Universal Pictures | Release Date: September 6, 2013
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 394 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
265
Mixed:
93
Negative:
36
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
Koog72Dec 18, 2013
Utter nonsense.
The writers cobbled this together on the way to work.
I wasted two hours of my life watching this tripe.
Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-Avoid-
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
logaemsSep 29, 2013
An absolute error. From start to finish, it's just awful. For this kind of movie, scenario isn't that important & the visuals are quite good BUT that's all. Acting is awful & the movie is taking itself too seriously at the beginning. 30An absolute error. From start to finish, it's just awful. For this kind of movie, scenario isn't that important & the visuals are quite good BUT that's all. Acting is awful & the movie is taking itself too seriously at the beginning. 30 minutes of "Riddick vs Wild" followed by sheer stupidity. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
DimitarDec 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First Riddick not being able to recognize his own home planet and get screwed like that?
I wont even comment on his fall from that rock.
The thing about the lesbian asking him to do her... Pathetic. Its like Vin Diesel personally paid to get his ego polished.

The movie indeed had its good moments as well, but mostly it was just a kids movie.
I loved the first 2 movies, but this is just not what I expected.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
scott7reeOct 21, 2013
Basically a two hour music video. Rare dialogue and too much narration make this movie hard to watch. Was ready to leave after an hour.

Should be called Ridiculous Riddick for a largely unbelievable plot.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
Will_RSep 14, 2013
Just awful no exceptions. Based on claims that this film would harken back to the original themes established in "Pitch Black," the casting of Katee Sackhoff (as well as the return of Karl Urban), and reviews on this site telling me toJust awful no exceptions. Based on claims that this film would harken back to the original themes established in "Pitch Black," the casting of Katee Sackhoff (as well as the return of Karl Urban), and reviews on this site telling me to ignore the critics (hint: listen to the critics), I was hopeful. But the result was worse than disappointing. In fact, it was horrible. Karl Urban's role was reduced to a brief flashback set to establish the background of Riddick's heavy-handed survivalism on a graphics-poor planet of overly done CGI that seemed to come straight out of "Star Trek: The Next Generation." His "dingo-dongo" companion (yes, that's what they actually call the alien-dog-predator-thing that Riddick somehow manages to befriend) is an additionally poor attempt at child-like humor and in the end is less than endearing. Even Riddick's rumblings failed to make up for the non-terrifying, and certainly uninteresting, group of mercenaries that come to track the man down. What could have been a compelling dynamic between the mercenary Dahl (Katee Sackhoff) and Riddick boils down to a one-dimensional, unestablished, and implied sexual interest that never comes to fruition. Oh and let's just say that Sackhoff's character isn't exactly inclined towards someone of Riddick's masculine features, which only makes it doubly unbearable. Besides the Necromonger flashback, the only real attempt to tie in the plot of "Riddick" to previous films in the series involves a character so obscure that only ardent fans will understand the sub-plot. The most promising element of the film that actually did seem to recall "Pitch Black" was a creature that seemed to simultaneously evoke the bird-like terrors of that film and poorly plagiarize the xenomorph hordes of "Aliens." A missed opportunity to revitalize this franchise, "Riddick" is just a poor film. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
insert_hereSep 20, 2013
The metascore of 48 is about 48 too high. In every way that Chronicles was great this one fails, and it fails miserably. Riddick can't even save this mess of a movie. The acting, the story are bad bad bad. Not even worth watching on rental.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
Kevlar1Sep 29, 2013
What a sham... I watched till the end just to see the level of disgrace V.D. was gonna fall to. I was wondering all the way whether the writer-director enjoyed what he did. I'm not going to give away spoilers, because "Riddick" producers didWhat a sham... I watched till the end just to see the level of disgrace V.D. was gonna fall to. I was wondering all the way whether the writer-director enjoyed what he did. I'm not going to give away spoilers, because "Riddick" producers did everything to already spoil everything they could, but ANY schoolboy would've come up with a much better plot devices, witty lines, action scenes. There is no fun, there is no action, it's pretentious and BORING. The highest point of the story is killing the ugly doggy. (facepalm...)
As for exalting reviews well, it's because of that false enthusiasm we're getting lousy, phoney movies in spades. Studios don't have to worry about illegal downloading anymore, 'cause there is nothing to download these days, let alone buy some.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
StriderKiwiSep 9, 2013
My God this movie was awful. Where to start? The plot is a ripoff version of the original, the pacing is horrendous and the movie is overly long. The dialogue and writing are atrocious. The acting isn't memorable. The action is bad and so isMy God this movie was awful. Where to start? The plot is a ripoff version of the original, the pacing is horrendous and the movie is overly long. The dialogue and writing are atrocious. The acting isn't memorable. The action is bad and so is the directing (canted angles constantly for no reason). Riddick as a character is weakling who gets beaten up constantly and has a puppy, A FREAKING PUPPY for no reason at all. It's like the people behind this movie had no idea what a Riddick movie even was!? Save your cash and time. Expand
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
2
Lambo442Sep 6, 2013
The film doesn't come close to either of the other two, mainly because of the terrible dialogue, over reliance on cuss words and the bitter taste left by the sexist undertones being displayed towards the only female character. There's tooThe film doesn't come close to either of the other two, mainly because of the terrible dialogue, over reliance on cuss words and the bitter taste left by the sexist undertones being displayed towards the only female character. There's too much humor too, which detracts from the tension, and would be as bad if the jokes were actually funny instead of childish. Expand
2 of 16 users found this helpful214
All this user's reviews
0
SohenFeb 7, 2014
The reviews here saying things like don't listen to the critics must be production company posts. I love Vin, really enjoyed The Chronicles, and expected more of that. It is, however, a terrible attempt to remake Pitch Black essentially. ItThe reviews here saying things like don't listen to the critics must be production company posts. I love Vin, really enjoyed The Chronicles, and expected more of that. It is, however, a terrible attempt to remake Pitch Black essentially. It is the same plot but poorer. The character interactions are completely unbelievable, terrible dialogue, SP FX is nothing close to special and the script is so basic and pointless, that it is almost confusing as you try to make more out of what is actually going on. Perhaps you should see it, just to see something so sub rate and to see how the critics here are obviously plants. Riddick does have the mysterious ability to change people's sexuality with out there being the slightest reason throughout the known or unknown universe. See it just for that, I guess. They need him in Russia. The most unbelievable film I think I have ever seen. If only Stallone was in this and it would have completed the gang bang of all gang bangs. Too long, too unbelievable, too amateurish dialogue and human interactions. And what happens to his Dingo-Dongo thingy? The tranqs were too much? In a word LUDICROUS. Sory Vin, please redeem yourself, and don't remake this one! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
metamomFeb 24, 2014
Violent, dark, nasty, sexist, no plot, bad acting, too many of just one sort of alien slime-dwelling scorpion monsters. Oh, and the computer-generated jackal was killed off way too soon because it was the most interesting character in theViolent, dark, nasty, sexist, no plot, bad acting, too many of just one sort of alien slime-dwelling scorpion monsters. Oh, and the computer-generated jackal was killed off way too soon because it was the most interesting character in the whole movie At least no one involved with this silly sci-fi seemed to take it overly seriously, but even so, it had no real humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
RickDubsMar 24, 2015
I've never seen any of the other "Riddick" movies but I was told this one was really good. Greg was wrong. This movie was a complete waste of my time. The acting was terrible. I can't believe i had to wait till the movie was nearly over toI've never seen any of the other "Riddick" movies but I was told this one was really good. Greg was wrong. This movie was a complete waste of my time. The acting was terrible. I can't believe i had to wait till the movie was nearly over to see the most annoying character finally die, and then the way he does is so ridiculous. don't waste your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews