User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 414 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 414
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    Requiem for a Dream is a breathtaking movie and this is because of the topics that treat and point of view that give them. The film talks about family conflicts, couple problems, friend disagreements, racist fights, poor environments and all of these immersed in the drugs world. Obviously the points of view towards these problems are four, the one of Harry (who is trying to be successfulRequiem for a Dream is a breathtaking movie and this is because of the topics that treat and point of view that give them. The film talks about family conflicts, couple problems, friend disagreements, racist fights, poor environments and all of these immersed in the drugs world. Obviously the points of view towards these problems are four, the one of Harry (who is trying to be successful and have a job), his girlfriend (who is looking her happily ever after), his mother (who wants to be remembered after her dead, by appear on television) and his best friend (who is hoping to live without worries and just enjoying the moment). In another way, this people is trying to accomplish something that is very difficult to find in the real world, so the solution is to escape from the reality; here is when the four path joins in a common point: the drugs, which represent the release of their minds. In this part Darren Aronofsky use the expressionist and surrealistic images, like the sequence when they take drugs, the attack of the TV people with the refrigerator and the zombie ending. Finally the four people end in the same way as if they were only one body. All of this is enhance by a marvelous direction, astonishing performances, excellent script and shocking music. This is a requiem for the beloved housewife, the worker son, the empathic girlfriend and the supporting friend. It is a requiem for achieving perfection. A Requiem for a Dream. Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This movie is simply awesome, it show the things the way it should be and the way it happens, along with Eyes wide shut, this movie is one the best drama movies i ever seen and i think that every single teenager should watch this movie and realize that drugs and excess never will end well
  3. Oct 5, 2011
    7
    "Requiem for a Dream" showcases the unique talent Jared Leto possesses. He is a really talented person (acting, music, directing) and the fact that he generally makes only so called art movies, makes him even more special, because he isnâ
  4. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This film has a great and original vision, never before have you seen or will you ever see a movie like this one. Great style acting and pace. This movie has one of the best paces to a movieI have ever seen. It will not let you down with its powerful cimax
  5. May 28, 2012
    10
    Amazing piece of film. I agree that it is a little over rated and people think they're artsy for liking it and even knowing about it, but any movie that could take the place of every single life education class we ever had to take growing up in school about how drugs are bad is a success in my book. Very powerful. Jared Leto delivers, Jennifer Connolly kills it, Marlon Wayans showsAmazing piece of film. I agree that it is a little over rated and people think they're artsy for liking it and even knowing about it, but any movie that could take the place of every single life education class we ever had to take growing up in school about how drugs are bad is a success in my book. Very powerful. Jared Leto delivers, Jennifer Connolly kills it, Marlon Wayans shows diversity, and Ellen Burstyn steals the whole show. True acting from true actors. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Aronofsky's film is a haunting and hypnotic show, fueled by a bracing score and a heart wrenching performance from Ellen Burstyn. Though the cuts may seem quick and sloppy to the naked eye, Requiem is carefully and precisely put to together, and the effect will floor you.
  7. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Requiem for a Dream is a film which is Fearlessly Directed and Acted. Its very raw, which wont make many audiences appreciate the film, But its true to its story without a tiny sliver of fake. Its one of those films which scare you, make you cry by experiencing the downward spiral of these characters along with them. And though even at times when you don't agree with them [that's mostly],Requiem for a Dream is a film which is Fearlessly Directed and Acted. Its very raw, which wont make many audiences appreciate the film, But its true to its story without a tiny sliver of fake. Its one of those films which scare you, make you cry by experiencing the downward spiral of these characters along with them. And though even at times when you don't agree with them [that's mostly], you can't help but feel for them and finally embrace them by the end. There is no better Horror Movie than reality. In that sense this definitely is one. Each and Every actor had a lot to emote, and they did so beautifully. But Ellen Burstyn takes the cake, Have not seen a performance as beautiful as that ever, Period. Expand
  8. May 3, 2013
    7
    uhm..this one is confusing actually cause i don't know where to start so lets begin from the good to bad.
    the best thing about this movie is the soundtrack it's exceptional and one of the best i ever heard in a life time.the second good thing is the directing it's one of the kind.the screenplay was great Ellen Burstyn performance was tremendous but the story was confusing it's kinda
    uhm..this one is confusing actually cause i don't know where to start so lets begin from the good to bad.
    the best thing about this movie is the soundtrack it's exceptional and one of the best i ever heard in a life time.the second good thing is the directing it's one of the kind.the screenplay was great Ellen Burstyn performance was tremendous but the story was confusing it's kinda made me sick i actually had to take a break to breath in some fresh air this is never happened to me before. it's probably the biggest campaign in the world against drugs but i felt i was chocking to death while watching it.
    however the story behind the movie was astonishing but it's one of the movies that i will never watch again.
    Expand
  9. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    While this is one of Aronofsky's better movies with some great cinematography and style,the first half of Requiem For a Dream should be as powerful, potent, and viscerally emotional as the second. However, few movies have been able to capture what drug addiction does to our bodies, to our minds, and to our lifestyle so well. If you want someone close to you to stop drug addiction, makeWhile this is one of Aronofsky's better movies with some great cinematography and style,the first half of Requiem For a Dream should be as powerful, potent, and viscerally emotional as the second. However, few movies have been able to capture what drug addiction does to our bodies, to our minds, and to our lifestyle so well. If you want someone close to you to stop drug addiction, make them watch this movie; it's *that* shocking. Expand
  10. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  11. May 16, 2011
    10
    Fine piece of work. From every aspect. You can tell the cast and crew worked so hard to compose a phenomenal film, like nothing you have seen before.
  12. May 21, 2012
    3
    Requiem for a Dream is the story of 4 stereotypical stock characters who suffer from substance abuse. All of which become the victims of a gruesomely slippery slope of drug addiction. However, this film fails at creating unique and original characters with even the slightest amount of depth. And the half-assed love story between Harry and Marion gives no insight into why they fell in loveRequiem for a Dream is the story of 4 stereotypical stock characters who suffer from substance abuse. All of which become the victims of a gruesomely slippery slope of drug addiction. However, this film fails at creating unique and original characters with even the slightest amount of depth. And the half-assed love story between Harry and Marion gives no insight into why they fell in love other then them both being attractive. Many people praise its innovative cinematography and "realistic" view of the results of drug abuse. But along with its purposefully disturbing scare tactics, it's about as compelling and a D.A.R.E poster. And unfortunately the cinematography isn't enough to salvage this colossal piece of trash. Expand
  13. Oct 2, 2010
    0
    Requiem for a Dream was extremely boring. i really can't believe that anyone saw any good in this worthless trash of a film. there was no point in the movie that was even remotely entertaining and the only good thing about it was that everything i did over the following couple of days after seeing it seemed a lot more interesting in comparison. It was just bad.
  14. Jan 21, 2011
    2
    Aronofsky obviously knows little about drug culture or addiction. If a person has never used hard drugs or been involved with people using hard drugs I can see how they might praise this as an unflinching look at the realities of addiction. But unfortunately, Aronofsky's "shock-and-awe" campaign is not based in reality. In actuality the consequences of drug use can be much worse, but notAronofsky obviously knows little about drug culture or addiction. If a person has never used hard drugs or been involved with people using hard drugs I can see how they might praise this as an unflinching look at the realities of addiction. But unfortunately, Aronofsky's "shock-and-awe" campaign is not based in reality. In actuality the consequences of drug use can be much worse, but not as gruesome or as idiotic as this film portrays them. Expand
  15. Mar 1, 2011
    0
    I really do not see the fascination a lot of filmmakers and other artists have with the bottom feeders of society. I find addicted people disgusting, as simple as that. I find it evenly disgusting how deep certain humans can sink. We must be the only species without a clear genetically determined spectrum of behaviour. I have seen people who live in dirt, who smell, who dump their waste onI really do not see the fascination a lot of filmmakers and other artists have with the bottom feeders of society. I find addicted people disgusting, as simple as that. I find it evenly disgusting how deep certain humans can sink. We must be the only species without a clear genetically determined spectrum of behaviour. I have seen people who live in dirt, who smell, who dump their waste on the street, who destroy themselves with alcohol, drugs, cigarettes, food, or whatever poison they can find. No animal does that. Animals spend most of the day cleaning themselves, because they instinctively know that their body is pretty much their most important asset.
    With regard to this movie, what is the purpose of making it ? Drugs are dangerous ? Thanks, by now everybody should know that.
    The only thing tha bothers me is that apparently a lot of people can actually relate to that movie. That spells trouble for humanity...
    Expand
  16. Dec 18, 2011
    8
    Afronsky creates quite a vivid picture here. His use of numerous film-making devices from close up action shots of everything from the dilation of a pupil to the sipping of a cup of coffee, sound effects that enhance the action, side by side panoramic shots, high speed action shots, and many other techniques all come together to truly allow the viewer to feel what the character feels, toAfronsky creates quite a vivid picture here. His use of numerous film-making devices from close up action shots of everything from the dilation of a pupil to the sipping of a cup of coffee, sound effects that enhance the action, side by side panoramic shots, high speed action shots, and many other techniques all come together to truly allow the viewer to feel what the character feels, to experience his or her inebriation end ultimately despair as desire and withdrawal come into play in the latter half of the film. At times such stylistic directing doesn't allow for character growth, but nonetheless when the characters are able to grow, they do so beyond measure. From simply desire of the drug and love for one another, they move to dependence and we see that become their only focus. Then Afronsky shows us the deepest dark of addiction. From simple withdrawal to prison to prostitution to hospitalization and even to an amputation, the characters end in far different places and circumstances. But nonetheless, in the end, all the characters face the same loneliness, the loneliness that comes when one has sacrificed all else for the drug that gives him nothing. This film takes different circumstances and ultimately brings them together in the most tragic of ways. While not a perfect film, Afronsky proves that he is a director not to be reckoned with. Expand
  17. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    I've got my cousin to thank for making me watch this movie. He told me to hang on when I got kind of bored in the middle. Lo and Behold! Nothing can ever prepare you for what happens during the climax. Everything that you imagine can go wrong goes wrong! If you want to be put off drugs for good, watch this.
  18. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    Weird, confusing, and pointless. I really don't understand what all the hype is about. Yes, Ellen Burstyn performance was unbelievable, but the movie was just terrible. Honestly, I know it has a huge cult following, but wtf is so special about it? Please someone fill me in...What am I missing?
  19. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    There should've been a story arc of Garfield and his horrible lasagna addiction but instead they focused on Gerry Loto and his stupid friends and not on Garfield 0/10000000000 NOTWORTHWATCHING
  20. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    With a shattering performance from Burstyn that lost out disgustingly at all major award ceremonies, and artistic genius from Aronofsky, Requiem for a Dream is without a doubt the most powerful film I've yet to endure. Brutally honest, daringly filmed and masterfully acted, this film traps you within the minds of the helpless characters it follows using impressively unique and effectiveWith a shattering performance from Burstyn that lost out disgustingly at all major award ceremonies, and artistic genius from Aronofsky, Requiem for a Dream is without a doubt the most powerful film I've yet to endure. Brutally honest, daringly filmed and masterfully acted, this film traps you within the minds of the helpless characters it follows using impressively unique and effective editing and filming techniques. But technicalities aside, this film is emotional and heartfelt, and will provide any viewer with taste, a brain and emotion a gut-wrenching yet massively rewarding experience a perfect film. Expand
  21. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    The drugs don't work, they just make you worse as Richard Ashcroft once sang.
    Intensely brilliant film about addiction & the slow decline that follows.
    Amazing performances from the cast & especially Ellen Burstyn.
    I did think that Jared Leto & Jennifer Connelly looked like brother & sister though.
  22. Jan 13, 2011
    7
    It's well-made, well-acted, well-written, and overall just a very nicely made film. The film itself is depressing, unoptimistic, and at some times, disturbing. It's a bit of a hard one to sit through. Personally, I don't enjoy movies such as this. I can't say it's not well-made, but it certainly is not a pleasure to sit through or watch more than once. Those with weak stomachs may want toIt's well-made, well-acted, well-written, and overall just a very nicely made film. The film itself is depressing, unoptimistic, and at some times, disturbing. It's a bit of a hard one to sit through. Personally, I don't enjoy movies such as this. I can't say it's not well-made, but it certainly is not a pleasure to sit through or watch more than once. Those with weak stomachs may want to reconsider watching, and those easily offended or frightened might want to steer clear. Expand
  23. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    BE CAREFUL WHILE WATCHING THIS MOVIE!

    This piece of work brings it. It really does. This excellent movie was one of the best movies I've ever seen in a lot of terms (soundtrack, editing, originality, and so on...) BUT you have to be very carefull while whatching it. It brings with itself a stereotic abordation of the drugs senary. That's a beautiful way of spending quality time but, at
    BE CAREFUL WHILE WATCHING THIS MOVIE!

    This piece of work brings it. It really does. This excellent movie was one of the best movies I've ever seen in a lot of terms (soundtrack, editing, originality, and so on...)

    BUT you have to be very carefull while whatching it. It brings with itself a stereotic abordation of the drugs senary. That's a beautiful way of spending quality time but, at the same time, doesn't deliver enough information for any person to create an opinion about the drugs and abuse subjects.
    Expand
  24. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Hooray for portraying how the world really is, in raw material. Kudos for the insanity factors and showing how bad addictions affect others. No, this is not a promotional thing - it's the exact opposite. Great acting (30 Seconds To Mars' Jared Leto made me giggle and point for the first five minutes of the film), great filming, and a spiralling conclusion. Lovely.
  25. Mar 15, 2012
    6
    The impact of this film depends on where you're from and what you've been exposed to in real life and in other reality based films. Not to sound pompous but if i was from a sheltered middle class suburban upbringing I'd probably find some othe sens painfully graphic, but having done my time in the ghettos (plural) I've seen way worse. The directing was the most entertaining aspect. TheThe impact of this film depends on where you're from and what you've been exposed to in real life and in other reality based films. Not to sound pompous but if i was from a sheltered middle class suburban upbringing I'd probably find some othe sens painfully graphic, but having done my time in the ghettos (plural) I've seen way worse. The directing was the most entertaining aspect. The story, well, even if I hadn't experienced some of it in person I'd have read about it countless times before seeing this simply because I'm middle aged. So I guess you might also have to be kind of young to be shocked as well. It's well crafted and if you feel like you 'should' see it so you understand the current pop culture references, then do so. It's not a waste of time. If you want to see the real thing though, check out 'Dope Sick Love'. It's a mind blowing doc that's readily available for free online. Just google it. It makes this film seem like 'Dora the Explorer'. Expand
  26. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    Aronofsky's psychodelic drug addiction film proves him an effective hallucinatory filmmaker and a master at clever stylistic metaphors with pin-point hellish accuracy.
  27. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    Pour apprécier pleinement un film de Darren Aronofsky, c'est d'entrer dans l'univers qu'il nous propose à chaque fois. Notamment au niveau de la mise en scène. Il n'y a qu'à voir The Fountain et Black Swan. Mais son film le plus styliser et le plus fort reste sans aucun doute Requiem for a Dream. Un film à premièrePour apprécier pleinement un film de Darren Aronofsky, c'est d'entrer dans l'univers qu'il nous propose à chaque fois. Notamment au niveau de la mise en scène. Il n'y a qu'à voir The Fountain et Black Swan. Mais son film le plus styliser et le plus fort reste sans aucun doute Requiem for a Dream. Un film à première vue tout aussi "défoncé" que ses protagonistes, mais qui se révèle être un coup de poing ravageur, qui nous permet de vivre (et non de suivre) la descente aux enfers de 4 personnes, touchées d'une manière ou d'une autre par la drogue. Ambiance dérangeante, bo grinçante, mise en scène clipesque, casting de choix... Bref, j'ai assisté, impuissant, à l'une des plus cruelles déchéances qu'il m'ait été de voir dans un film. Et pour cela, je peux dire qu'Aronofsky est un excellent réalisateur! Expand
  28. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    Requiem for a Dream has impact for the most part due to the utterly captivating performances of the cast, particularly Ellen Burstyn who received a well-earned Academy Award nomination, and from Jared Leto who is also very strong. The film also has simple but effectively disturbing visuals, a striking editing style courtesy of Jay Rabinowitz, a moody and epic score from Clint Mansell and aRequiem for a Dream has impact for the most part due to the utterly captivating performances of the cast, particularly Ellen Burstyn who received a well-earned Academy Award nomination, and from Jared Leto who is also very strong. The film also has simple but effectively disturbing visuals, a striking editing style courtesy of Jay Rabinowitz, a moody and epic score from Clint Mansell and a truly terrifying and heartbreaking finale. Being a Darren Aronofsky film, it's flexible and creative with the concept of reality, and becomes more off-the-wall and dreamlike (well, nightmarish) as the characters steadily lose control of their lives, their minds and their free will as a result of their terrible addictions. It's certainly one of the most uncompromising and provocative films about drug addiction ever made, and should probably be mandatory viewing for teenagers to scare them off the life-destroying substances for life. It one of those films that really leaves a lasting effect, an almost crippling feeling of melancholia as a result of its pessimism. Mercilessly downbeat though it may be, Requiem for a Dream is a prime example of meticulously crafted, undeniably powerful filmmaking. Expand
  29. Feb 25, 2013
    6
    This movie is without a really special movie. The style is admirable and bold and Ellen Burstyn's performance is one the best I have seen in a very long time. It explores the effect of drugs in a terriffic way and I think it's safe to say that everyone of us wants to distance ourselves from drugs after watching this film. Nevertheless, there is something about this movie that makes meThis movie is without a really special movie. The style is admirable and bold and Ellen Burstyn's performance is one the best I have seen in a very long time. It explores the effect of drugs in a terriffic way and I think it's safe to say that everyone of us wants to distance ourselves from drugs after watching this film. Nevertheless, there is something about this movie that makes me very, very uncomfortable. I think it's simply because this movie is way too special for my taste, sorry to say. But I definitely think that we all should give it a chance. Expand
  30. Mar 12, 2013
    1
    Very overrated, disgusting and stupid! I would recommend this movie to all TEENS, who want to try on drugs, so the only good thing about this movie is that it can scare some kids to not try drugs. Otherwise this movie is awful. I can't give more than 1/10 just because it can teach some kids. Parents can do that too, there's no need to watch a disgusting movie like this.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. 100
    No one interested in the power and magic of movies should miss it.
  2. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    30
    Too self-consciously dark, too aware of its long, murky, art-designed descent into the underbelly of America's addictive personality.
  3. A powerful fable about love and addiction that manages to be darkly humorous when it isn't graphic or harrowing in the extreme.