Screen Gems | Release Date: March 15, 2002
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 312 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
183
Mixed:
80
Negative:
49
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
SpangleNov 15, 2016
Undeniably entertaining, Resident Evil often mirrors a schlocky and campy science fiction film from the 1980s. With campy dialogue and cheesy effects, Resident Evil has a fantastic time creating an interesting universe in which businesses areUndeniably entertaining, Resident Evil often mirrors a schlocky and campy science fiction film from the 1980s. With campy dialogue and cheesy effects, Resident Evil has a fantastic time creating an interesting universe in which businesses are evil and do everything for the bottom line. Not sure where they got that idea. We are all about serving stakeholders (business major joke). That said, though entertaining, its thematic undertakings are done via force feeding. Additionally, the film is plagued by cliches, poor dialogue, bad writing, bad acting, and now aged effects. When Resident Evil hits, however, its tension is hard to deny.

First, the negatives. The writing - both in the dialogue and character development - is horrific. Apparently Milla Jovovich is named Alice in this film and Michelle Rodriguez is Rain. Maybe I missed that, but even their names are barely developed here minus a few mentions here-and-there. The film tries to play this off by having Alice suffer from amnesia in the beginning, but this barely works when the audience does not even really know who Alice is either. This prevents the audience from being able to really develop any form of connection with her character, beyond the primal need to survive. The bad dialogue in the film is accentuated by poor delivery at times that really pulls you out of the moment. For example, the final sequence on the train has Generic White Male Character #3 yell something to Alice and both of them totally blow their lines. This really kills the momentum of an otherwise tense sequence by pulling you out of it. Essentially, the acting in Resident Evil makes you realize it is a film.

The cliches are far too many to list out, but obviously, Resident Evil's approach to zombies is hardly unique. Every other zombie movie has headshots as the means of death and it has been to death at this point. Fortunately, the film felt the need to try and revive this cliche. The film also lumps in a malevolent computer system, poorly behaving corporations, superviruses, hidden antiviruses, and "unexpected" zombie transformations to the cliche equation. The film's cliches even do brush against its thematic elements. Not only are these anti-business elements spelled out for the audience by explaining that businesses never learn and never care about others, but these are wildly typical. Resident Evil is hardly profound in this arena and makes the film feel all the more cliche. By the time this film came out, audiences had been introduced to the concept that businesses were evil sometimes and did not need to see this mentioned here. Director Paul W.S. Anderson is hardly pulling the wool away from the audience's eyes here, especially since the Enron scandal happened in October 2001. Of course, this is hardly the first business scandal on the books. Films that try and have some kind of thematic element need it to actually be, well, worthwhile. When everybody already agrees and the film spells it out for you, it is highly likely to fall on deaf ears as it does here.

All of this said, Resident Evil can be a highly successful film at times and is undeniably fun. For action junkies, Resident Evil will deliver the requisite adrenaline boost. With great scenes of horror blended with good music and good action sequences, Resident Evil can really leave you on the edge of your seat, waiting in dread for what is around the next corner. Many love Anderson's work on the horror film Event Horizon (have yet to see it myself) and it is easy to see why here. Resident Evil definitely scares and use the mystery of the situation its protagonists finds themselves in to really ramp up the horror and the tension.

Overall, since it is an action film, I feel the need to be lenient on Resident Evil. Its action set pieces are great fun and really well-executed. For all of his faults as a director, Anderson knows action. Sadly, the film simply has nothing else below the surface to survive and simply self-destructs.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerSep 8, 2011
I've never played the video games so I can't compare this to them, but I can tell you this is a very enjoyable Zombie movie, this movie actually made me jump twice, it's really a great movie, and I'm looking forward to the other movies in the series.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
ThegodfathersonAug 6, 2013
Till now, this movie absolutely blew my brains into watching a hot chick kill zombies with a bang. Well, that's what Resident Evil is for. Based on a video game, its a whole mess of a movie. Nothing compelled to the smart and excellent videoTill now, this movie absolutely blew my brains into watching a hot chick kill zombies with a bang. Well, that's what Resident Evil is for. Based on a video game, its a whole mess of a movie. Nothing compelled to the smart and excellent video game and nothing to the horrible direction of Paul W.S Anderson. It's a survival horror movie, its has created its whole new genre to take place into cinemas. But atleast the effects are fun to watch. I also give credit to Anderson by making this brainless action setting that is fun to wrap your mind around. But unfortunately, it sucks. Bad. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Resident Evil" is a zombie movie based on a famous game franchise. The movie is different from the game and offers new perspective and entertainment, if and only if you can handle the cheesy dialogue and the lost-its-way plot of the movie.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMar 11, 2014
i love resident evil trilogy and this one3 it is go epic watching a group of rad ass people kill zombies but this one is never better then dawn of the dead or world war z . resident evil is better then shaun of the dead
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 13, 2014
Resident evil tries too much to be like the games and it's not really a good result.The fight scenes are cheesy and and the last monster is made with some incredibly bad CGI effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoJul 26, 2015
Great movie eh! pure zombie virus infection of T , good plot and who says it with the best terror, but not nearly as interesting as it was supplied eh! .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieLonely94Oct 19, 2010
The idea is nice and the action is quite impressive, but this movie is so uninteresting and boringly dull that it makes fans of the franchise want to stick to the video games instead.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
HalfwelshmanJan 26, 2012
I'll admit this from the off - I am not a fan of the Resident Evil games. I think I played Resident Evil 3 briefly a long time ago but that's where my experience with the series ends. The first film in the series is a bit of a guilty pleasureI'll admit this from the off - I am not a fan of the Resident Evil games. I think I played Resident Evil 3 briefly a long time ago but that's where my experience with the series ends. The first film in the series is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine. Resident Evil works as a pretty decent example of both an action and a horror movie - the set pieces are entertaining and stylish, there are a couple of decent scares and the whole film maintains momentum (if not quite tension) throughout. Milla Jovovich has another ballsy action heroine role to add to her C.V., and while Alice is not quite up there with Leeloo, she's a solid protagonist that does exactly what is required of her, that is to say she still kicks serious undead behind. The rest of the cast, and their characters are generic and unmemorable, and as is traditional with this kind of film, it quickly becomes a game of "who's going to be zombie lunch next". Will we ever see Michelle Rodriguez playing a different character? It's highly doubtful, but hey, she's got a good thing going with type-casting, so who am I to judge. The script is also pretty clunky, but at the end of the day it's just an action-horror movie, and one based on a video game at that, so you don't expect much in that regard. The CGI was also never top-of-the-line (being a film entirely financed by small European studios) and these effects look even worse today, so thankfully they're used sparingly. You can have a pretty good time with Resident Evil if you're prepared to gloss over a few issues, and just take it for what it is - a bit of fun. You'll really see it at its very best if you watch it with a couple of friends, perhaps with a beer or two, then you can all indulge in what makes it good entertainment, and as one, you can also ridicule what makes it...less good. Just sit back, leave your brain outside and enjoy the ride. And watch out for the lasers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Jan 25, 2013
Considering how low a budget this film had, it was really surprising just how far they stretched it. This is perhaps the only Resident evil (non-animated) movie that I liked. I really like that they decided not to just remake the story fromConsidering how low a budget this film had, it was really surprising just how far they stretched it. This is perhaps the only Resident evil (non-animated) movie that I liked. I really like that they decided not to just remake the story from the games and make an original character with her own story. I really like Alice and Milla does a great job playing her. Rodriguez also does a good job but she more or less just plays the same character that she always plays. The rest of the cast were just forgettable. As to the movie as a whole, it was a decent horror that did have some chills and did a good job capturing the tone of the games, or at least the first two games. Overall: An enjoyable movie that is perhaps one of the better video game movie adaptations. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesFeb 1, 2015
Frankly, there's nothing encouraging to see in this movie. It's just another plotless, formulaic, cheesy and unnecessarily violent movie based on a famous videogame franchise. Stay away from this, please.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Feb 14, 2012
The charm of the first Resident Evil is that it accepts that its for a video gamer crowd. Its loud, its proud and because of that, there is a slick pace and tone that makes the movie enjoyable. It also has the predictably hammy performancesThe charm of the first Resident Evil is that it accepts that its for a video gamer crowd. Its loud, its proud and because of that, there is a slick pace and tone that makes the movie enjoyable. It also has the predictably hammy performances you can expect in a video game adaptation with Milla Jovovich and James Purefoy being the main culprits with Michelle Rodriguez bringing her usual latin tough girl routine. Sure the film is mindless but it puts sufficient enough menace into the monsters with the zombies being well created and performed. The CGI used in the film has noticeably aged since the film came out and it doesnâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
drlowdonSep 4, 2016
Turning the (cheesy) horror games into such an action orientated fare means that, as well as not being a particular great film, Resident Evil also has little in common with the video games on which it is supposedly based. To be totally fairTurning the (cheesy) horror games into such an action orientated fare means that, as well as not being a particular great film, Resident Evil also has little in common with the video games on which it is supposedly based. To be totally fair there have been worse video game movies (Super Mario Bros, Street Fighter) but the script is pretty poor and the plot lacks coherence meaning that overall this is a bit of a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RikiegeNov 1, 2012
Zombie movies are very views.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
ArkonBladeMar 23, 2011
im a huge fan of the RE games ive played them all . what disappoints me about theese video games to movies the most is the pure abandonment of the source material . not much about this movie resembles much of any thing to the resident evilim a huge fan of the RE games ive played them all . what disappoints me about theese video games to movies the most is the pure abandonment of the source material . not much about this movie resembles much of any thing to the resident evil game outside it has zombies and is in a mansion thats about where it all ends . its a wachable movie if you try to forget its called resident evil . with out chris , jill , barry , and wesker the stars of the first game you dont really have a resident evil movie just some zombie flick branded with its name trying to cash in on it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
busbfranJan 7, 2015
Resident evil has amazing suspension, though struggles to maintain direction. There is no stand out performances here however, nothing below average. The first half of the movie is very strong until the zombies are introduced. The creepyResident evil has amazing suspension, though struggles to maintain direction. There is no stand out performances here however, nothing below average. The first half of the movie is very strong until the zombies are introduced. The creepy atmosphere and unanswered question will intrigue even the simplest of audiences. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
CooterPatooterMar 4, 2012
I know this comes as lukewarm praise, given Anderson's horrendous catalogue, but this is his best film. Skip the rest of the series. Actually, skip this one too.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
eTurkeyApr 2, 2012
If you're a fan of the video games and have not seen this film then DON'T suddenly scramble away to the nearest video store with the belief that this film is anything like those titles, because that would be a bare-faced lie. Whilst thisIf you're a fan of the video games and have not seen this film then DON'T suddenly scramble away to the nearest video store with the belief that this film is anything like those titles, because that would be a bare-faced lie. Whilst this movie does hold its own for the most part it deviates so far from the popular games that it bares only minimalistic origins to It's original inspiration. Positive aspects about this feature is the soundtrack which features music very suited to the atmosphere of the setting and the CGI which was fantastic for the time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
WriteFilmLive21Feb 9, 2013
I actually kinda wanted to like "Resident Evil", but in the end, it's just too silly for me to really recommend it. Even though it's not really awful, it's never any more than cheap mediocrity, rushed plotwriting, suspenseless action, shallowI actually kinda wanted to like "Resident Evil", but in the end, it's just too silly for me to really recommend it. Even though it's not really awful, it's never any more than cheap mediocrity, rushed plotwriting, suspenseless action, shallow performances, annoyingly loud and pompous synth/electric music score that saps all atmosphere from decent setpieces, and (although this was made around the youth of CGI) some of the worst computer effects I've ever seen. Some of these things I didn't mind so much by the end of the movie, and if it was a little neater, more polished and enjoyed the atmosphere over vapid gore and jump scares, I probably would consider it a decent one-time watch. That being said, it's only a fun idea falling short of any memorable entertainment, despite having Michelle Rodriguez shooting zombies. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
BigZNov 5, 2014
Pretty standard zombie movie with an interesting plot. It's always tough to try and make a movie based on a video game, you are never quite sure which audience you are going to offend first. I think it hobbled along okay. A bit shaky here andPretty standard zombie movie with an interesting plot. It's always tough to try and make a movie based on a video game, you are never quite sure which audience you are going to offend first. I think it hobbled along okay. A bit shaky here and there but it didn't try to overstep too far except with the CGI work. Waiting a few years may have helped with that. I feel like the scale was shortened a bit soon. Of course that is notorious in horror movies. Probably the coolest guy in the movie died before he could show off how BA he is. Annoying. I love Milla though. She is a cutie while still being an awesome female action hero. This is one of her first tries in that role and she handles it alright. It is your standard zombie movie. I don't why people feel like you need to make zombies more complicated, its simple they are mindless and slow they die with a head shot there is just a freakin lot of them. While being bloody and gruesome the human touch and feeling didn't get lost, they really tried to save each other and not be stupid. It became what it intended I suppose. A shooter zombie flick based on a popular video game. Not overly impressive in any way. Watch it if you want. I won't stop you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KayVen17Aug 27, 2016
Deutsche Review - Kritik

Story: 17/25 Punkte
Schauspieler: 14/25 Punkte
Bearbeitung: 16/25 Punkte
Sound: 18/25 Punkte

Gesamtpunktzahl

65/100 Punkte
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Andy92Sep 12, 2010
i thought this movie was an alright start to the resident evil franchise despite not following the original game series storyline. the story was satisfactory not perfect and the cast performed well and convincingly. i would recommend this movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
julian_zizzleAug 3, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one awesome story of carnage. I loved Alice. I loved Rain but shame that she got infected. I liked the lazer slash and dog chase screens. Everybody should watch this one! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
voidersApr 26, 2013
That movie was good and bad points. I liked the actors, the soundtrack, the mistory about how the virus escaped. Mila is good actress, the script is original, but is not amazing, is just "another hollywood action movie".
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
ElucidateJan 23, 2014
I will not jump on the "this movie messed up Resident Evil" bandwagon. Clearly, the film series is going to have a completely different direction and take place in a different fictional universe than the games. Having said that, the film'sI will not jump on the "this movie messed up Resident Evil" bandwagon. Clearly, the film series is going to have a completely different direction and take place in a different fictional universe than the games. Having said that, the film's plot is still too incoherent and the dialogue still too juvenile to make it memorable in any way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SiAScORCHNov 5, 2014
While I'm a huge fan of pretty much anything Resident Evil, I can't let that affect my honest review. The movie isn't so bad and I do watch it from time to time. I like horror movies, and this is one of the movies that I'm able to watch moreWhile I'm a huge fan of pretty much anything Resident Evil, I can't let that affect my honest review. The movie isn't so bad and I do watch it from time to time. I like horror movies, and this is one of the movies that I'm able to watch more than once which isn't always the case. I would honestly say the movie is worth watching, or owning if you can find it cheap. It's interesting and has a lot of action so at times it'll have you on the edge of your seat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
perkjlJan 8, 2016
A decent Sci-fi with some clichéd action sequences and a little horror elements thrown in. Barely if at all follows the games, but has some similarities. The original Resident Evil film surpasses the later installments. The set pieces areA decent Sci-fi with some clichéd action sequences and a little horror elements thrown in. Barely if at all follows the games, but has some similarities. The original Resident Evil film surpasses the later installments. The set pieces are well done. They feel claustrophobic and unsettling just like the earlier games on Sony's PlayStation. The environments involving underground tunnels and labs are definitely the film's strong point. Overall, it's an average movie that's easy on the eyes. For a movie adaption of a video game it could be worse. Just don't expect good acting and sadly no "Jill sandwich" lines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BernanHandeiroApr 20, 2014
CAMON!
please dont do this to me! critics are negative? in all movies????? but why? CGI are bad? plot are bad? crew are bad? well, is just an user review against all of those critics but the users win and in the end, Resident Evil rules!!!!
CAMON!
please dont do this to me! critics are negative? in all movies????? but why? CGI are bad? plot are bad? crew are bad? well, is just an user review against all of those critics but the users win and in the end, Resident Evil rules!!!! --thank God!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
walker14Apr 20, 2014
Personally, I think RE is one of the best movies I've ever seen, and trust me, I've seen a lot of movies! It has an original story, good characters, and extremely good storyline and there's so much in the movie.. action, horror.. thePersonally, I think RE is one of the best movies I've ever seen, and trust me, I've seen a lot of movies! It has an original story, good characters, and extremely good storyline and there's so much in the movie.. action, horror.. the relations between the characters, the way they need to unite to survive.. it's such a good and interesting movie! I find so weird that people have so many negative critics! I mean, I know it was inspired in the game, and i know Alice isn't in it.. but people need to get one thing straight: those are two different things! and to be honest, I think it's pretty cool that there is a female bad ass the major character! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LOmarGJul 28, 2013
Can be disappointing on so many levels, but even though it doesn't do a good job of adapting the game, I still find this entertaining and watchable. The Manson/Beltrami score collaboration works well, as does the cold corporation slant.Can be disappointing on so many levels, but even though it doesn't do a good job of adapting the game, I still find this entertaining and watchable. The Manson/Beltrami score collaboration works well, as does the cold corporation slant. It's just that considering the source material, this doesn't live up to the awesomeness it could've been. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews