Resident Evil: Retribution

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 374 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 1, 2013
    6
    Very heavy on the CGI, which is all very well done by the way, I’m guessing a lot of green paint was used. I think just about every fight sequence was shot in slow motion; I’m not sure why but for me it didn’t add any excitement. Nobody will win any prizes for the performances, although I thought Michelle Rodriguez as Rain did a pretty good job. Okay, from an entertainment perspective,Very heavy on the CGI, which is all very well done by the way, I’m guessing a lot of green paint was used. I think just about every fight sequence was shot in slow motion; I’m not sure why but for me it didn’t add any excitement. Nobody will win any prizes for the performances, although I thought Michelle Rodriguez as Rain did a pretty good job. Okay, from an entertainment perspective, yes, it did its job; an easy to follow plot that has plenty of action and some very pretty ladies; this red blooded male was not disappointed on that front. On the down side; it does look like you’re watching someone else playing a first person shooter video game. It’s left wide open for another sequel (hopefully the last one), so I guess there will be more… And I will be watching.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED (Purely for entertainment… If this is your sort of thing that is…)

    My score: 5.7/10
    Expand
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    6
    More of the same from the Resident Evil franchise; little more than a sequence of bullet-time gunfights featuring babes in latex carrying SMGs mowing down zombies or black-suited bad guys. It's a shame, as there is a lot of the story they could take the time to explore; such as the T-Virus, how the survivors are doing, etc. Instead we get a film that is essentially as dumb as a firstMore of the same from the Resident Evil franchise; little more than a sequence of bullet-time gunfights featuring babes in latex carrying SMGs mowing down zombies or black-suited bad guys. It's a shame, as there is a lot of the story they could take the time to explore; such as the T-Virus, how the survivors are doing, etc. Instead we get a film that is essentially as dumb as a first person shooter video game. No plot to speak of ("Escape base". Again.), cookie-cutter square jawed heroes and pantomime villains like Wesker. Reminds me a lot of the Underworld series. The first Matrix film proved that you can have latex, sunglasses and bullet time and it doesn't mean you can't have an interesting story to hang it off.

    Another problem is that a lot of the characters keep coming back as clones. Why should we care if someone dies if they can appear in the next reel, brand new? They are constantly changing sides as well. The plot is paper-thin - just like a video game we travel from one environment to another (New York, Moscow, Sewer) and once all the grunts are dealt with an end of level boss appears. Playing video games is fun. Watching someone else playing them... not so much. Still, Alice and Valentine look nice in those costumes and all the bullet-porn and cgi is kind of exciting in a lowbrow way whilst it's going on. I just wish the producers would set their standards a little higher.
    Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    6
    To get it out there: These movies are bad but I enjoy them as guilty pleasures. That being said, this installment is an improvement over the last Resident Evil movie and it's almost as good as the first. Though, that's not saying much. With each installment they continue to move further away from the game so I have no idea why they even bother to call this Resident Evil anymore. Those whoTo get it out there: These movies are bad but I enjoy them as guilty pleasures. That being said, this installment is an improvement over the last Resident Evil movie and it's almost as good as the first. Though, that's not saying much. With each installment they continue to move further away from the game so I have no idea why they even bother to call this Resident Evil anymore. Those who enjoy these movies as guilty pleasures the way I do, you probably won't be disappointed. Fans of the games and everyone look elsewhere. It's pointless pointing out the problems with the film since they're the same problems from the other movies. Some truly awful acting with the exception of Milla Jovovich and a couple of other people. Hey, at least there's no Ali Larter. Some excruciatingly bad dialogue as well as a non existent plot and a thin storyline. Like I said, same problems as the previous films.

    However, despite all those things, I still enjoyed the movie. You pretty much get what you're expecting. A hot Milla Jovovich in a tight latex suit kicking some zombie ass and it is entertaining as hell. The story is different this time around, with some interesting twists. Though, none of it makes much sense and feels pointless, at least they're trying something different. That counts for something right? At least it's never boring. The action this time around is better and more entertaining. The fights are well choreographed and as always with this series, are edited nicely so there's no annoying shaky cam which is always a plus. The visuals are better this time around, though one or two moments the budget showed. The 3-D is clearly used as a gimmick but it made the movie more fun and this is probably one of the better uses of the product. So if have a few bucks that you can shell out it wouldn't be bad to invest it in the 3-D. Since it was filmed in 3-D it's lot better than 80% of the movies that came out in 3-D this year(3-D wise, not as a whole). There's almost no blur, the light levels are what they should be, and the overall picture quality doesn't look murky. The way this movie is left off the sixth film has the potential of actually being good. However, this movie as a whole is just a filler and seems pointless. That is, until the sixth movie comes out. Fans of this series as well as the people who just enjoy it as a guilty pleasure shouldn't be disappointed in this installment as it delivers what you'd expect, Milla Jovovich in a tight latex suit kicking zombie ass for 90 minutes. Yes the acting for the most part is awful, the dialogue is sometimes hilariously bad, and the story/plot are paper thin but that's been the case with every Resident Evil movie. The action and special effects are even better this time around and puts the 3-D to good use. I enjoyed this movie, it was fun even if it's as brainless as the undead in this movie.
    Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    6
    Una pelicula bastante regular pero aun asi tiene sus cosas muy positivas a pesar de que no tenga nada que ver con los juegos, esta buena como para pasar el rato ir a cine y comer palomitas de maíz.
  5. Aug 12, 2015
    6
    A dumb (correction; really dumb) sequel that provides plenty of unintentional hilarity which makes for what is ultimately stupid entertainment. However, as stupid and entertaining this film may be, this continues to remind viewers of a Resident Evil film we never got; one not as stupid as this.
  6. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    the movie was very funny....watch it if you wanna have a good laugh...the script and direction are pretty terrible....the series has turned from bad to worse after Extinction....
  7. Jan 18, 2013
    4
    If you want a movie to feel exactly like a video game, this movie is for you because that's exactly how it feels. I've never seen a movie that felt more like a video game in my life. However, if you're like me and you want your movie to have plots that actually make sense and have a nice flow to them, you probably won't enjoy this movie. It's really upsetting that a franchise that startedIf you want a movie to feel exactly like a video game, this movie is for you because that's exactly how it feels. I've never seen a movie that felt more like a video game in my life. However, if you're like me and you want your movie to have plots that actually make sense and have a nice flow to them, you probably won't enjoy this movie. It's really upsetting that a franchise that started so well has disintegrated into this. The first two films, I thought were outstanding but the next two were plagued with absurd levels of ridiculousness and this film had the worst plot development I've seen yet. It's unfortunate too because the acting is good enough and the action sequences are entertaining but the cheesy 3D elements and the piss poor plot show just how a terrible director can destroy a movie. I'm glad they're only making one more... though, how they made this many just shows how stupid Europeans actually are. Expand
  8. Sep 30, 2012
    6
    Honestly, if you go into this movie expecting an insightful and well directed movie you are either a fool or have not seen any of the previous Resident Evil films. It really doesn't matter if you're a fan of the video games at this point since the story broke away from the originals in the first five minutes of the first movie; the names are there, but that's it. Don't get you'reHonestly, if you go into this movie expecting an insightful and well directed movie you are either a fool or have not seen any of the previous Resident Evil films. It really doesn't matter if you're a fan of the video games at this point since the story broke away from the originals in the first five minutes of the first movie; the names are there, but that's it. Don't get you're expectations high, wait to rent the DVD on a rainy day, and you will enjoy this mindless action flick. Expand
  9. sLm
    Oct 17, 2012
    6
    Well, not as bad as the last one, of course. But I really laughed when the woman who sank in the ice (at the end of the film) was struggling with sea-zombies and she was like punching them in slow-motion, but we saw clearly that she was just pretending to punch them, hahaha it was like she was playing with teddy bears instead of figthing zombies. About Wesker, I thought he was dead fromWell, not as bad as the last one, of course. But I really laughed when the woman who sank in the ice (at the end of the film) was struggling with sea-zombies and she was like punching them in slow-motion, but we saw clearly that she was just pretending to punch them, hahaha it was like she was playing with teddy bears instead of figthing zombies. About Wesker, I thought he was dead from the last movie lol. And of course, the ending had to be at the white house, lal, it's like the damn center of the fking world of what? I almost laughed when I had to play there in Call of Duty, now also is the last remnants of humanity? XDDD Okay... Expand
  10. Dec 16, 2014
    4
    It can serve to hang out, but by this fifth installment, this saga has been completely distorted. No one turned away is the basic idea that guided the history of the early Resident Evil games, has moved away completely from the basic idea up to the newest in the series deliveries. The history of the previous 4 films leads this have an exaggerated story, with elements that border on theIt can serve to hang out, but by this fifth installment, this saga has been completely distorted. No one turned away is the basic idea that guided the history of the early Resident Evil games, has moved away completely from the basic idea up to the newest in the series deliveries. The history of the previous 4 films leads this have an exaggerated story, with elements that border on the absurd, and the end is still more illogical and absurd. All it does is grab Andersen loose ideas and scenes of Resident Evil video games, and use it completely out of context and place. I can accept without complaint the first two movies, but since the third part, this film saga has gotten worse. This is no longer worthy to be called "Resident Evil" because not what the hell is, but beyond loose items, this is no longer even close to being true to the series of games that claims to represent.

    --------------------------

    Puede servir para pasar el rato, pero ya para esta quinta entrega, esta saga se ha desvirtuado por completo. No solo se alejo se la idea basica que guiaba la historia de los primeros juegos de Resident Evil, se ha alejado por completo de la idea basica de hasta las entregas mas nuevas de la saga. La historia de las 4 peliculas anteriores lleva a que esta tenga una historia exagerada, con elementos que rozan el absurdo, y con final que es ilogico y todavia mas absurdo. Todo lo que hace Andersen es agarrar ideas y escenas sueltas de las videojuegos de Resident Evil, y usarlo totalmente fuera de contexto y lugar. Puedo aceptar sin quejas las dos primeras peliculas, pero desde la tercera parte, esta saga en cine ha ido a peor. Esto ya no es digno de llamarse "Resident Evil", porque no se que rayos es, pero mas alla de elementos sueltos, esto ya no esta ni cerca de ser fiel a la saga de videojuegos que dice representar.
    Expand
  11. Oct 6, 2012
    6
    Resident Evil: Retribution; so close yet so far from the franchise. It feels like you are watching an episode of a TV series and when the episode ends, you're going to have to wait till next week, but the bad news is that the next movie isn't even going to release till next year. There is absolutely no screenplay and even if there is, it is too typical and terrible and the execution isResident Evil: Retribution; so close yet so far from the franchise. It feels like you are watching an episode of a TV series and when the episode ends, you're going to have to wait till next week, but the bad news is that the next movie isn't even going to release till next year. There is absolutely no screenplay and even if there is, it is too typical and terrible and the execution is even poor. Red Queen, the antagonist of the film seems very cheesy and something like a high school bully. There should have been efforts to make it look more likeable and related to the dark side of the entire post-apocalypse element. Leon Kennedy and Ada Wong are included in the movie with the minor roles as well. Leon is a major character in the game series and in the movie he is given a minor role which totally sucks and I can only hope for him to have a major role in the next movie. But I think the film-makers want to keep the game series separate from the film franchise. Who knows? The most disappointing bit, to me, was that it ended right there at a scene which was probably the best scene of the entire movie. Although I must say one thing here: The action sequences of the movie are great including the cinematic 3D experience and visual effects. But the bad news is: there is no acting by any of the cast members whatsoever. Very, very lame acting (still better than Kristen Stewart's acting, LOL!) After all these flaws and mistakes, I still enjoyed the movie because of watching it in a theater because of entire theatrical and 3D experience (I am not a fan of 3D technology but it still managed to impress me). If you are just looking for a pastime then, go buy a ticket and watch this movie. It might turn out to be really good pastime for you. Expand
  12. Sep 16, 2012
    5
    I liked the rewind slow-mo effect in the beginning. I thought the 3D effects were cool. But this was not my fave. :( It was a bit scattered and I didnt get some of the scene transitions. I thought it was a bit overdone and gearing toward cheesy. And if I have to see that same red bloody monster again Im gonna be pissed!! Although the first one was just like the video game I enjoyed itI liked the rewind slow-mo effect in the beginning. I thought the 3D effects were cool. But this was not my fave. :( It was a bit scattered and I didnt get some of the scene transitions. I thought it was a bit overdone and gearing toward cheesy. And if I have to see that same red bloody monster again Im gonna be pissed!! Although the first one was just like the video game I enjoyed it waaaaay more! This one was kinda cheesy and the dialogue was too basic for this to be what?....like the third or fourth one?! I will still see the next RE they make but i hope its better than Retribution! Expand
  13. Sep 17, 2012
    4
    All i can say for the positives of this film are the CG parts. Anything else that is part of this movie is a disgrace to the resident
    evil franchise. Looks like the films and games of the resident evil
    franchise have just fallen to a new low. This film has bad editing, one fight scene, i felt my eyes hurting due to the choppy editing, most of the acting is awful, i could not stand it.
    All i can say for the positives of this film are the CG parts. Anything else that is part of this movie is a disgrace to the resident
    evil franchise. Looks like the films and games of the resident evil
    franchise have just fallen to a new low. This film has bad editing, one fight scene, i felt my eyes hurting due
    to the choppy editing, most of the acting is awful, i could not stand
    it. The script is stupid and wants us to care for undeveloped
    characters with parts that just seem too rushed and skipped. Also the
    main antagonist of this film (Red Queen) just keeps popping up and it
    seems really cheesy when she does, as they follow the antagonists
    through the scenes.

    Overall, instead of spending money on a piece of s**t action movie
    (Which will definitely get bad reviews and make a profit) , they should
    invest in a reboot of the whole franchise, creating a much darker and
    scarier film. Preferably based off Resident Evil 4 (The Game) and lose
    all of the stupid writing and pointless action. They also need to get a
    good actor for Lyon, as the actor in this movie was horrible and had
    too much muscle on him.

    It is a B movie at best, due to all the pointless action and CGI, but other than that it has taken a new route of stupid in the Resident Evil franchise.
    Expand
  14. Sep 20, 2012
    4
    Don't let the fun and never-ending acrobatic moves of Jovovich fool you, the movie is shallow and incredibly boring in both terms of story and character development. You'll feel bad for wanting to see how the it continues. You'll forget about the whole movie an hour after you've seen it. Although it does explain a few things from it's prequels, the movie still lacks any interesting partsDon't let the fun and never-ending acrobatic moves of Jovovich fool you, the movie is shallow and incredibly boring in both terms of story and character development. You'll feel bad for wanting to see how the it continues. You'll forget about the whole movie an hour after you've seen it. Although it does explain a few things from it's prequels, the movie still lacks any interesting parts in the plot, mostly because of the lack of character development of the main antagonists, but even Alice herself! If you're up for lasers that cut people into hundreds of pieces and annoying zombies that get their heads smashed by a latex-wearing hot chick, then, by all means, go see the movie. If you're looking for a deep and meaningful movie of which the script actually makes some sense, stay the hell away from this movie! Expand
  15. Dec 22, 2012
    4
    This is the fifth and probably not the last installment of the famous zombie movie is always the same.
  16. Dec 14, 2012
    4
    Positive:
    In case of "Action Movie" it's very good. Excellent movie!
    You can find a lot of nice action scene with slow motion in this movie which goes along very well and I like it a lot, honestly. Even at the start, the slow motion was quite good on rewinding scene while showing the credit. The sound and CG are great but some scenes you will find something strange (Low quality compose
    Positive:
    In case of "Action Movie" it's very good. Excellent movie!
    You can find a lot of nice action scene with slow motion in this movie which goes along very well and I like it a lot, honestly. Even at the start, the slow motion was quite good on rewinding scene while showing the credit. The sound and CG are great but some scenes you will find something strange (Low quality compose may be.).

    Negative:
    But it's representation of "Resident Evil" has been TOTALLY FAILED!!......
    If you played RE video games before I'm sure that u will understand why...
    In fact there is nothing similar to "Resident Evil" in this movie at all, except the "Name"...Well, you know? like...
    Name of the film , Name of the company, Names of the Virus, Names of the characters etc. It'll be best if they change the name to "Resident Terminator" or something else. Conclusion:
    If you are fan-boy of action movie and you didn't mind about the change of RE franchise, this can be one of the best movie for you. (Give 8-10)

    If not, I recommend "Resident Evil" The CG Motion Picture which created by CAP-COM.
    Expand
  17. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    Resident Evil Retribution isn't great, per say but one of the most imaginative video game movies that I have ever seen. Films like Hitman had more potential but Paul W.S Anderson mixes the most crappiest VFX into well made 3D but still, its not a boost to the horrible series, its a just a film that will ignite some awesomeness about the series into moviegoers. 3D is epic, made to beResident Evil Retribution isn't great, per say but one of the most imaginative video game movies that I have ever seen. Films like Hitman had more potential but Paul W.S Anderson mixes the most crappiest VFX into well made 3D but still, its not a boost to the horrible series, its a just a film that will ignite some awesomeness about the series into moviegoers. 3D is epic, made to be watched in 3D but Retribution is still a mess of the franchise. Expand
  18. Apr 12, 2013
    4
    What an insult to the Resident Evil franchise! Yes, it has good effects but the plot is entirely pointless, it is screwed up and thrown aside, aswell as being completely disinteresting and predictable. Stop making these damn movies if you don't care about the franchise! It's not going to appeal to anyone, especially not to Resident Evil fans. If anything it's like a slap in the face toWhat an insult to the Resident Evil franchise! Yes, it has good effects but the plot is entirely pointless, it is screwed up and thrown aside, aswell as being completely disinteresting and predictable. Stop making these damn movies if you don't care about the franchise! It's not going to appeal to anyone, especially not to Resident Evil fans. If anything it's like a slap in the face to them! Why does this have the Resident Evil name on it to throw people off? It doesn't have anything to do with Resident Evil, you might aswell just call it "Brainless action-flick" to easier target your audience. The characters I couldn't care about, the main character is just there for the sex appeal and the over-the-top shouting just drags on. They're not even talking about anything, they're just shouting over the top of each other to try to make you think that the scene is meaningful, when it isn't. None of the characters ever reload their weapons either and there are some serious consistency issues. Overall, I did have a fun time when I switched my brain off but it pains me when I see movies like this sometimes be more successful than good movies. Stop it! Stop supporting this misleading BS from directors who just want to cash-in! Expand
  19. Feb 3, 2015
    6
    Retribution is unoriginal, tiring and half heartlessly directed. Resident Evil is in a desperately need of new idea's, sadly this poorly constructed sequel is full of wasted potential, however Retribution never fails to entertain.
  20. Jul 17, 2014
    6
    The storyline sucks, the acting is appalling, and the script is disgraceful. With that being said, Resident Evil: Retribution is absolute crap, but its very entertaining crap.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Sep 21, 2012
    40
    Giant brains with teeth, suburban mutant zombies, more bullets than a John Woo film festival, and hot girls in skin-tight S&M outfits pummelling each other to a deafening dubstep soundtrack. If you're looking for brainless, blood-guzzling carnage, you've found it.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 19, 2012
    40
    Jovovich's physicality and chilly mien (she was originally a "project" of the Umbrella Corp.) carry the series from start to … whenever it finishes, which might not be for quite a while yet.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 15, 2012
    60
    Anderson utilizes slow-motion 3-D to hyperbolic effect while again casting Jovovich as the epitome of badass sexiness.