Screen Gems | Release Date: March 15, 2002
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 297 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
176
Mixed:
80
Negative:
41
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Resident Evil" is a zombie movie based on a famous game franchise. The movie is different from the game and offers new perspective and entertainment, if and only if you can handle the cheesy dialogue and the lost-its-way plot of the movie.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Feb 14, 2012
The charm of the first Resident Evil is that it accepts that its for a video gamer crowd. Its loud, its proud and because of that, there is a slick pace and tone that makes the movie enjoyable. It also has the predictably hammy performancesThe charm of the first Resident Evil is that it accepts that its for a video gamer crowd. Its loud, its proud and because of that, there is a slick pace and tone that makes the movie enjoyable. It also has the predictably hammy performances you can expect in a video game adaptation with Milla Jovovich and James Purefoy being the main culprits with Michelle Rodriguez bringing her usual latin tough girl routine. Sure the film is mindless but it puts sufficient enough menace into the monsters with the zombies being well created and performed. The CGI used in the film has noticeably aged since the film came out and it doesnâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
eTurkeyApr 2, 2012
If you're a fan of the video games and have not seen this film then DON'T suddenly scramble away to the nearest video store with the belief that this film is anything like those titles, because that would be a bare-faced lie. Whilst thisIf you're a fan of the video games and have not seen this film then DON'T suddenly scramble away to the nearest video store with the belief that this film is anything like those titles, because that would be a bare-faced lie. Whilst this movie does hold its own for the most part it deviates so far from the popular games that it bares only minimalistic origins to It's original inspiration. Positive aspects about this feature is the soundtrack which features music very suited to the atmosphere of the setting and the CGI which was fantastic for the time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ManiacacaAug 23, 2013
This was... alright. It didn't follow the RE lore exactly, though did a good job with story telling.
The action scenes didn't fit RE at all, and felt too cheesy.
The sequels are actually decent, and I did enjoy this as a movie series in
This was... alright. It didn't follow the RE lore exactly, though did a good job with story telling.
The action scenes didn't fit RE at all, and felt too cheesy.
The sequels are actually decent, and I did enjoy this as a movie series in it's own right. It'd be worth a rent to any RE fan I'd say.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
KayVen17Aug 27, 2016
Deutsche Review - Kritik

Story: 17/25 Punkte
Schauspieler: 14/25 Punkte
Bearbeitung: 16/25 Punkte
Sound: 18/25 Punkte

Gesamtpunktzahl

65/100 Punkte
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LOmarGJul 28, 2013
Can be disappointing on so many levels, but even though it doesn't do a good job of adapting the game, I still find this entertaining and watchable. The Manson/Beltrami score collaboration works well, as does the cold corporation slant.Can be disappointing on so many levels, but even though it doesn't do a good job of adapting the game, I still find this entertaining and watchable. The Manson/Beltrami score collaboration works well, as does the cold corporation slant. It's just that considering the source material, this doesn't live up to the awesomeness it could've been. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ArkonBladeMar 23, 2011
im a huge fan of the RE games ive played them all . what disappoints me about theese video games to movies the most is the pure abandonment of the source material . not much about this movie resembles much of any thing to the resident evilim a huge fan of the RE games ive played them all . what disappoints me about theese video games to movies the most is the pure abandonment of the source material . not much about this movie resembles much of any thing to the resident evil game outside it has zombies and is in a mansion thats about where it all ends . its a wachable movie if you try to forget its called resident evil . with out chris , jill , barry , and wesker the stars of the first game you dont really have a resident evil movie just some zombie flick branded with its name trying to cash in on it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleNov 15, 2016
Undeniably entertaining, Resident Evil often mirrors a schlocky and campy science fiction film from the 1980s. With campy dialogue and cheesy effects, Resident Evil has a fantastic time creating an interesting universe in which businesses areUndeniably entertaining, Resident Evil often mirrors a schlocky and campy science fiction film from the 1980s. With campy dialogue and cheesy effects, Resident Evil has a fantastic time creating an interesting universe in which businesses are evil and do everything for the bottom line. Not sure where they got that idea. We are all about serving stakeholders (business major joke). That said, though entertaining, its thematic undertakings are done via force feeding. Additionally, the film is plagued by cliches, poor dialogue, bad writing, bad acting, and now aged effects. When Resident Evil hits, however, its tension is hard to deny.

First, the negatives. The writing - both in the dialogue and character development - is horrific. Apparently Milla Jovovich is named Alice in this film and Michelle Rodriguez is Rain. Maybe I missed that, but even their names are barely developed here minus a few mentions here-and-there. The film tries to play this off by having Alice suffer from amnesia in the beginning, but this barely works when the audience does not even really know who Alice is either. This prevents the audience from being able to really develop any form of connection with her character, beyond the primal need to survive. The bad dialogue in the film is accentuated by poor delivery at times that really pulls you out of the moment. For example, the final sequence on the train has Generic White Male Character #3 yell something to Alice and both of them totally blow their lines. This really kills the momentum of an otherwise tense sequence by pulling you out of it. Essentially, the acting in Resident Evil makes you realize it is a film.

The cliches are far too many to list out, but obviously, Resident Evil's approach to zombies is hardly unique. Every other zombie movie has headshots as the means of death and it has been to death at this point. Fortunately, the film felt the need to try and revive this cliche. The film also lumps in a malevolent computer system, poorly behaving corporations, superviruses, hidden antiviruses, and "unexpected" zombie transformations to the cliche equation. The film's cliches even do brush against its thematic elements. Not only are these anti-business elements spelled out for the audience by explaining that businesses never learn and never care about others, but these are wildly typical. Resident Evil is hardly profound in this arena and makes the film feel all the more cliche. By the time this film came out, audiences had been introduced to the concept that businesses were evil sometimes and did not need to see this mentioned here. Director Paul W.S. Anderson is hardly pulling the wool away from the audience's eyes here, especially since the Enron scandal happened in October 2001. Of course, this is hardly the first business scandal on the books. Films that try and have some kind of thematic element need it to actually be, well, worthwhile. When everybody already agrees and the film spells it out for you, it is highly likely to fall on deaf ears as it does here.

All of this said, Resident Evil can be a highly successful film at times and is undeniably fun. For action junkies, Resident Evil will deliver the requisite adrenaline boost. With great scenes of horror blended with good music and good action sequences, Resident Evil can really leave you on the edge of your seat, waiting in dread for what is around the next corner. Many love Anderson's work on the horror film Event Horizon (have yet to see it myself) and it is easy to see why here. Resident Evil definitely scares and use the mystery of the situation its protagonists finds themselves in to really ramp up the horror and the tension.

Overall, since it is an action film, I feel the need to be lenient on Resident Evil. Its action set pieces are great fun and really well-executed. For all of his faults as a director, Anderson knows action. Sadly, the film simply has nothing else below the surface to survive and simply self-destructs.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
voidersApr 26, 2013
That movie was good and bad points. I liked the actors, the soundtrack, the mistory about how the virus escaped. Mila is good actress, the script is original, but is not amazing, is just "another hollywood action movie".
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
FilmMasterEddyAug 13, 2016
Guilty Pleasure Time!

That venerable horror subgenre, the zombie movie — immortalized by George A. Romero in his “Living Dead” trilogy — gets a malnourished rebirth in “Resident Evil,” the long-in-development screen adaptation of the
Guilty Pleasure Time!

That venerable horror subgenre, the zombie movie — immortalized by George A. Romero in his “Living Dead” trilogy — gets a malnourished rebirth in “Resident Evil,” the long-in-development screen adaptation of the hugely popular videogame franchise.

Co-written and directed by the young British director Paul Anderson (who, apparently to avoid confusion with Paul Thomas Anderson, now calls himself Paul W.S. Anderson), German-shot and financed pic works as a prequel to the games, although it uses many of the games’ popular zombie characters (with such indelible names as the Licker, the Crows and the Zombie Dogs).

Short prologue is set inside the sprawling underground research labs of Umbrella Corp., known as the Hive. Umbrella appears to be an all-purpose household company but is actually the front for a top-secret military technology and genetic experimentation operation. (It’s a subject fit for Romero, and he did write the first script and had been set to direct.)

Anderson (who directed the videogame adaptation “Mortal Kombat”) maps out the Hive’s infrastructure, satirizing the security paranoia. The Hive’s security is regulated by an artificially intelligent computer called the Red Queen (one of a series of Lewis Carroll allusions); 10 minutes in, the Red Queen locks down the Hive and begins a series of defensive measures (including releasing poisonous gas into densely populated workspaces). A deadly virus was released into the Hive’s ventilation system, and the Red Queen, who behaves like a menstruating Hal 9000, will do anything, ANYTHING to keep it contained.

Enter some soldiers, including One (Colin Salmon) and Rain (Michelle Rodriguez), dispatched to shut the Red Queen down. They’re accompanied by Alice (Jovovich), a soldier with a temporary memory loss, and by Matt (Eric Mabius), who claims to be a cop.

They shut the Red Queen down, but in doing so the Hive’s passageways are unlocked, giving free reign to hundreds of contaminated workers who, as a result of their exposure to the virus, are now very undead.

The manic zombie mayhem that ensues — unfolding “High Noon”-style in real time — is in many ways a scene-for-scene copy of Romero’s 1985 “Day of the Dead.” But, unlike Romero, Anderson fails to situate “Resident Evil” zombies within any larger social context.

Anderson’s script lines up all the elements for a B-movie quickie: the multiethnic cast, the chicks who kick ass and the traitor-in-our-midst scenario. But Anderson is too set on making an A-picture here, focusing on a series of exhaustingly routine big-action set pieces. Like the recent “Queen of the Damned,” “Resident Evil” seems conceived more out of a desire to provide lip service to fans of the underlying source material than to make compelling entertainment. Anderson’s zombie shenanigans are as empty as “Queen of the Damned’s” vampire theatrics.

Nonetheless, Anderson’s surface effects are occasionally admirable. Pic relies more on prosthetic makeup and animatronic f/x than on digital technology, giving pic’s zombies and other assorted monsters a more organic sense of form and movement.

Pic is reasonably accomplished technically, though Richard Bridgland’s production design is standard-issue futuristic grunge, recalling similar futurescapes from Anderson’s own “Soldier” and “Event Horizon,” as well as last summer’s “John Carpenter’s Ghosts of Mars.”
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HassalehOct 14, 2016
If you want cheap B-movie action entertainment, look no further. Resident Evil is a good movie to watch at a get-together with some friends, maybe on Halloween night after a couple of beers when you're no longer aware that this movie sorelyIf you want cheap B-movie action entertainment, look no further. Resident Evil is a good movie to watch at a get-together with some friends, maybe on Halloween night after a couple of beers when you're no longer aware that this movie sorely lacks any real scares, likeable characters or convincing acting. In this context you can have fun with this film but certainly not if you expect anything thought-provoking or technically impressive.
On the long list of bad video game adaptations to film it may sit in a decent mediocre spot but considering how awful these movies generally are you should actually expect less than average from this film. If you want to watch something really good, then avoid this one.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
IanM197Sep 17, 2010
It isn't a movie that's going to set the world on fire and it certainly isn't the best video game adaptation out there, but Resident Evil succeeded mildly at making an entertaining, if boring at times, film. It obviously isn't perfect and theIt isn't a movie that's going to set the world on fire and it certainly isn't the best video game adaptation out there, but Resident Evil succeeded mildly at making an entertaining, if boring at times, film. It obviously isn't perfect and the horrible CG looks almost stop-motion at times (the Licker in particular could have been done far better, or dropped completely) and it foreshadows enough to give you a reason to watch the sequel. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
MovieLonely94Oct 19, 2010
The idea is nice and the action is quite impressive, but this movie is so uninteresting and boringly dull that it makes fans of the franchise want to stick to the video games instead.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
drlowdonSep 4, 2016
Turning the (cheesy) horror games into such an action orientated fare means that, as well as not being a particular great film, Resident Evil also has little in common with the video games on which it is supposedly based. To be totally fairTurning the (cheesy) horror games into such an action orientated fare means that, as well as not being a particular great film, Resident Evil also has little in common with the video games on which it is supposedly based. To be totally fair there have been worse video game movies (Super Mario Bros, Street Fighter) but the script is pretty poor and the plot lacks coherence meaning that overall this is a bit of a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CooterPatooterMar 4, 2012
I know this comes as lukewarm praise, given Anderson's horrendous catalogue, but this is his best film. Skip the rest of the series. Actually, skip this one too.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
RikiegeNov 1, 2012
Zombie movies are very views.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
ElucidateJan 23, 2014
I will not jump on the "this movie messed up Resident Evil" bandwagon. Clearly, the film series is going to have a completely different direction and take place in a different fictional universe than the games. Having said that, the film'sI will not jump on the "this movie messed up Resident Evil" bandwagon. Clearly, the film series is going to have a completely different direction and take place in a different fictional universe than the games. Having said that, the film's plot is still too incoherent and the dialogue still too juvenile to make it memorable in any way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BigZNov 5, 2014
Pretty standard zombie movie with an interesting plot. It's always tough to try and make a movie based on a video game, you are never quite sure which audience you are going to offend first. I think it hobbled along okay. A bit shaky here andPretty standard zombie movie with an interesting plot. It's always tough to try and make a movie based on a video game, you are never quite sure which audience you are going to offend first. I think it hobbled along okay. A bit shaky here and there but it didn't try to overstep too far except with the CGI work. Waiting a few years may have helped with that. I feel like the scale was shortened a bit soon. Of course that is notorious in horror movies. Probably the coolest guy in the movie died before he could show off how BA he is. Annoying. I love Milla though. She is a cutie while still being an awesome female action hero. This is one of her first tries in that role and she handles it alright. It is your standard zombie movie. I don't why people feel like you need to make zombies more complicated, its simple they are mindless and slow they die with a head shot there is just a freakin lot of them. While being bloody and gruesome the human touch and feeling didn't get lost, they really tried to save each other and not be stupid. It became what it intended I suppose. A shooter zombie flick based on a popular video game. Not overly impressive in any way. Watch it if you want. I won't stop you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoJul 26, 2015
Great movie eh! pure zombie virus infection of T , good plot and who says it with the best terror, but not nearly as interesting as it was supplied eh! .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ToddAug 4, 2002
Poor dialog. No real plot. Predictable flow. Sloppy filming and editing (I counted a boom in the shot on no fewer than 7 times). I reccommend rental over purchase.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
3
WriteFilmLive21Feb 9, 2013
I actually kinda wanted to like "Resident Evil", but in the end, it's just too silly for me to really recommend it. Even though it's not really awful, it's never any more than cheap mediocrity, rushed plotwriting, suspenseless action, shallowI actually kinda wanted to like "Resident Evil", but in the end, it's just too silly for me to really recommend it. Even though it's not really awful, it's never any more than cheap mediocrity, rushed plotwriting, suspenseless action, shallow performances, annoyingly loud and pompous synth/electric music score that saps all atmosphere from decent setpieces, and (although this was made around the youth of CGI) some of the worst computer effects I've ever seen. Some of these things I didn't mind so much by the end of the movie, and if it was a little neater, more polished and enjoyed the atmosphere over vapid gore and jump scares, I probably would consider it a decent one-time watch. That being said, it's only a fun idea falling short of any memorable entertainment, despite having Michelle Rodriguez shooting zombies. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
ThegodfathersonAug 6, 2013
Till now, this movie absolutely blew my brains into watching a hot chick kill zombies with a bang. Well, that's what Resident Evil is for. Based on a video game, its a whole mess of a movie. Nothing compelled to the smart and excellent videoTill now, this movie absolutely blew my brains into watching a hot chick kill zombies with a bang. Well, that's what Resident Evil is for. Based on a video game, its a whole mess of a movie. Nothing compelled to the smart and excellent video game and nothing to the horrible direction of Paul W.S Anderson. It's a survival horror movie, its has created its whole new genre to take place into cinemas. But atleast the effects are fun to watch. I also give credit to Anderson by making this brainless action setting that is fun to wrap your mind around. But unfortunately, it sucks. Bad. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesFeb 1, 2015
Frankly, there's nothing encouraging to see in this movie. It's just another plotless, formulaic, cheesy and unnecessarily violent movie based on a famous videogame franchise. Stay away from this, please.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
alexOct 25, 2005
As a big fan of the games and other zombie movies, I was very disappointed! The only good part was the end, which 28 Days Later did much better. Not scary at all, and the CGI monster looked like crap!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
samj.Dec 14, 2005
The movie was ok but in relation to being true to the vidio games it was bull. the thing that makes it so much worse is that people who dont play the games will never know the true majesty of resident evil. and the same goes for movies like The movie was ok but in relation to being true to the vidio games it was bull. the thing that makes it so much worse is that people who dont play the games will never know the true majesty of resident evil. and the same goes for movies like final fantasy and doom. how hard is it to keep the story the same as the original? God! if you are blinded by this terrible reproduction you should play the games for yourself and see just how good it is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
stephpOct 3, 2008
as far as regular old zombie movies go it was mediocre at best. when i first watched it i had no idea that it was a video game as well and i actually thought the movie was okay. now i've almost completed RE0 and read S. D. Perry's as far as regular old zombie movies go it was mediocre at best. when i first watched it i had no idea that it was a video game as well and i actually thought the movie was okay. now i've almost completed RE0 and read S. D. Perry's 7 books on it and i had finally found out that the movies do, in fact, suck. they're an abomination, a disgrace to what RE stood for in the games; the acting was terrible, there was none of the monsters in the movies save for a couple. none of the characters were even in the movies; Alice is just a cheap Mary-Sue who probably only got into the movies because she was with the director. as far as i'm concerned the movie was made in hollywood to only make a quick buck and nothing else; the people who decided to do the movie like this are nothing more than selfish, money-hungry assbags. now, i know what the few fans of these awful movies are going to say "don't like it, don't watch" well ya know what? if i had ANY idea of how terrible these movies actually were BEFORE watching i never would have! So disappointed...and i HATE Paul bloody Anderson for screwing up the franchise...i only hope that Karma comes back and chews his self-centered ass out...Milla's too. Too bad Romero's script wasn't chosen instead- apart from Chris being a farmer (!!) it sounded excellent when i read the script. Total let down, one of mine, and a lot of other people's, biggest disappointments. Shame on you Anderson, hope you get LOTS of hatemail! which of course he most likely does :) I actually feel a little better for getting that off my chest (: oh well, i least i've got the books and games of RE, they are awesome! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
Exors1stDeadJan 1, 2007
This movie sucks hard. Why did the disgrace the best zombie game ever? Why is it even called Resident Evil if nothing in the movie is based on the game except for zombies and a virus? The movie use swift punch and kicks special effects to This movie sucks hard. Why did the disgrace the best zombie game ever? Why is it even called Resident Evil if nothing in the movie is based on the game except for zombies and a virus? The movie use swift punch and kicks special effects to much. Every single time they punch or kick, wtsh! It's so annoying. Is it so hard to include the plot and the characters from the game? NO it isn't. Terrible disgraceful movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
Blar408Feb 26, 2007
This movie is made up of massive amounts of suck and fail. It is as if they simply re-wrote the plot of one of George Romero's zombie movies and replaced the time, setting, and character cast, included only a few elements from the This movie is made up of massive amounts of suck and fail. It is as if they simply re-wrote the plot of one of George Romero's zombie movies and replaced the time, setting, and character cast, included only a few elements from the actual game, those elements being the virus and the corporation that made it. Suck and fail is the only thing you will see. Another movie trap to entice gamers who have played the actual game to waste money to watch this craptastic movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
coolgames101Jun 12, 2011
i really don't want to review this movie... i just don't want to. AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!! I hate this **** this **** should go to hell for its sins! i mean i mean it. this really has nothing to do with the single most amazing gamei really don't want to review this movie... i just don't want to. AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!! I hate this **** this **** should go to hell for its sins! i mean i mean it. this really has nothing to do with the single most amazing game series in the world next to silent hill, and doom, with an honorable mention of splinter cell!! i mean when it comes to **** i don't know how to respond. whats the plot? well the plot is that some **** working for umbrella finds herself with a bad case of amnesia. so what does she do? she ponders, and then walks around the oh so legendary mansion, only to find it abandoned. no zombies in sight. remember that erie opening to the first game where barry picks up the arm, and the dogs are chasing the people. yeah.... the eereness is gone from the game series. you have officially lost my attention from the plot. congradulations movie. AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!1 why did whoever direct this think that it was a good idea to make it as different from the game as possible? i mean, there is no chris redfield, no Jill, no Barry, and no **** Wesker! yes, they took the main bad guy from the game seires. i'm going to let tht sink in. they took the main badguy, the same one who killed rebbecca, and black-mailed barry. i think that i died a little inside when i found that out. shame, just.... shame on you. i hate the people that made this. i really do. so who replaces these iconic characters? anyone but stars members! what do you expect! instead its the people that work for umbrella. B.S! i just don't know what to say! i really don't! i just hate that. and then the tyrant is replaced with a licker. WHAT! why? who? there is no one that even really resembles wesker, except a whiny douche that infected the lab. okay, yes. that didn't happen! it was that **** leach douche from the crap known as RE0. another character not even mentioned! i am really not happy! when will this tortur end? i mean really! this is a bad movie, don't watch it. infact if you see it for ten dollars, don't buy it. go to game stop or a pawn shop and buy the REmake. just don't waste money on this. just don't even if your friend is nagging you to. you will hate yourself. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
XelanakSep 20, 2017
This movie is a sacrilege, i wasted my time this shoukdnt be called Resident Evil,seriously where is the story ? Did he even believe his movie would be something else then a piece of **** ???
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews