Artisan Entertainment | Release Date: October 6, 2000
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 615 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
558
Mixed:
22
Negative:
35
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Meth-dudeApr 1, 2017
The cinematography was beautiful, the way the movie was shot was interesting and well made, the acting was great, the story was interesting, it was entertaining and pretty much everything about this movie was great. It definitely is a veryThe cinematography was beautiful, the way the movie was shot was interesting and well made, the acting was great, the story was interesting, it was entertaining and pretty much everything about this movie was great. It definitely is a very good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
russiangamerMar 11, 2017
Замечательные актёры, операторская работа, монтаж и смысл. Все мы наркоманы, только у каждого свой наркотик.
Шедевральное кино, обязательное к просмотрю, особенно для подростков.
Замечательные актёры, операторская работа, монтаж и смысл. Все мы наркоманы, только у каждого свой наркотик.
Шедевральное кино, обязательное к просмотрю, особенно для подростков.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Benkoko11Feb 23, 2017
Darren Aronofsky pulls no punches as his characters descend the chasms of addiction. Requiem for a Dream is a profoundly bleak film. Watch with caution.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KakozoJan 26, 2017
Everything about this movie is Fantastic: The Actors, The Music, The Plot, Everything...!
You will never find a movie about drugs and addiction Like this...Believe me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonJan 22, 2017
The affect that drug addiction can have on people's lives is not exactly an uncommon topic in movies but the brilliant camera work, music and performances all combine to make Requiem for a Dream something memorable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BroyaxJan 13, 2017
Sans doute le meilleur film sur la drogue et ses méfaits, le meilleur film sur les camés et le meilleur sur l'addiction en général. Son regard acéré et la peinture cauchemardesque qu'il en fait sont indéniablement l'équivalent d'une grosseSans doute le meilleur film sur la drogue et ses méfaits, le meilleur film sur les camés et le meilleur sur l'addiction en général. Son regard acéré et la peinture cauchemardesque qu'il en fait sont indéniablement l'équivalent d'une grosse mandale en pleine gueule et pour autant, on ne peut accuser le film d'exagérer, car nous savons bien qu'il a raison, cent fois raison.

Son réquisitoire ne s'apitoie pas, bien au contraire et montre la misère mentale, affective et le désespoir à la manière d'une étude clinique, impitoyable où les vaines espérances des protagonistes sont finalement broyées et avalées par leur addiction terminale. Ce requiem n'utilise aucun recul fût-il cynique, satirique ou même empathique, car son but n'est qu'une démonstration claire et simple : "regardez ce que ça fait" et point barre. Aucune rédemption pour ces pauvres hères tourmentés : ils en sont les seuls responsables.

Cette approche ne plaira pas à tout le monde et s'il est un reproche que l'on pourra faire au film est de ne jamais arrondir les angles mais au contraire de les affûter pour les rendre coupants comme des rasoirs. La musique de Clint Mansell reflète cette dureté, brutale et âpre, torturée et parfois dissonante.

La mise en scène sèche et cinglante d'Aronofsky y participe également au moyen de toutes sortes d'effets très inventifs pour illustrer son propos et les acteurs décidément brillants ne sont pas en reste. Un film paradoxalement désagréable et en même temps d'une efficacité redoutable et... impitoyable !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MonsterrrJan 10, 2017
Requiem for a Dream depicts a story of a retired mother, Sara Goldfarb, living in an apartment all by herself - only having her neighbourly friends living near. Her son, Harry, is a drug dealer and an addict, along with his pal Tyrone, andRequiem for a Dream depicts a story of a retired mother, Sara Goldfarb, living in an apartment all by herself - only having her neighbourly friends living near. Her son, Harry, is a drug dealer and an addict, along with his pal Tyrone, and his girlfriend Marion, whom wished that she could be a fashion designer.

Sara spends most of her time watching her favourite reality show on TV. One day, she gets selected to appear on that show. She wishes to go on with her special red dress but cannot fit in it due to her weight. She goes on a diet but doesn't seem to all work that well. Her next choice is diet pills, which wasn't a very good idea. Sara starts taking them irregularly and develops an addiction.

Harry, Tyrone and Marion on the other hand, struggle to keep up in the drug business and begin losing money and drugs.

As the film progresses, we see all of this get worse as their addictions spiral out of control.

Requiem for a Dream is really sickening and it breaks all expectations. It is absolutely fantastic but not one of those films you would feel comfortable watching twice (although I have watched it more than twice). Every actor in this film play their roles brilliantly, especially Ellen Burstyn. It's incredibly gut-wrenching. The story and writing by Darren Aronofsky is phenomenal. It's so well written it blows my mind. I easily give this movie a 10/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31May 3, 2016
Very chilling and disturbing. But also emotionally compelling. A must see.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-387-Requiem-for-a-Dream
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
theNILEMar 27, 2016
This movie is **** miserable. My main criticisms would be how some scenes are too drawn out, and I wish we hadn't followed all the characters all the way through this movie... Mostly because it's unnecessary... and there's no twist, it's veryThis movie is **** miserable. My main criticisms would be how some scenes are too drawn out, and I wish we hadn't followed all the characters all the way through this movie... Mostly because it's unnecessary... and there's no twist, it's very predictable, plot-wise it's bland, cliche, the characters are... On the other hand the acting and directing are almost impeccable and it succeeds in hitting you hard. The last 15 minutes of this movie are as intense as possible. Way to stress me out man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bananabomber123Jun 9, 2015
This movie is the best and saddest movie I have ever seen in my entire life. Please watch it when ever you have the time to. It shows the lives of people crumble beneath them as it slowly picks up speed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Shady313Mar 22, 2015
10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
googolendtimesFeb 20, 2015
There has never been a film as difficult to watch or as grotesquely mesmerising as "Requiem for a Dream." Darren Aronofsky crafts nightmares unlike any filmmaker of his generation. This is a film that must be seen at least once. Once was allThere has never been a film as difficult to watch or as grotesquely mesmerising as "Requiem for a Dream." Darren Aronofsky crafts nightmares unlike any filmmaker of his generation. This is a film that must be seen at least once. Once was all I could stomach. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettJan 21, 2015
Masterpiece in every aspect. From soundtrack to actors. From plot to decorations. One of the best movies human mind can create. Breathtaking from the very first second till the last one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaJan 3, 2015
When I set out to see this, I didn't know what to expect. But it surprise me, in a good way. A movie that isn't pretty, has no happy ending... and on the top of all, it perhaps makes you think about something important. Well acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
hillfingerhNov 4, 2014
A good film but definitely not a great work of art. The film demonstrates us the consequence of drug, overuse of medicine, and prostitution for money. The filmmaking is original, the soundtrack is groundbreaking, performance was good, andA good film but definitely not a great work of art. The film demonstrates us the consequence of drug, overuse of medicine, and prostitution for money. The filmmaking is original, the soundtrack is groundbreaking, performance was good, and there are some fine scenes composition. Yes, that's all great but I felt a little cold after the credits. I think it is because I've heard so many good things about it and I thought it would be more than just an anti-drug movie. Well, yeah, it was a good portrait of it, and I do have to admit it's a well-made film but I just wanted some more (for example the struggle of good and evil, etc). Perhaps it's just because of my expectation but I felt something was missing, I don't know, that's how I felt about this film. Nevertheless, this a must-see film. If you are interest in stylish filmmaking, this is going to be a gift for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thexpertoffilmSep 13, 2014
We've all heard the phrase, "Don't do drugs." We've seen the before and after pictures. But unless you know someone that did drugs, we never really see what happens in between that before and after. Requiem for a Dream shows us what drugs doWe've all heard the phrase, "Don't do drugs." We've seen the before and after pictures. But unless you know someone that did drugs, we never really see what happens in between that before and after. Requiem for a Dream shows us what drugs do to people from four perspectives: The Girlfriend, the partner-in-crime, the over-user, and the innocent grandma- wait, what? Yeah, this movie proves that drugs not only ruin your life, but they also come in many places. You just have to know where. My favorite part about the movie is the fast-paced editing. It gets more and more intense as the movie goes on and really adds that freaky feeling about drugs. Also, I personally quite enjoy the snorricam in this. It just adds to the surreal feeling. Requiem for a Dream is god-damn masterpiece. A must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SushiStonerAug 15, 2014
A flat out masterpiece sharply executed my Darren Aronofsky who put together a story of obsession and greed that delivers a message simply unforgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysJul 16, 2014
While this is one of Aronofsky's better movies with some great cinematography and style,the first half of Requiem For a Dream should be as powerful, potent, and viscerally emotional as the second. However, few movies have been able to captureWhile this is one of Aronofsky's better movies with some great cinematography and style,the first half of Requiem For a Dream should be as powerful, potent, and viscerally emotional as the second. However, few movies have been able to capture what drug addiction does to our bodies, to our minds, and to our lifestyle so well. If you want someone close to you to stop drug addiction, make them watch this movie; it's *that* shocking. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidJun 5, 2014
One of the most moving and heartbreaking movies of the decade. This movie has great direction, great writing and acting from Burstyn, Leto, Connelly and Wayans
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DalekMay 12, 2014
Very boring film, it may show the effects of how bad drugs can be but aside from that the film is just dark, and extremely boring. I don't recommend this film.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MorganDaviesMay 11, 2014
Requiem for a Dream is, in my opinion, and probably the opinion of many others, a cinematic masterpiece. The film's disturbing nature and heartbreaking scenes truly reflect on the brutal effects that drugs can have. The acting is justRequiem for a Dream is, in my opinion, and probably the opinion of many others, a cinematic masterpiece. The film's disturbing nature and heartbreaking scenes truly reflect on the brutal effects that drugs can have. The acting is just absolutely stellar. Ellen Burstyn gives a career-topping performance and Jared Leto, Jennifer Connelly and Marlon Wayans provide a brilliant cast of troubled characters. The cinematography is so on point; the camera cuts are genius and it just adds to the films beauty. The music is tense and haunting, I swear some of the scenes left me sweating in suspense. The story is just so good and it's like nothing you have seen before and nothing you will ever see again. Finally, the film is just so horrific in it's reality; it's so unbearable you can't help but watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MuzhaqFeb 24, 2014
What a marvelous movie! I had never seen a movie like this. From acting to music...everything is astonishing. And amazing video editing...which I have never seen before.It also gives you a glimpse...that how tough the life of "Heroin"What a marvelous movie! I had never seen a movie like this. From acting to music...everything is astonishing. And amazing video editing...which I have never seen before.It also gives you a glimpse...that how tough the life of "Heroin" addition is! And finally the fantastic main theme soundtrack by "Clint Mansell".Which I listen a hundred times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StaticSpineJan 18, 2014
Another disturbing and depressing movie from Aronofsky. Good filming, nice actors. It is about wasted lives, false ideals and ruined destinies. I can't say that I realized something new after watching the movie or I felt compassion to theAnother disturbing and depressing movie from Aronofsky. Good filming, nice actors. It is about wasted lives, false ideals and ruined destinies. I can't say that I realized something new after watching the movie or I felt compassion to the characters, but still it made a strong emotional impact on me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleDec 27, 2013
Wow. Easily the most jarring, uncomfortable, and disturbing film I have ever seen. There are no words really. I loved the performances here, especially by Jared Leto and Jennifer Connelly. In addition, after not really caring for the onlyWow. Easily the most jarring, uncomfortable, and disturbing film I have ever seen. There are no words really. I loved the performances here, especially by Jared Leto and Jennifer Connelly. In addition, after not really caring for the only other Aronofsky film I have seen before, Pi, he won me over here. The direction was incredibly unique and brilliantly done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
imilhoferDec 23, 2013
With a shattering performance from Burstyn that lost out disgustingly at all major award ceremonies, and artistic genius from Aronofsky, Requiem for a Dream is without a doubt the most powerful film I've yet to endure. Brutally honest,With a shattering performance from Burstyn that lost out disgustingly at all major award ceremonies, and artistic genius from Aronofsky, Requiem for a Dream is without a doubt the most powerful film I've yet to endure. Brutally honest, daringly filmed and masterfully acted, this film traps you within the minds of the helpless characters it follows using impressively unique and effective editing and filming techniques. But technicalities aside, this film is emotional and heartfelt, and will provide any viewer with taste, a brain and emotion a gut-wrenching yet massively rewarding experience a perfect film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
UncleEarlDec 2, 2013
It tries so hard to be dark and dramatic that it becomes comical. If the movie was ten minutes longer, zombie hitler would rise from the grave and give the whole world cancer or punch orphans in the face. The movie works hard to build aIt tries so hard to be dark and dramatic that it becomes comical. If the movie was ten minutes longer, zombie hitler would rise from the grave and give the whole world cancer or punch orphans in the face. The movie works hard to build a connection with the audience and the characters, but squanders it at the last minute because the creators had too many ideas whirling in their heads. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Makaveli1Nov 20, 2013
In my opinion top 5 best movies of all time. In almost cried at the end because of his mom. jgjgjojegojiogjeriogjiojgiojgiogjiojirtjgiotrjiogjtrggjiorjg. sorry for that just needed to write at least 500 characters to able to submit my review.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonNov 16, 2013
Aronofsky knows his fables, his camera work and his sound. Requiem For A Dream is one of the most horrifically disturbing films you will ever see and the most graphically excellent drug movies. I personally enjoyed Darren's PI, and that wasAronofsky knows his fables, his camera work and his sound. Requiem For A Dream is one of the most horrifically disturbing films you will ever see and the most graphically excellent drug movies. I personally enjoyed Darren's PI, and that was the whole reason I watched this film. Not appealing from the trailer, but excellent. Jared Leto shines as a heroin addict, Ellen Burnstyn was brilliant and perfect as a old aged drug addict, Clint Mansel was good, and Marlon Wayans was excellent as a ghetto addict. This whole movie is Aronofsky's fantasy on drug hallucinations and heroin's affect as death, but this gazing at dark filmmaking is marvellous. With a great assembled cast, a great story, awesome songs and the neo noir effect on drugs- you can't miss Requiem For A Dream for its perfectness. It's dark, silly, scary and awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Zachhellbender4Nov 3, 2013
There should've been a story arc of Garfield and his horrible lasagna addiction but instead they focused on Gerry Loto and his stupid friends and not on Garfield 0/10000000000 NOTWORTHWATCHING
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
glasses1Nov 1, 2013
This movie is the definition of the word "Realism." This is a beautiful film about the dangers of abuse that can truly impact, or even change, your life. This is the drug movie, as it shows how drugs WILL get you and it really could damageThis movie is the definition of the word "Realism." This is a beautiful film about the dangers of abuse that can truly impact, or even change, your life. This is the drug movie, as it shows how drugs WILL get you and it really could damage ANYONE. It uses it's surreal and amazing special effects so this audience truly feels the downfall of these characters and there are remarkable performances by the actors, including Ellen Burstyn and Jared Leto. Darren Aronofsky gave us this very depressing horror movie and your jaw will drop at the final scene, with it's incredible brutality and intensity. I also admire the fantastic musical composition as it definitely helps the movie show you it's wrath. A true masterpiece that leaves a lasting impression on it's audience. You HAVE to see this movie at least once. Recommend to all. Just buy a few more lightbulbs after the credits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
It's simply one of the best pictures in cinema history. The best psychological drama ever made. Epic and unputdownable!!! I saw it when it first came out and still if someone reminds me for that movie I cannot sleep at night. It's horror. ButIt's simply one of the best pictures in cinema history. The best psychological drama ever made. Epic and unputdownable!!! I saw it when it first came out and still if someone reminds me for that movie I cannot sleep at night. It's horror. But not horror meaning ghosts and vampires, but meaning the horror of the unknown, of death and more. It's a movie that I won't forget until I die. Requiem for a Dream is one of the best, maybe the best, picture I have ever seen. It gives you a message for the danger of the drugs too. Do not miss it!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
KivaJun 20, 2013
This film is fascinating. The direction is excellent and the actors are fabulous. Ellen Burstyn gave an excellent performance. The ending was really sad. I thought it would not be such good a film but Requiem for a dream fascinated me. AThis film is fascinating. The direction is excellent and the actors are fabulous. Ellen Burstyn gave an excellent performance. The ending was really sad. I thought it would not be such good a film but Requiem for a dream fascinated me. A masterpiece. Aronofsky made again an extraordinary picture Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JacobparkerMay 13, 2013
The film, with its great actors, its epic music and its sad and shocking ending is a masterpiece. After watching the film i wanted to hide in a hole. Go and watch it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ExKingMay 3, 2013
uhm..this one is confusing actually cause i don't know where to start so lets begin from the good to bad.
the best thing about this movie is the soundtrack it's exceptional and one of the best i ever heard in a life time.the second good
uhm..this one is confusing actually cause i don't know where to start so lets begin from the good to bad.
the best thing about this movie is the soundtrack it's exceptional and one of the best i ever heard in a life time.the second good thing is the directing it's one of the kind.the screenplay was great Ellen Burstyn performance was tremendous but the story was confusing it's kinda made me sick i actually had to take a break to breath in some fresh air this is never happened to me before. it's probably the biggest campaign in the world against drugs but i felt i was chocking to death while watching it.
however the story behind the movie was astonishing but it's one of the movies that i will never watch again.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Ips207Apr 20, 2013
Requiem for a Dream is a film which is Fearlessly Directed and Acted. Its very raw, which wont make many audiences appreciate the film, But its true to its story without a tiny sliver of fake. Its one of those films which scare you, make youRequiem for a Dream is a film which is Fearlessly Directed and Acted. Its very raw, which wont make many audiences appreciate the film, But its true to its story without a tiny sliver of fake. Its one of those films which scare you, make you cry by experiencing the downward spiral of these characters along with them. And though even at times when you don't agree with them [that's mostly], you can't help but feel for them and finally embrace them by the end. There is no better Horror Movie than reality. In that sense this definitely is one. Each and Every actor had a lot to emote, and they did so beautifully. But Ellen Burstyn takes the cake, Have not seen a performance as beautiful as that ever, Period. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFMar 31, 2013
Not only does it paint the consequences of perhaps reaching too far, but Requiem for a Dream also tells a tragic tale of the troubles of being alone, and the lengths people may go to just to be counted.
Sara (Ellen Burstyn) is a widowed
Not only does it paint the consequences of perhaps reaching too far, but Requiem for a Dream also tells a tragic tale of the troubles of being alone, and the lengths people may go to just to be counted.
Sara (Ellen Burstyn) is a widowed mother who spends her days watching the same game show, while also fantasising about being thinner and fitting into the red dress she wore to her son Harry's (Jared Leto) graduation, she decides to start a diet which eventually leads her to start taking prescription diet pills.
Harry, meanwhile, is a heroin addict, and soon gets himself into the trade around Coney Island, along with his friend Tyrone (Marlon Wayans) and his girlfriend, Marion (Jennifer Connolly). They make extreme amounts of money from their deals and dream of opening a fashion store.
As the two stories unfold, we watch as each of the four peoples addiction grows out of control and the effects to which their lives begin to spiral, the title truly bears fruit to the lengths these individuals go to for what they believe to be a better life.
Elllen Burstyn puts in an emotionally stirring performance as Sara, forever fantasising of her life in a gameshow, and her struggle to come to grips with reality are perfectly portrayed here, simply for the love of her son.
The multi-talented Jared Leto continues to shine, playing the conflicted Harry, who we never quite understand just how much he loves his mother, as when he is around her he seems uneasy. his characters relationship with is also addicted girlfriend starts off quite simple, but we soon realise that he will do anything he can to please her, whatever his actions.
Darren Aronofsky's superb filmmaking comes in with a bang in this film, combining close up shots with a montage of quick cuts to emphasise the speed and evolved nature of each persons addiction, and he tells a wonderful story as how the ambitions can indeed be dangerous, many things that people reach for could have tragic consequences, but unfortunately an idea can spread.
Combining expert filmmaking and a gripping story, along with a superb cast, Aronofsky has created a truly breathtaking yet tragic film, one that will not be forgotten, simply because of its meaningful story and heartbreaking finale.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
SEROJMar 12, 2013
Very overrated, disgusting and stupid! I would recommend this movie to all TEENS, who want to try on drugs, so the only good thing about this movie is that it can scare some kids to not try drugs. Otherwise this movie is awful. I can't giveVery overrated, disgusting and stupid! I would recommend this movie to all TEENS, who want to try on drugs, so the only good thing about this movie is that it can scare some kids to not try drugs. Otherwise this movie is awful. I can't give more than 1/10 just because it can teach some kids. Parents can do that too, there's no need to watch a disgusting movie like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
adamSv94Feb 25, 2013
This movie is without a really special movie. The style is admirable and bold and Ellen Burstyn's performance is one the best I have seen in a very long time. It explores the effect of drugs in a terriffic way and I think it's safe to sayThis movie is without a really special movie. The style is admirable and bold and Ellen Burstyn's performance is one the best I have seen in a very long time. It explores the effect of drugs in a terriffic way and I think it's safe to say that everyone of us wants to distance ourselves from drugs after watching this film. Nevertheless, there is something about this movie that makes me very, very uncomfortable. I think it's simply because this movie is way too special for my taste, sorry to say. But I definitely think that we all should give it a chance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Weird, confusing, and pointless. I really don't understand what all the hype is about. Yes, Ellen Burstyn performance was unbelievable, but the movie was just terrible. Honestly, I know it has a huge cult following, but wtf is so specialWeird, confusing, and pointless. I really don't understand what all the hype is about. Yes, Ellen Burstyn performance was unbelievable, but the movie was just terrible. Honestly, I know it has a huge cult following, but wtf is so special about it? Please someone fill me in...What am I missing? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiFeb 8, 2013
I've got my cousin to thank for making me watch this movie. He told me to hang on when I got kind of bored in the middle. Lo and Behold! Nothing can ever prepare you for what happens during the climax. Everything that you imagine can go wrongI've got my cousin to thank for making me watch this movie. He told me to hang on when I got kind of bored in the middle. Lo and Behold! Nothing can ever prepare you for what happens during the climax. Everything that you imagine can go wrong goes wrong! If you want to be put off drugs for good, watch this. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
Aronofsky's film is a haunting and hypnotic show, fueled by a bracing score and a heart wrenching performance from Ellen Burstyn. Though the cuts may seem quick and sloppy to the naked eye, Requiem is carefully and precisely put to together,Aronofsky's film is a haunting and hypnotic show, fueled by a bracing score and a heart wrenching performance from Ellen Burstyn. Though the cuts may seem quick and sloppy to the naked eye, Requiem is carefully and precisely put to together, and the effect will floor you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HalfwelshmanJul 20, 2012
Requiem for a Dream has impact for the most part due to the utterly captivating performances of the cast, particularly Ellen Burstyn who received a well-earned Academy Award nomination, and from Jared Leto who is also very strong. The filmRequiem for a Dream has impact for the most part due to the utterly captivating performances of the cast, particularly Ellen Burstyn who received a well-earned Academy Award nomination, and from Jared Leto who is also very strong. The film also has simple but effectively disturbing visuals, a striking editing style courtesy of Jay Rabinowitz, a moody and epic score from Clint Mansell and a truly terrifying and heartbreaking finale. Being a Darren Aronofsky film, it's flexible and creative with the concept of reality, and becomes more off-the-wall and dreamlike (well, nightmarish) as the characters steadily lose control of their lives, their minds and their free will as a result of their terrible addictions. It's certainly one of the most uncompromising and provocative films about drug addiction ever made, and should probably be mandatory viewing for teenagers to scare them off the life-destroying substances for life. It one of those films that really leaves a lasting effect, an almost crippling feeling of melancholia as a result of its pessimism. Mercilessly downbeat though it may be, Requiem for a Dream is a prime example of meticulously crafted, undeniably powerful filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NedRyerson1Jun 10, 2012
Requiem for a Dream is a breathtaking movie and this is because of the topics that treat and point of view that give them. The film talks about family conflicts, couple problems, friend disagreements, racist fights, poor environments and allRequiem for a Dream is a breathtaking movie and this is because of the topics that treat and point of view that give them. The film talks about family conflicts, couple problems, friend disagreements, racist fights, poor environments and all of these immersed in the drugs world. Obviously the points of view towards these problems are four, the one of Harry (who is trying to be successful and have a job), his girlfriend (who is looking her happily ever after), his mother (who wants to be remembered after her dead, by appear on television) and his best friend (who is hoping to live without worries and just enjoying the moment). In another way, this people is trying to accomplish something that is very difficult to find in the real world, so the solution is to escape from the reality; here is when the four path joins in a common point: the drugs, which represent the release of their minds. In this part Darren Aronofsky use the expressionist and surrealistic images, like the sequence when they take drugs, the attack of the TV people with the refrigerator and the zombie ending. Finally the four people end in the same way as if they were only one body. All of this is enhance by a marvelous direction, astonishing performances, excellent script and shocking music. This is a requiem for the beloved housewife, the worker son, the empathic girlfriend and the supporting friend. It is a requiem for achieving perfection. A Requiem for a Dream. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
IamMensaMay 28, 2012
Amazing piece of film. I agree that it is a little over rated and people think they're artsy for liking it and even knowing about it, but any movie that could take the place of every single life education class we ever had to take growing upAmazing piece of film. I agree that it is a little over rated and people think they're artsy for liking it and even knowing about it, but any movie that could take the place of every single life education class we ever had to take growing up in school about how drugs are bad is a success in my book. Very powerful. Jared Leto delivers, Jennifer Connolly kills it, Marlon Wayans shows diversity, and Ellen Burstyn steals the whole show. True acting from true actors. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Louie-DogMay 21, 2012
Requiem for a Dream is the story of 4 stereotypical stock characters who suffer from substance abuse. All of which become the victims of a gruesomely slippery slope of drug addiction. However, this film fails at creating unique and originalRequiem for a Dream is the story of 4 stereotypical stock characters who suffer from substance abuse. All of which become the victims of a gruesomely slippery slope of drug addiction. However, this film fails at creating unique and original characters with even the slightest amount of depth. And the half-assed love story between Harry and Marion gives no insight into why they fell in love other then them both being attractive. Many people praise its innovative cinematography and "realistic" view of the results of drug abuse. But along with its purposefully disturbing scare tactics, it's about as compelling and a D.A.R.E poster. And unfortunately the cinematography isn't enough to salvage this colossal piece of trash. Collapse
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
9
avatar16Apr 5, 2012
Pour apprécier pleinement un film de Darren Aronofsky, c'est d'entrer dans l'univers qu'il nous propose à chaque fois. Notamment au niveau de la mise en scène. Il n'y a qu'à voir The FountainPour apprécier pleinement un film de Darren Aronofsky, c'est d'entrer dans l'univers qu'il nous propose à chaque fois. Notamment au niveau de la mise en scène. Il n'y a qu'à voir The Fountain et Black Swan. Mais son film le plus styliser et le plus fort reste sans aucun doute Requiem for a Dream. Un film à première vue tout aussi "défoncé" que ses protagonistes, mais qui se révèle être un coup de poing ravageur, qui nous permet de vivre (et non de suivre) la descente aux enfers de 4 personnes, touchées d'une manière ou d'une autre par la drogue. Ambiance dérangeante, bo grinçante, mise en scène clipesque, casting de choix... Bref, j'ai assisté, impuissant, à l'une des plus cruelles déchéances qu'il m'ait été de voir dans un film. Et pour cela, je peux dire qu'Aronofsky est un excellent réalisateur! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DoehlMar 25, 2012
Aronofsky's psychodelic drug addiction film proves him an effective hallucinatory filmmaker and a master at clever stylistic metaphors with pin-point hellish accuracy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
skanteaMar 15, 2012
The impact of this film depends on where you're from and what you've been exposed to in real life and in other reality based films. Not to sound pompous but if i was from a sheltered middle class suburban upbringing I'd probably find someThe impact of this film depends on where you're from and what you've been exposed to in real life and in other reality based films. Not to sound pompous but if i was from a sheltered middle class suburban upbringing I'd probably find some othe sens painfully graphic, but having done my time in the ghettos (plural) I've seen way worse. The directing was the most entertaining aspect. The story, well, even if I hadn't experienced some of it in person I'd have read about it countless times before seeing this simply because I'm middle aged. So I guess you might also have to be kind of young to be shocked as well. It's well crafted and if you feel like you 'should' see it so you understand the current pop culture references, then do so. It's not a waste of time. If you want to see the real thing though, check out 'Dope Sick Love'. It's a mind blowing doc that's readily available for free online. Just google it. It makes this film seem like 'Dora the Explorer'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Alexander_FredDec 18, 2011
Afronsky creates quite a vivid picture here. His use of numerous film-making devices from close up action shots of everything from the dilation of a pupil to the sipping of a cup of coffee, sound effects that enhance the action, side by sideAfronsky creates quite a vivid picture here. His use of numerous film-making devices from close up action shots of everything from the dilation of a pupil to the sipping of a cup of coffee, sound effects that enhance the action, side by side panoramic shots, high speed action shots, and many other techniques all come together to truly allow the viewer to feel what the character feels, to experience his or her inebriation end ultimately despair as desire and withdrawal come into play in the latter half of the film. At times such stylistic directing doesn't allow for character growth, but nonetheless when the characters are able to grow, they do so beyond measure. From simply desire of the drug and love for one another, they move to dependence and we see that become their only focus. Then Afronsky shows us the deepest dark of addiction. From simple withdrawal to prison to prostitution to hospitalization and even to an amputation, the characters end in far different places and circumstances. But nonetheless, in the end, all the characters face the same loneliness, the loneliness that comes when one has sacrificed all else for the drug that gives him nothing. This film takes different circumstances and ultimately brings them together in the most tragic of ways. While not a perfect film, Afronsky proves that he is a director not to be reckoned with. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
House0fWolves_Dec 16, 2011
Hooray for portraying how the world really is, in raw material. Kudos for the insanity factors and showing how bad addictions affect others. No, this is not a promotional thing - it's the exact opposite. Great acting (30 Seconds To Mars'Hooray for portraying how the world really is, in raw material. Kudos for the insanity factors and showing how bad addictions affect others. No, this is not a promotional thing - it's the exact opposite. Great acting (30 Seconds To Mars' Jared Leto made me giggle and point for the first five minutes of the film), great filming, and a spiralling conclusion. Lovely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaNov 27, 2011
This film has a great and original vision, never before have you seen or will you ever see a movie like this one. Great style acting and pace. This movie has one of the best paces to a movieI have ever seen. It will not let you down with itsThis film has a great and original vision, never before have you seen or will you ever see a movie like this one. Great style acting and pace. This movie has one of the best paces to a movieI have ever seen. It will not let you down with its powerful cimax Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JoaoRodarteNov 12, 2011
BE CAREFUL WHILE WATCHING THIS MOVIE!

This piece of work brings it. It really does. This excellent movie was one of the best movies I've ever seen in a lot of terms (soundtrack, editing, originality, and so on...) BUT you have to be very
BE CAREFUL WHILE WATCHING THIS MOVIE!

This piece of work brings it. It really does. This excellent movie was one of the best movies I've ever seen in a lot of terms (soundtrack, editing, originality, and so on...)

BUT you have to be very carefull while whatching it. It brings with itself a stereotic abordation of the drugs senary. That's a beautiful way of spending quality time but, at the same time, doesn't deliver enough information for any person to create an opinion about the drugs and abuse subjects.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
L490Oct 5, 2011
"Requiem for a Dream" showcases the unique talent Jared Leto possesses. He is a really talented person (acting, music, directing) and the fact that he generally makes only so called art movies, makes him even more special, because he isnâ
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RodrigoBGCSep 27, 2011
This movie is simply awesome, it show the things the way it should be and the way it happens, along with Eyes wide shut, this movie is one the best drama movies i ever seen and i think that every single teenager should watch this movie andThis movie is simply awesome, it show the things the way it should be and the way it happens, along with Eyes wide shut, this movie is one the best drama movies i ever seen and i think that every single teenager should watch this movie and realize that drugs and excess never will end well Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
twest55May 16, 2011
Fine piece of work. From every aspect. You can tell the cast and crew worked so hard to compose a phenomenal film, like nothing you have seen before.
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroMar 1, 2011
I really do not see the fascination a lot of filmmakers and other artists have with the bottom feeders of society. I find addicted people disgusting, as simple as that. I find it evenly disgusting how deep certain humans can sink. We must beI really do not see the fascination a lot of filmmakers and other artists have with the bottom feeders of society. I find addicted people disgusting, as simple as that. I find it evenly disgusting how deep certain humans can sink. We must be the only species without a clear genetically determined spectrum of behaviour. I have seen people who live in dirt, who smell, who dump their waste on the street, who destroy themselves with alcohol, drugs, cigarettes, food, or whatever poison they can find. No animal does that. Animals spend most of the day cleaning themselves, because they instinctively know that their body is pretty much their most important asset.
With regard to this movie, what is the purpose of making it ? Drugs are dangerous ? Thanks, by now everybody should know that.
The only thing tha bothers me is that apparently a lot of people can actually relate to that movie. That spells trouble for humanity...
Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
2
existentialistJan 21, 2011
Aronofsky obviously knows little about drug culture or addiction. If a person has never used hard drugs or been involved with people using hard drugs I can see how they might praise this as an unflinching look at the realities of addiction.Aronofsky obviously knows little about drug culture or addiction. If a person has never used hard drugs or been involved with people using hard drugs I can see how they might praise this as an unflinching look at the realities of addiction. But unfortunately, Aronofsky's "shock-and-awe" campaign is not based in reality. In actuality the consequences of drug use can be much worse, but not as gruesome or as idiotic as this film portrays them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
KarthXLRJan 13, 2011
It's well-made, well-acted, well-written, and overall just a very nicely made film. The film itself is depressing, unoptimistic, and at some times, disturbing. It's a bit of a hard one to sit through. Personally, I don't enjoy movies such asIt's well-made, well-acted, well-written, and overall just a very nicely made film. The film itself is depressing, unoptimistic, and at some times, disturbing. It's a bit of a hard one to sit through. Personally, I don't enjoy movies such as this. I can't say it's not well-made, but it certainly is not a pleasure to sit through or watch more than once. Those with weak stomachs may want to reconsider watching, and those easily offended or frightened might want to steer clear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
PayupOct 2, 2010
Requiem for a Dream was extremely boring. i really can't believe that anyone saw any good in this worthless trash of a film. there was no point in the movie that was even remotely entertaining and the only good thing about it was thatRequiem for a Dream was extremely boring. i really can't believe that anyone saw any good in this worthless trash of a film. there was no point in the movie that was even remotely entertaining and the only good thing about it was that everything i did over the following couple of days after seeing it seemed a lot more interesting in comparison. It was just bad. Expand
1 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Sep 3, 2010
The drugs don't work, they just make you worse as Richard Ashcroft once sang.
Intensely brilliant film about addiction & the slow decline that follows.
Amazing performances from the cast & especially Ellen Burstyn. I did think that Jared Leto
The drugs don't work, they just make you worse as Richard Ashcroft once sang.
Intensely brilliant film about addiction & the slow decline that follows.
Amazing performances from the cast & especially Ellen Burstyn.
I did think that Jared Leto & Jennifer Connelly looked like brother & sister though.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
YanG.Jun 1, 2010
Great!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinCOct 18, 2009
I cant find words for this movie. One the one side a beautiful work of art and at the other site cruel reality. There are some small negatives but without them this movie wouldn't be THAT good! You have to see it to understand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AshleyM.Jul 30, 2009
It was a very dark and depressing movie that left me feeling very depressed after watching it.However its a movie that dares to show the much darker side to drug abuse.I though it was well put together and the soundtrack was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joes.Jul 7, 2009
This movie blew my mind....I've never seen a more powerful and disturbing movie, but it was great...just unspeakably disturbing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkusRJun 29, 2009
This film was amazing. I loved every second of it and was thinking about it days after watching it. The music was perfect through the whole thing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JennyLJun 14, 2009
Brilliant-honest and artfully put together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GarvinVanGApr 23, 2009
Greatest use of audio and visual technology of any film ever. Engrossing to the bitter end, building into a sensual crescendo metaphorically described as a classical rapsody of soundtrack and cenematics that overwhelms the senses into Greatest use of audio and visual technology of any film ever. Engrossing to the bitter end, building into a sensual crescendo metaphorically described as a classical rapsody of soundtrack and cenematics that overwhelms the senses into submission, leaving only the body to sink into the comfortable couch of emotion and stimulation. Perfectly cast, brilliantly edited, genius direction and interpretation of the writers vision and desire. 10/10 Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AnonYMar 26, 2009
A powerful, underrated, classic film. Those who decry this movie as an overly simplistic caricature of the horrors of drug use completely miss the point of the film; what makes this film compelling and different from other drug films is its A powerful, underrated, classic film. Those who decry this movie as an overly simplistic caricature of the horrors of drug use completely miss the point of the film; what makes this film compelling and different from other drug films is its ability to show how drug addiction can afflict anyone and comes in many forms. From television to caffeine to heroin, everyone self medicates, and anyone can fall victim to serious addictions, be they old or young. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WhoCaresFeb 7, 2009
No movie has made me feel the way i did after i watched this. Plus the music was amazing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EricCJan 9, 2009
Chris K., it's not about the drugs. It's about the pursute of happiness. There's the spring board for starting to understanding this intense, earth-shatteringly bleak film. Also has the most incredible score of our generation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeWDec 18, 2008
Intricate, dark, amazing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TomLDec 7, 2008
Superb film, amazing director. just watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EvilB.Nov 29, 2008
Hard to describe. Gut wrenching, disturbing, thrill ride, engrossing; just to use a few. Darkly fascinating and wildly entertaining. Any movie that can get your pulse racing, be it good or evil, is an epic flick for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Kazumi&DaisyOct 14, 2008
Amazing! Can't find any word to describe except the one I just used. - Kazumi Kazum Hotogishi I never watched the movie but my husband said it was absolutely fabulous, I'm very posh and he's Jap - Daisy Elizabeth Hotogishi Oh Amazing! Can't find any word to describe except the one I just used. - Kazumi Kazum Hotogishi I never watched the movie but my husband said it was absolutely fabulous, I'm very posh and he's Jap - Daisy Elizabeth Hotogishi Oh I forgot to brush my teeth!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AnonB.Sep 14, 2008
Without a doubt, one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. It grabs hold of you and doesn't let go. 98% of the brilliance of this movie is in its excellent music. Clint Mansell is brilliant.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DevinW.Aug 24, 2008
Unbelievable masterpiece. It's so deep on so many levels, that weeks afterwards you find yourself discovering new meanings. I see a lot of very ignorant reviews of this movie. Do not be fooled because however depressing or dark the Unbelievable masterpiece. It's so deep on so many levels, that weeks afterwards you find yourself discovering new meanings. I see a lot of very ignorant reviews of this movie. Do not be fooled because however depressing or dark the movie is, it leaves you in a way of striving to avoid the downfall of the characters in the movie. A lot of bad reviews read of how terrible it was, but i think that most of the people who wrote those reviews did not get the point of the movie at all, ruining the whole experience. Brilliant, just brilliant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
AndyM.Aug 17, 2008
This movie is a horror movie that you can't scream throughout and laugh with your friends about afterward. Instead, you just sit there, staring, not wanting to watch the depressing, frightening images but unable to tear your eyes away. This movie is a horror movie that you can't scream throughout and laugh with your friends about afterward. Instead, you just sit there, staring, not wanting to watch the depressing, frightening images but unable to tear your eyes away. The style and direction is distinct, the editing abrupt and jarring. It is very well filmed, but it doesn't bring much else to the table. You watch it, in awe of the darkness and despair of it all, and what do you get? Drugs are bad. Yes, yes they are. You want a more... INSPIRED message in the end, or at least a somewhat happy ending! But you don't get it. It is, all and all, a worthwhile piece of film, but don't watch it if you expect either of those things. Really, just watch it on hulu.com, it's free. And even then... be in a good mood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbhinavG.May 22, 2008
Undoubtly, this is the best movie I have seen this whole year. I cant believe that I didnt see this movie till today. Awesome direction, terrafic performances by actors and storyline is like something I cant be explain in words. If you Undoubtly, this is the best movie I have seen this whole year. I cant believe that I didnt see this movie till today. Awesome direction, terrafic performances by actors and storyline is like something I cant be explain in words. If you havent watched it yet, watch it now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisKApr 19, 2008
It is the most overrated and dangerous movie atrocity ever. It takes every stereotype about drugs and drug abuse and reinforces those stereotypes to absurdist, kafkaesque levels. Comparisons to the propaganda classic "Reefer Madness" (go It is the most overrated and dangerous movie atrocity ever. It takes every stereotype about drugs and drug abuse and reinforces those stereotypes to absurdist, kafkaesque levels. Comparisons to the propaganda classic "Reefer Madness" (go watch it at archive.org and spot the similarities) are both valid and necessary. People who know nothing (and want to know nothing) about how addiction works give this film a high rating because it confirms their infantile views (Drugs=Evil)on the issues dealt with in the movie. Cater ignorance to the ignorant. Always a wise business decision. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
9
DM.Feb 25, 2008
Haunting. Just haunting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Feb 8, 2008
horrid. depressing, no plot. left me feeling disgusting, hopeless and depressed. i wish i could erase that hour and a half.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
5
RoryP.Feb 8, 2008
I think this film is overrated. Although it is an awful lot better then his last film, the Fountain. The film reliance on style causes problems, especially in the first act, where we are introduced to split screen and various other stylistic I think this film is overrated. Although it is an awful lot better then his last film, the Fountain. The film reliance on style causes problems, especially in the first act, where we are introduced to split screen and various other stylistic devices for no other reason then to give the film a professional sheen. There use in these areas were shallow and pointless, they did not progess any element of the story. I think if Aronofsky had laid off at the beginning and let the stylistic devices build up as the addictions took hold, it could have been a much better film. There is little character development. It appears to be a film situated in an Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful
10
ChadmonJan 24, 2008
Like many others that have stated it, this is indeed a life changing movie. The first time I watched I.. I couldn't stop thinking about it. I had to go around and ask everyone if they'd seen it, and if they hadn't I told them Like many others that have stated it, this is indeed a life changing movie. The first time I watched I.. I couldn't stop thinking about it. I had to go around and ask everyone if they'd seen it, and if they hadn't I told them they must!...The acting was amazing, the soundtrack (by Clint Mansell) was truly worth buying after hearing it and the true message of the movie made me wish I'd seen it 5 years earlier. Clint Mansell and Darren Aronofsky work amazing together. It was a dark movie sure, but to say reality isn't dark is ignorant. The critics giving it a 20 and 30 really must've been doing what the main characters in the movie got addicted too. I'll let you find out what that is if you haven't seen it. This movie is a must see in my books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunH.Dec 7, 2007
This movie is by far the most disturbing yet realistic outlook at how drug users become completely dislocated from themselves. The acting is outstanding (especially Burstyn and Connelly). Burstyn was robbed of the Academy Award for her This movie is by far the most disturbing yet realistic outlook at how drug users become completely dislocated from themselves. The acting is outstanding (especially Burstyn and Connelly). Burstyn was robbed of the Academy Award for her performance in this movie. Ellen Burstyn's portrayal of "Sara" devastated me long after the movie was over. Simply amazing.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaraWNov 21, 2007
Amazing movie. If you didn't like it, you didn't get it. The acting was amazing, the soundtrack was amazing, the cinematography was amazing. I LOVED it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferF.Nov 14, 2007
This movie is insane. I was glued to the T.V
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
fitchbuckSep 8, 2007
Hugely disturbing masterpiece. Some of the best acting across the board you will ever witness, period. If you've ever had a personal connection to any of the themes explored here, it will make your blood boil. The downward spiral of the Hugely disturbing masterpiece. Some of the best acting across the board you will ever witness, period. If you've ever had a personal connection to any of the themes explored here, it will make your blood boil. The downward spiral of the 3 lead characters is putrid, uncomfortably hellacious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BushM.Sep 6, 2007
Changed my life. Made me rethink things I've said and done. truly a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Aug 5, 2007
A great movie in every aspect. one that will surely stick with you for years to come. Don't miss out.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JackL.Jul 25, 2007
This is a great movie. Very stylish and thought provoking. The movie slowly sucks you in the leaden nightmare in which is filled up with harrowing truths, deep thoughts and breathtaking performances, especially by Ellen Burstyn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ARJun 11, 2007
This is an amazing movie. It makes you relate to the 4 characters first, then slowly spiral you into the oblivion that is addiction. Aronofsky does this through the amazing lens of a gifted filmmaker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisB.May 16, 2007
Requiem for a Dream is a masterpiece and a movie you will never forget. The title alone should let you know it is not going to be a happy, uplifting movie. If you aren't a schizo on the subject of drugs, then this movie is a muse see. Requiem for a Dream is a masterpiece and a movie you will never forget. The title alone should let you know it is not going to be a happy, uplifting movie. If you aren't a schizo on the subject of drugs, then this movie is a muse see. The theme song is incredible too! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolynApr 7, 2007
I bought this movie today at Wal-Mart called 'Requiem for a Dream'. Of couse I got the R-rated Edited Version. I truly believe that it deserves WAY more than $5.50. I love this movie, it is a masterpiece, but I did not enjoy it. I bought this movie today at Wal-Mart called 'Requiem for a Dream'. Of couse I got the R-rated Edited Version. I truly believe that it deserves WAY more than $5.50. I love this movie, it is a masterpiece, but I did not enjoy it. Why? Because it deals with lots of drugs. Nothing good happens in this film. Absoluely nothing. This was the first movie ever to make me cry, especially at the end. I wish I could say that it had a happy ending. I really do. Definitely a must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdlaiH.Feb 5, 2007
A technical and directorial masterpiece with amazing cinematography, music, acting, plot, pace, direction, and every other element of a movie. Simply top-notch; Aronofsky brings the Shakespearean tragedy into the present day and adds his own A technical and directorial masterpiece with amazing cinematography, music, acting, plot, pace, direction, and every other element of a movie. Simply top-notch; Aronofsky brings the Shakespearean tragedy into the present day and adds his own dark touch. Watch it, but make sure you watch the unrated version; Aronofsky made it that way for a reason, and watching an edited version would simply defeat the film's purpose. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavW.Jan 15, 2007
Repulsive, disgusting, intriguing, strange, ironic and utterly irresistible. This film is disturbing to the core, however there is a powerful message delivered, one that puts most of the rest of the film in context. This is truely a great Repulsive, disgusting, intriguing, strange, ironic and utterly irresistible. This film is disturbing to the core, however there is a powerful message delivered, one that puts most of the rest of the film in context. This is truely a great cinematic work and should be admired as such. I suppose you can either love this movie or hate it, but if for nothing else, the soundtrack rocks! Mother looses her sanity, son looses his arm, girl looses her dignity and black guy looses his freedom, everything that we take for granted is ripped away at the end, and thats a pretty damn interesting message. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GusF.Dec 28, 2006
I just had to respond to Richie C.'s comment. Richie, do you only go to the movies to watch fairy-tale endings and Jim Carrey movies? That's like saying the only books that should be printed are kids' stories. If you I just had to respond to Richie C.'s comment. Richie, do you only go to the movies to watch fairy-tale endings and Jim Carrey movies? That's like saying the only books that should be printed are kids' stories. If you can't handle drama, fine, but that's no reason to give the movie a 3. That said, this movie is hard to watch and does leave you bummed, but itis' beautifully done and the fact that it can affect its viewers just goes to prove its power in grabbing you. Watch it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChrisM.Nov 23, 2006
Like it or lump it, this film is an expirence like none other.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RichieC.Nov 17, 2006
If you love being depressed and miserable after watching something thats soposed to be entertaining and artsistic then watch this film from hell.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
5
DaveH.Oct 30, 2006
In the vein of Trainspotting and the even more odious Human Traffic, beneath all the ostentatious showiness, is a lifeless, one-note film. The people are not so much characters as they are caricatures. Vices such as drugs, prostitution, In the vein of Trainspotting and the even more odious Human Traffic, beneath all the ostentatious showiness, is a lifeless, one-note film. The people are not so much characters as they are caricatures. Vices such as drugs, prostitution, antidepressants and erm... ECT are presented as dehumanising in the most reactionary, doctrinaire fashion imaginable and I felt very little empathy for Leto or Connelly, who are presented more as subjects to Aronofsky's painfest than as real people. We don't believe a word Leto says when he proclaims "I just want to make [his mum] happy", which brings us to the brilliant Ellen Burstyn, who is the heartbreakingly naive mother. She is the only reason to see this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Dr.GonzoAug 14, 2006
Haunting. Dreamy. Gritty. Not sure how those three mix together but they do. Amazing film, do not miss.
0 of 0 users found this helpful