Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 354 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Umbrella Corporation’s deadly T-virus continues to ravage the Earth, transforming the global population into legions of the flesh eating Undead. The human race’s last and only hope, Alice, awakens in the heart of Umbrella's most clandestine operations facility and unveils more of herThe Umbrella Corporation’s deadly T-virus continues to ravage the Earth, transforming the global population into legions of the flesh eating Undead. The human race’s last and only hope, Alice, awakens in the heart of Umbrella's most clandestine operations facility and unveils more of her mysterious past as she delves further into the complex. Without a safe haven, Alice continues to hunt those responsible for the outbreak; a chase that takes her from Tokyo to New York, Washington, D.C. and Moscow, culminating in a mind-blowing revelation that will force her to rethink everything that she once thought to be true. Aided by newfound allies and familiar friends, Alice must fight to survive long enough to escape a hostile world on the brink of oblivion. The countdown has begun. (Screen Gems) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Sep 14, 2012
    88
    At this point in the franchise, Anderson is content to alight the saga on a perpetual rewind loop, ever-ending, ever-rebooting, all subsidized by his nonpareil compositional sense.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 15, 2012
    60
    Anderson utilizes slow-motion 3-D to hyperbolic effect while again casting Jovovich as the epitome of badass sexiness.
  3. Sep 15, 2012
    50
    Even devoted fans may wonder whether this installment is actually a haphazard patchwork of outtakes from previous "Resident Evil" pictures.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Sep 14, 2012
    40
    Anderson['s] lavish visual imagination is matched to a placeholder idea of character that's almost avant-garde in its generic stylization, dialogue buffed of personality by passing through 10,000 previous movies.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 19, 2012
    40
    Jovovich's physicality and chilly mien (she was originally a "project" of the Umbrella Corp.) carry the series from start to … whenever it finishes, which might not be for quite a while yet.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Sep 15, 2012
    38
    Funny about retribution, though - it's a tricky thing to make time for when you've still got mutant zombie hordes after you. The real premise turns out to be a busy rehash of the first movie's story line.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Sep 15, 2012
    16
    It's a testament to the movie's lack of creativity that Anderson can't even rip off "Aliens" and have it come across as anything less than totally boring.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 102
  2. Negative: 48 out of 102
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this movie and the first 4 very much. Resident Evil: Retribution promises thrills and enjoyment for casual movie-goers and fans like myself.
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Definitely the best film in the series thus far, i must say, jovovich is quite a badass, retribution is well-casted, the action is incrediblyDefinitely the best film in the series thus far, i must say, jovovich is quite a badass, retribution is well-casted, the action is incredibly entertaining, and it's just a great film all across the board. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    This movie concept does look empty indeed, all I can say is that you will enjoy watching it if you liked the resident evil afterlife; andThis movie concept does look empty indeed, all I can say is that you will enjoy watching it if you liked the resident evil afterlife; and thats funny because even while being a critic person I actually had a good time watching it just as the afterlife, I don't know, just felt entertaining, so overally I give it an 8 Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    4
    Positive:
    In case of "Action Movie" it's very good. Excellent movie!
    You can find a lot of nice action scene with slow motion in this movie
    Positive:
    In case of "Action Movie" it's very good. Excellent movie!
    You can find a lot of nice action scene with slow motion in this movie which goes along very well and I like it a lot, honestly. Even at the start, the slow motion was quite good on rewinding scene while showing the credit. The sound and CG are great but some scenes you will find something strange (Low quality compose may be.).

    Negative:
    But it's representation of "Resident Evil" has been TOTALLY FAILED!!......
    If you played RE video games before I'm sure that u will understand why...
    In fact there is nothing similar to "Resident Evil" in this movie at all, except the "Name"...Well, you know? like...
    Name of the film , Name of the company, Names of the Virus, Names of the characters etc. It'll be best if they change the name to "Resident Terminator" or something else. Conclusion:
    If you are fan-boy of action movie and you didn't mind about the change of RE franchise, this can be one of the best movie for you. (Give 8-10)

    If not, I recommend "Resident Evil" The CG Motion Picture which created by CAP-COM.
    Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2014
    3
    This movie is just plain bad. Everything about it is bad. Milla Jovovich tries her best but W.S. Anderson just decides to **** it allThis movie is just plain bad. Everything about it is bad. Milla Jovovich tries her best but W.S. Anderson just decides to **** it all up.....literally!!!!!!!! Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    2
    I have always told people around me that these movies had each about 2 minutes of excellent story and a whole lot of cool action. Well, thisI have always told people around me that these movies had each about 2 minutes of excellent story and a whole lot of cool action. Well, this one has neither. This "thing" dares to ignore all continuity and attempts to convert anti-corporate post-zombie-apocalyptic Shadowrun to nationalistic survival with silly ads from today's mega-corporations. And fails even at that. Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2012
    0
    The story line is awful, The special effects suck and it's painfully obvious that they are fake. I also love how the main villains win theThe story line is awful, The special effects suck and it's painfully obvious that they are fake. I also love how the main villains win the final battle yet still lose due to some pathetic last second twist. So dumb imo. I am done with this series. Collapse

See all 102 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.