Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Sep 21, 2012
    40
    Giant brains with teeth, suburban mutant zombies, more bullets than a John Woo film festival, and hot girls in skin-tight S&M outfits pummelling each other to a deafening dubstep soundtrack. If you're looking for brainless, blood-guzzling carnage, you've found it.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 19, 2012
    40
    Jovovich's physicality and chilly mien (she was originally a "project" of the Umbrella Corp.) carry the series from start to … whenever it finishes, which might not be for quite a while yet.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 15, 2012
    60
    Anderson utilizes slow-motion 3-D to hyperbolic effect while again casting Jovovich as the epitome of badass sexiness.
  4. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Sep 15, 2012
    40
    Taking place almost entirely inside computer-simulated global locations, "Retribution" moves closer than ever to its airless video game roots.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 15, 2012
    20
    Thuddingly awful.
  6. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Sep 15, 2012
    16
    It's a testament to the movie's lack of creativity that Anderson can't even rip off "Aliens" and have it come across as anything less than totally boring.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Sep 15, 2012
    38
    Funny about retribution, though - it's a tricky thing to make time for when you've still got mutant zombie hordes after you. The real premise turns out to be a busy rehash of the first movie's story line.
  8. Sep 15, 2012
    50
    Even devoted fans may wonder whether this installment is actually a haphazard patchwork of outtakes from previous "Resident Evil" pictures.
  9. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Sep 14, 2012
    88
    At this point in the franchise, Anderson is content to alight the saga on a perpetual rewind loop, ever-ending, ever-rebooting, all subsidized by his nonpareil compositional sense.
  10. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Sep 14, 2012
    67
    Writer-director W.S. Anderson's overseeing of the Resident Evil zombie franchise has proven to be both lunatically haphazard and dementedly enthusiastic.
  11. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Sep 14, 2012
    60
    If it's true that movies can transport you to places you could hardly have imagined, then Resident Evil: Retribution is the cinema's ultimate passport to purgatory.
  12. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Sep 14, 2012
    50
    At this point, the Resident Evil movie franchise has become a personal playground for husband-and-wife team Paul W.S. Anderson and Milla Jovovich; every few years, they find another excuse to pit Jovovich's videogame-inspired dark superhero, Alice, against zombies and other gruesome monsters.
  13. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Sep 14, 2012
    50
    It's the closest thing you'll find yet to a recreation of a video game sensibility on the big screen - which is in line with the franchise's source material - and makes for a memorably unsettling if not particularly satisfying viewing experience.
  14. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Sep 14, 2012
    40
    Anderson['s] lavish visual imagination is matched to a placeholder idea of character that's almost avant-garde in its generic stylization, dialogue buffed of personality by passing through 10,000 previous movies.
  15. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Sep 14, 2012
    40
    As always, Jovovich's game face is admirable - whether giving gunslinger shade or play-acting a protective mother storyline straight-outta-Cameron. But it can't be easy when all around her are line readings that recall the glory days of baroquely dull foreign-movie dubbing.
  16. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Sep 14, 2012
    30
    She's (Milla Jovovich) constantly being besieged by a seemingly never-ending series of monsters, and we -- at least every couple of years or so -- are forced to sit through yet another installment of the mind-numbing series.
  17. Reviewed by: Adam Litovitz
    Sep 13, 2012
    38
    A few striking images keep our attention – like evil warrior Rain (Michelle Rodriguez) seated menacingly with an assault rifle on a playground swing in the 'burbs. But the film's title promises payback, without offering ample compensation.
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 342 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 98
  2. Negative: 47 out of 98
  1. Sep 16, 2012
    1
    How is it possible? another character that has nothing to do with the history of "resident evil", main characters "Leo and Ada" are secondary characters in this film, Leo has no strength in the movie, when is the opposite in the video game story. Bad edit and direction, lousy script; Wesker is a bad joke, the music is terrible, as bad as it usually goes in amateur short films. How many money actually used in the production? Seems like a fanmovie, except actors (for the cost not quality), about that Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    This has been the only movie I have ever gone back to the theaters so I could watch it again. The only reason I feel compelled to write a review is because: 1) The movie theater was almost empty both times i went to watch it. 2) The reviews are mostly negative. I have never seen any of the past movies or played the games. I only went with a few friends just to kill time and I am happy I did. Now the negative critics say it wasn Full Review »
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    4
    All i can say for the positives of this film are the CG parts. Anything else that is part of this movie is a disgrace to the resident
    evil
    franchise. Looks like the films and games of the resident evil
    franchise have just fallen to a new low. This film has bad editing, one fight scene, i felt my eyes hurting due
    to the choppy editing, most of the acting is awful, i could not stand
    it. The script is stupid and wants us to care for undeveloped
    characters with parts that just seem too rushed and skipped. Also the
    main antagonist of this film (Red Queen) just keeps popping up and it
    seems really cheesy when she does, as they follow the antagonists
    through the scenes.

    Overall, instead of spending money on a piece of s**t action movie
    (Which will definitely get bad reviews and make a profit) , they should
    invest in a reboot of the whole franchise, creating a much darker and
    scarier film. Preferably based off Resident Evil 4 (The Game) and lose
    all of the stupid writing and pointless action. They also need to get a
    good actor for Lyon, as the actor in this movie was horrible and had
    too much muscle on him.

    It is a B movie at best, due to all the pointless action and CGI, but other than that it has taken a new route of stupid in the Resident Evil franchise.
    Full Review »