Resident Evil: Apocalypse

Resident Evil: Apocalypse Image
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 234 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In this terrifying adventure in survival horror, a deadly virus has been unleashed on the population of Raccoon City. (Sony Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 11 out of 26
  1. 70
    Mr. Anderson's screenplay provides a steady series of inventive action situations, and the director, Alexander Witt, makes the most of them. His work is fast, funny, smart and highly satisfying in terms of visceral impact.
  2. Best enjoyed by keeping in mind the latest cinematic proposition that apocalyptic disaster doesn't bring out the worst in people, only the stupidest.
  3. 50
    There is nothing startlingly new in Resident Evil: Apocalpyse, but it is delivered with some panache and humor.
  4. 40
    This is efficient, soul-numbing moviemaking, diverting enough for blistering September afternoons when what's onscreen is secondary to how high they've cranked the air conditioning.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    30
    Calamitously uninspired and borderline incoherent, new pic lacks even those fleeting pleasures (namely, a sense of humor) that made the first film a passable popcorn attraction.
  6. 30
    Not a fraction as scary as George Romero's low-budget "Night of the Living Dead." Fans of the first installment will probably like this too--it's essentially the same movie, plus helicopters and lots of flying glass.
  7. 12
    An utterly meaningless waste of time...It is a dead zone, a film without interest, wit, imagination or even entertaining violence and special effects.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 74
  2. Negative: 28 out of 74
  1. Jun 23, 2015
    10
    This Film is incredible, it's exact with Resident Evil 2 and Resident Evil: Nemesis.It's incredible with the special Effect and JillThis Film is incredible, it's exact with Resident Evil 2 and Resident Evil: Nemesis.It's incredible with the special Effect and Jill Valentine and Alice are an amazing couple Expand
  2. KashiK
    Oct 22, 2006
    9
    This movie is outstanding. The actors are perfect models for the actual Resident evil characters. Seinna Guillory is perfect for Jill This movie is outstanding. The actors are perfect models for the actual Resident evil characters. Seinna Guillory is perfect for Jill Valentine as well. The action is outstanding and the story is great. It kinda gets off the track of the Resident Evil games but who cares? It's an outstanding movie with great action. You must purchase this movie to see some real great action. Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2010
    9
    i liked this film it was a very good action movie and provided a fair amount suspense throughout the story. the cast also performed well theyi liked this film it was a very good action movie and provided a fair amount suspense throughout the story. the cast also performed well they were all convincing throughout the movie. it certainly provided a step up from resident evil Collapse
  4. AntB.
    Sep 23, 2005
    5
    I have to say, this movie was 100% better than the last, it had SOME relation to the movie at least and a couple of hiden scenes based on the I have to say, this movie was 100% better than the last, it had SOME relation to the movie at least and a couple of hiden scenes based on the games. I hate the fact that Alice, once again is back, and she lives through another stupid near death experience. I don't like the way they used Nemesis....... I CANT! Nemesis will rule all!!!! I tell ya! But in this movie, Anderson did a HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE job with the placement, role, and scenes with Nemesis. The Nemesis in RE3:Nemesis, would go after S.T.A.R.S members which, hence, is the purpose of the B.O.W. But in the movie, he was commanded to take out S.T.A.R.S, not on his own will. Nemesis was also created for hand-to-hand combat, not to actually use the chaingun or Rocket Launcher, which thankfully was there. In the game, he used the RL, true, but he overly used it in the movie. Jill's role was bad too. Jill sucked... Where was Brad? Where's the plot with Nicholia (The main thing in RE3!) ?!!! Alot of things were wrong with Nemesis, the cast, and the movie itself, but alas, as a Resident Evil die-hard fan, I must go where the plot and stuff takes me. So for now, I''m happy with a 5/10, but not happy with the ending results of the movie. I will be fully happy with the movies, when Alice finally meets the ground.....in hell. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2013
    3
    Generic action movie that is using the "Resident evil" title to achieve profit. The first movie was rather badly done with a lot of potentialGeneric action movie that is using the "Resident evil" title to achieve profit. The first movie was rather badly done with a lot of potential wasted, but this one is nothing more than the next installment in a never ending franchise. The quality will get lower and lower with every movie, but they will not stop making them as long as they can generate profit. I can not recommend this to anyone. Expand
  6. Buninho
    Jul 25, 2007
    3
    the only thing good in this movie, is the fact that Nemesis it's well done maked..but come on..why they don't make the ORIGINAL the only thing good in this movie, is the fact that Nemesis it's well done maked..but come on..why they don't make the ORIGINAL STORY? Men, the movies are pretty bad..entretainig, but they don't have nothing to do with the great story that charmed me in '90's...oh well, i guess there's no hope for the resident evil:exticion (aka resident evil 3)...still, I LOVE RESIDENT EVIL!!!! AAAAAAAAH! Expand
  7. DanielR.
    Sep 19, 2005
    0
    Just think of it as pieces lifted from any number of the Living Dead flicks--just about any one of which has it over this thing, poorly Just think of it as pieces lifted from any number of the Living Dead flicks--just about any one of which has it over this thing, poorly remembered views of Milla Jovovich as she was in Fifth Element, patently CGI effects, and assorted random and uninvolving "action." Expand

See all 74 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: August 27, 2010
    In this week's installment, watch the latest clips and trailers for "Red," "127 Hours," "Resident Evil: Apocalypse," and Sofia Coppola's "Somewhere," plus get news about "Mission: Impossible IV" and other upcoming films.
  2. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.