User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 395 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 395

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    We've all heard the phrase, "Don't do drugs." We've seen the before and after pictures. But unless you know someone that did drugs, we never really see what happens in between that before and after. Requiem for a Dream shows us what drugs do to people from four perspectives: The Girlfriend, the partner-in-crime, the over-user, and the innocent grandma- wait, what? Yeah, this movie proves that drugs not only ruin your life, but they also come in many places. You just have to know where. My favorite part about the movie is the fast-paced editing. It gets more and more intense as the movie goes on and really adds that freaky feeling about drugs. Also, I personally quite enjoy the snorricam in this. It just adds to the surreal feeling. Requiem for a Dream is god-damn masterpiece. A must see! Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    One of the best depictions of the dangers of drug use and how they disorient a person's mental clarity.
    ..............................................
  3. Aug 15, 2014
    10
    A flat out masterpiece sharply executed my Darren Aronofsky who put together a story of obsession and greed that delivers a message simply unforgettable.
  4. Aug 1, 2014
    7
    "Requiem for a Dream" is more than a film, it's an experience. It doesn't hesitate to depict the cruelty and futility of the world it describes, and it does it successfully with Aronofsky's innovative technique and some touching performances. Despite some excessively melodramatic scenes, the picture discusses not only addiction, but also some other issues that I should leave you to discover, in a way that's both disturbing and touching. The ending is depressing and pessimistic, though, and may seem disappointing. But the film does not try to be a documentary preventing people from using drugs, it's just cinema depicting, more or less, what pains (not only physical) drug-addicts suffer from. There are interesting motifs and, of course, "Lux Aeterna", Mansell's famous soundtrack, that enhance the whole experience. Watch it even if you believe that you 'll dislike it. Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    While this is one of Aronofsky's better movies with some great cinematography and style,the first half of Requiem For a Dream should be as powerful, potent, and viscerally emotional as the second. However, few movies have been able to capture what drug addiction does to our bodies, to our minds, and to our lifestyle so well. If you want someone close to you to stop drug addiction, make them watch this movie; it's *that* shocking. Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    An expertly told tale of the consequences of drug use. The movie revolves around four characters living in Coney Island New York. Marion, Harry, Tyrone and Sara are the main characters. The visuals are spectacular including split screens. The movie isn't as positive as Trainspotting but it is as realistic. All the actors give emotional acting and the movie will give you many topic to discuss with your friends. If you watch the movie with others, you will surely be going over the material. Requiem is a must see movie. Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2014
    8
    One of the most moving and heartbreaking movies of the decade. This movie has great direction, great writing and acting from Burstyn, Leto, Connelly and Wayans
  8. May 12, 2014
    2
    Very boring film, it may show the effects of how bad drugs can be but aside from that the film is just dark, and extremely boring. I don't recommend this film.
  9. May 11, 2014
    10
    Requiem for a Dream is, in my opinion, and probably the opinion of many others, a cinematic masterpiece. The film's disturbing nature and heartbreaking scenes truly reflect on the brutal effects that drugs can have. The acting is just absolutely stellar. Ellen Burstyn gives a career-topping performance and Jared Leto, Jennifer Connelly and Marlon Wayans provide a brilliant cast of troubled characters. The cinematography is so on point; the camera cuts are genius and it just adds to the films beauty. The music is tense and haunting, I swear some of the scenes left me sweating in suspense. The story is just so good and it's like nothing you have seen before and nothing you will ever see again. Finally, the film is just so horrific in it's reality; it's so unbearable you can't help but watch. Expand
  10. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    What a marvelous movie! I had never seen a movie like this. From acting to music...everything is astonishing. And amazing video editing...which I have never seen before.It also gives you a glimpse...that how tough the life of "Heroin" addition is! And finally the fantastic main theme soundtrack by "Clint Mansell".Which I listen a hundred times.
  11. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    Another disturbing and depressing movie from Aronofsky. Good filming, nice actors. It is about wasted lives, false ideals and ruined destinies. I can't say that I realized something new after watching the movie or I felt compassion to the characters, but still it made a strong emotional impact on me.
  12. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    Wow. Easily the most jarring, uncomfortable, and disturbing film I have ever seen. There are no words really. I loved the performances here, especially by Jared Leto and Jennifer Connelly. In addition, after not really caring for the only other Aronofsky film I have seen before, Pi, he won me over here. The direction was incredibly unique and brilliantly done.
  13. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    With a shattering performance from Burstyn that lost out disgustingly at all major award ceremonies, and artistic genius from Aronofsky, Requiem for a Dream is without a doubt the most powerful film I've yet to endure. Brutally honest, daringly filmed and masterfully acted, this film traps you within the minds of the helpless characters it follows using impressively unique and effective editing and filming techniques. But technicalities aside, this film is emotional and heartfelt, and will provide any viewer with taste, a brain and emotion a gut-wrenching yet massively rewarding experience a perfect film. Expand
  14. Dec 2, 2013
    6
    It tries so hard to be dark and dramatic that it becomes comical. If the movie was ten minutes longer, zombie hitler would rise from the grave and give the whole world cancer or punch orphans in the face. The movie works hard to build a connection with the audience and the characters, but squanders it at the last minute because the creators had too many ideas whirling in their heads.
  15. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    In my opinion top 5 best movies of all time. In almost cried at the end because of his mom. jgjgjojegojiogjeriogjiojgiojgiogjiojirtjgiotrjiogjtrggjiorjg. sorry for that just needed to write at least 500 characters to able to submit my review.
  16. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Aronofsky knows his fables, his camera work and his sound. Requiem For A Dream is one of the most horrifically disturbing films you will ever see and the most graphically excellent drug movies. I personally enjoyed Darren's PI, and that was the whole reason I watched this film. Not appealing from the trailer, but excellent. Jared Leto shines as a heroin addict, Ellen Burnstyn was brilliant and perfect as a old aged drug addict, Clint Mansel was good, and Marlon Wayans was excellent as a ghetto addict. This whole movie is Aronofsky's fantasy on drug hallucinations and heroin's affect as death, but this gazing at dark filmmaking is marvellous. With a great assembled cast, a great story, awesome songs and the neo noir effect on drugs- you can't miss Requiem For A Dream for its perfectness. It's dark, silly, scary and awesome. Expand
  17. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    There should've been a story arc of Garfield and his horrible lasagna addiction but instead they focused on Gerry Loto and his stupid friends and not on Garfield 0/10000000000 NOTWORTHWATCHING
  18. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    This movie is the definition of the word "Realism." This is a beautiful film about the dangers of abuse that can truly impact, or even change, your life. This is the drug movie, as it shows how drugs WILL get you and it really could damage ANYONE. It uses it's surreal and amazing special effects so this audience truly feels the downfall of these characters and there are remarkable performances by the actors, including Ellen Burstyn and Jared Leto. Darren Aronofsky gave us this very depressing horror movie and your jaw will drop at the final scene, with it's incredible brutality and intensity. I also admire the fantastic musical composition as it definitely helps the movie show you it's wrath. A true masterpiece that leaves a lasting impression on it's audience. You HAVE to see this movie at least once. Recommend to all. Just buy a few more lightbulbs after the credits. Expand
  19. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    It's simply one of the best pictures in cinema history. The best psychological drama ever made. Epic and unputdownable!!! I saw it when it first came out and still if someone reminds me for that movie I cannot sleep at night. It's horror. But not horror meaning ghosts and vampires, but meaning the horror of the unknown, of death and more. It's a movie that I won't forget until I die. Requiem for a Dream is one of the best, maybe the best, picture I have ever seen. It gives you a message for the danger of the drugs too. Do not miss it!! Expand
  20. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    This film is fascinating. The direction is excellent and the actors are fabulous. Ellen Burstyn gave an excellent performance. The ending was really sad. I thought it would not be such good a film but Requiem for a dream fascinated me. A masterpiece. Aronofsky made again an extraordinary picture
  21. May 13, 2013
    10
    The film, with its great actors, its epic music and its sad and shocking ending is a masterpiece. After watching the film i wanted to hide in a hole. Go and watch it!
  22. May 3, 2013
    7
    uhm..this one is confusing actually cause i don't know where to start so lets begin from the good to bad.
    the best thing about this movie is the soundtrack it's exceptional and one of the best i ever heard in a life time.the second good thing is the directing it's one of the kind.the screenplay was great Ellen Burstyn performance was tremendous but the story was confusing it's kinda
    made me sick i actually had to take a break to breath in some fresh air this is never happened to me before. it's probably the biggest campaign in the world against drugs but i felt i was chocking to death while watching it.
    however the story behind the movie was astonishing but it's one of the movies that i will never watch again.
    Expand
  23. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Requiem for a Dream is a film which is Fearlessly Directed and Acted. Its very raw, which wont make many audiences appreciate the film, But its true to its story without a tiny sliver of fake. Its one of those films which scare you, make you cry by experiencing the downward spiral of these characters along with them. And though even at times when you don't agree with them [that's mostly], you can't help but feel for them and finally embrace them by the end. There is no better Horror Movie than reality. In that sense this definitely is one. Each and Every actor had a lot to emote, and they did so beautifully. But Ellen Burstyn takes the cake, Have not seen a performance as beautiful as that ever, Period. Expand
  24. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Not only does it paint the consequences of perhaps reaching too far, but Requiem for a Dream also tells a tragic tale of the troubles of being alone, and the lengths people may go to just to be counted.
    Sara (Ellen Burstyn) is a widowed mother who spends her days watching the same game show, while also fantasising about being thinner and fitting into the red dress she wore to her son
    Harry's (Jared Leto) graduation, she decides to start a diet which eventually leads her to start taking prescription diet pills.
    Harry, meanwhile, is a heroin addict, and soon gets himself into the trade around Coney Island, along with his friend Tyrone (Marlon Wayans) and his girlfriend, Marion (Jennifer Connolly). They make extreme amounts of money from their deals and dream of opening a fashion store.
    As the two stories unfold, we watch as each of the four peoples addiction grows out of control and the effects to which their lives begin to spiral, the title truly bears fruit to the lengths these individuals go to for what they believe to be a better life.
    Elllen Burstyn puts in an emotionally stirring performance as Sara, forever fantasising of her life in a gameshow, and her struggle to come to grips with reality are perfectly portrayed here, simply for the love of her son.
    The multi-talented Jared Leto continues to shine, playing the conflicted Harry, who we never quite understand just how much he loves his mother, as when he is around her he seems uneasy. his characters relationship with is also addicted girlfriend starts off quite simple, but we soon realise that he will do anything he can to please her, whatever his actions.
    Darren Aronofsky's superb filmmaking comes in with a bang in this film, combining close up shots with a montage of quick cuts to emphasise the speed and evolved nature of each persons addiction, and he tells a wonderful story as how the ambitions can indeed be dangerous, many things that people reach for could have tragic consequences, but unfortunately an idea can spread.
    Combining expert filmmaking and a gripping story, along with a superb cast, Aronofsky has created a truly breathtaking yet tragic film, one that will not be forgotten, simply because of its meaningful story and heartbreaking finale.
    Expand
  25. Mar 12, 2013
    1
    Very overrated, disgusting and stupid! I would recommend this movie to all TEENS, who want to try on drugs, so the only good thing about this movie is that it can scare some kids to not try drugs. Otherwise this movie is awful. I can't give more than 1/10 just because it can teach some kids. Parents can do that too, there's no need to watch a disgusting movie like this.
  26. Feb 25, 2013
    6
    This movie is without a really special movie. The style is admirable and bold and Ellen Burstyn's performance is one the best I have seen in a very long time. It explores the effect of drugs in a terriffic way and I think it's safe to say that everyone of us wants to distance ourselves from drugs after watching this film. Nevertheless, there is something about this movie that makes me very, very uncomfortable. I think it's simply because this movie is way too special for my taste, sorry to say. But I definitely think that we all should give it a chance. Expand
  27. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    Weird, confusing, and pointless. I really don't understand what all the hype is about. Yes, Ellen Burstyn performance was unbelievable, but the movie was just terrible. Honestly, I know it has a huge cult following, but wtf is so special about it? Please someone fill me in...What am I missing?
  28. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    I've got my cousin to thank for making me watch this movie. He told me to hang on when I got kind of bored in the middle. Lo and Behold! Nothing can ever prepare you for what happens during the climax. Everything that you imagine can go wrong goes wrong! If you want to be put off drugs for good, watch this.
  29. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Aronofsky's film is a haunting and hypnotic show, fueled by a bracing score and a heart wrenching performance from Ellen Burstyn. Though the cuts may seem quick and sloppy to the naked eye, Requiem is carefully and precisely put to together, and the effect will floor you.
  30. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    Requiem for a Dream has impact for the most part due to the utterly captivating performances of the cast, particularly Ellen Burstyn who received a well-earned Academy Award nomination, and from Jared Leto who is also very strong. The film also has simple but effectively disturbing visuals, a striking editing style courtesy of Jay Rabinowitz, a moody and epic score from Clint Mansell and a truly terrifying and heartbreaking finale. Being a Darren Aronofsky film, it's flexible and creative with the concept of reality, and becomes more off-the-wall and dreamlike (well, nightmarish) as the characters steadily lose control of their lives, their minds and their free will as a result of their terrible addictions. It's certainly one of the most uncompromising and provocative films about drug addiction ever made, and should probably be mandatory viewing for teenagers to scare them off the life-destroying substances for life. It one of those films that really leaves a lasting effect, an almost crippling feeling of melancholia as a result of its pessimism. Mercilessly downbeat though it may be, Requiem for a Dream is a prime example of meticulously crafted, undeniably powerful filmmaking. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. 100
    No one interested in the power and magic of movies should miss it.
  2. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    30
    Too self-consciously dark, too aware of its long, murky, art-designed descent into the underbelly of America's addictive personality.
  3. A powerful fable about love and addiction that manages to be darkly humorous when it isn't graphic or harrowing in the extreme.