User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 255 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 255

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2014
    7
    While I'm a huge fan of pretty much anything Resident Evil, I can't let that affect my honest review. The movie isn't so bad and I do watch it from time to time. I like horror movies, and this is one of the movies that I'm able to watch more than once which isn't always the case. I would honestly say the movie is worth watching, or owning if you can find it cheap. It's interesting and hasWhile I'm a huge fan of pretty much anything Resident Evil, I can't let that affect my honest review. The movie isn't so bad and I do watch it from time to time. I like horror movies, and this is one of the movies that I'm able to watch more than once which isn't always the case. I would honestly say the movie is worth watching, or owning if you can find it cheap. It's interesting and has a lot of action so at times it'll have you on the edge of your seat. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2014
    4
    Pretty standard zombie movie with an interesting plot. It's always tough to try and make a movie based on a video game, you are never quite sure which audience you are going to offend first. I think it hobbled along okay. A bit shaky here and there but it didn't try to overstep too far except with the CGI work. Waiting a few years may have helped with that. I feel like the scale wasPretty standard zombie movie with an interesting plot. It's always tough to try and make a movie based on a video game, you are never quite sure which audience you are going to offend first. I think it hobbled along okay. A bit shaky here and there but it didn't try to overstep too far except with the CGI work. Waiting a few years may have helped with that. I feel like the scale was shortened a bit soon. Of course that is notorious in horror movies. Probably the coolest guy in the movie died before he could show off how BA he is. Annoying. I love Milla though. She is a cutie while still being an awesome female action hero. This is one of her first tries in that role and she handles it alright. It is your standard zombie movie. I don't why people feel like you need to make zombies more complicated, its simple they are mindless and slow they die with a head shot there is just a freakin lot of them. While being bloody and gruesome the human touch and feeling didn't get lost, they really tried to save each other and not be stupid. It became what it intended I suppose. A shooter zombie flick based on a popular video game. Not overly impressive in any way. Watch it if you want. I won't stop you. Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2014
    7
    Resident evil tries too much to be like the games and it's not really a good result.The fight scenes are cheesy and and the last monster is made with some incredibly bad CGI effects.
  4. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    CAMON!
    please dont do this to me! critics are negative? in all movies????? but why? CGI are bad? plot are bad? crew are bad? well, is just an user review against all of those critics but the users win and in the end, Resident Evil rules!!!! --thank God!
  5. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Personally, I think RE is one of the best movies I've ever seen, and trust me, I've seen a lot of movies! It has an original story, good characters, and extremely good storyline and there's so much in the movie.. action, horror.. the relations between the characters, the way they need to unite to survive.. it's such a good and interesting movie! I find so weird that people have so manyPersonally, I think RE is one of the best movies I've ever seen, and trust me, I've seen a lot of movies! It has an original story, good characters, and extremely good storyline and there's so much in the movie.. action, horror.. the relations between the characters, the way they need to unite to survive.. it's such a good and interesting movie! I find so weird that people have so many negative critics! I mean, I know it was inspired in the game, and i know Alice isn't in it.. but people need to get one thing straight: those are two different things! and to be honest, I think it's pretty cool that there is a female bad ass the major character! Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    i love resident evil trilogy and this one3 it is go epic watching a group of rad ass people kill zombies but this one is never better then dawn of the dead or world war z . resident evil is better then shaun of the dead
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    Very good convert from video game to movie, kept true to the game for those that have played it.
    It is what it is and far this reason I rate it highly.
  8. Jan 23, 2014
    4
    I will not jump on the "this movie messed up Resident Evil" bandwagon. Clearly, the film series is going to have a completely different direction and take place in a different fictional universe than the games. Having said that, the film's plot is still too incoherent and the dialogue still too juvenile to make it memorable in any way.
  9. Aug 23, 2013
    6
    This was... alright. It didn't follow the RE lore exactly, though did a good job with story telling.
    The action scenes didn't fit RE at all, and felt too cheesy.
    The sequels are actually decent, and I did enjoy this as a movie series in it's own right. It'd be worth a rent to any RE fan I'd say.
  10. Aug 6, 2013
    3
    Till now, this movie absolutely blew my brains into watching a hot chick kill zombies with a bang. Well, that's what Resident Evil is for. Based on a video game, its a whole mess of a movie. Nothing compelled to the smart and excellent video game and nothing to the horrible direction of Paul W.S Anderson. It's a survival horror movie, its has created its whole new genre to take place intoTill now, this movie absolutely blew my brains into watching a hot chick kill zombies with a bang. Well, that's what Resident Evil is for. Based on a video game, its a whole mess of a movie. Nothing compelled to the smart and excellent video game and nothing to the horrible direction of Paul W.S Anderson. It's a survival horror movie, its has created its whole new genre to take place into cinemas. But atleast the effects are fun to watch. I also give credit to Anderson by making this brainless action setting that is fun to wrap your mind around. But unfortunately, it sucks. Bad. Expand
  11. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    Can be disappointing on so many levels, but even though it doesn't do a good job of adapting the game, I still find this entertaining and watchable. The Manson/Beltrami score collaboration works well, as does the cold corporation slant. It's just that considering the source material, this doesn't live up to the awesomeness it could've been.
  12. Apr 26, 2013
    5
    That movie was good and bad points. I liked the actors, the soundtrack, the mistory about how the virus escaped. Mila is good actress, the script is original, but is not amazing, is just "another hollywood action movie".
  13. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    It's a really entertaining movie, but Is it Resident Evil? Certainly not. It would've been cooler if they had actually followed the game's storyline.
  14. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    Having never played any of the games, I rate this without the "...but it didn't follow the game's plot, 0/10" nonsense. I thought this was a fabulous movie. Although the whole zombie thing has really taken over a lot of movies, apps, and games lately, Resident Evil brought a fresh take on the slow-moving, falling-apart crap we're so used to nowadays. I appreciated the fact that there was aHaving never played any of the games, I rate this without the "...but it didn't follow the game's plot, 0/10" nonsense. I thought this was a fabulous movie. Although the whole zombie thing has really taken over a lot of movies, apps, and games lately, Resident Evil brought a fresh take on the slow-moving, falling-apart crap we're so used to nowadays. I appreciated the fact that there was a plot, and a pretty decent one at that. It wasn't just the characters pulling ammo out of their asses and killing hundreds of zombies. It was a great movie. Expand
  15. Feb 9, 2013
    3
    I actually kinda wanted to like "Resident Evil", but in the end, it's just too silly for me to really recommend it. Even though it's not really awful, it's never any more than cheap mediocrity, rushed plotwriting, suspenseless action, shallow performances, annoyingly loud and pompous synth/electric music score that saps all atmosphere from decent setpieces, and (although this was madeI actually kinda wanted to like "Resident Evil", but in the end, it's just too silly for me to really recommend it. Even though it's not really awful, it's never any more than cheap mediocrity, rushed plotwriting, suspenseless action, shallow performances, annoyingly loud and pompous synth/electric music score that saps all atmosphere from decent setpieces, and (although this was made around the youth of CGI) some of the worst computer effects I've ever seen. Some of these things I didn't mind so much by the end of the movie, and if it was a little neater, more polished and enjoyed the atmosphere over vapid gore and jump scares, I probably would consider it a decent one-time watch. That being said, it's only a fun idea falling short of any memorable entertainment, despite having Michelle Rodriguez shooting zombies. Expand
  16. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    Considering how low a budget this film had, it was really surprising just how far they stretched it. This is perhaps the only Resident evil (non-animated) movie that I liked. I really like that they decided not to just remake the story from the games and make an original character with her own story. I really like Alice and Milla does a great job playing her. Rodriguez also does a good jobConsidering how low a budget this film had, it was really surprising just how far they stretched it. This is perhaps the only Resident evil (non-animated) movie that I liked. I really like that they decided not to just remake the story from the games and make an original character with her own story. I really like Alice and Milla does a great job playing her. Rodriguez also does a good job but she more or less just plays the same character that she always plays. The rest of the cast were just forgettable. As to the movie as a whole, it was a decent horror that did have some chills and did a good job capturing the tone of the games, or at least the first two games. Overall: An enjoyable movie that is perhaps one of the better video game movie adaptations. Expand
  17. Nov 1, 2012
    4
    Zombie movies are very views.
  18. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    If you're a fan of the video games and have not seen this film then DON'T suddenly scramble away to the nearest video store with the belief that this film is anything like those titles, because that would be a bare-faced lie. Whilst this movie does hold its own for the most part it deviates so far from the popular games that it bares only minimalistic origins to It's original inspiration.If you're a fan of the video games and have not seen this film then DON'T suddenly scramble away to the nearest video store with the belief that this film is anything like those titles, because that would be a bare-faced lie. Whilst this movie does hold its own for the most part it deviates so far from the popular games that it bares only minimalistic origins to It's original inspiration. Positive aspects about this feature is the soundtrack which features music very suited to the atmosphere of the setting and the CGI which was fantastic for the time. Expand
  19. Mar 4, 2012
    4
    I know this comes as lukewarm praise, given Anderson's horrendous catalogue, but this is his best film. Skip the rest of the series. Actually, skip this one too.
  20. Feb 14, 2012
    6
    The charm of the first Resident Evil is that it accepts that its for a video gamer crowd. Its loud, its proud and because of that, there is a slick pace and tone that makes the movie enjoyable. It also has the predictably hammy performances you can expect in a video game adaptation with Milla Jovovich and James Purefoy being the main culprits with Michelle Rodriguez bringing her usualThe charm of the first Resident Evil is that it accepts that its for a video gamer crowd. Its loud, its proud and because of that, there is a slick pace and tone that makes the movie enjoyable. It also has the predictably hammy performances you can expect in a video game adaptation with Milla Jovovich and James Purefoy being the main culprits with Michelle Rodriguez bringing her usual latin tough girl routine. Sure the film is mindless but it puts sufficient enough menace into the monsters with the zombies being well created and performed. The CGI used in the film has noticeably aged since the film came out and it doesnâ Expand
  21. Jan 26, 2012
    6
    I'll admit this from the off - I am not a fan of the Resident Evil games. I think I played Resident Evil 3 briefly a long time ago but that's where my experience with the series ends. The first film in the series is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine. Resident Evil works as a pretty decent example of both an action and a horror movie - the set pieces are entertaining and stylish, there areI'll admit this from the off - I am not a fan of the Resident Evil games. I think I played Resident Evil 3 briefly a long time ago but that's where my experience with the series ends. The first film in the series is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine. Resident Evil works as a pretty decent example of both an action and a horror movie - the set pieces are entertaining and stylish, there are a couple of decent scares and the whole film maintains momentum (if not quite tension) throughout. Milla Jovovich has another ballsy action heroine role to add to her C.V., and while Alice is not quite up there with Leeloo, she's a solid protagonist that does exactly what is required of her, that is to say she still kicks serious undead behind. The rest of the cast, and their characters are generic and unmemorable, and as is traditional with this kind of film, it quickly becomes a game of "who's going to be zombie lunch next". Will we ever see Michelle Rodriguez playing a different character? It's highly doubtful, but hey, she's got a good thing going with type-casting, so who am I to judge. The script is also pretty clunky, but at the end of the day it's just an action-horror movie, and one based on a video game at that, so you don't expect much in that regard. The CGI was also never top-of-the-line (being a film entirely financed by small European studios) and these effects look even worse today, so thankfully they're used sparingly. You can have a pretty good time with Resident Evil if you're prepared to gloss over a few issues, and just take it for what it is - a bit of fun. You'll really see it at its very best if you watch it with a couple of friends, perhaps with a beer or two, then you can all indulge in what makes it good entertainment, and as one, you can also ridicule what makes it...less good. Just sit back, leave your brain outside and enjoy the ride. And watch out for the lasers. Expand
  22. Sep 21, 2011
    6
    "Resident Evil" is a zombie movie based on a famous game franchise. The movie is different from the game and offers new perspective and entertainment, if and only if you can handle the cheesy dialogue and the lost-its-way plot of the movie.
  23. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    I've never played the video games so I can't compare this to them, but I can tell you this is a very enjoyable Zombie movie, this movie actually made me jump twice, it's really a great movie, and I'm looking forward to the other movies in the series.
  24. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one awesome story of carnage. I loved Alice. I loved Rain but shame that she got infected. I liked the lazer slash and dog chase screens. Everybody should watch this one! Expand
  25. Jun 12, 2011
    0
    i really don't want to review this movie... i just don't want to. AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!! I hate this **** this **** should go to hell for its sins! i mean i mean it. this really has nothing to do with the single most amazing game series in the world next to silent hill, and doom, with an honorable mention of splinter cell!! i mean when it comes to **** i don't know how toi really don't want to review this movie... i just don't want to. AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!! I hate this **** this **** should go to hell for its sins! i mean i mean it. this really has nothing to do with the single most amazing game series in the world next to silent hill, and doom, with an honorable mention of splinter cell!! i mean when it comes to **** i don't know how to respond. whats the plot? well the plot is that some **** working for umbrella finds herself with a bad case of amnesia. so what does she do? she ponders, and then walks around the oh so legendary mansion, only to find it abandoned. no zombies in sight. remember that erie opening to the first game where barry picks up the arm, and the dogs are chasing the people. yeah.... the eereness is gone from the game series. you have officially lost my attention from the plot. congradulations movie. AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!1 why did whoever direct this think that it was a good idea to make it as different from the game as possible? i mean, there is no chris redfield, no Jill, no Barry, and no **** Wesker! yes, they took the main bad guy from the game seires. i'm going to let tht sink in. they took the main badguy, the same one who killed rebbecca, and black-mailed barry. i think that i died a little inside when i found that out. shame, just.... shame on you. i hate the people that made this. i really do. so who replaces these iconic characters? anyone but stars members! what do you expect! instead its the people that work for umbrella. B.S! i just don't know what to say! i really don't! i just hate that. and then the tyrant is replaced with a licker. WHAT! why? who? there is no one that even really resembles wesker, except a whiny douche that infected the lab. okay, yes. that didn't happen! it was that **** leach douche from the crap known as RE0. another character not even mentioned! i am really not happy! when will this tortur end? i mean really! this is a bad movie, don't watch it. infact if you see it for ten dollars, don't buy it. go to game stop or a pawn shop and buy the REmake. just don't waste money on this. just don't even if your friend is nagging you to. you will hate yourself. Expand
  26. Apr 29, 2011
    4
    It isn't a movie that's going to set the world on fire and it certainly isn't the best video game adaptation out there, but Resident Evil succeeded mildly at making an entertaining, if boring at times, film. It obviously isn't perfect and the horrible CG looks almost stop-motion at times (the Licker in particular could have been done far better, or dropped completely) and it foreshadowsIt isn't a movie that's going to set the world on fire and it certainly isn't the best video game adaptation out there, but Resident Evil succeeded mildly at making an entertaining, if boring at times, film. It obviously isn't perfect and the horrible CG looks almost stop-motion at times (the Licker in particular could have been done far better, or dropped completely) and it foreshadows enough to give you a reason to watch the sequel. Expand
  27. Apr 12, 2011
    7
    When i first watched it i thought it was ok but after afew more views i realised it could have been done alot better and by then i was over the dissapointing licker scene and the flying dog kick scene.
    Going back and prefering it and the sequels now ,the reason for it is because im now in my thirties and when i first watched it i was in my early early twenties and a massive Res fan.
    When i first watched it i thought it was ok but after afew more views i realised it could have been done alot better and by then i was over the dissapointing licker scene and the flying dog kick scene.
    Going back and prefering it and the sequels now ,the reason for it is because im now in my thirties and when i first watched it i was in my early early twenties and a massive Res fan.
    Theres always room for another director to try again or maybe enjoy what Capcom are bringin to the screen and with a great start from Res Evil:Degeneration which is a complete graphical movie it does a better job of catering for the fans.
    All that aside though,coming back to these films i realise its not great but good is good enough especially when so much crap is coming out these days that this film and its sequels are quiet enjoyable afterall. Just dont expect too much.
    Expand
  28. Mar 23, 2011
    5
    im a huge fan of the RE games ive played them all . what disappoints me about theese video games to movies the most is the pure abandonment of the source material . not much about this movie resembles much of any thing to the resident evil game outside it has zombies and is in a mansion thats about where it all ends . its a wachable movie if you try to forget its called resident evil .im a huge fan of the RE games ive played them all . what disappoints me about theese video games to movies the most is the pure abandonment of the source material . not much about this movie resembles much of any thing to the resident evil game outside it has zombies and is in a mansion thats about where it all ends . its a wachable movie if you try to forget its called resident evil . with out chris , jill , barry , and wesker the stars of the first game you dont really have a resident evil movie just some zombie flick branded with its name trying to cash in on it. Expand
  29. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    I personally don't understand all the hate towards the Res evil films. I feel like this film is drastically underrated and so I've given it a 10. Probably deserves no better than a 8, but it can still be a pretty compelling film. It's not about to blow your damn mind, but I really think it's worth the time of day if you are just looking for a sweet zone out film that you can still followI personally don't understand all the hate towards the Res evil films. I feel like this film is drastically underrated and so I've given it a 10. Probably deserves no better than a 8, but it can still be a pretty compelling film. It's not about to blow your damn mind, but I really think it's worth the time of day if you are just looking for a sweet zone out film that you can still follow what's happening. Expand
  30. Oct 19, 2010
    4
    The idea is nice and the action is quite impressive, but this movie is so uninteresting and boringly dull that it makes fans of the franchise want to stick to the video games instead.
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 11 out of 24
  1. While computer games can boast an abundance of nifty graphics and odious villains and plucky protagonists on long journeys, they're invariably a tad wanting in the cinematic essentials -- you know, stuff like plot and characterization and theme.
  2. 50
    Is this the future of horror or just some bizarre fluke? Don't ask me, I'm having too much fun to care.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    50
    Evil's one strong presence is lead Milla Jovovich -- and not because the script gives her supercop/soldier anything interesting to say.