Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 15, 2012
    60
    Anderson utilizes slow-motion 3-D to hyperbolic effect while again casting Jovovich as the epitome of badass sexiness.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Sep 14, 2012
    60
    If it's true that movies can transport you to places you could hardly have imagined, then Resident Evil: Retribution is the cinema's ultimate passport to purgatory.
  3. Sep 15, 2012
    50
    Even devoted fans may wonder whether this installment is actually a haphazard patchwork of outtakes from previous "Resident Evil" pictures.
  4. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Sep 14, 2012
    50
    At this point, the Resident Evil movie franchise has become a personal playground for husband-and-wife team Paul W.S. Anderson and Milla Jovovich; every few years, they find another excuse to pit Jovovich's videogame-inspired dark superhero, Alice, against zombies and other gruesome monsters.
  5. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Sep 14, 2012
    50
    It's the closest thing you'll find yet to a recreation of a video game sensibility on the big screen - which is in line with the franchise's source material - and makes for a memorably unsettling if not particularly satisfying viewing experience.
  6. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Sep 21, 2012
    40
    Giant brains with teeth, suburban mutant zombies, more bullets than a John Woo film festival, and hot girls in skin-tight S&M outfits pummelling each other to a deafening dubstep soundtrack. If you're looking for brainless, blood-guzzling carnage, you've found it.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 19, 2012
    40
    Jovovich's physicality and chilly mien (she was originally a "project" of the Umbrella Corp.) carry the series from start to … whenever it finishes, which might not be for quite a while yet.
  8. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Sep 15, 2012
    40
    Taking place almost entirely inside computer-simulated global locations, "Retribution" moves closer than ever to its airless video game roots.
  9. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Sep 14, 2012
    40
    Anderson['s] lavish visual imagination is matched to a placeholder idea of character that's almost avant-garde in its generic stylization, dialogue buffed of personality by passing through 10,000 previous movies.
  10. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Sep 14, 2012
    40
    As always, Jovovich's game face is admirable - whether giving gunslinger shade or play-acting a protective mother storyline straight-outta-Cameron. But it can't be easy when all around her are line readings that recall the glory days of baroquely dull foreign-movie dubbing.
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 357 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 103
  2. Negative: 49 out of 103
  1. Sep 16, 2012
    1
    How is it possible? another character that has nothing to do with the history of "resident evil", main characters "Leo and Ada" are secondaryHow is it possible? another character that has nothing to do with the history of "resident evil", main characters "Leo and Ada" are secondary characters in this film, Leo has no strength in the movie, when is the opposite in the video game story. Bad edit and direction, lousy script; Wesker is a bad joke, the music is terrible, as bad as it usually goes in amateur short films. How many money actually used in the production? Seems like a fanmovie, except actors (for the cost not quality), about that Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    This has been the only movie I have ever gone back to the theaters so I could watch it again. The only reason I feel compelled to write aThis has been the only movie I have ever gone back to the theaters so I could watch it again. The only reason I feel compelled to write a review is because: 1) The movie theater was almost empty both times i went to watch it. 2) The reviews are mostly negative. I have never seen any of the past movies or played the games. I only went with a few friends just to kill time and I am happy I did. Now the negative critics say it wasn Full Review »
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    4
    All i can say for the positives of this film are the CG parts. Anything else that is part of this movie is a disgrace to the resident
    evil
    All i can say for the positives of this film are the CG parts. Anything else that is part of this movie is a disgrace to the resident
    evil franchise. Looks like the films and games of the resident evil
    franchise have just fallen to a new low. This film has bad editing, one fight scene, i felt my eyes hurting due
    to the choppy editing, most of the acting is awful, i could not stand
    it. The script is stupid and wants us to care for undeveloped
    characters with parts that just seem too rushed and skipped. Also the
    main antagonist of this film (Red Queen) just keeps popping up and it
    seems really cheesy when she does, as they follow the antagonists
    through the scenes.

    Overall, instead of spending money on a piece of s**t action movie
    (Which will definitely get bad reviews and make a profit) , they should
    invest in a reboot of the whole franchise, creating a much darker and
    scarier film. Preferably based off Resident Evil 4 (The Game) and lose
    all of the stupid writing and pointless action. They also need to get a
    good actor for Lyon, as the actor in this movie was horrible and had
    too much muscle on him.

    It is a B movie at best, due to all the pointless action and CGI, but other than that it has taken a new route of stupid in the Resident Evil franchise.
    Full Review »