Screen Gems | Release Date: September 10, 2004
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 233 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
111
Mixed:
68
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
Now, this is the movie I was waiting to point my finger and mock at. "Resident Evil: Apocalypse" offers nothing new; the whole plot is inspired by the video game, the story is more dumb and inane, and even the cast messed up this one. INow, this is the movie I was waiting to point my finger and mock at. "Resident Evil: Apocalypse" offers nothing new; the whole plot is inspired by the video game, the story is more dumb and inane, and even the cast messed up this one. I strongly recommend to not watch this. You will regret. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
IanM197Oct 9, 2010
Well well, Resident Evil, haven't you changed. It's impressive how big an improvement Apocalypse is over the original. It isn't a great movie at all, but it isn't meant to be and it's a lot more fun than the original. My two gripes are thatWell well, Resident Evil, haven't you changed. It's impressive how big an improvement Apocalypse is over the original. It isn't a great movie at all, but it isn't meant to be and it's a lot more fun than the original. My two gripes are that the CGI hasn't improved much (but it's still an awful lot better than in the original) and Nemesis didn't feature quite as heavily as I expected. The thing that made the movie was how fun it is. It doesn't try to be serious and just takes you from one action scene to the next in style, and that's what I expect from a movie like this. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
oliver1hFeb 18, 2013
Generic action movie that is using the "Resident evil" title to achieve profit. The first movie was rather badly done with a lot of potential wasted, but this one is nothing more than the next installment in a never ending franchise. TheGeneric action movie that is using the "Resident evil" title to achieve profit. The first movie was rather badly done with a lot of potential wasted, but this one is nothing more than the next installment in a never ending franchise. The quality will get lower and lower with every movie, but they will not stop making them as long as they can generate profit. I can not recommend this to anyone. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MichaelD.Oct 17, 2007
An almost complete movie. A true popcorn-type movie- I really enjoyed watching this, not judging from comparison to original storyline. Special effects were quite good, acting was OKish - overall a very good movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NemesisC.Feb 16, 2007
This movie was really cool it had a lot of action but yeah it wasn't long but it had a lot of action that movie entertained me that was the best action movie I've ever seen so far.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StephenC.Sep 6, 2008
The absolute best movie of the three. fast paced, awsome boss, and LJ is really funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Andy92Sep 12, 2010
i liked this film it was a very good action movie and provided a fair amount suspense throughout the story. the cast also performed well they were all convincing throughout the movie. it certainly provided a step up from resident evil
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
MovieLonely94Oct 19, 2010
I think that Apocalypse is a nice idea for the title of the second movie in the series, but like the original, its also boringly dull. nothing's developed, nothing's interesting, and its a complete waist of time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
ThegodfathersonAug 6, 2013
Oh, wow. Resident Evil Franchise- you have f**ked my f**king critic career into a mess. This movie was f**king retarded and bad. Alexander Witt brought us the giddy- cheesy: XXX is making crap. It's what you'd expect- a few crappy lines,Oh, wow. Resident Evil Franchise- you have f**ked my f**king critic career into a mess. This movie was f**king retarded and bad. Alexander Witt brought us the giddy- cheesy: XXX is making crap. It's what you'd expect- a few crappy lines, choppy VFX and corny story. Bad, REALLY BAD. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
busbfranJan 7, 2015
Resident evil: Apocalypse is a strong sequel that matches it predecessor. However it never really decides what it wants to be. The change in tone may deter original fans however, Apocalypse has really set a stepping stone for the rest of theResident evil: Apocalypse is a strong sequel that matches it predecessor. However it never really decides what it wants to be. The change in tone may deter original fans however, Apocalypse has really set a stepping stone for the rest of the franchise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Robin990Jun 23, 2015
This Film is incredible, it's exact with Resident Evil 2 and Resident Evil: Nemesis.It's incredible with the special Effect and Jill Valentine and Alice are an amazing couple
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JJReyesOct 2, 2005
This was a very good movie. It did stray away from the events of the video games quite a bit, but the mains ideas were still there and the action sequences were superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AntB.Sep 23, 2005
I have to say, this movie was 100% better than the last, it had SOME relation to the movie at least and a couple of hiden scenes based on the games. I hate the fact that Alice, once again is back, and she lives through another stupid near I have to say, this movie was 100% better than the last, it had SOME relation to the movie at least and a couple of hiden scenes based on the games. I hate the fact that Alice, once again is back, and she lives through another stupid near death experience. I don't like the way they used Nemesis....... I CANT! Nemesis will rule all!!!! I tell ya! But in this movie, Anderson did a HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE job with the placement, role, and scenes with Nemesis. The Nemesis in RE3:Nemesis, would go after S.T.A.R.S members which, hence, is the purpose of the B.O.W. But in the movie, he was commanded to take out S.T.A.R.S, not on his own will. Nemesis was also created for hand-to-hand combat, not to actually use the chaingun or Rocket Launcher, which thankfully was there. In the game, he used the RL, true, but he overly used it in the movie. Jill's role was bad too. Jill sucked... Where was Brad? Where's the plot with Nicholia (The main thing in RE3!) ?!!! Alot of things were wrong with Nemesis, the cast, and the movie itself, but alas, as a Resident Evil die-hard fan, I must go where the plot and stuff takes me. So for now, I''m happy with a 5/10, but not happy with the ending results of the movie. I will be fully happy with the movies, when Alice finally meets the ground.....in hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisH.Apr 15, 2006
Wow, I just watched this movie again and realized after it was over that I had already seen it! Seriously, that pretty much NEVER happens to me, unless the movie sucked so bad that it wasn't worth remembering which was clearly the case Wow, I just watched this movie again and realized after it was over that I had already seen it! Seriously, that pretty much NEVER happens to me, unless the movie sucked so bad that it wasn't worth remembering which was clearly the case in this instance. (Actually, it happened to me with S.W.A.T. as well) What a completely flat and boring action movie! And both of the "tough women" in it were so damned skinny that just about any man who weighs over 150 pounds could toss them around like rag dolls anyway. Suffice it to say that suspension of disbelief only goes so far! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BuninhoJul 25, 2007
the only thing good in this movie, is the fact that Nemesis it's well done maked..but come on..why they don't make the ORIGINAL STORY? Men, the movies are pretty bad..entretainig, but they don't have nothing to do with the the only thing good in this movie, is the fact that Nemesis it's well done maked..but come on..why they don't make the ORIGINAL STORY? Men, the movies are pretty bad..entretainig, but they don't have nothing to do with the great story that charmed me in '90's...oh well, i guess there's no hope for the resident evil:exticion (aka resident evil 3)...still, I LOVE RESIDENT EVIL!!!! AAAAAAAAH! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanielR.Sep 19, 2005
Just think of it as pieces lifted from any number of the Living Dead flicks--just about any one of which has it over this thing, poorly remembered views of Milla Jovovich as she was in Fifth Element, patently CGI effects, and assorted random Just think of it as pieces lifted from any number of the Living Dead flicks--just about any one of which has it over this thing, poorly remembered views of Milla Jovovich as she was in Fifth Element, patently CGI effects, and assorted random and uninvolving "action." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RodneyM.Jan 26, 2007
I could watch this movie a million times and still love it. Sure the soundtrack sucked and the dialouge can get a bit cheesey, but his has great action sequences and anyone who loves the game should definitely watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DanW.Apr 14, 2007
It's basically a b-movie with decent special effects. most of the plot elements and characters feel lifted from other movies. and the plot holes are big enough to drive a tank through it. But the futuristic city is very nice looking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidAug 17, 2008
I would have to totally agree with "A movie critic" on this one. This was a great movie that i just saw not too long ago (it's August of 2008). I had not seen these movies because of all the bad reviews i heard about from everyone. I I would have to totally agree with "A movie critic" on this one. This was a great movie that i just saw not too long ago (it's August of 2008). I had not seen these movies because of all the bad reviews i heard about from everyone. I love the games! I thought the first movie could have been better but this second one was great! It had a lot of references to the 2nd and 3rd RE games. No movie can be just like the game but i thought this one did a good enough job. As for a Zombie movie, I thought this movie was one of the best! If it wasn't for it being based on a game, i bet it would have gotten a higher score! Overall, very pleased! now i can't wait to see the 3rd one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeenanS.Jun 16, 2009
This is the least of the live-action trilogy, but it's still a highly enjoyable and over-the-top action film. Sure some fight scenes were a bit cheesy, but the rest of the film makes up for that by having Milla Jovovich kick a great This is the least of the live-action trilogy, but it's still a highly enjoyable and over-the-top action film. Sure some fight scenes were a bit cheesy, but the rest of the film makes up for that by having Milla Jovovich kick a great deal of ass. The Nemesis fights were pretty awesome and the film never got boring. People complained about the story, but I had no real gripes with it. This film was a great zombie action film that is great popcorn fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChuckM.Dec 10, 2005
Not having played the games, I have no idea why it swung from being an anti-zombie movie to fighting the creature Nemesis / corporation. Where did the zombies suddenly go, and why did they stop being the major issue?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KashiKOct 22, 2006
This movie is outstanding. The actors are perfect models for the actual Resident evil characters. Seinna Guillory is perfect for Jill Valentine as well. The action is outstanding and the story is great. It kinda gets off the track of the This movie is outstanding. The actors are perfect models for the actual Resident evil characters. Seinna Guillory is perfect for Jill Valentine as well. The action is outstanding and the story is great. It kinda gets off the track of the Resident Evil games but who cares? It's an outstanding movie with great action. You must purchase this movie to see some real great action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ArkonBladeMar 23, 2011
well its alittle more on track with the game series not by alot but more then the first film. its abit of a hybred between the second film and third . i do like that they added jill and the nemesis was a nice touch . theres some nice actionwell its alittle more on track with the game series not by alot but more then the first film. its abit of a hybred between the second film and third . i do like that they added jill and the nemesis was a nice touch . theres some nice action but still the story doesnt really flow much with the game series which is dissapointing . overal it was ok and thats about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerSep 12, 2011
Better than the first, more intense and better action, but it leaves so many questions unanswered, or just ignores what it had previously set in stone, but if you liked the first you'll like this one, and I can't wait to see what happens inBetter than the first, more intense and better action, but it leaves so many questions unanswered, or just ignores what it had previously set in stone, but if you liked the first you'll like this one, and I can't wait to see what happens in the next movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jp992751Jan 26, 2011
The plot made little sense and some of the action was too CG to enjoy, and even though it fell way below the standard of the first, Apocalypse is still enjoyable enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
HalfwelshmanJan 26, 2012
For the first ten minutes or so of Resident Evil: Apocalypse, you could be forgiven for thinking you're about to watch a decent film. Don't be fooled, Apocalypse is really quite awful. The budget may have increased, but the story isFor the first ten minutes or so of Resident Evil: Apocalypse, you could be forgiven for thinking you're about to watch a decent film. Don't be fooled, Apocalypse is really quite awful. The budget may have increased, but the story is meandering and ridiculous, characterisation non-existent, acting wooden, and script all too often unintentionally hilarious. It breaks my heart to see decent actors like Thomas Kretschmann and Jared Harris (who's the best thing in this film by quite a way - at least he attempts to imbue his character with a degree of humanity) involved in schlock like this. It's really quite an achievement for filmmakers to imbue their characters with so little life that they start to resemble the reanimated corpses that they're fighting - almost the entire cast act like they're part of amateur dramatics society, and not a good one at that, this even goes for Milla Jovovich, with all her charisma and ability to kick your face off with her sturdy boots. The bigger budget really didn't help matters, and just gave director Alexander Witt an excuse to waste money on boring and poorly executed set pieces. Yes, there is more running, gunning and explosions than in the first film, but at least the action the first Resident Evil did have was entertaining (do you have anything to match the laser scene, Apocalypse? I think not). Unfortunately, Resident Evil: Apocalypse is the kind of film that'll stay with you for a very long time, as its sheer ineptitude and soullessness truly is the stuff of nightmares. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
hoops2448Oct 16, 2011
What a soulless, lifeless, emotionless pile of drivel. Resident Evil: Apocalypse takes all the camp video game fun of the 1st film and chucks it on the cutting room floor for the zombie dogs to eat. Milla Jovovich returns as Alice to killWhat a soulless, lifeless, emotionless pile of drivel. Resident Evil: Apocalypse takes all the camp video game fun of the 1st film and chucks it on the cutting room floor for the zombie dogs to eat. Milla Jovovich returns as Alice to kill some more zombie ass and take some more names and she is joined by some even more stunted characters on her way in the shape of Sienna Guillory's Jill Valentine (who managed to make her even more idiotic than the video game version) and Oded Fehr's Carlos Olivera (the dud from Resident Evil 3). Although at first it tries to build a tone of dark and depressing (I mean it is the zombie apocalypse) it quickly realises its failing and turns back to camp, but throws so much of it at the viewer its like watching West Side Story and Flash Gordon all at the same time. Long story short, its terrible and a little part of your soul will be gone after watching this. you might even forget how to talk properly and have a hankering for human flesh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BrandonBonaseraJan 27, 2017
Resident Evil: Apocalypse, though sillier and more mindless than its predecessor, entertains with its over-the-top action sequences and its brisk pacing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
KiraseDec 8, 2012
Waiting for the next episode of "The Walking Dead" i decided to waste some time on different zombie movies in the meantime. So i picked my RE trilogy box from its shelve and started RE: Apocalypse. Why is it so bad? They just took most partsWaiting for the next episode of "The Walking Dead" i decided to waste some time on different zombie movies in the meantime. So i picked my RE trilogy box from its shelve and started RE: Apocalypse. Why is it so bad? They just took most parts out of the "zombie movie creator box", put far too many action hero cool guy stereotypes on top and spiced it up with some special effects. Can barely call the result a movie. "Do we have a church as hiding place yet? - Yep". "Lets have some guy in there who is complaining that our heroes have to leave immediately and find their own place to hide". "Also some priest who is hiding his mutated sister or whatever". "Yep that cool stuff, lets do that. But we also have to set some focus on our main character and point out that shes a pretty cool guy. Lets have her smoking some cigarettes and refusing offered handshakes at the same time to make her look really badass"
Guess why the walking dead series has good ratings and this unbearable movie not?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Ven-WedeFeb 18, 2012
The Resident Evil films are the lowest form of both action and horror, and Apocalypse is not an exception -- in fact, it is the iteration that successfully destroyed any potential that the series might have had to thrill or entertain. It actsThe Resident Evil films are the lowest form of both action and horror, and Apocalypse is not an exception -- in fact, it is the iteration that successfully destroyed any potential that the series might have had to thrill or entertain. It acts as a figurative melting pot of ideas from W.S. Anderson, who has apparently watched a couple of gameplay videos of the Resident Evil games, but has never actually played one himself. Aside from the diabolically pathetic 'plot', the movie boasts lingering and repetitive action sequences, which are unequivocally textbook in execution. Included in this tour-de-farce is a hackneyed story, flagrant slow motion, unnecessary angled camera shots, embarrassing one-liners, paper-thin characters, dreadful dialogue... okay, you get the picture -- it sucks; avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
venceNov 17, 2013
Wow this movie is terrible stay away from it and save a couple million of your neurons, that are going to die if you watch this, just when we think Hollywood can sink no further, we get a piece of art like this to disprove us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
jetpackulleySep 12, 2012
Really, what's wrong?! The first one sucked hell, and now, this one too? I expected it to be a little more improving but I'm afraid I got to say it worsens to the slightenest bit! I did not like it and if the third is as **** as this one, GodReally, what's wrong?! The first one sucked hell, and now, this one too? I expected it to be a little more improving but I'm afraid I got to say it worsens to the slightenest bit! I did not like it and if the third is as **** as this one, God forbid me to keep watching the Resident Evil series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chidimeJan 22, 2017
Haters (critics) can hate, but the movie was good and better than most action movies out there. Incredible action and even more incredible acting. Suck on that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Meth-dudeAug 13, 2014
The first one was better than him but he has a good cast good fight scenes but the zombies are still cheap.There is also too many characters who died after 30 seconds like Nikolai(Zack Ward).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesFeb 8, 2015
With a plot as lifeless as the zombies of this movie, underdeveloped characters, questionable pacing and incoherent direction, "Resident Evil: Apocalypse" will only please traditionalist fans. All others need not to apply.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
walker14Apr 20, 2014
Once again, I don't get why people don't like the movie. They introduced the Nemesis, and it was pretty awesome! There are zombies, a lot of them, and other mutations... and Valentine! I mean, WOW. What a movie! Beside of having a lot ofOnce again, I don't get why people don't like the movie. They introduced the Nemesis, and it was pretty awesome! There are zombies, a lot of them, and other mutations... and Valentine! I mean, WOW. What a movie! Beside of having a lot of action moments, it has really intense ones. The fight between Alice and Nemesis, for example. It makes you hold your breath every single minute! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SiAScORCHNov 5, 2014
While Resident Evil means a lot to me, this movie is alright. It's worth watching if you have the time, and if you can own it for cheap I wouldn't pass up on that. I thought the first one was better, though this does have some more action inWhile Resident Evil means a lot to me, this movie is alright. It's worth watching if you have the time, and if you can own it for cheap I wouldn't pass up on that. I thought the first one was better, though this does have some more action in a different way. You're introduced to Nemesis and you get to see some good action throughout the movie. With that being said, if you're looking for something to watch then this movie isn't nearly as bad as the ratings make it seem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoJul 26, 2015
Here the three Resident Evil this movie bored me good scenes , but actually as few boring inmotivatoriamente three worst this and the last two but I toiled .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KayVen17Aug 27, 2016
Deutsche Review - Kritik

Story: 11/25 Punkte
Schauspieler: 16/25 Punkte
Bearbeitung: 19/25 Punkte
Sound: 14/25 Punkte

Gesamtpunktzahl

60/100 Punkte
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FilmMasterEddyAug 13, 2016
Perhaps the least necessary movie sequel since “Benji: Off the Leash,” “Resident Evil: Apocalypse” picks up where the surprisingly profitable 2000 original left off, telling another tale of T-Virus-infected zombies wreaking havoc in fictionalPerhaps the least necessary movie sequel since “Benji: Off the Leash,” “Resident Evil: Apocalypse” picks up where the surprisingly profitable 2000 original left off, telling another tale of T-Virus-infected zombies wreaking havoc in fictional Raccoon City. Calamitously uninspired and borderline incoherent, new pic lacks even those fleeting pleasures (namely, a sense of humor) that made the first film a passable popcorn attraction.

Conceived as a prequel of sorts to the enormously popular videogame series, which in turn owes more than a bit to George Romero’s “Living Dead” trilogy, first “Resident Evil” pic depicted the outbreak of the corpse-reanimating T-Virus in the underground lab (known as the Hive) of the sinister Umbrella Corp. Trapped inside during the ensuing lockdown, a small band of uninfected survivors tried to escape. In the end only two did: amnesiac security guard Alice (Milla Jovovich) and Matt (Eric Mabius) who was searching for his missing sister. Just when it seemed as though the worst was over, Alice and Matt were abducted by shadowy Umbrella employees amid talk of something called the Nemesis program. (New pic was originally known as “Resident Evil: Nemesis,” until the failure of the bigscreen “Star Trek” entry bearing that same subtitle.)

At the beginning of “Apocalypse,” all seems well again in Raccoon City. Then, in the interest of figuring out “what exactly happened down there,” some Umbrella honchos approve the reopening of the Hive, which in turn unleashes a new wave of zombie terror on the unsuspecting city above.

Interested only in preserving its corporate image, Umbrella Corp. seals off Raccoon City, allowing its denizens to gradually devour each other.

Umbrella does try to evacuate a few “high-priority extractions,” including paraplegic company scientist Dr. Ashford (Jared Harris) and his teenage daughter, Angie (Sophie Vavasseur). But the SUV transporting the girl crashes, stranding her amid the zombie infestation.

Meanwhile, another posse of survivors is forming, led once again by Alice, who has been infected, guinea pig-style, by Umbrella Corp. with both the T-Virus and its antivirus.

Along for the ride are tough-talking female cop Jill Valentine (Sienna Guillory, in vidgame-esque tight-fitting top and ultra-miniskirt), the leader of Umbrella Corp.’s elite tactical rescue team (Oded Fehr); and the obligatory fast-talking hustler type (Mike Epps).

Unable to get help for Angie from Umbrella’s nefarious Major Cain (Thomas Kretschmann), Dr. Ashford promises to provide Alice and her group with safe passage out of Raccoon City for the safe return of his daughter. So begins a tiresome game of cat-and-mouse, as the rescuers make their way toward the girl while doing battle with the same assortment of baddies introduced in the previous pic.

The only major new element is the Nemesis creature itself — a giant monster that may or may not be a mutated version of the Matt character from the first pic. Otherwise, new pic is less an advance on its predecessor than a re-staging. But dramatic energy is dissipated in transposing the setting from the claustrophobic, bunker-like environs of the Hive to the spacious city.

First-time director Alexander Witt seems at a greater loss than previous helmer Paul W.S. Anderson in staging action sequences. The movie is so underlit and overcut it is frequently impossible to discern what’s happening. If this were a videogame, one would be compelled to return it to the store for a refund.

As before, pic racks up some novelty value for its willingness to let its heroines do as much or more of the ass-kicking as its heroes, though Guillory doesn’t seem to be having nearly as good a time as Jovovich.

But the whole enterprise registers as a missed opportunity when one considers the satirical potential of the premise, particularly in this moment of Enron and the other corporate scandals — exactly the sort of sociopolitical subtext Romero has played up in his work and that even this year’s lackluster “Dawn of the Dead” remake tapped into more effectively than this assembly-line offering.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews