User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 356 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 28, 2013
    7
    I've never played on of the Resident Evil video games, but I have seen every movie. I do know that the movies are very different than the games, they focus on action as opposed to the game which focus on horror so fans of the games are probably going to be upset with this film. I can say that I enjoyed the movie, it's not the ending to the series like I thought it was going to be, butI've never played on of the Resident Evil video games, but I have seen every movie. I do know that the movies are very different than the games, they focus on action as opposed to the game which focus on horror so fans of the games are probably going to be upset with this film. I can say that I enjoyed the movie, it's not the ending to the series like I thought it was going to be, but rather a new way to keep them going. I guess as long as they can still get money from the movies they'll keep making more and as a fan I'll keep watching them. Once again the film gives us more characters from the Resident Evil (Leon, Ada Wong, Barry, and a few others) games to star alongside their own main character Alice and act as fan service. I predict that just like in the other films the game characters will just sort of vanish without a reason what so ever and we'll be left to wonder what happened to them. As far as the film itself goes it's not that bad and probably has the most cohesive plot of them all, and I really enjoyed even though it's not perfect. But then again I am a fan of the other movies, and Retribution is just giving me more of what I enjoyed about the other movies and that's bombastic, non-stop action. It's good flick, but if you didn't enjoy the other movies you wont enjoy this one either. So if your a fan by all means watch it, if not skip it. Oh, and newcomers are probably better watching the other movies first so their not completely in the dark with what's going on. Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil: Retribution is by far the best (if not the greatest) film in the series. Though this film may have some errors such as cheesy dialogue and odd editing at the start of the film, it is redeem by it's great special effects, great 3D and it's non-stop entertainment. This film will not only become the greatest instalment in the series for fans, but a guilty pleasure for others.Resident Evil: Retribution is by far the best (if not the greatest) film in the series. Though this film may have some errors such as cheesy dialogue and odd editing at the start of the film, it is redeem by it's great special effects, great 3D and it's non-stop entertainment. This film will not only become the greatest instalment in the series for fans, but a guilty pleasure for others. It's cheese, humour, jump scares and video game-esque, well crafted action scenes create an ultimate entertainment experience for viewers. This film is not for everyone, but if you are a fan of the series or dumb fun action flicks, then this is for you. Expand
  3. Sep 16, 2012
    9
    Mind relaxing, bullets flying. It does what it is designed to do. Just when you are tired of all the summer PG13 rated fight scenes here comes another round of Resident Evil with its R rated goodies. It is a more finely tuned instrument than its previous movies. The fight scenes are shot real well and old crew is all there so you never feel like they left any of the actors behind. I neverMind relaxing, bullets flying. It does what it is designed to do. Just when you are tired of all the summer PG13 rated fight scenes here comes another round of Resident Evil with its R rated goodies. It is a more finely tuned instrument than its previous movies. The fight scenes are shot real well and old crew is all there so you never feel like they left any of the actors behind. I never got bored once and liked this much better than the Total Recall reboot earlier this year. With its top notch CG work and familiar theme I give this one a go. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    Consider this a best of in the RE series: you get to see all the heros, all the zombies and monsters from all the previous films mashed together in an almost continuous action-fest of combat scenes and visual effects. Unfortunately this doesn't mean it's the best RE film, but it's not the worst either. Paul W.S. certainly did a good job of getting as much bang for their 65 million bucks.Consider this a best of in the RE series: you get to see all the heros, all the zombies and monsters from all the previous films mashed together in an almost continuous action-fest of combat scenes and visual effects. Unfortunately this doesn't mean it's the best RE film, but it's not the worst either. Paul W.S. certainly did a good job of getting as much bang for their 65 million bucks. They do try to explain the ludicrous backstory but it gets lost in all the gunfights and explosions and most people won't care anyway. A good 96 mins of braindead entertainment. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2015
    7
    The guilty pleasure franchise continues with more of the same and continues to be strangely watchable in a perverse way. Still not as good as the two animated "ResEvil" features, but "Retribution" is another one for fans of Anderson's series. Roll on the final film.
  6. Oct 12, 2013
    7
    I don't know why people have not seemed to enjoy this movie very much. That's mostly because I haven't seen the other movies or played any of the video games. But really, if this film wasn't brutal at times, this movie would be neck and neck with the Avengers as the best action movie of 2012 for me. It's smart, has head-on battles which are some of the best I've seen in my life, as well asI don't know why people have not seemed to enjoy this movie very much. That's mostly because I haven't seen the other movies or played any of the video games. But really, if this film wasn't brutal at times, this movie would be neck and neck with the Avengers as the best action movie of 2012 for me. It's smart, has head-on battles which are some of the best I've seen in my life, as well as 3-D that even beats Spy Kids 3, and an opening that even beats Spider-Man 2, and for once, isn't over 2 hours. Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    a highly entertaining movie, retribution is an effective return to form for the franchise (afterlife having more plot holes than your average uwe boll film), kevin durand (a very good actor in his own right) portrays barry burton perfectly, johan urb was an okay leon, and li bingbing was a gread ada, the plot explains much of the strange plot occurrences in the last films (how did thea highly entertaining movie, retribution is an effective return to form for the franchise (afterlife having more plot holes than your average uwe boll film), kevin durand (a very good actor in his own right) portrays barry burton perfectly, johan urb was an okay leon, and li bingbing was a gread ada, the plot explains much of the strange plot occurrences in the last films (how did the t-virus escape raccoon city? where is jill? etc.) and the action scenes are well choreographed and entertaining, the 3d is put to decent use (more depth than in-your-face, though a little more in-your-face wouldn't have been bad), the film as a whole is brilliant entertainment. Expand
  8. May 19, 2013
    7
    Just love the girls! And to see your game characters (RE6) come to live amazing! Well, didn't have high hopes for this movie, but came away entertained. Think the next one will be nice all my favourite babes blasting away at the army of undead.
  9. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    come on, this is the most entertaining film i've seen this year, sometimes, you just need to turn that brain down and just let the film take you wherever it will
  10. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    i love this movie, the action is so well done, and the plot is on strong form, considering the rest of the series, kevin durand and li bingbing, (i'm sure i spelt that wrong) do an admirable job, it is awesome.
  11. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    hell of a lot of fun, resident evil retribution is epic, especially in 3d, kevin durand was the best barry burton imaginable, seriously, he kicked ass, it was really amazing
  12. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To be honest, from all the movies, this is probably the one that I like the least.. But, it is still great. I think it could be better in some way but it doesn't mean it wasn't good because it was as much as the others! I did get mad at the movie for some time because of Luther, but I'm still hopeful, anyway, we got Jill back and they introduced some characters from the game (Ada, Leon..) And the world if definitely about to go for good. Good Alice is still alive, and with her powers back! Can't wait for the next movie, love this saga too much! Expand
  13. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    really, really cool, especially in 3d, seriously, go out, drive to the video store, demand this, bring it home, watch it, with popcorn, and you will most certainly adore every minute of it
  14. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    This movie concept does look empty indeed, all I can say is that you will enjoy watching it if you liked the resident evil afterlife; and thats funny because even while being a critic person I actually had a good time watching it just as the afterlife, I don't know, just felt entertaining, so overally I give it an 8
  15. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    the moscow sequence was one of the best action scenes ever made, period. most of the cast does a good job, the action is absolutely badass and amazing, and i don't usually think about this, but the score was really fitting, considering the first had marilyn manson, which was too loud, the second had jeff danna, which was too orchestral, the third had charlie clouser, which was toothe moscow sequence was one of the best action scenes ever made, period. most of the cast does a good job, the action is absolutely badass and amazing, and i don't usually think about this, but the score was really fitting, considering the first had marilyn manson, which was too loud, the second had jeff danna, which was too orchestral, the third had charlie clouser, which was too forgettable, so, musicwise, fourth and fifth are boss, with tomandandy providing a perfect score for perfect asskickings, :) Expand
  16. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Definitely the best film in the series thus far, i must say, jovovich is quite a badass, retribution is well-casted, the action is incredibly entertaining, and it's just a great film all across the board.
  17. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    a really epic action movie, whoever played leon kennedy can suck it, but everyone else did a decent job, the vfx were perfectly done, the storyline is much better than the other films, watch it or you'll be missing out, big time.
  18. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Let me begin by saying that I thiught that The Dark Knight Rises will be the movie of the year but after watching this smart, detailed, well paced, good acting of a film, I am sorry Dark Knight, MIllas Back. This film is as good as The Shawshank Redemption and Titanic, I mean this film has zombies that shoot! They are scary.... BOOOO
  19. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    I love this movie, contains more action and surprises than the previous movie afterlife, although it does not contain much plot, one can say that is good from start to finish, as fans can enjoy a good action in this film.
  20. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    I actually liked the idea of cloning children just to blow them away. It brought the brutality up a notch. The unlimited number of clones of all these characters means the actors are set for a life of silly reboots and rehashes. Hey, it's a paycheck... Michelle Rodriguez ceased being taken seriously as an actor a long time ago, although her multiple roles in this film played on theI actually liked the idea of cloning children just to blow them away. It brought the brutality up a notch. The unlimited number of clones of all these characters means the actors are set for a life of silly reboots and rehashes. Hey, it's a paycheck... Michelle Rodriguez ceased being taken seriously as an actor a long time ago, although her multiple roles in this film played on the strengths of the two characters she knows how to play... Jovovich will have a modelling career until she's 60 (And I'll be drooling the whole time!) The others are just fun to watch die over and over... Expand
  21. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    While it is not an amazing move it definitely gave me a Resident Evil boner with a bunch of the game characters making their way into the movie. Being a huge RE game fanatic it was fun to see Leon make an appearance, without even them mentioning his name the iconic wool lined jacket gave it away. Just watch it for the mind numbing entertainment and you will come out feeling great aboutWhile it is not an amazing move it definitely gave me a Resident Evil boner with a bunch of the game characters making their way into the movie. Being a huge RE game fanatic it was fun to see Leon make an appearance, without even them mentioning his name the iconic wool lined jacket gave it away. Just watch it for the mind numbing entertainment and you will come out feeling great about seeing the movie. Expand
  22. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    this is miles better than the other four films, the first one at least didn't touch upon the games, the rest utterly destroyed them, this is the best in the series, the characters from the games actually do well, unlike ali larter... the effects and 3d are epic, and the film benefits from a not-shaky plot, if you absolutely have to watch one of these films, your best bet is either thethis is miles better than the other four films, the first one at least didn't touch upon the games, the rest utterly destroyed them, this is the best in the series, the characters from the games actually do well, unlike ali larter... the effects and 3d are epic, and the film benefits from a not-shaky plot, if you absolutely have to watch one of these films, your best bet is either the first, or this Expand
  23. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    I don't see how this film had such mixed reviews. Resident evil is what it is, a action packed zombie series based on a video game. Although the plot and ending where more than 'strange' and at times it was hard to piece the film together, at the end of the day it is what it is, and it does not try to be an intercultural thriller or romantic story. If you like horrifying jumpy zombieI don't see how this film had such mixed reviews. Resident evil is what it is, a action packed zombie series based on a video game. Although the plot and ending where more than 'strange' and at times it was hard to piece the film together, at the end of the day it is what it is, and it does not try to be an intercultural thriller or romantic story. If you like horrifying jumpy zombie action, this film is spot on. Expand
  24. Sep 14, 2012
    7
    How do you get the main heroine of the Resident Evil series Alice (Milla Jovovich) into three major world centers in different corners of the Earth without conjuring up crazy plot twists? You just put her into test simulations of these cities built in an Umbrella Corporation army base
  25. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    There is a lot I'd like to say to defend my enjoyment of this movie, but I'll just say that it really hit home for me. I didn't expect anything and came out of it feeling very satisfied that I was able to see a movie that made me so exhilarated. I almost don't want to share it because I'm a little bit selfish and think that people who won't appreciate the movie don't deserve to see it,There is a lot I'd like to say to defend my enjoyment of this movie, but I'll just say that it really hit home for me. I didn't expect anything and came out of it feeling very satisfied that I was able to see a movie that made me so exhilarated. I almost don't want to share it because I'm a little bit selfish and think that people who won't appreciate the movie don't deserve to see it, but for the sake of supporting the franchise, I want to encourage people who will accept and enjoy the movie for what it is - fast-paced, precise, beautiful, and a promise of things to come. Expand
  26. Dec 28, 2012
    7
    I'm a fanboy of the video games. I think that is where a lot of negative reviews are coming from. This movie is by far one of the best (although I really did like the first R.E. movie). If you're a zombie fan, take your brain out and give it a go. It's a fun ride.
  27. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    This has been the only movie I have ever gone back to the theaters so I could watch it again. The only reason I feel compelled to write a review is because: 1) The movie theater was almost empty both times i went to watch it. 2) The reviews are mostly negative. I have never seen any of the past movies or played the games. I only went with a few friends just to kill time and I am happy IThis has been the only movie I have ever gone back to the theaters so I could watch it again. The only reason I feel compelled to write a review is because: 1) The movie theater was almost empty both times i went to watch it. 2) The reviews are mostly negative. I have never seen any of the past movies or played the games. I only went with a few friends just to kill time and I am happy I did. Now the negative critics say it wasn Expand
  28. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    Just watched the movie second time and was curious to see how many awards it won. This movie features some of the exciting moments ever shown in the series before and i was disappointed that it did not won the number of awards and top ratings it deserved. Anyway i am a big fan of the series and this movie is one of the best.
  29. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    96 minutes game play footage of a "90s-hack'n'slay-action-adventure"
    with "code: veronica"-mask. Paul W.S. Anderson didn't even try to make a movie anymore...
    ...
    ...
    ...
    ...which was the best decision he could've made! :D
  30. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this movie and the first 4 very much. Resident Evil: Retribution promises thrills and enjoyment for casual movie-goers and fans like myself.
  31. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    This movie was a great 3D movie theatre movie. If you are a fan of the movies and the recent games this movie will be a great addition to the never ending saga. If you haven't watched the previous movies you will be very lost and unappreciative of the characters and their roles both in the movies and games. I have always been a big fan of both movies and games and this addition to theThis movie was a great 3D movie theatre movie. If you are a fan of the movies and the recent games this movie will be a great addition to the never ending saga. If you haven't watched the previous movies you will be very lost and unappreciative of the characters and their roles both in the movies and games. I have always been a big fan of both movies and games and this addition to the series I thought was great and very entertaining! Expand
  32. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    A brilliant film for fans but showing someone not familiar with the series may really struggle to grasp what's going on. However it is and amazing film with tones of action and the 3D is not to shabby either. If you enjoy zombie films and you've seen the others give this a whirl.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Sep 21, 2012
    40
    Giant brains with teeth, suburban mutant zombies, more bullets than a John Woo film festival, and hot girls in skin-tight S&M outfits pummelling each other to a deafening dubstep soundtrack. If you're looking for brainless, blood-guzzling carnage, you've found it.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 19, 2012
    40
    Jovovich's physicality and chilly mien (she was originally a "project" of the Umbrella Corp.) carry the series from start to … whenever it finishes, which might not be for quite a while yet.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 15, 2012
    60
    Anderson utilizes slow-motion 3-D to hyperbolic effect while again casting Jovovich as the epitome of badass sexiness.