Resident Evil: Retribution

Resident Evil: Retribution Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 373 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Umbrella Corporation’s deadly T-virus continues to ravage the Earth, transforming the global population into legions of the flesh eating Undead. The human race’s last and only hope, Alice, awakens in the heart of Umbrella's most clandestine operations facility and unveils more of herThe Umbrella Corporation’s deadly T-virus continues to ravage the Earth, transforming the global population into legions of the flesh eating Undead. The human race’s last and only hope, Alice, awakens in the heart of Umbrella's most clandestine operations facility and unveils more of her mysterious past as she delves further into the complex. Without a safe haven, Alice continues to hunt those responsible for the outbreak; a chase that takes her from Tokyo to New York, Washington, D.C. and Moscow, culminating in a mind-blowing revelation that will force her to rethink everything that she once thought to be true. Aided by newfound allies and familiar friends, Alice must fight to survive long enough to escape a hostile world on the brink of oblivion. The countdown has begun. (Screen Gems) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Sep 14, 2012
    88
    At this point in the franchise, Anderson is content to alight the saga on a perpetual rewind loop, ever-ending, ever-rebooting, all subsidized by his nonpareil compositional sense.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 15, 2012
    60
    Anderson utilizes slow-motion 3-D to hyperbolic effect while again casting Jovovich as the epitome of badass sexiness.
  3. Sep 15, 2012
    50
    Even devoted fans may wonder whether this installment is actually a haphazard patchwork of outtakes from previous "Resident Evil" pictures.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Sep 14, 2012
    40
    Anderson['s] lavish visual imagination is matched to a placeholder idea of character that's almost avant-garde in its generic stylization, dialogue buffed of personality by passing through 10,000 previous movies.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 19, 2012
    40
    Jovovich's physicality and chilly mien (she was originally a "project" of the Umbrella Corp.) carry the series from start to … whenever it finishes, which might not be for quite a while yet.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Sep 15, 2012
    38
    Funny about retribution, though - it's a tricky thing to make time for when you've still got mutant zombie hordes after you. The real premise turns out to be a busy rehash of the first movie's story line.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Sep 15, 2012
    16
    It's a testament to the movie's lack of creativity that Anderson can't even rip off "Aliens" and have it come across as anything less than totally boring.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 102
  2. Negative: 48 out of 102
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this movie and the first 4 very much. Resident Evil: Retribution promises thrills and enjoyment for casual movie-goers and fans like myself.
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    come on, this is the most entertaining film i've seen this year, sometimes, you just need to turn that brain down and just let the film takecome on, this is the most entertaining film i've seen this year, sometimes, you just need to turn that brain down and just let the film take you wherever it will Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2012
    7
    How do you get the main heroine of the Resident Evil series Alice (Milla Jovovich) into three major world centers in different corners of theHow do you get the main heroine of the Resident Evil series Alice (Milla Jovovich) into three major world centers in different corners of the Earth without conjuring up crazy plot twists? You just put her into test simulations of these cities built in an Umbrella Corporation army base Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    4
    What an insult to the Resident Evil franchise! Yes, it has good effects but the plot is entirely pointless, it is screwed up and thrown aside,What an insult to the Resident Evil franchise! Yes, it has good effects but the plot is entirely pointless, it is screwed up and thrown aside, aswell as being completely disinteresting and predictable. Stop making these damn movies if you don't care about the franchise! It's not going to appeal to anyone, especially not to Resident Evil fans. If anything it's like a slap in the face to them! Why does this have the Resident Evil name on it to throw people off? It doesn't have anything to do with Resident Evil, you might aswell just call it "Brainless action-flick" to easier target your audience. The characters I couldn't care about, the main character is just there for the sex appeal and the over-the-top shouting just drags on. They're not even talking about anything, they're just shouting over the top of each other to try to make you think that the scene is meaningful, when it isn't. None of the characters ever reload their weapons either and there are some serious consistency issues. Overall, I did have a fun time when I switched my brain off but it pains me when I see movies like this sometimes be more successful than good movies. Stop it! Stop supporting this misleading BS from directors who just want to cash-in! Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2012
    3
    I didn't really expect anything from the movie. So when it came out to theater, I was not surprised. This franchise needs to be stopped.I didn't really expect anything from the movie. So when it came out to theater, I was not surprised. This franchise needs to be stopped. Enough with the "Resident Evil" movie, it is just getting worse and worse! Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2012
    1
    How is it possible? another character that has nothing to do with the history of "resident evil", main characters "Leo and Ada" are secondaryHow is it possible? another character that has nothing to do with the history of "resident evil", main characters "Leo and Ada" are secondary characters in this film, Leo has no strength in the movie, when is the opposite in the video game story. Bad edit and direction, lousy script; Wesker is a bad joke, the music is terrible, as bad as it usually goes in amateur short films. How many money actually used in the production? Seems like a fanmovie, except actors (for the cost not quality), about that Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2012
    0
    I could barely watch the movie because I didn't have to. Even a blind man could tell what was gonna happen next. I think it's time to put theI could barely watch the movie because I didn't have to. Even a blind man could tell what was gonna happen next. I think it's time to put the resident evil movie saga to rest. After so many tries, it's just not gonna work out. Retribution shows that. Expand

See all 102 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: June 15, 2012
    This week, watch new clips and features for "The Amazing Spider-Man" and Oliver Stone's "Savages" as well as the week's new trailers (for "2 Days in New York," "Pitch Perfect," "Resident Evil: Retribution," and more). Plus, get a recap of this week's movie news.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  6. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.