me giggle and point for the first five minutes of the film), great filming, and a spiralling conclusion. Lovely.
  90. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    Pour apprécier pleinement un film de Darren Aronofsky, c'est d'entrer dans l'univers qu'il nous propose à chaque fois. Notamment au niveau de la mise en scène. Il n'y a qu'à voir The Fountain et Black Swan. Mais son film le plus styliser et le plus fort reste sans aucun doute Requiem for a Dream. Un film à premièrePour apprécier pleinement un film de Darren Aronofsky, c'est d'entrer dans l'univers qu'il nous propose à chaque fois. Notamment au niveau de la mise en scène. Il n'y a qu'à voir The Fountain et Black Swan. Mais son film le plus styliser et le plus fort reste sans aucun doute Requiem for a Dream. Un film à première vue tout aussi "défoncé" que ses protagonistes, mais qui se révèle être un coup de poing ravageur, qui nous permet de vivre (et non de suivre) la descente aux enfers de 4 personnes, touchées d'une manière ou d'une autre par la drogue. Ambiance dérangeante, bo grinçante, mise en scène clipesque, casting de choix... Bref, j'ai assisté, impuissant, à l'une des plus cruelles déchéances qu'il m'ait été de voir dans un film. Et pour cela, je peux dire qu'Aronofsky est un excellent réalisateur! Expand
  91. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    Requiem for a Dream has impact for the most part due to the utterly captivating performances of the cast, particularly Ellen Burstyn who received a well-earned Academy Award nomination, and from Jared Leto who is also very strong. The film also has simple but effectively disturbing visuals, a striking editing style courtesy of Jay Rabinowitz, a moody and epic score from Clint Mansell and aRequiem for a Dream has impact for the most part due to the utterly captivating performances of the cast, particularly Ellen Burstyn who received a well-earned Academy Award nomination, and from Jared Leto who is also very strong. The film also has simple but effectively disturbing visuals, a striking editing style courtesy of Jay Rabinowitz, a moody and epic score from Clint Mansell and a truly terrifying and heartbreaking finale. Being a Darren Aronofsky film, it's flexible and creative with the concept of reality, and becomes more off-the-wall and dreamlike (well, nightmarish) as the characters steadily lose control of their lives, their minds and their free will as a result of their terrible addictions. It's certainly one of the most uncompromising and provocative films about drug addiction ever made, and should probably be mandatory viewing for teenagers to scare them off the life-destroying substances for life. It one of those films that really leaves a lasting effect, an almost crippling feeling of melancholia as a result of its pessimism. Mercilessly downbeat though it may be, Requiem for a Dream is a prime example of meticulously crafted, undeniably powerful filmmaking. Expand
  92. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Not only does it paint the consequences of perhaps reaching too far, but Requiem for a Dream also tells a tragic tale of the troubles of being alone, and the lengths people may go to just to be counted.
    Sara (Ellen Burstyn) is a widowed mother who spends her days watching the same game show, while also fantasising about being thinner and fitting into the red dress she wore to her son
    Not only does it paint the consequences of perhaps reaching too far, but Requiem for a Dream also tells a tragic tale of the troubles of being alone, and the lengths people may go to just to be counted.
    Sara (Ellen Burstyn) is a widowed mother who spends her days watching the same game show, while also fantasising about being thinner and fitting into the red dress she wore to her son Harry's (Jared Leto) graduation, she decides to start a diet which eventually leads her to start taking prescription diet pills.
    Harry, meanwhile, is a heroin addict, and soon gets himself into the trade around Coney Island, along with his friend Tyrone (Marlon Wayans) and his girlfriend, Marion (Jennifer Connolly). They make extreme amounts of money from their deals and dream of opening a fashion store.
    As the two stories unfold, we watch as each of the four peoples addiction grows out of control and the effects to which their lives begin to spiral, the title truly bears fruit to the lengths these individuals go to for what they believe to be a better life.
    Elllen Burstyn puts in an emotionally stirring performance as Sara, forever fantasising of her life in a gameshow, and her struggle to come to grips with reality are perfectly portrayed here, simply for the love of her son.
    The multi-talented Jared Leto continues to shine, playing the conflicted Harry, who we never quite understand just how much he loves his mother, as when he is around her he seems uneasy. his characters relationship with is also addicted girlfriend starts off quite simple, but we soon realise that he will do anything he can to please her, whatever his actions.
    Darren Aronofsky's superb filmmaking comes in with a bang in this film, combining close up shots with a montage of quick cuts to emphasise the speed and evolved nature of each persons addiction, and he tells a wonderful story as how the ambitions can indeed be dangerous, many things that people reach for could have tragic consequences, but unfortunately an idea can spread.
    Combining expert filmmaking and a gripping story, along with a superb cast, Aronofsky has created a truly breathtaking yet tragic film, one that will not be forgotten, simply because of its meaningful story and heartbreaking finale.
    Expand
  93. May 13, 2013
    10
    The film, with its great actors, its epic music and its sad and shocking ending is a masterpiece. After watching the film i wanted to hide in a hole. Go and watch it!
  94. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    This film is fascinating. The direction is excellent and the actors are fabulous. Ellen Burstyn gave an excellent performance. The ending was really sad. I thought it would not be such good a film but Requiem for a dream fascinated me. A masterpiece. Aronofsky made again an extraordinary picture
  95. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    It's simply one of the best pictures in cinema history. The best psychological drama ever made. Epic and unputdownable!!! I saw it when it first came out and still if someone reminds me for that movie I cannot sleep at night. It's horror. But not horror meaning ghosts and vampires, but meaning the horror of the unknown, of death and more. It's a movie that I won't forget until I die.It's simply one of the best pictures in cinema history. The best psychological drama ever made. Epic and unputdownable!!! I saw it when it first came out and still if someone reminds me for that movie I cannot sleep at night. It's horror. But not horror meaning ghosts and vampires, but meaning the horror of the unknown, of death and more. It's a movie that I won't forget until I die. Requiem for a Dream is one of the best, maybe the best, picture I have ever seen. It gives you a message for the danger of the drugs too. Do not miss it!! Expand
  96. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    This movie is the definition of the word "Realism." This is a beautiful film about the dangers of abuse that can truly impact, or even change, your life. This is the drug movie, as it shows how drugs WILL get you and it really could damage ANYONE. It uses it's surreal and amazing special effects so this audience truly feels the downfall of these characters and there are remarkableThis movie is the definition of the word "Realism." This is a beautiful film about the dangers of abuse that can truly impact, or even change, your life. This is the drug movie, as it shows how drugs WILL get you and it really could damage ANYONE. It uses it's surreal and amazing special effects so this audience truly feels the downfall of these characters and there are remarkable performances by the actors, including Ellen Burstyn and Jared Leto. Darren Aronofsky gave us this very depressing horror movie and your jaw will drop at the final scene, with it's incredible brutality and intensity. I also admire the fantastic musical composition as it definitely helps the movie show you it's wrath. A true masterpiece that leaves a lasting impression on it's audience. You HAVE to see this movie at least once. Recommend to all. Just buy a few more lightbulbs after the credits. Expand
  97. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Aronofsky knows his fables, his camera work and his sound. Requiem For A Dream is one of the most horrifically disturbing films you will ever see and the most graphically excellent drug movies. I personally enjoyed Darren's PI, and that was the whole reason I watched this film. Not appealing from the trailer, but excellent. Jared Leto shines as a heroin addict, Ellen Burnstyn was brilliantAronofsky knows his fables, his camera work and his sound. Requiem For A Dream is one of the most horrifically disturbing films you will ever see and the most graphically excellent drug movies. I personally enjoyed Darren's PI, and that was the whole reason I watched this film. Not appealing from the trailer, but excellent. Jared Leto shines as a heroin addict, Ellen Burnstyn was brilliant and perfect as a old aged drug addict, Clint Mansel was good, and Marlon Wayans was excellent as a ghetto addict. This whole movie is Aronofsky's fantasy on drug hallucinations and heroin's affect as death, but this gazing at dark filmmaking is marvellous. With a great assembled cast, a great story, awesome songs and the neo noir effect on drugs- you can't miss Requiem For A Dream for its perfectness. It's dark, silly, scary and awesome. Expand
  98. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    In my opinion top 5 best movies of all time. In almost cried at the end because of his mom. jgjgjojegojiogjeriogjiojgiojgiogjiojirtjgiotrjiogjtrggjiorjg. sorry for that just needed to write at least 500 characters to able to submit my review.
  99. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    Another disturbing and depressing movie from Aronofsky. Good filming, nice actors. It is about wasted lives, false ideals and ruined destinies. I can't say that I realized something new after watching the movie or I felt compassion to the characters, but still it made a strong emotional impact on me.
  100. May 11, 2014
    10
    Requiem for a Dream is, in my opinion, and probably the opinion of many others, a cinematic masterpiece. The film's disturbing nature and heartbreaking scenes truly reflect on the brutal effects that drugs can have. The acting is just absolutely stellar. Ellen Burstyn gives a career-topping performance and Jared Leto, Jennifer Connelly and Marlon Wayans provide a brilliant cast of troubledRequiem for a Dream is, in my opinion, and probably the opinion of many others, a cinematic masterpiece. The film's disturbing nature and heartbreaking scenes truly reflect on the brutal effects that drugs can have. The acting is just absolutely stellar. Ellen Burstyn gives a career-topping performance and Jared Leto, Jennifer Connelly and Marlon Wayans provide a brilliant cast of troubled characters. The cinematography is so on point; the camera cuts are genius and it just adds to the films beauty. The music is tense and haunting, I swear some of the scenes left me sweating in suspense. The story is just so good and it's like nothing you have seen before and nothing you will ever see again. Finally, the film is just so horrific in it's reality; it's so unbearable you can't help but watch. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. 100
    No one interested in the power and magic of movies should miss it.
  2. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    30
    Too self-consciously dark, too aware of its long, murky, art-designed descent into the underbelly of America's addictive personality.
  3. A powerful fable about love and addiction that manages to be darkly humorous when it isn't graphic or harrowing in the extreme.