User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 343 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 17, 2014
    6
    The storyline sucks, the acting is appalling, and the script is disgraceful. With that being said, Resident Evil: Retribution is absolute crap, but its very entertaining crap.
  2. Jul 12, 2014
    3
    This movie is just plain bad. Everything about it is bad. Milla Jovovich tries her best but W.S. Anderson just decides to **** it all up.....literally!!!!!!!!
  3. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To be honest, from all the movies, this is probably the one that I like the least.. But, it is still great. I think it could be better in some way but it doesn't mean it wasn't good because it was as much as the others! I did get mad at the movie for some time because of Luther, but I'm still hopeful, anyway, we got Jill back and they introduced some characters from the game (Ada, Leon..) And the world if definitely about to go for good. Good Alice is still alive, and with her powers back! Can't wait for the next movie, love this saga too much! Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2014
    2
    I don't know how a person like this piece of """? Fanboys is the first word that comes to mind but fanboys should be the first person who should hate its guts. Scenario? Non existent? Characters? Poorly made "badasses". They destroyed Leon and Aida. They twisted zombies incorrectly and WTF is this Las Plagas thing. You even couldn't done that right!! Absolute WASTE OF TIME. Avoid it. If you are a RE fan from the beginningyou should avoid it cause it may bring tears to your eyes because you saw how they destroyed your favourite franchise. """" Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Paul W. S. Anderson can't get enough of how he destroyed the Resident Evil franchise. While Capcom is struggling (or not) to make a decent game to praise the old generation, Anderson never made a good movie. I got to admit I was going to watch Ted, but when I arrived at the movies, my brother told me we were going to watch the new Resident Evil movie. I got majorly disappointed.

    I really try to somehow like the movie, but I can't help it. Cheesy lines, totally failure in following the game, terrible character adaptation, bad storyline (which ended long time ago, but they still try to insert something somewhere)...

    The characters casting is what bother me the most. First of all, Alice never appeared in any game and hopefully never will. Ada Wong passed from a strong, mysterious woman to a fragile Asian girl, like some perverts throughout the internet like. Leon, one of the most loved characters (if not the favorite), became a total douchebag with a beard. Jill is the main villain, which is not the case in the game. And Barry, the legendary badass, is an ordinary soldier in the group. Took me a while to realise Barry was in the movie...

    Not to mention some scenes where they showed a Mortal Kombat-like fight with an x-ray of the bone being broken. People literally started laughing at the cinema, no joke.

    Unfortunately, a new movie is coming. I'm afraid of what they can do to Jake Muller, Sherry Birkin and other characters from the sixth game. Just give up making Resident Evil movies, Anderson...
    Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2014
    2
    Utter garbage. It's just one series of special effects and action melding into the next, with very little narrative to tie them together. Also, aside from Ada Wong every other character from the games is terribly cast and given almost no depth what so ever. Clearly just shoed in to grab the fans, problem is the "actors" offer very little and seem almost bored in their roles.

    Clearly
    this movie franchise now exists simply so Milla can have work (a shame as I think she could do so much better.)

    Overall:
    By far the worst of the series. The only reason I even give it a 2 is for the effects and Ada (who was the only decent thing in the movie.) No plot, recycled villains and pointless action for the sake of it. One of the few movies I ever walked out on.

    Side Note:
    Mr. Anderson, if by some miracle you read this: PLEASE stop making resident Evil movies. Capcom is doing more than enough damage to the franchise on its own, they do need you shoveling this putrid manure onto the fire.
    Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    1
    我看过的最烂的一部电影,根本没有剧情,充其量一场游乐场跑酷游戏,各种设定逻辑混乱,之前的恐怖荡然无存只有CG特效堆积+长串长串的慢动作,当然除了造型设计比较成功。
  8. Dec 31, 2013
    2
    Incrivelmente fantástico como esse filme magistralmente ruim. Não há palavras em meu dicionário linguístico para descrever essa medonha obra do cinema.
  9. Oct 14, 2013
    2
    I have always told people around me that these movies had each about 2 minutes of excellent story and a whole lot of cool action. Well, this one has neither. This "thing" dares to ignore all continuity and attempts to convert anti-corporate post-zombie-apocalyptic Shadowrun to nationalistic survival with silly ads from today's mega-corporations. And fails even at that.
  10. Oct 12, 2013
    7
    I don't know why people have not seemed to enjoy this movie very much. That's mostly because I haven't seen the other movies or played any of the video games. But really, if this film wasn't brutal at times, this movie would be neck and neck with the Avengers as the best action movie of 2012 for me. It's smart, has head-on battles which are some of the best I've seen in my life, as well as 3-D that even beats Spy Kids 3, and an opening that even beats Spider-Man 2, and for once, isn't over 2 hours. Expand
  11. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    Resident Evil Retribution isn't great, per say but one of the most imaginative video game movies that I have ever seen. Films like Hitman had more potential but Paul W.S Anderson mixes the most crappiest VFX into well made 3D but still, its not a boost to the horrible series, its a just a film that will ignite some awesomeness about the series into moviegoers. 3D is epic, made to be watched in 3D but Retribution is still a mess of the franchise. Expand
  12. Jul 9, 2013
    1
    This movie was my first "Resident Evil". I can not understand why somebody can call this a real movie.
    Ok, the special effects are good but really poor 3-D effects) and the idea in this movie seems a bit interesting. However i am asking myself how a horror-action movie can be boring like that. Some Action movies are dumb but at least they are entertaining. And this is missing in
    "Resident Evil: Retribution".
    Because of that WORST MOVIE I EVER SAW (I really do not lie!
    Expand
  13. Jun 24, 2013
    3
    directors need to stop making this god awful video game adaptions that are butchering the franchises i hope that someday in the future we could get movies based on video games that wont suck i hope the upcoming metal gear and devil may cry movies wont be as bad as this piece of $h!t
  14. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    I love this movie, contains more action and surprises than the previous movie afterlife, although it does not contain much plot, one can say that is good from start to finish, as fans can enjoy a good action in this film.
  15. Jun 16, 2013
    3
    The only halfway decent movie in this franchise was the first one; RE:R sinks to a new low with lazy video game plotting, wretched acting, shameless product placement/advertising, and Michelle Rodriguez (need we say more?). Of course, director Paul W.S. Anderson continues to show a flair for striking compositions, but let's face it--he's coasting with this one, probably the worst in the series, although it's hard to tell. But the joke is on me--I won't miss a single entry. Go figure. Expand
  16. Jun 7, 2013
    1
    A monumental waste of time. The series gets worse and worse. I don't know why they keep releasing these. Do they actually still make money? I can't ever believe my own eyes when I watch them because they are all so bad. Stop at the first film and go no further, and even THAT movie wasn't really that good.
  17. Jun 4, 2013
    1
    Iam lucky to say that i had not forget the whole movie after one Day.It was so uninspired.There was no scene that looks good to me and michelle Rodriguez is an unbelievable bad actor.Also ther eis so much slow motion that in the end i dont know if i have cry or laugh or both.
    The biggest problem is that you see that the only thing which the filmmaker was wanting is your money.And that
    is a bad sign for movies. Expand
  18. Jun 1, 2013
    6
    Very heavy on the CGI, which is all very well done by the way, I’m guessing a lot of green paint was used. I think just about every fight sequence was shot in slow motion; I’m not sure why but for me it didn’t add any excitement. Nobody will win any prizes for the performances, although I thought Michelle Rodriguez as Rain did a pretty good job. Okay, from an entertainment perspective, yes, it did its job; an easy to follow plot that has plenty of action and some very pretty ladies; this red blooded male was not disappointed on that front. On the down side; it does look like you’re watching someone else playing a first person shooter video game. It’s left wide open for another sequel (hopefully the last one), so I guess there will be more… And I will be watching.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED (Purely for entertainment… If this is your sort of thing that is…)

    My score: 5.7/10
    Expand
  19. May 19, 2013
    7
    Just love the girls! And to see your game characters (RE6) come to live amazing! Well, didn't have high hopes for this movie, but came away entertained. Think the next one will be nice all my favourite babes blasting away at the army of undead.
  20. May 17, 2013
    1
    I thought Resident Evil 2 is enough. The movie gets worst and worst. I don't want to be mean, complain, but Paul W. S. Anderson, could u just stop making these movies.
    It's just so boring, protagonist always kills enemies, specially weak enemies very enemies, protagonist always wins. I don't like super mighty protagonist, I like protagonist who is very weak, but manage to escape or
    survive. Protagonist like from The Descent. Expand
  21. Apr 30, 2013
    0
    This movie is a joke. Seriously, how can be considered a good movie... HOW?!
    I didn't understand a SINGLE thing of this film and no one notices that THERE AREN'T dialogues? There were been phreases such as "go there, i'll cover her" or "let's go there bla bla", AND NOTHING ELSE. Then... what the weere doing Barry, Leon, Ada, Jill, and other famous RE's character putted (in italia we
    says "At minchiam") randomly?! I thought that Extinction was the terriblest Resident Evil movie... but not. This is one of the worst movie i've ever seen. Expand
  22. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    Jesus Christ This movie is a complete abomination. In fact all that were made after 1 2 and 3 are rubbish. Characters like Leon and Ada seem weak when they are one of the most skilled. This movie has nothing to do with the history of resident evil. Editing is awful and the storyline is boring! Its not thriller like the first 3 movies its more of a action game. I beg whoever makes this movie to stop insulting Resident Evil One more thing... A FREAKIN ROSE ROYCE? Very stupid Expand
  23. Apr 12, 2013
    4
    What an insult to the Resident Evil franchise! Yes, it has good effects but the plot is entirely pointless, it is screwed up and thrown aside, aswell as being completely disinteresting and predictable. Stop making these damn movies if you don't care about the franchise! It's not going to appeal to anyone, especially not to Resident Evil fans. If anything it's like a slap in the face to them! Why does this have the Resident Evil name on it to throw people off? It doesn't have anything to do with Resident Evil, you might aswell just call it "Brainless action-flick" to easier target your audience. The characters I couldn't care about, the main character is just there for the sex appeal and the over-the-top shouting just drags on. They're not even talking about anything, they're just shouting over the top of each other to try to make you think that the scene is meaningful, when it isn't. None of the characters ever reload their weapons either and there are some serious consistency issues. Overall, I did have a fun time when I switched my brain off but it pains me when I see movies like this sometimes be more successful than good movies. Stop it! Stop supporting this misleading BS from directors who just want to cash-in! Expand
  24. Mar 19, 2013
    3
    1st movie: Very good movie 2nd movie: Can't remember :( 3rd movie: Good action movie 4th movie: Only liked it because it had multiple zombies from recent games this movie: Absolutely horrible See, this movie is nothign but pointless action. All they did was take some famous characters, and slap them all in this hole of a movie. Also, they made Leon look like an idiot. I kind of liked Barry though... But anyways, this movie makes no sense to me, and it shouldn't have been made. I can't really explain it, that's how much it doesn't make sense. Expand
  25. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    Just watched the movie second time and was curious to see how many awards it won. This movie features some of the exciting moments ever shown in the series before and i was disappointed that it did not won the number of awards and top ratings it deserved. Anyway i am a big fan of the series and this movie is one of the best.
  26. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    While it is not an amazing move it definitely gave me a Resident Evil boner with a bunch of the game characters making their way into the movie. Being a huge RE game fanatic it was fun to see Leon make an appearance, without even them mentioning his name the iconic wool lined jacket gave it away. Just watch it for the mind numbing entertainment and you will come out feeling great about seeing the movie. Expand
  27. Mar 4, 2013
    2
    You can tell that everyone is tired of the Resident Evil movies, even the actors stopped caring. Milla Jovovich looks old up close and has definitely gained a few pounds which sometimes make her a little too big for the ridiculously ugly PVC-outfit they tried to fit her in. The fighting scenes were mediocre, when played in slow-motion I was able to observe a lot of strange (and most likely) unintentional facial expressions that made some of the scenes look like a benny hill episode. The constant killing and resurrecting of characters is confusing and makes it hard for the viewer to care about any of them since there seem to be a never ending supply of people whom Alice (Milla Jovovich) has encountered and when they die they'll just come back at some inconvenient point and then die again. In Retribution Milla fights alongside Ada Wong (Bingbing Li) who despite looking gorgeous in that red dress really can't act. She recites the lines as if though it's a high-school rehearsal. Then there's a team of goons made up of two uninteresting people who die any way and three other guys (Leon, Barry and James) whose outfits and hairstyles come straight out of The Village People's music videos. They put up a horrible performance, looking out of place with their strange leathery PVC-costumes and making the firefights seem like they were directed by a bunch of 16-year-olds. I can't get over how ridiculous this movie is, I found myself laughing at some of the sillyness portrayed on screen during what should have been very serious action or emotional scenes. It's kind of sad to see Resident Evil no longer being about zombie survival but more about What is this movie about, any way? Constant reruns of exploding bases? Poorly choreographed slow-motion fighting scenes? Cleavage and PVC-costumes? I'll definitely watch the next installment of Resident Evil just to see how badly they can mess it up. At least the ending was promising, I'm pretty sure one of the director's kids sent that one in. Expand
  28. Feb 28, 2013
    7
    I've never played on of the Resident Evil video games, but I have seen every movie. I do know that the movies are very different than the games, they focus on action as opposed to the game which focus on horror so fans of the games are probably going to be upset with this film. I can say that I enjoyed the movie, it's not the ending to the series like I thought it was going to be, but rather a new way to keep them going. I guess as long as they can still get money from the movies they'll keep making more and as a fan I'll keep watching them. Once again the film gives us more characters from the Resident Evil (Leon, Ada Wong, Barry, and a few others) games to star alongside their own main character Alice and act as fan service. I predict that just like in the other films the game characters will just sort of vanish without a reason what so ever and we'll be left to wonder what happened to them. As far as the film itself goes it's not that bad and probably has the most cohesive plot of them all, and I really enjoyed even though it's not perfect. But then again I am a fan of the other movies, and Retribution is just giving me more of what I enjoyed about the other movies and that's bombastic, non-stop action. It's good flick, but if you didn't enjoy the other movies you wont enjoy this one either. So if your a fan by all means watch it, if not skip it. Oh, and newcomers are probably better watching the other movies first so their not completely in the dark with what's going on. Expand
  29. Jan 31, 2013
    0
    Es un "hueso" en todo el sentido de la palabra, Milla ya no pega y debería llamarse invasión zombie o algo así. RIP Resident Evil en Videojuegos y Películas
  30. Jan 27, 2013
    6
    More of the same from the Resident Evil franchise; little more than a sequence of bullet-time gunfights featuring babes in latex carrying SMGs mowing down zombies or black-suited bad guys. It's a shame, as there is a lot of the story they could take the time to explore; such as the T-Virus, how the survivors are doing, etc. Instead we get a film that is essentially as dumb as a first person shooter video game. No plot to speak of ("Escape base". Again.), cookie-cutter square jawed heroes and pantomime villains like Wesker. Reminds me a lot of the Underworld series. The first Matrix film proved that you can have latex, sunglasses and bullet time and it doesn't mean you can't have an interesting story to hang it off.

    Another problem is that a lot of the characters keep coming back as clones. Why should we care if someone dies if they can appear in the next reel, brand new? They are constantly changing sides as well. The plot is paper-thin - just like a video game we travel from one environment to another (New York, Moscow, Sewer) and once all the grunts are dealt with an end of level boss appears. Playing video games is fun. Watching someone else playing them... not so much. Still, Alice and Valentine look nice in those costumes and all the bullet-porn and cgi is kind of exciting in a lowbrow way whilst it's going on. I just wish the producers would set their standards a little higher.
    Expand
  31. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    a highly entertaining movie, retribution is an effective return to form for the franchise (afterlife having more plot holes than your average uwe boll film), kevin durand (a very good actor in his own right) portrays barry burton perfectly, johan urb was an okay leon, and li bingbing was a gread ada, the plot explains much of the strange plot occurrences in the last films (how did the t-virus escape raccoon city? where is jill? etc.) and the action scenes are well choreographed and entertaining, the 3d is put to decent use (more depth than in-your-face, though a little more in-your-face wouldn't have been bad), the film as a whole is brilliant entertainment. Expand
  32. Jan 20, 2013
    1
    One shooting scene after another. No dialogs. No story. If you change its name to "The Alice Project" no one would realize it is based on a video game franchise. Awful movie.
  33. Jan 18, 2013
    4
    If you want a movie to feel exactly like a video game, this movie is for you because that's exactly how it feels. I've never seen a movie that felt more like a video game in my life. However, if you're like me and you want your movie to have plots that actually make sense and have a nice flow to them, you probably won't enjoy this movie. It's really upsetting that a franchise that started so well has disintegrated into this. The first two films, I thought were outstanding but the next two were plagued with absurd levels of ridiculousness and this film had the worst plot development I've seen yet. It's unfortunate too because the acting is good enough and the action sequences are entertaining but the cheesy 3D elements and the piss poor plot show just how a terrible director can destroy a movie. I'm glad they're only making one more... though, how they made this many just shows how stupid Europeans actually are. Expand
  34. Jan 16, 2013
    0
    I wish people would not buy tickets to movies like that.... That way trash movies would be released in lesser numbers every year.
  35. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    Consider this a best of in the RE series: you get to see all the heros, all the zombies and monsters from all the previous films mashed together in an almost continuous action-fest of combat scenes and visual effects. Unfortunately this doesn't mean it's the best RE film, but it's not the worst either. Paul W.S. certainly did a good job of getting as much bang for their 65 million bucks. They do try to explain the ludicrous backstory but it gets lost in all the gunfights and explosions and most people won't care anyway. A good 96 mins of braindead entertainment. Expand
  36. Dec 30, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For people who haven't played the video games I guess this is enjoyable. They brought the main characters from the video games but they did it horribly. Leon and Ada are complete jokes in this movie. Ada is the cat woman of resident evil and they did the exact opposite. Leon is the 1st person to try and save someone, but he says in the movie that he wouldn't risk his life for one person. They are teaming up with Wesker? ...what? I enjoyed the other movies but this one was terrible. They could've done so much more with these amazing characters but they completely missed. Expand
  37. Dec 28, 2012
    7
    I'm a fanboy of the video games. I think that is where a lot of negative reviews are coming from. This movie is by far one of the best (although I really did like the first R.E. movie). If you're a zombie fan, take your brain out and give it a go. It's a fun ride.
  38. Dec 25, 2012
    0
    I am a big fan of the series, but this part is like spitting in my face. movie is composed of almost random fight scenes between actresses wearing pseudo sexy outfits. no zombies, no storyline, no sense. avoid if you can!
  39. Dec 22, 2012
    4
    This is the fifth and probably not the last installment of the famous zombie movie is always the same.
  40. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    I actually liked the idea of cloning children just to blow them away. It brought the brutality up a notch. The unlimited number of clones of all these characters means the actors are set for a life of silly reboots and rehashes. Hey, it's a paycheck... Michelle Rodriguez ceased being taken seriously as an actor a long time ago, although her multiple roles in this film played on the strengths of the two characters she knows how to play... Jovovich will have a modelling career until she's 60 (And I'll be drooling the whole time!) The others are just fun to watch die over and over... Expand
  41. Dec 16, 2012
    0
    The story line is awful, The special effects suck and it's painfully obvious that they are fake. I also love how the main villains win the final battle yet still lose due to some pathetic last second twist. So dumb imo. I am done with this series.
  42. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    the movie was very funny....watch it if you wanna have a good laugh...the script and direction are pretty terrible....the series has turned from bad to worse after Extinction....
  43. Dec 14, 2012
    1
    The worst of the already horrible film franchise that is an insult to the Resident Evil franchise to which it derives from. I am not even going to review this movie. Its just so bad, it insults Resident Evil canon so much that I feel like cracking the Blu-Ray disc in half. This the peak of an absolute **** of a movie franchise which I feel strays dangerously close to the horror of the Twilight films, and thanks to it, has cemented itself as my personal SECOND WORST FILM FRANCHISE OF ALL TIME. The first two films were alright, passable as Resident Evil films (and they're true to canon as well! Sort of...). From the third film onwards, well, it just went downhill. There's going to be a sequel, and yes I will be watching it for the sake of it. And no, I guarantee you, it will be complete **** and no, I am not a psychic. Avoid this pile of excrement at all costs, especially if you're into RE, because frankly I cannot see how much worse W.S prickface Anderson can reduce the RE namesake even further down the **** pipe. The definition of ****. Expand
  44. Dec 14, 2012
    4
    Positive:
    In case of "Action Movie" it's very good. Excellent movie!
    You can find a lot of nice action scene with slow motion in this movie which goes along very well and I like it a lot, honestly. Even at the start, the slow motion was quite good on rewinding scene while showing the credit. The sound and CG are great but some scenes you will find something strange (Low quality compose
    may be.).

    Negative:
    But it's representation of "Resident Evil" has been TOTALLY FAILED!!......
    If you played RE video games before I'm sure that u will understand why...
    In fact there is nothing similar to "Resident Evil" in this movie at all, except the "Name"...Well, you know? like...
    Name of the film , Name of the company, Names of the Virus, Names of the characters etc. It'll be best if they change the name to "Resident Terminator" or something else. Conclusion:
    If you are fan-boy of action movie and you didn't mind about the change of RE franchise, this can be one of the best movie for you. (Give 8-10)

    If not, I recommend "Resident Evil" The CG Motion Picture which created by CAP-COM.
    Expand
  45. Dec 13, 2012
    1
    My advice for anyone looking to buy this movie: don't. The problem isn't the fact that it doesn't relate to the original games, because I'm sure we've all come to accept the only real similarities these movies have are character names. The problem is that it feels like it was made by a 15 year old boy, and by that I mean the movie goes a little something like this: fights, explosions, over-use of special effects, more fights, more explosions, women in catsuits, women in catsuits that purposely show cleavage, some more explosions, cheesy dialogue, Russian zombie soldiers and an invincible Michelle Rodguiez. I was genuinely surprised to learn the writer/director is nearly 50. I'm giving the movie a 1 instead of my initial 0 because it did have me laughing out loud on more than one occasion at how bad the acting really is. If you feel like you have to watch this because you need to find out what happens next in the ongoing plot, don't bother - nothing happens! The ongoing plot essentially comes to a standstill as the entire movie is based around Alice escaping yet another Umbrella facility controlled by the Red Queen. It's a case of dejavu, we've seen it all before - so what's the point in the movie? Terrible acting, terrible dialogue, terrible development, terrible everything... and yet I keep watching these movies for some reason. Expand
  46. Dec 1, 2012
    0
    I could barely watch the movie because I didn't have to. Even a blind man could tell what was gonna happen next. I think it's time to put the resident evil movie saga to rest. After so many tries, it's just not gonna work out. Retribution shows that.
  47. Nov 29, 2012
    2
    The irony here is this movie's plot is soooo bad, it feels as if Capcom themselves wrote the script as it is as bad as the story and dialogue of any of the RE games. The CG is decent in most places and the action was also ok....but as soon as any of the main characters opened there mouths.......scary
  48. Nov 29, 2012
    0
    Who the hell keeps funding Anderson's crappy Resident Evil movies? Oh, it's Mr. **** Logic! On my personal list, Paul WS Anderson just beat Uwe Boll, as the master of ****-up-any-great-game-into-movie director. BURN IN HELL ANDERSON!!!
  49. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    Horrifically written, hopelessly spectacle-oriented, and funny when it should never be, "Resident Evil: Retribution" is yet another addition to the ever-growing list of failed Paul W.S. Anderson films.
  50. Nov 9, 2012
    3
    I didn't really expect anything from the movie. So when it came out to theater, I was not surprised. This franchise needs to be stopped. Enough with the "Resident Evil" movie, it is just getting worse and worse!
  51. Nov 2, 2012
    3
    it has a very few actions scenes and it was really boring. the end is where the movie should have began and start killing things like crazy. that is what a resident evil fan pays for. im amazed that the movie lacked of everything.
  52. Oct 29, 2012
    2
    "Resident Evil: Retribution" is just an insipid popcorn masticatory. Another installment without the strenght of a installment. Pure banal action to stimulate the ads.
  53. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    a really epic action movie, whoever played leon kennedy can suck it, but everyone else did a decent job, the vfx were perfectly done, the storyline is much better than the other films, watch it or you'll be missing out, big time.
  54. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    this is miles better than the other four films, the first one at least didn't touch upon the games, the rest utterly destroyed them, this is the best in the series, the characters from the games actually do well, unlike ali larter... the effects and 3d are epic, and the film benefits from a not-shaky plot, if you absolutely have to watch one of these films, your best bet is either the first, or this Expand
  55. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    A brilliant film for fans but showing someone not familiar with the series may really struggle to grasp what's going on. However it is and amazing film with tones of action and the 3D is not to shabby either. If you enjoy zombie films and you've seen the others give this a whirl.
  56. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    really, really cool, especially in 3d, seriously, go out, drive to the video store, demand this, bring it home, watch it, with popcorn, and you will most certainly adore every minute of it
  57. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    i love this movie, the action is so well done, and the plot is on strong form, considering the rest of the series, kevin durand and li bingbing, (i'm sure i spelt that wrong) do an admirable job, it is awesome.
  58. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    the moscow sequence was one of the best action scenes ever made, period. most of the cast does a good job, the action is absolutely badass and amazing, and i don't usually think about this, but the score was really fitting, considering the first had marilyn manson, which was too loud, the second had jeff danna, which was too orchestral, the third had charlie clouser, which was too forgettable, so, musicwise, fourth and fifth are boss, with tomandandy providing a perfect score for perfect asskickings, :) Expand
  59. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    hell of a lot of fun, resident evil retribution is epic, especially in 3d, kevin durand was the best barry burton imaginable, seriously, he kicked ass, it was really amazing
  60. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    come on, this is the most entertaining film i've seen this year, sometimes, you just need to turn that brain down and just let the film take you wherever it will
  61. sLm
    Oct 17, 2012
    6
    Well, not as bad as the last one, of course. But I really laughed when the woman who sank in the ice (at the end of the film) was struggling with sea-zombies and she was like punching them in slow-motion, but we saw clearly that she was just pretending to punch them, hahaha it was like she was playing with teddy bears instead of figthing zombies. About Wesker, I thought he was dead from the last movie lol. And of course, the ending had to be at the white house, lal, it's like the damn center of the fking world of what? I almost laughed when I had to play there in Call of Duty, now also is the last remnants of humanity? XDDD Okay... Expand
  62. Oct 17, 2012
    3
    Very disappointing and a insult to the RE franchise. The only good thing about this movie is seeing MJ in 3D. Apparently in Hollywood they believe that you can make a bad film as long as its 3D it will be a hit. The only reason I'm giving this film a 3 and not a 0 is MJ was in 3D
  63. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Let me begin by saying that I thiught that The Dark Knight Rises will be the movie of the year but after watching this smart, detailed, well paced, good acting of a film, I am sorry Dark Knight, MIllas Back. This film is as good as The Shawshank Redemption and Titanic, I mean this film has zombies that shoot! They are scary.... BOOOO
  64. Oct 6, 2012
    6
    Resident Evil: Retribution; so close yet so far from the franchise. It feels like you are watching an episode of a TV series and when the episode ends, you're going to have to wait till next week, but the bad news is that the next movie isn't even going to release till next year. There is absolutely no screenplay and even if there is, it is too typical and terrible and the execution is even poor. Red Queen, the antagonist of the film seems very cheesy and something like a high school bully. There should have been efforts to make it look more likeable and related to the dark side of the entire post-apocalypse element. Leon Kennedy and Ada Wong are included in the movie with the minor roles as well. Leon is a major character in the game series and in the movie he is given a minor role which totally sucks and I can only hope for him to have a major role in the next movie. But I think the film-makers want to keep the game series separate from the film franchise. Who knows? The most disappointing bit, to me, was that it ended right there at a scene which was probably the best scene of the entire movie. Although I must say one thing here: The action sequences of the movie are great including the cinematic 3D experience and visual effects. But the bad news is: there is no acting by any of the cast members whatsoever. Very, very lame acting (still better than Kristen Stewart's acting, LOL!) After all these flaws and mistakes, I still enjoyed the movie because of watching it in a theater because of entire theatrical and 3D experience (I am not a fan of 3D technology but it still managed to impress me). If you are just looking for a pastime then, go buy a ticket and watch this movie. It might turn out to be really good pastime for you. Expand
  65. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    This movie was a great 3D movie theatre movie. If you are a fan of the movies and the recent games this movie will be a great addition to the never ending saga. If you haven't watched the previous movies you will be very lost and unappreciative of the characters and their roles both in the movies and games. I have always been a big fan of both movies and games and this addition to the series I thought was great and very entertaining! Collapse
  66. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    I don't see how this film had such mixed reviews. Resident evil is what it is, a action packed zombie series based on a video game. Although the plot and ending where more than 'strange' and at times it was hard to piece the film together, at the end of the day it is what it is, and it does not try to be an intercultural thriller or romantic story. If you like horrifying jumpy zombie action, this film is spot on. Expand
  67. Oct 3, 2012
    6
    To get it out there: These movies are bad but I enjoy them as guilty pleasures. That being said, this installment is an improvement over the last Resident Evil movie and it's almost as good as the first. Though, that's not saying much. With each installment they continue to move further away from the game so I have no idea why they even bother to call this Resident Evil anymore. Those who enjoy these movies as guilty pleasures the way I do, you probably won't be disappointed. Fans of the games and everyone look elsewhere. It's pointless pointing out the problems with the film since they're the same problems from the other movies. Some truly awful acting with the exception of Milla Jovovich and a couple of other people. Hey, at least there's no Ali Larter. Some excruciatingly bad dialogue as well as a non existent plot and a thin storyline. Like I said, same problems as the previous films.

    However, despite all those things, I still enjoyed the movie. You pretty much get what you're expecting. A hot Milla Jovovich in a tight latex suit kicking some zombie ass and it is entertaining as hell. The story is different this time around, with some interesting twists. Though, none of it makes much sense and feels pointless, at least they're trying something different. That counts for something right? At least it's never boring. The action this time around is better and more entertaining. The fights are well choreographed and as always with this series, are edited nicely so there's no annoying shaky cam which is always a plus. The visuals are better this time around, though one or two moments the budget showed. The 3-D is clearly used as a gimmick but it made the movie more fun and this is probably one of the better uses of the product. So if have a few bucks that you can shell out it wouldn't be bad to invest it in the 3-D. Since it was filmed in 3-D it's lot better than 80% of the movies that came out in 3-D this year(3-D wise, not as a whole). There's almost no blur, the light levels are what they should be, and the overall picture quality doesn't look murky. The way this movie is left off the sixth film has the potential of actually being good. However, this movie as a whole is just a filler and seems pointless. That is, until the sixth movie comes out. Fans of this series as well as the people who just enjoy it as a guilty pleasure shouldn't be disappointed in this installment as it delivers what you'd expect, Milla Jovovich in a tight latex suit kicking zombie ass for 90 minutes. Yes the acting for the most part is awful, the dialogue is sometimes hilariously bad, and the story/plot are paper thin but that's been the case with every Resident Evil movie. The action and special effects are even better this time around and puts the 3-D to good use. I enjoyed this movie, it was fun even if it's as brainless as the undead in this movie.
    Expand
  68. Oct 3, 2012
    6
    Una pelicula bastante regular pero aun asi tiene sus cosas muy positivas a pesar de que no tenga nada que ver con los juegos, esta buena como para pasar el rato ir a cine y comer palomitas de maíz.
  69. Oct 2, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. By far the worst RE movie to the date, I kinda enjoyed the first 2 maybe even the third one, and I used to defend the franchise saying don't compare the movie to the video game but this movie is just pathetic the script is so poor there's no way you can say spoiler alert because there is no plot except in the end when you think something interesting is gonna happen then it's over. I think giving this movie a 1 is showing how magnanimous I feel today. Don't waste your money. Expand
  70. Oct 2, 2012
    2
    This movie is bad, very, very bad. I hadn't felt so uncomfortable in a movie theater in a long time, but this has just broke my lucky trench. First off the story, horrible. Seriously, what is going on? I did saw the entirety of the previous Resident Evil movies and even with that, I couldn't figure out what was this one all about. Granted, the previous movies are also incredibly convoluted and bad. So, the biggest question I faced when I leaved the movie theater was: "if the first ones were so bad why did I ended up watching this one?" The answer: "hope", hope that it would somehow match or reference some of the games magic of which i am an actual fan of, but as it turns out, this movie has NOTHING in regards to that. Well....somewhat, since actual characters from the game appear but their resemblance is just so embarrassing that it feels like it doesn't count.. When I saw Leon, my favorite character from the games, I almost cried in frustration at how they portrait him in this one. So stereotypical!! The acting is also really poor, actually so bad that it evokes laughter (making it somehow mildly enjoyable). The action while solid at some points, tries too hard to impress with the "slow camera" trick that gets old by the third time out of like 20 they use it. The special effects are maybe the only good thing that could be said about this horrific movie. Overall, this is Resident Evil in name, but in heart, this is just another action flick mess that involves running, and shooting Zombies for one hour and a half and you wont care not even one minute. Expand
  71. Sep 30, 2012
    6
    Honestly, if you go into this movie expecting an insightful and well directed movie you are either a fool or have not seen any of the previous Resident Evil films. It really doesn't matter if you're a fan of the video games at this point since the story broke away from the originals in the first five minutes of the first movie; the names are there, but that's it. Don't get you're expectations high, wait to rent the DVD on a rainy day, and you will enjoy this mindless action flick. Expand
  72. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    This movie concept does look empty indeed, all I can say is that you will enjoy watching it if you liked the resident evil afterlife; and thats funny because even while being a critic person I actually had a good time watching it just as the afterlife, I don't know, just felt entertaining, so overally I give it an 8
  73. Sep 27, 2012
    2
    Reminds me of Underworld awakening in that right when it is getting good, and a real plot starts to show up, the movie ends. Disappointing. Just an excuse to draw the series out.
  74. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    I was holding the ticket only for the gores and brutality alone, good acting was not expected anyway, and where I live, they cut out the gory (or glory), so basically, I got a ticket to see a funny movie . The ideas are pretty good but the execution need to be improved. There's too many slow motions in fighting scene, maybe because the fight is not good enough to play at normal speed. When Alice through the bullet round in the air, it felt like 123109418 seconds had passed. I'm still going to the RE 6 if they have it, just to find out what's in the end of all the craps. Expand
  75. Sep 26, 2012
    0
    This movie is yet another insult to the RE original series is full of inconsistencies, first of all why Leon an ex RCPD member and Barry an ex S.T.A.R.S member are working with Wesker when Wesker betrayed the S.T.A.R.S alpha team in the Arklay mansion and he tried to destroy the rest of the team in Raccon citu eliminaiting RCPD in the process and they said in the movie that he was the founder of Umbrella, that is no true the Fonder was Spencer.
    Also they never explain who the obtained the "las plagas" in the movie, but first they **** up because some manjis form RE 5 are in the movie and they said that they are infected with the T-virus while in the games the manjis are infected with las plagas.
    And finally they put Umbrella to Skynet level, seriously, in the movie Umbrella is controled by an IA called the red queen wich like Alice don´t appear in any of the games and Umbrella instead of being a simple pharmaceutical company they are a cloning - mass producing facility, no Joke so in conclussion this movie is a **** terminator movie with poor story, poor characters and it has nothing to do with RE games
    Expand
  76. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    96 minutes game play footage of a "90s-hack'n'slay-action-adventure"
    with "code: veronica"-mask. Paul W.S. Anderson didn't even try to make a movie anymore...
    ...
    ...
    ...
    ...which was the best decision he could've made! :D
  77. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Definitely the best film in the series thus far, i must say, jovovich is quite a badass, retribution is well-casted, the action is incredibly entertaining, and it's just a great film all across the board.
  78. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    There is a lot I'd like to say to defend my enjoyment of this movie, but I'll just say that it really hit home for me. I didn't expect anything and came out of it feeling very satisfied that I was able to see a movie that made me so exhilarated. I almost don't want to share it because I'm a little bit selfish and think that people who won't appreciate the movie don't deserve to see it, but for the sake of supporting the franchise, I want to encourage people who will accept and enjoy the movie for what it is - fast-paced, precise, beautiful, and a promise of things to come. Expand
  79. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    This has been the only movie I have ever gone back to the theaters so I could watch it again. The only reason I feel compelled to write a review is because: 1) The movie theater was almost empty both times i went to watch it. 2) The reviews are mostly negative. I have never seen any of the past movies or played the games. I only went with a few friends just to kill time and I am happy I did. Now the negative critics say it wasn Expand
  80. Sep 23, 2012
    1
    This is quite possibly the worst movie of the year. I'm a huge resident evil fan, and have seen all of the movies to date. A trend starting in the third movie led to the overall downfall of the series. They either needed to pick one direction or the other, not mix match and mangle the games in to their movies, when they weren't abiding by that universe in the first place. The movie is overwhelmingly brought down by inconsistency, and major plot holes. The acting is atrocious, and very contrived. Literally the best acting in the movie is from 11 year old Deaf Actress Aryana Engineer. The movie looks pretty, but ultimately has no substance, the action scenes are weak and un-entertaining, and the characters forgettable and ultimately expendable. Skip this one if you can guys. Expand
  81. Sep 23, 2012
    0
    For fans, at least the first and second movie, Retribution along with Exctinction is dissapointment. I don't know what I was seeing, Resident Evil: Retribution is a total mess. I couldn't enjoy any single of it. No problem with the 3D, the problem is the whole movie.
  82. Sep 21, 2012
    1
    Okay, the action is good, and the overall fighting sequences are well done. But the story is ludicrous. I did like the realistic scenes that took place right as the zombie invasion happened...however it didn't take long for the film to completely rehash the first iteration with the Red Queen being the enemy and having to escape the base.

    Sure the movie has good parts and bad parts, but
    overall it felt so estranged from the video game series that it shouldn't have been called Resident Evil in any way. It should have been called Insane Action-Zombie Fighter #5.

    Definitely check the trailers and reviews before you buy tickets, because you may be sorely disappointed.
    Expand
  83. Sep 20, 2012
    4
    Don't let the fun and never-ending acrobatic moves of Jovovich fool you, the movie is shallow and incredibly boring in both terms of story and character development. You'll feel bad for wanting to see how the it continues. You'll forget about the whole movie an hour after you've seen it. Although it does explain a few things from it's prequels, the movie still lacks any interesting parts in the plot, mostly because of the lack of character development of the main antagonists, but even Alice herself! If you're up for lasers that cut people into hundreds of pieces and annoying zombies that get their heads smashed by a latex-wearing hot chick, then, by all means, go see the movie. If you're looking for a deep and meaningful movie of which the script actually makes some sense, stay the hell away from this movie! Expand
  84. Sep 20, 2012
    3
    Hilarious cast for Leon :D
    Seriously, those beard and muscle, totally nonsense compared to the the game :D
    disappointing, really.
    the only awesome thing is the zombies, please replace Leon :D
  85. Sep 19, 2012
    3
    It has some creative moments/ideas, but the plot itself is ridiculous and completely nonsensical. Acting in general was terrible. It feels like RE5 was just a tech demo to show CG effects / 3D. Definitely the worst movie in the series so far.
  86. Sep 17, 2012
    2
    How shall I put this to you? ... This is the result of an accident where too much money crashes with the perfect mix of idiocy and amazing visuals.
    I was thinking to waste a few more words on this, but I think you get the point, and I'm staring at this delicious meat ball sandwich. Yum!
  87. Sep 17, 2012
    4
    All i can say for the positives of this film are the CG parts. Anything else that is part of this movie is a disgrace to the resident
    evil franchise. Looks like the films and games of the resident evil
    franchise have just fallen to a new low. This film has bad editing, one fight scene, i felt my eyes hurting due
    to the choppy editing, most of the acting is awful, i could not stand
    it.
    The script is stupid and wants us to care for undeveloped
    characters with parts that just seem too rushed and skipped. Also the
    main antagonist of this film (Red Queen) just keeps popping up and it
    seems really cheesy when she does, as they follow the antagonists
    through the scenes.

    Overall, instead of spending money on a piece of s**t action movie
    (Which will definitely get bad reviews and make a profit) , they should
    invest in a reboot of the whole franchise, creating a much darker and
    scarier film. Preferably based off Resident Evil 4 (The Game) and lose
    all of the stupid writing and pointless action. They also need to get a
    good actor for Lyon, as the actor in this movie was horrible and had
    too much muscle on him.

    It is a B movie at best, due to all the pointless action and CGI, but other than that it has taken a new route of stupid in the Resident Evil franchise.
    Expand
  88. Sep 17, 2012
    1
    The continued decline of a franchise as it progresses is an expected quality and in this regard, Resident Evil: Retribution exceeds at meeting expectations. In essence, the series appears to hit rock bottom (that bottom disguised as a facility that could easily have been stolen from the G.I. Joe movie) right from the start when viewers are treated to a scene that plays out backwards leading up to the moment where Afterlife left off. Although it is an ambitious attempt at adding a layer of freshness to a series that has been steadily going stale, it does not play out as cleverly as it should. The obligatory recap has become rather pointless. It should be expected that those taking in this sequel are pretty much in tune with what has happened up to the moment the opening credits cease. This series doesn't seem all that intent on bringing in new fans. Alice is back. Once again, she must face the bad guys. She impressively fights and flees in slow motion, a gimmick way overused most likely in attempt to drag out the length so people don't feel as cheated. New characters are introduced and old characters make head-scratching appearances that get the briefest of explanations. This element alone could have been interesting had the film's handlers actually focused on it. The fight sequences appear better suited for one of those dance-off films. The acting is horrible across the board. Even the good actors in the film seem to phone in their performances, all too aware that the focus isn't the characters so much as it is the action sequences stitched together in ways that make the film more dull than it should be. The special effects, while cool, are obviously CGI. Some (ok, all) of the action sequences are quite unbelievable. The effects of the last film apparently make no difference in Alice's fighting abilities because she still pulls some rather inhuman moves. Ah, this leads to the problem with continuity. The fate of a few prominent characters remains in question; clearly a sacrifice for introducing new takes on a few game favorites. What the film does well is portray chaos. Unfortunately, that chaos translates into the actual viewing experience as well, ultimately casting this film as nothing more than an interlude in an already middling action/horror franchise. Expand
  89. Sep 17, 2012
    0
    If only Resident Evil would stick to being a well done and immersive video game series instead of a boring and redundant film travesty. Nothing new with the same boring fight scenes which are well choreographed but also suffers from the same-thing-from-the-last-time syndrome.
  90. Sep 16, 2012
    1
    How is it possible? another character that has nothing to do with the history of "resident evil", main characters "Leo and Ada" are secondary characters in this film, Leo has no strength in the movie, when is the opposite in the video game story. Bad edit and direction, lousy script; Wesker is a bad joke, the music is terrible, as bad as it usually goes in amateur short films. How many money actually used in the production? Seems like a fanmovie, except actors (for the cost not quality), about that Expand
  91. Sep 16, 2012
    9
    Mind relaxing, bullets flying. It does what it is designed to do. Just when you are tired of all the summer PG13 rated fight scenes here comes another round of Resident Evil with its R rated goodies. It is a more finely tuned instrument than its previous movies. The fight scenes are shot real well and old crew is all there so you never feel like they left any of the actors behind. I never got bored once and liked this much better than the Total Recall reboot earlier this year. With its top notch CG work and familiar theme I give this one a go. Expand
  92. Sep 16, 2012
    5
    I liked the rewind slow-mo effect in the beginning. I thought the 3D effects were cool. But this was not my fave. :( It was a bit scattered and I didnt get some of the scene transitions. I thought it was a bit overdone and gearing toward cheesy. And if I have to see that same red bloody monster again Im gonna be pissed!! Although the first one was just like the video game I enjoyed it waaaaay more! This one was kinda cheesy and the dialogue was too basic for this to be what?....like the third or fourth one?! I will still see the next RE they make but i hope its better than Retribution! Expand
  93. Sep 14, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil: Retribution is by far the best (if not the greatest) film in the series. Though this film may have some errors such as cheesy dialogue and odd editing at the start of the film, it is redeem by it's great special effects, great 3D and it's non-stop entertainment. This film will not only become the greatest instalment in the series for fans, but a guilty pleasure for others. It's cheese, humour, jump scares and video game-esque, well crafted action scenes create an ultimate entertainment experience for viewers. This film is not for everyone, but if you are a fan of the series or dumb fun action flicks, then this is for you. Expand
  94. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this movie and the first 4 very much. Resident Evil: Retribution promises thrills and enjoyment for casual movie-goers and fans like myself.
  95. Sep 14, 2012
    7
    How do you get the main heroine of the Resident Evil series Alice (Milla Jovovich) into three major world centers in different corners of the Earth without conjuring up crazy plot twists? You just put her into test simulations of these cities built in an Umbrella Corporation army base
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Sep 21, 2012
    40
    Giant brains with teeth, suburban mutant zombies, more bullets than a John Woo film festival, and hot girls in skin-tight S&M outfits pummelling each other to a deafening dubstep soundtrack. If you're looking for brainless, blood-guzzling carnage, you've found it.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 19, 2012
    40
    Jovovich's physicality and chilly mien (she was originally a "project" of the Umbrella Corp.) carry the series from start to … whenever it finishes, which might not be for quite a while yet.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 15, 2012
    60
    Anderson utilizes slow-motion 3-D to hyperbolic effect while again casting Jovovich as the epitome of badass sexiness.