Screen Gems | Release Date: September 14, 2012
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 413 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
148
Mixed:
107
Negative:
158
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
MikeleSep 16, 2012
How is it possible? another character that has nothing to do with the history of "resident evil", main characters "Leo and Ada" are secondary characters in this film, Leo has no strength in the movie, when is the opposite in the video gameHow is it possible? another character that has nothing to do with the history of "resident evil", main characters "Leo and Ada" are secondary characters in this film, Leo has no strength in the movie, when is the opposite in the video game story. Bad edit and direction, lousy script; Wesker is a bad joke, the music is terrible, as bad as it usually goes in amateur short films. How many money actually used in the production? Seems like a fanmovie, except actors (for the cost not quality), about that Expand
18 of 30 users found this helpful1812
All this user's reviews
3
donutboySep 27, 2012
I was holding the ticket only for the gores and brutality alone, good acting was not expected anyway, and where I live, they cut out the gory (or glory), so basically, I got a ticket to see a funny movie . The ideas are pretty good but theI was holding the ticket only for the gores and brutality alone, good acting was not expected anyway, and where I live, they cut out the gory (or glory), so basically, I got a ticket to see a funny movie . The ideas are pretty good but the execution need to be improved. There's too many slow motions in fighting scene, maybe because the fight is not good enough to play at normal speed. When Alice through the bullet round in the air, it felt like 123109418 seconds had passed. I'm still going to the RE 6 if they have it, just to find out what's in the end of all the craps. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
oliver1hJan 16, 2013
I wish people would not buy tickets to movies like that.... That way trash movies would be released in lesser numbers every year.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
Batman97Jun 24, 2013
directors need to stop making this god awful video game adaptions that are butchering the franchises i hope that someday in the future we could get movies based on video games that wont suck i hope the upcoming metal gear and devil may crydirectors need to stop making this god awful video game adaptions that are butchering the franchises i hope that someday in the future we could get movies based on video games that wont suck i hope the upcoming metal gear and devil may cry movies wont be as bad as this piece of $h!t Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
mako_psyDec 13, 2012
My advice for anyone looking to buy this movie: don't. The problem isn't the fact that it doesn't relate to the original games, because I'm sure we've all come to accept the only real similarities these movies have are character names. TheMy advice for anyone looking to buy this movie: don't. The problem isn't the fact that it doesn't relate to the original games, because I'm sure we've all come to accept the only real similarities these movies have are character names. The problem is that it feels like it was made by a 15 year old boy, and by that I mean the movie goes a little something like this: fights, explosions, over-use of special effects, more fights, more explosions, women in catsuits, women in catsuits that purposely show cleavage, some more explosions, cheesy dialogue, Russian zombie soldiers and an invincible Michelle Rodguiez. I was genuinely surprised to learn the writer/director is nearly 50. I'm giving the movie a 1 instead of my initial 0 because it did have me laughing out loud on more than one occasion at how bad the acting really is. If you feel like you have to watch this because you need to find out what happens next in the ongoing plot, don't bother - nothing happens! The ongoing plot essentially comes to a standstill as the entire movie is based around Alice escaping yet another Umbrella facility controlled by the Red Queen. It's a case of dejavu, we've seen it all before - so what's the point in the movie? Terrible acting, terrible dialogue, terrible development, terrible everything... and yet I keep watching these movies for some reason. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
aznassassinDec 14, 2012
The worst of the already horrible film franchise that is an insult to the Resident Evil franchise to which it derives from. I am not even going to review this movie. Its just so bad, it insults Resident Evil canon so much that I feel likeThe worst of the already horrible film franchise that is an insult to the Resident Evil franchise to which it derives from. I am not even going to review this movie. Its just so bad, it insults Resident Evil canon so much that I feel like cracking the Blu-Ray disc in half. This the peak of an absolute **** of a movie franchise which I feel strays dangerously close to the horror of the Twilight films, and thanks to it, has cemented itself as my personal SECOND WORST FILM FRANCHISE OF ALL TIME. The first two films were alright, passable as Resident Evil films (and they're true to canon as well! Sort of...). From the third film onwards, well, it just went downhill. There's going to be a sequel, and yes I will be watching it for the sake of it. And no, I guarantee you, it will be complete **** and no, I am not a psychic. Avoid this pile of excrement at all costs, especially if you're into RE, because frankly I cannot see how much worse W.S prickface Anderson can reduce the RE namesake even further down the **** pipe. The definition of ****. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
armil04Nov 29, 2012
Who the hell keeps funding Anderson's crappy Resident Evil movies? Oh, it's Mr. **** Logic! On my personal list, Paul WS Anderson just beat Uwe Boll, as the master of ****-up-any-great-game-into-movie director. BURN IN HELL ANDERSON!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Iky009Dec 31, 2013
Incrivelmente fantástico como esse filme magistralmente ruim. Não há palavras em meu dicionário linguístico para descrever essa medonha obra do cinema.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
ChukerJan 20, 2013
One shooting scene after another. No dialogs. No story. If you change its name to "The Alice Project" no one would realize it is based on a video game franchise. Awful movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Dr_RadioMar 19, 2013
1st movie: Very good movie

2nd movie: Can't remember :( 3rd movie: Good action movie 4th movie: Only liked it because it had multiple zombies from recent games this movie: Absolutely horrible See, this movie is nothign but
1st movie: Very good movie

2nd movie: Can't remember :(

3rd movie: Good action movie

4th movie: Only liked it because it had multiple zombies from recent games

this movie: Absolutely horrible

See, this movie is nothign but pointless action. All they did was take some famous characters, and slap them all in this hole of a movie. Also, they made Leon look like an idiot. I kind of liked Barry though... But anyways, this movie makes no sense to me, and it shouldn't have been made. I can't really explain it, that's how much it doesn't make sense.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
TerenceYiboFeb 3, 2014
我看过的最烂的一部电影,根本没有剧情,充其量一场游乐场跑酷游戏,各种设定逻辑混乱,之前的恐怖荡然无存只有CG特效堆积+长串长串的慢动作,当然除了造型设计比较成功。
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
gemini0577Sep 17, 2012
The continued decline of a franchise as it progresses is an expected quality and in this regard, Resident Evil: Retribution exceeds at meeting expectations. In essence, the series appears to hit rock bottom (that bottom disguised as aThe continued decline of a franchise as it progresses is an expected quality and in this regard, Resident Evil: Retribution exceeds at meeting expectations. In essence, the series appears to hit rock bottom (that bottom disguised as a facility that could easily have been stolen from the G.I. Joe movie) right from the start when viewers are treated to a scene that plays out backwards leading up to the moment where Afterlife left off. Although it is an ambitious attempt at adding a layer of freshness to a series that has been steadily going stale, it does not play out as cleverly as it should. The obligatory recap has become rather pointless. It should be expected that those taking in this sequel are pretty much in tune with what has happened up to the moment the opening credits cease. This series doesn't seem all that intent on bringing in new fans. Alice is back. Once again, she must face the bad guys. She impressively fights and flees in slow motion, a gimmick way overused most likely in attempt to drag out the length so people don't feel as cheated. New characters are introduced and old characters make head-scratching appearances that get the briefest of explanations. This element alone could have been interesting had the film's handlers actually focused on it. The fight sequences appear better suited for one of those dance-off films. The acting is horrible across the board. Even the good actors in the film seem to phone in their performances, all too aware that the focus isn't the characters so much as it is the action sequences stitched together in ways that make the film more dull than it should be. The special effects, while cool, are obviously CGI. Some (ok, all) of the action sequences are quite unbelievable. The effects of the last film apparently make no difference in Alice's fighting abilities because she still pulls some rather inhuman moves. Ah, this leads to the problem with continuity. The fate of a few prominent characters remains in question; clearly a sacrifice for introducing new takes on a few game favorites. What the film does well is portray chaos. Unfortunately, that chaos translates into the actual viewing experience as well, ultimately casting this film as nothing more than an interlude in an already middling action/horror franchise. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
2
SantiagoMAKiiNASep 17, 2012
How shall I put this to you? ... This is the result of an accident where too much money crashes with the perfect mix of idiocy and amazing visuals.
I was thinking to waste a few more words on this, but I think you get the point, and I'm
How shall I put this to you? ... This is the result of an accident where too much money crashes with the perfect mix of idiocy and amazing visuals.
I was thinking to waste a few more words on this, but I think you get the point, and I'm staring at this delicious meat ball sandwich. Yum!
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
X-fushionSep 26, 2012
This movie is yet another insult to the RE original series is full of inconsistencies, first of all why Leon an ex RCPD member and Barry an ex S.T.A.R.S member are working with Wesker when Wesker betrayed the S.T.A.R.S alpha team in theThis movie is yet another insult to the RE original series is full of inconsistencies, first of all why Leon an ex RCPD member and Barry an ex S.T.A.R.S member are working with Wesker when Wesker betrayed the S.T.A.R.S alpha team in the Arklay mansion and he tried to destroy the rest of the team in Raccon citu eliminaiting RCPD in the process and they said in the movie that he was the founder of Umbrella, that is no true the Fonder was Spencer.
Also they never explain who the obtained the "las plagas" in the movie, but first they **** up because some manjis form RE 5 are in the movie and they said that they are infected with the T-virus while in the games the manjis are infected with las plagas.
And finally they put Umbrella to Skynet level, seriously, in the movie Umbrella is controled by an IA called the red queen wich like Alice don´t appear in any of the games and Umbrella instead of being a simple pharmaceutical company they are a cloning - mass producing facility, no Joke so in conclussion this movie is a **** terminator movie with poor story, poor characters and it has nothing to do with RE games
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
Briancl25Sep 27, 2012
Reminds me of Underworld awakening in that right when it is getting good, and a real plot starts to show up, the movie ends. Disappointing. Just an excuse to draw the series out.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
ImOnFireSep 19, 2012
It has some creative moments/ideas, but the plot itself is ridiculous and completely nonsensical. Acting in general was terrible. It feels like RE5 was just a tech demo to show CG effects / 3D. Definitely the worst movie in the series so far.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
asthobaskoroSep 23, 2012
For fans, at least the first and second movie, Retribution along with Exctinction is dissapointment. I don't know what I was seeing, Resident Evil: Retribution is a total mess. I couldn't enjoy any single of it. No problem with the 3D, theFor fans, at least the first and second movie, Retribution along with Exctinction is dissapointment. I don't know what I was seeing, Resident Evil: Retribution is a total mess. I couldn't enjoy any single of it. No problem with the 3D, the problem is the whole movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
GaplekSep 20, 2012
Hilarious cast for Leon :D
Seriously, those beard and muscle, totally nonsense compared to the the game :D
disappointing, really.
the only awesome thing is the zombies, please replace Leon :D
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
DeekeSep 21, 2012
Okay, the action is good, and the overall fighting sequences are well done. But the story is ludicrous. I did like the realistic scenes that took place right as the zombie invasion happened...however it didn't take long for the film toOkay, the action is good, and the overall fighting sequences are well done. But the story is ludicrous. I did like the realistic scenes that took place right as the zombie invasion happened...however it didn't take long for the film to completely rehash the first iteration with the Red Queen being the enemy and having to escape the base.

Sure the movie has good parts and bad parts, but overall it felt so estranged from the video game series that it shouldn't have been called Resident Evil in any way. It should have been called Insane Action-Zombie Fighter #5.

Definitely check the trailers and reviews before you buy tickets, because you may be sorely disappointed.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
TravisFinnSep 17, 2012
If only Resident Evil would stick to being a well done and immersive video game series instead of a boring and redundant film travesty. Nothing new with the same boring fight scenes which are well choreographed but also suffers from theIf only Resident Evil would stick to being a well done and immersive video game series instead of a boring and redundant film travesty. Nothing new with the same boring fight scenes which are well choreographed but also suffers from the same-thing-from-the-last-time syndrome. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
Alexander_DoomApr 30, 2013
This movie is a joke. Seriously, how can be considered a good movie... HOW?!
I didn't understand a SINGLE thing of this film and no one notices that THERE AREN'T dialogues? There were been phreases such as "go there, i'll cover her" or
This movie is a joke. Seriously, how can be considered a good movie... HOW?!
I didn't understand a SINGLE thing of this film and no one notices that THERE AREN'T dialogues? There were been phreases such as "go there, i'll cover her" or "let's go there bla bla", AND NOTHING ELSE. Then... what the weere doing Barry, Leon, Ada, Jill, and other famous RE's character putted (in italia we says "At minchiam") randomly?! I thought that Extinction was the terriblest Resident Evil movie... but not. This is one of the worst movie i've ever seen.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
kharaaSep 23, 2012
This is quite possibly the worst movie of the year. I'm a huge resident evil fan, and have seen all of the movies to date. A trend starting in the third movie led to the overall downfall of the series. They either needed to pick one directionThis is quite possibly the worst movie of the year. I'm a huge resident evil fan, and have seen all of the movies to date. A trend starting in the third movie led to the overall downfall of the series. They either needed to pick one direction or the other, not mix match and mangle the games in to their movies, when they weren't abiding by that universe in the first place. The movie is overwhelmingly brought down by inconsistency, and major plot holes. The acting is atrocious, and very contrived. Literally the best acting in the movie is from 11 year old Deaf Actress Aryana Engineer. The movie looks pretty, but ultimately has no substance, the action scenes are weak and un-entertaining, and the characters forgettable and ultimately expendable. Skip this one if you can guys. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
alvaro911Oct 2, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. By far the worst RE movie to the date, I kinda enjoyed the first 2 maybe even the third one, and I used to defend the franchise saying don't compare the movie to the video game but this movie is just pathetic the script is so poor there's no way you can say spoiler alert because there is no plot except in the end when you think something interesting is gonna happen then it's over. I think giving this movie a 1 is showing how magnanimous I feel today. Don't waste your money. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Horrifically written, hopelessly spectacle-oriented, and funny when it should never be, "Resident Evil: Retribution" is yet another addition to the ever-growing list of failed Paul W.S. Anderson films.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
ascoltami86May 17, 2013
I thought Resident Evil 2 is enough. The movie gets worst and worst. I don't want to be mean, complain, but Paul W. S. Anderson, could u just stop making these movies.
It's just so boring, protagonist always kills enemies, specially weak
I thought Resident Evil 2 is enough. The movie gets worst and worst. I don't want to be mean, complain, but Paul W. S. Anderson, could u just stop making these movies.
It's just so boring, protagonist always kills enemies, specially weak enemies very enemies, protagonist always wins. I don't like super mighty protagonist, I like protagonist who is very weak, but manage to escape or survive. Protagonist like from The Descent.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
mordaeOct 14, 2013
I have always told people around me that these movies had each about 2 minutes of excellent story and a whole lot of cool action. Well, this one has neither. This "thing" dares to ignore all continuity and attempts to convert anti-corporateI have always told people around me that these movies had each about 2 minutes of excellent story and a whole lot of cool action. Well, this one has neither. This "thing" dares to ignore all continuity and attempts to convert anti-corporate post-zombie-apocalyptic Shadowrun to nationalistic survival with silly ads from today's mega-corporations. And fails even at that. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
GilbertoOct 2, 2012
This movie is bad, very, very bad. I hadn't felt so uncomfortable in a movie theater in a long time, but this has just broke my lucky trench. First off the story, horrible. Seriously, what is going on? I did saw the entirety of the previousThis movie is bad, very, very bad. I hadn't felt so uncomfortable in a movie theater in a long time, but this has just broke my lucky trench. First off the story, horrible. Seriously, what is going on? I did saw the entirety of the previous Resident Evil movies and even with that, I couldn't figure out what was this one all about. Granted, the previous movies are also incredibly convoluted and bad. So, the biggest question I faced when I leaved the movie theater was: "if the first ones were so bad why did I ended up watching this one?" The answer: "hope", hope that it would somehow match or reference some of the games magic of which i am an actual fan of, but as it turns out, this movie has NOTHING in regards to that. Well....somewhat, since actual characters from the game appear but their resemblance is just so embarrassing that it feels like it doesn't count.. When I saw Leon, my favorite character from the games, I almost cried in frustration at how they portrait him in this one. So stereotypical!! The acting is also really poor, actually so bad that it evokes laughter (making it somehow mildly enjoyable). The action while solid at some points, tries too hard to impress with the "slow camera" trick that gets old by the third time out of like 20 they use it. The special effects are maybe the only good thing that could be said about this horrific movie. Overall, this is Resident Evil in name, but in heart, this is just another action flick mess that involves running, and shooting Zombies for one hour and a half and you wont care not even one minute. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
GhuaDec 25, 2012
I am a big fan of the series, but this part is like spitting in my face. movie is composed of almost random fight scenes between actresses wearing pseudo sexy outfits. no zombies, no storyline, no sense. avoid if you can!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Sevvy88Jun 7, 2013
A monumental waste of time. The series gets worse and worse. I don't know why they keep releasing these. Do they actually still make money? I can't ever believe my own eyes when I watch them because they are all so bad. Stop at the first filmA monumental waste of time. The series gets worse and worse. I don't know why they keep releasing these. Do they actually still make money? I can't ever believe my own eyes when I watch them because they are all so bad. Stop at the first film and go no further, and even THAT movie wasn't really that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
RuthlessZAOct 17, 2012
Very disappointing and a insult to the RE franchise. The only good thing about this movie is seeing MJ in 3D. Apparently in Hollywood they believe that you can make a bad film as long as its 3D it will be a hit. The only reason I'm givingVery disappointing and a insult to the RE franchise. The only good thing about this movie is seeing MJ in 3D. Apparently in Hollywood they believe that you can make a bad film as long as its 3D it will be a hit. The only reason I'm giving this film a 3 and not a 0 is MJ was in 3D Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews