Screen Gems | Release Date: September 21, 2007
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 265 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
135
Mixed:
80
Negative:
50
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Resident Evil: Extinction" is so crappy, it even makes "Resident Evil: Apocalypse" look like a masterpiece.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
PaulS.Oct 1, 2007
This movies vies with "Starship Troopers" as quite possibly the worst movie ever made. Really. Nothing in this movie was well done, by anyone.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Jan 2, 2008
Contrary to the narration that explains Earth's current state, black crows(and photogenic women) were able to survive the nuclear blast that ended life as people and animals alike knew it. "Resident Evil: Extinction" already has Contrary to the narration that explains Earth's current state, black crows(and photogenic women) were able to survive the nuclear blast that ended life as people and animals alike knew it. "Resident Evil: Extinction" already has zombies, but they spend most of their time clamoring to invade a millitary complex. The zombies mostly just stand around in an agitated state of zombie-ness. When the undead do attack, they all emerge from the same container. If one of the pretty people had a grenade, that preemptive strike would've negated the ensuing battle. Out of desperation, the pretty people are also attacked by computer-generated undead crows. Those crows had a better strategy than the zombies. "Resident Evil: Extinction" is bad at sci-fi, bad at action, and bad at zombies. It also makes you feel bad for Milla Jovovich, who deserves a shot at a role that requires her to act. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
MichaelV.Oct 4, 2007
This is absolutely one of the worst films i have ever seen in my life it makes the cat in the hat look like the best film ever created i wanted to gouge my eyes out with rusty blades covered in aids i want to sew the makers for wasting 2 This is absolutely one of the worst films i have ever seen in my life it makes the cat in the hat look like the best film ever created i wanted to gouge my eyes out with rusty blades covered in aids i want to sew the makers for wasting 2 hours of my life. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
RoryB.Oct 7, 2007
It was like watching an even less funny version of epic movie. Trying to identify the blatant rip offs of Mad Max, Day of the Dead, the Birds, Aliens and Tomb Raider was the only thing that helped my mind stay focused.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
ChrisS.Feb 13, 2008
This is, by FAR, the worst of the series. A crappy beginning, a stupid zombie crow scene, and a terrible fight with "aggressive" Zombies in the ruins of Las vegas are the highlights of this film. The scene where they're trying to This is, by FAR, the worst of the series. A crappy beginning, a stupid zombie crow scene, and a terrible fight with "aggressive" Zombies in the ruins of Las vegas are the highlights of this film. The scene where they're trying to "domesticate" the zombie in the interrogation-style room was so terrible, I actually either fast-forward through it, or switch the TV input and watch something else for 5 minutes. And that ending...WTF? I'm coming for you guys...with 500 clones of me...you'll recognize me though, I'll be wearing my Queen of the Clones crown! Topped off by how stupid the zombies look and how the T-Virus can magically turn the entire planet into a barren wasteland. I loved the first RE, I loved the second RE even more. Now, thanks to this, I probably won't see the fourth. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
GatsbyJ.Oct 19, 2007
-This movie sure did suck; I mean, I've seen some movies suck before, but this was the suckiest bunch `a suck that ever sucked.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
LukeM.Oct 2, 2007
One of the worst movie's I've seen in a long time. One of those you just start laughing at the lines cause there so bad and not something someone would say in that situation. It was just shoot em up, go to the next level/room do it One of the worst movie's I've seen in a long time. One of those you just start laughing at the lines cause there so bad and not something someone would say in that situation. It was just shoot em up, go to the next level/room do it again(very boring approach). Couldn't wait for it be over, I didn't care who lived or died, there was no involvement in the characters. It felt so far from the first RE. And the ending was a huge scare cause it looked like they may try to make another one. At least it couldn't be worse. Prob just jinxed it! She should of wore skimpier clothing if they were going to fail at every other aspect of the film. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
[Anonymous]Oct 8, 2007
Resident Evil films have NOTHING to do with the plotlines or characters from the games, which actually have some substance and intrigue. How they ever managed to finance no 2, let alone 3, is beyond me. Save yourself $10 bucks and go buy Resident Evil films have NOTHING to do with the plotlines or characters from the games, which actually have some substance and intrigue. How they ever managed to finance no 2, let alone 3, is beyond me. Save yourself $10 bucks and go buy resident evil 2 for playstation, you'll enjoy it far more and get a taste for real survival horror instead of farfetched action sequences. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
VinnieSep 25, 2007
You people are insane if you like these movies. They are terrible. My girlfriend as forced me to watch each one and they all are terrible. W.S Paul is a terrible director. His AvP was one of the worst movie made, and there doesn't seem You people are insane if you like these movies. They are terrible. My girlfriend as forced me to watch each one and they all are terrible. W.S Paul is a terrible director. His AvP was one of the worst movie made, and there doesn't seem to be a consistent flow to any of his movies. I'll give it a 2 because some how he must be making money off these films. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JasonL.Sep 27, 2007
There are plenty of decent zombie movies out there, this isn't one of them.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
StevenH.Jan 5, 2008
The first 2 resident evil movies weren't good. This one was plain terrible. Seriously, zombies that can climb the Eiffel tower (a replica, I know) but can't break down or climb over a CHAIN LINK FENCE? Are you kidding me?
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JohnG.Mar 19, 2008
This film is awful. There are so many things that are bad about this film. The zombies look ridiculous, The plot is awful, it has almost no relevance to the actual games WHATSOEVER. I watched it days ago and I still can't believe how This film is awful. There are so many things that are bad about this film. The zombies look ridiculous, The plot is awful, it has almost no relevance to the actual games WHATSOEVER. I watched it days ago and I still can't believe how bad it is. Some of the concepts are just stupid, like a virus turning large areas (like the WHOLE UNITED STATES) into a desert, or zombie that can barely walk in one scene, but are climbing replica Eiffel towers in the next. Oh yeah, and Alice's Matrix powers (do you remember Alice from the games? I sure don't). Don't forget the scene where they are shooting at 10,000 birds with handguns. It could be nitpicking, but the film deserves it. Worst one in the trilogy, The makers should be whipped for making this piece of ####, Nuff said, SEE YA. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
PaolaM.Nov 2, 2007
I don't think I had ever really left a movie theater before... but this was just too crappy to watch until the end.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
RyencokeSep 21, 2007
Well, this was easily the worst one of the 3. Even though the other 2 did suck. Paul Anderson needs to learn how to write a proper script with a decent storyline and that has some material which relates to the game in some way. Avoid this one
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JeffryRSep 22, 2007
I was very disappointed. I REALLY loved the first two movies, and this one was horrible There were some cool effects, but the story wasn't anywhere close to the first two. It was very aimless in plot, and no real character development I was very disappointed. I REALLY loved the first two movies, and this one was horrible There were some cool effects, but the story wasn't anywhere close to the first two. It was very aimless in plot, and no real character development -- plus Alice wasn't utilized effectively emotionally AT ALL. The ending was just plain stupid. I can't express how disappointed I am -- I've been waiting 2 years to see this piece of trash and wish it had never been made. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MovieLonely94Oct 19, 2010
do you obviously think that those morons decided to make another movie after the first two movies were boring as h***? how stupid are these guys? I mean, Its like they knew they were going to make some more sequels just to make it easier fordo you obviously think that those morons decided to make another movie after the first two movies were boring as h***? how stupid are these guys? I mean, Its like they knew they were going to make some more sequels just to make it easier for us. so, what about this one? oh, yeah. its so frickin stupid. I mean they parodied Alfred **** Birds in one of the scenes during this piece of crap. thats the reason why it sucked. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
HalfwelshmanJan 29, 2012
Resident Evil: Extinction is a pretty shabby film, but a damn sight better than its predecessor, Apocalypse (though this isn't saying much - contracting leprosy is preferable to watching Apocalypse). The storyline is a dumb as ever, theResident Evil: Extinction is a pretty shabby film, but a damn sight better than its predecessor, Apocalypse (though this isn't saying much - contracting leprosy is preferable to watching Apocalypse). The storyline is a dumb as ever, the characters and script dull and clunky. Giving main protagonist Alice (Milla Jovovich) destructive telekinetic powers was also a mistake - making her such an unstoppable force of nature certainly limits our ability to empathise with her. The cast's performances in general are unremarkable, but at least they actually look like professional actors this time round rather than the highschool drama club-quality performances in Apocalypse. The blatant rip-off of The Birds (though the filmmakers will probably claim that it's a loving tribute) where zombie crows attack is also a new low for the series. What Extinction does have going for it is some pretty entertaining action sequences, creative and brutal zombie kills, and Milla Jovovich wielding a pair of very big knives. Russell Mulcahy (of highlander fame) is also probably the most talented director who's worked on the Resident Evil series thus far - his direction is perfectly competent, with the odd pleasing flourish. Resident Evil: Extinction is a mildly diverting post-apocalyptic film with zombies, action and simplistic, good-looking characters. Should you expect any more from a film like this? Probably not. Does it deliver any more than this? No. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
hoops2448Feb 26, 2012
Sure Resident Evil Extinction isnâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
spadenxDec 26, 2011
I tried to like it, I really did (I am a fan of the video game series) but its just trash. There is so little of a plot to it, That the entire film consists of really dragged on action sequences that are extremely boring. The acting isI tried to like it, I really did (I am a fan of the video game series) but its just trash. There is so little of a plot to it, That the entire film consists of really dragged on action sequences that are extremely boring. The acting is terrible. It has no excitement in it what so ever. The series needs to end because this film proves that its down and out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews