Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: July 4, 2007
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 101 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
82
Mixed:
9
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
8
Meth-dudeAug 20, 2014
Really good acting and good action scenes.This movie has everything you ever wanted to have in an action movie.We believe what is happening and we feel bad for them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuDec 11, 2013
Rescue Dawn is an interesting POW escape movie. The performances are good and the film's beautiful Vietnam jungle location feels suitably alien and hostile. Bale scores extra kudos here for doing many extreme things like eating worms,Rescue Dawn is an interesting POW escape movie. The performances are good and the film's beautiful Vietnam jungle location feels suitably alien and hostile. Bale scores extra kudos here for doing many extreme things like eating worms, suffering from leeches, getting dragged behind an ox through the mud... He really actually did those things. So too for his and Steve Zahn's weight loss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31May 11, 2016
Truly an incredible story about survival, some good life lessons here too, never give up.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-6228-Rescue-Dawn
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BKMJul 20, 2012
Rescue Dawn is a gripping tale of survival against all odds and a fitting tribute to the American soldier that is blessedly free of political bias. But most interestingly, thanks to Christian Bale's remarkably strange and hard to classifyRescue Dawn is a gripping tale of survival against all odds and a fitting tribute to the American soldier that is blessedly free of political bias. But most interestingly, thanks to Christian Bale's remarkably strange and hard to classify performance, it is an examination of how the will to survive requires not only courage and brains but also a touch of insanity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroFeb 15, 2011
Wow...I bought the movie for one dollar at the store, and it was a wasted dollar. My expectation was to see a movie that sucks, mainly because Christian Bale was starring. I was right. Every movie he is in sucks, and he is the main reason.Wow...I bought the movie for one dollar at the store, and it was a wasted dollar. My expectation was to see a movie that sucks, mainly because Christian Bale was starring. I was right. Every movie he is in sucks, and he is the main reason. Throw in a director, Werner Herzog, who I really believe either has a twisted mind, or is on drugs all the time, or both, and you get a film that is truly...weird. It is unreal. Bale is a POW, yet he acts like he thinks it is all one big joke. After being captured, he is dragged around the jungle by his captors, for what ? There is not one scene in the movie that is believable, starting from when his plane crashes, and he strangely comes flying onto the scene from...the side...completely unharmed, to pretty much all of the dialogue, which simply makes you cringe. Howdy ? My god, that must be the stupidest thing ever said in a movie.
The biggest problem with this film is the complete lack of intensity. It is simply boring. The second biggest problem is that none of the characters are developed, they have no depth, and they act unreal.
Conclusion: I am not sure where Werner Herzog gets the money to make films, he really is not a filmmaker, he has no feel for making movies, whatever he does just nauseates the audience. As with many so-called artists, people gravitate towards the weird side because they think it has significance, which it has not. Weird is just that, weird.
And yes, Christian Bale should have never become an actor...he ruins each and every movie he is in. Almost like Ben Affleck, I don't know which one is worse.
Expand
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews
9
PvtJacksonJun 18, 2014
One of very few movies about the epic Vietnam War that pleased me by the fact that the image of "brutal, heartless Vietnamese soldiers" were eliminated as you think about other flicks of the same genre such as "We were soldiers" or "The DeerOne of very few movies about the epic Vietnam War that pleased me by the fact that the image of "brutal, heartless Vietnamese soldiers" were eliminated as you think about other flicks of the same genre such as "We were soldiers" or "The Deer Hunter". Rather than depicting the "cruelty" of the communist Vietnamese, which American people often saw in TV as a political propaganda for support of American idealism, Werner Herzog's "Rescue Dawn" focused on a man's determination to survive, and all possible risks he was willing to take as long as it gave him a chance to return home. I find the tale of a combat pilot's survival much more realistic and meaningful than that of two ground troopers playing Russian Roulette yet still living in "The Deer Hunter" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZawMineJul 4, 2015
Rescue Dawn seems like a typical survival movie. Yes, it is.
But the performance made this movie excellent. I have no idea how Christian Bale prepared for his role.
Christian Bale is Brilliant!! Actually the whole cast is amazing. I even
Rescue Dawn seems like a typical survival movie. Yes, it is.
But the performance made this movie excellent. I have no idea how Christian Bale prepared for his role.
Christian Bale is Brilliant!! Actually the whole cast is amazing. I even cried at the end of the movie not because I was sad, but because I was happy. In the end, I would say Rescue Dawn is an inspirational excellent movie and I am very glad that I just watched this beautiful movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
harlthegr8Aug 24, 2011
The acting is great and their dedication to the project is amazing (read up on how much weight they all lost!). But the story seems just a little too predictable and slow for me when watching a hostage/rescue movie. I would prefer The WayThe acting is great and their dedication to the project is amazing (read up on how much weight they all lost!). But the story seems just a little too predictable and slow for me when watching a hostage/rescue movie. I would prefer The Way Back or Black Hawk Down to this movie, but it is still a gripping tale of a (somewhat) true story. Would have liked to see a bit more of the evasion/escaping but still liked the struggle between the characters and their minds.Definitely worth a watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KENXAVIFeb 18, 2015
Despite it's sluggish and uninteresting 1st act, the film manages to find it's pace by making us feel for the survivors of this terrible event. Thanks to Werner Herzog's solid directing and a criminally underrated performance by ChristianDespite it's sluggish and uninteresting 1st act, the film manages to find it's pace by making us feel for the survivors of this terrible event. Thanks to Werner Herzog's solid directing and a criminally underrated performance by Christian Bale, it is definitely a must watch even though if at it's core, may be just another survival movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DuncanRobertsIIDec 4, 2012
The crash scene was the worst I have ever seen. The flight instruments show the plane rolling yet the plane is in a descent. The VFX very poor. The music terrible. The story is not new. The best part is the ending. If you want a good VietnamThe crash scene was the worst I have ever seen. The flight instruments show the plane rolling yet the plane is in a descent. The VFX very poor. The music terrible. The story is not new. The best part is the ending. If you want a good Vietnam film watch Platoon or The Deer Hunter. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
keithw.Jul 9, 2007
What a story! Bale is an artist-Go his work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillySingerleAug 8, 2007
Does anybody else believe Christian Bale should be awarded a special Academy Award for Excellence In Script Selection? Rescue Dawn is just his latest brilliant movie that goes all the way back to Empire of the Sun 20 years ago and it is one Does anybody else believe Christian Bale should be awarded a special Academy Award for Excellence In Script Selection? Rescue Dawn is just his latest brilliant movie that goes all the way back to Empire of the Sun 20 years ago and it is one of the best prison films ever, right up there with Papillon and Midnight Express. Bale is, as always, a wonder to watch. He once again becomes the character he is playing without a false note. Rescue Dawn is well worth seeing just for the cinematography and score alone, add to that Steve Zahn's best performance to date and Christian Bale and it becomes a Must See!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeyNOct 1, 2007
This is an amazing movie, a real artistic triumph. As with all Herzog's based-on-fact films it is largely fictionalized - which has lead the family members of one of the people a character is based on to go on the warpath - but This is an amazing movie, a real artistic triumph. As with all Herzog's based-on-fact films it is largely fictionalized - which has lead the family members of one of the people a character is based on to go on the warpath - but expecting a dramatized movie to qualify as a history lesson is rather foolish. Christian Bale, Jeremy Davies and Steve Zahn all give excellent performances and the movie is an intense masterpiece. Highly recommended - and Herzog's earlier documentary on the same subject, Little Dieter Needs To Fly, is even better! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
patriciaB.Jul 15, 2007
A tremendous movie. Bale's performance is impressive precisely because he makes choices that aren't "obvious" - he's odd and entirely convincing. Herzog does a first-rate job as a director. There's hardly a false moment A tremendous movie. Bale's performance is impressive precisely because he makes choices that aren't "obvious" - he's odd and entirely convincing. Herzog does a first-rate job as a director. There's hardly a false moment to be found. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
C.S.Aug 6, 2007
Movie or no movie, a torrential downpour is still a torrential downpour, live worms in your mouth are live worms in your mouth, and most daunting of all, that evidence of gravity Christian Bale and Steve Zahn heard as they hurtled down the Movie or no movie, a torrential downpour is still a torrential downpour, live worms in your mouth are live worms in your mouth, and most daunting of all, that evidence of gravity Christian Bale and Steve Zahn heard as they hurtled down the rapids must've put the fear of God in their collective Hollywood hearts, because I'm sure they were thinking the same thing- I hope Herr Direktor doesn't ask us to test gravity. When Dieter Dengler(Bale) flags down that chopper, "Rescue Dawn" doubles as a momentary documentary, because I suspect Bale is flagging down that chopper down, too. Call it post-method. To himself, Bale seems to be thinking- I'm famous. Get me out of here. I'm scared. This man keeps calling me Klaus.- Bale and his fellow actors apparently survived a challenging shoot, but it was worth it. "Rescue Dawn" is a mostly extraordinary tale of survival in the bush. And best of all, I saw it in a mall with a real audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnA.Jul 15, 2007
Great acting, great cinematography, great musical score, but bizarre, at times. And I didn't care for the ending. But overall, very good film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColbyS.Jul 28, 2007
So what if there was some artistic license? This was a brilliant if somewhat by-the-book classic POW movie that gets the job done. Herzog stretches the tension skillfully and Bale should be an Oscar contender for his performance. Stays with you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickA.Aug 20, 2007
Acclaimed for his rigid style and dedication to the details of nature, Werner Herzog captivates his viewers by capturing the beauty within any and everything he so chooses to film. His latest project, 'Rescue Dawn,' though Acclaimed for his rigid style and dedication to the details of nature, Werner Herzog captivates his viewers by capturing the beauty within any and everything he so chooses to film. His latest project, 'Rescue Dawn,' though exceptional, is no exception. Herzog, who writes and directs for the film, again focuses his lens on Dieter Dengler Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertM.Aug 25, 2007
Thrilling and exhilarating. No going back for that refill on popcorn during this movie. If I was in this situation I want Dengler with me. Christian Bale earned himself better roles with his acting in Rescue Dawn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AzarA.Nov 8, 2008
One of the better movies based on the Vietnam war. This movie perfectly depicts the horrors of not only war, but also horrors of becoming a POW. Acting is almost top notch, no need to go Shakespeare on this one as it is about the reality of One of the better movies based on the Vietnam war. This movie perfectly depicts the horrors of not only war, but also horrors of becoming a POW. Acting is almost top notch, no need to go Shakespeare on this one as it is about the reality of war, and in a situations like this, different people behave differently; so is the case in the characters in this movie. I enjoyed it a lot. Great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PDaddyMar 28, 2008
Not a great film; not a particularly bad one. Feels too long and scripted. But that said, respect to the real life guy who managed to escape.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanC.Aug 1, 2008
What a strange film. The tone was just off from the first moment. The dialogue is amazingly wooden in many pars. The viewing experience left me quite perplexed. I can't recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HalBNov 25, 2007
A very engaging film with excellent performances by all, especially the three leads (Bale, Zahn, Davies). I was not expecting this good a movie. However (and this is alluded to in the DVD special features), the comment by MV below (regarding A very engaging film with excellent performances by all, especially the three leads (Bale, Zahn, Davies). I was not expecting this good a movie. However (and this is alluded to in the DVD special features), the comment by MV below (regarding how his brother Gene is portrayed in the film -- "Gene from Eugene") is obviously a valid comment on Herzog's dramatic license. In fact, Herzog offers a brief apology for how the Davies character (Gene) is depicted in the DVD extras... still, it makes one think twice about these so-called "fact-based" movies. There seems little doubt about the raw heroism of Deiter Dengler. But watch closely the scene where Deiter is confronted by Gene as Dieter plans their escape, and think about the moral dilemma from his (Gene's) perspective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VioletC.Dec 3, 2007
This was a brilliant film. The best movie I've seen for a long time. The story is about the human spirit more than war. Christian Bale was outstanding as the lead actor, Dieter Dengler and the supporting cast was excellent, too. I hope This was a brilliant film. The best movie I've seen for a long time. The story is about the human spirit more than war. Christian Bale was outstanding as the lead actor, Dieter Dengler and the supporting cast was excellent, too. I hope everyone gets a chance to see this. It should be nominated for best picture, best actor, best supporting actor, best director. I'm anxious to see more Herzog films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
yesnoDec 7, 2007
It wasn't that great.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
6
JasonS.Jul 12, 2007
I give this one a 6 for the great acting, Bale carries this movie on his back. Ther is no story in this movie, other then a few interesting situations Bale's charecter goes through as a P.O.W. in a very lame Veitnam. which is not a I give this one a 6 for the great acting, Bale carries this movie on his back. Ther is no story in this movie, other then a few interesting situations Bale's charecter goes through as a P.O.W. in a very lame Veitnam. which is not a story, more like a "what if you were in this situation" script. Bale's acting shins more than the movie itself. Bale in Iraq would have been way more interesting! Better to watch this one on DVD, rather than the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
cydneyb.Jul 13, 2007
If you read all the published reviews above, you'll see the word that most often appears is "harrowing' -- you best believe it. This was a bit too intense for me, but I wouldn't have missed it for the world. Bale, Zahn and If you read all the published reviews above, you'll see the word that most often appears is "harrowing' -- you best believe it. This was a bit too intense for me, but I wouldn't have missed it for the world. Bale, Zahn and Davies are beyond extraordinary. See this one on the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RitBJul 16, 2007
This is an intense, fascinating movie done with a degree of realism that will make you feel like you spent two hours in a jungle prison camp. Christian Bale, Steve Zahn and Jeremy Davies lived their roles more than played them. Davies This is an intense, fascinating movie done with a degree of realism that will make you feel like you spent two hours in a jungle prison camp. Christian Bale, Steve Zahn and Jeremy Davies lived their roles more than played them. Davies deserves credit for 'getting into the role' because it looks like he brought his weight down to 100 pounds to look like an emaciated POW. One minor complaint I have is that the movie didn't make clear how much time elapsed from the time of Dengler's capture to his escape and rescue. Some quick research on different web sites indicates that he spent 5 months in captivity including 23 days roaming the jungle from the time of his escape to the time of his rescue. Approximately 500 people disappeared in Laos during the long Vietnam war, only Dieter Dengler made it out alive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlanAJul 23, 2007
Did not like the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JJM.Jul 6, 2007
Great Herzog flick, Bale is great in the role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertI.Aug 12, 2007
Werner Herzog's film captures the lush Southeast Asian land, where one man's determination overcomes imprisonment, malnurishment, and the defeatism of his peers. a classic war flick, but one we've never seen, with the ring of Werner Herzog's film captures the lush Southeast Asian land, where one man's determination overcomes imprisonment, malnurishment, and the defeatism of his peers. a classic war flick, but one we've never seen, with the ring of truth. Bale/Dingler's unflagging optimism seems superhuman, but must have been his ultimate salvation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JacquelineC.Aug 2, 2007
As a family member in the line of decendents from the DeBruin family, and having not yet seen the movie, I can see where people may create or alter events or characters when making a fictional movie, however, when one is admist the building As a family member in the line of decendents from the DeBruin family, and having not yet seen the movie, I can see where people may create or alter events or characters when making a fictional movie, however, when one is admist the building of a film that is based on the TRUTH, I feel it is both important and necessary to seek out what really happened, especially when portraying such a sensitive subject. Had Dieter been alive to see the film, I think he would agree with me. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
7
PeterJ.Jan 25, 2008
A very good film indeed. The ending was a bit silly, which is why I only gave it a 7...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JPCApr 27, 2009
An amazing movy with no special effects or grandiosity. It looks real and intens, as if you were risquing your life every second in the shoe of Bale, whose performance is impressive. I can't help thinking he should have won an Oscar !!! An amazing movy with no special effects or grandiosity. It looks real and intens, as if you were risquing your life every second in the shoe of Bale, whose performance is impressive. I can't help thinking he should have won an Oscar !!! I don't put a 10 only because the first 20 minutes have no interest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcusAl.Nov 24, 2007
Wow was this movie good! Christian Bale once again proves how committed he is. And I am sorry for M V having to see is brother this way, but dude, the movie wasn't about him, way worse crap happened to Dwayne in this story. Besides how Wow was this movie good! Christian Bale once again proves how committed he is. And I am sorry for M V having to see is brother this way, but dude, the movie wasn't about him, way worse crap happened to Dwayne in this story. Besides how do you know what happened in this camp! You weren't there, he may have been a wonderful guy, but places like that mess with your mind, Herzog knows his facts, because he got them from a guy who survived it. My condolences to you for your brother, but you weren't the only victim from the Vietnam War. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcieI.Dec 11, 2007
I was very impressed with Christian Bale's performance and the story really inspired me.. It is amazing what the human body and mind can do. Congratulations Werner, Cast and Crew.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobF.Dec 9, 2007
This movie sucked and was a waste of my time. Why the XXl flight suit in the beginning, why the stage like appearance at the end not true and very unprofessional.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
EK.Jul 13, 2007
Typical war movies, well acted cliche ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FilmfanJul 21, 2007
This film is a disappointment. It is a Hollywood rescue adventure film with Herzog quirks- good as those things go, which is not enough considering the legacy of films that have attempted to address either Vietnam or at least war in general This film is a disappointment. It is a Hollywood rescue adventure film with Herzog quirks- good as those things go, which is not enough considering the legacy of films that have attempted to address either Vietnam or at least war in general from some sort of critical perspective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulKJul 26, 2007
Given the direction of the story, this surprisingly wasn't as slow as it could have been. Worth seeing at some point.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BibliotechaS.Jul 28, 2007
Hmm visuals are ok. Acting pretty good. Believability hard but true story so what the hay. All I know is it'd be tough to survive in the jungle for 23 days after being malnourished for 5 months, the arctic snow, desert, mountains, even Hmm visuals are ok. Acting pretty good. Believability hard but true story so what the hay. All I know is it'd be tough to survive in the jungle for 23 days after being malnourished for 5 months, the arctic snow, desert, mountains, even tougher. I've studied survival and know about the play the jungle will have on the mind if you're ever stuck in there alone or at night with the animals. This is a movie, but the guy got lucky. He didn't do it all by virtue of his mind or "wit." It also helped that there was a war going on and helicopters/planes flying around for him to be rescued. Try surviving out there without all that then you've REALLY accomplished something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MV.Aug 13, 2007
Gene was my older brother (he was 4 yrs older) and was a wonderful guy. This is probably the only time that i am thankful that my parents are dead; it would be so horrible for them to see what Herzog has done with their son! Didn't he Gene was my older brother (he was 4 yrs older) and was a wonderful guy. This is probably the only time that i am thankful that my parents are dead; it would be so horrible for them to see what Herzog has done with their son! Didn't he have the decency to check out the facts? And there are plenty! How would Herzog feel if someone did this to his son or brother? Or, for that matter, how would anyone feel? Think about it when you write your raving reviews. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
Kellyd.Jan 21, 2008
Wow what a major disappointment! Not that i was particularly looking forward to the movie as i had no background knowledge of Dieter, instead i watched for the sake of Christian Bale. I continued to try and make myself beleive that this Wow what a major disappointment! Not that i was particularly looking forward to the movie as i had no background knowledge of Dieter, instead i watched for the sake of Christian Bale. I continued to try and make myself beleive that this movie was worth while as i choked up words like "wow that rock is big" or "it must have been really humid". No use the movie sucked gracefully. I don't know where the sucking began--if it was when Bale walked into the first camp and smiled--because being tied up, tortured, and forced along by non-english speaking foreigners always brings a smile to my face--or when he was told continually that Zane shits his pants every night. I couldn't help but laugh at the atrociousness of the writing, directing, and acting in this movie. Honestly i laughed more than once. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MichaelM.Jan 24, 2008
As someone who's life was strongly influenced by the Vietnam war I was thrilled to see a non-polemic story set in the period. Bale was excellent as was the supporting cast. The VC were painted as real people not as either villains or as As someone who's life was strongly influenced by the Vietnam war I was thrilled to see a non-polemic story set in the period. Bale was excellent as was the supporting cast. The VC were painted as real people not as either villains or as simple victims. Taught, competent, spare and compelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
o.w.dMar 27, 2009
Werner Herzog does an incredible job bringing home the reality of jungle war, torture and escape against all odds. Gripping movie and well done by Bale as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful