Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Fast-talking security guard Ben joins his cop soon-to-be brother-in-law James on a 24-hour patrol of Atlanta in order to prove himself worthy of marrying Angela, James' sister.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    Jan 16, 2014
    67
    For 100 minutes, I didn't think about anything else at all. And sometimes that small relief is the best thing a movie can give.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Jan 16, 2014
    63
    Hart is clearly working overtime; there’s nothing effortless about his histrionic delivery, but it works.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Jan 15, 2014
    60
    Turns out to be something like a comic riff on "Training Day." Leaning more toward Hart's brand of slightly raunchy humor rather than Ice Cube's equally popular family-friendly fare, the PG-13 film exhibits broad appeal.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jan 15, 2014
    50
    A lazy and listless buddy-cop action-comedy that fades from memory as quickly as its generic title.
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jan 16, 2014
    40
    Story and his four screenwriters don’t exactly strain themselves to find a new angle in this mismatched buddy comedy. Picture “Rush Hour,” and then imagine Hart as the annoying kid in “Are We There Yet?” You’ve basically just watched the entire movie in your head.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jan 17, 2014
    38
    Ride Along is a film so casual in its conception and execution, it should be titled Drive Thru.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 16, 2014
    20
    Ride Along, set in Atlanta, gives shoddiness a bad name.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 49
  2. Negative: 14 out of 49
  1. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    This movie deserves more than it gets. It kept me rolling!! This movie is number 2 on my Top 10 funniest movies ever. Ice Cube wasn't actingThis movie deserves more than it gets. It kept me rolling!! This movie is number 2 on my Top 10 funniest movies ever. Ice Cube wasn't acting the best this time but that's okay Kevin Hart made us look over the fact that cube wasn't on his game. It's definitely worth the time. So if you want a night of good laughs this is the movie to watch. So I give this movie a 9 out of 10. Thanks for reading. Collapse
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    Very enjoyable and funny this sadly is one of only a few Black cop buddy films out ever. Kevin and Ice Cube pulled this together. RespectableVery enjoyable and funny this sadly is one of only a few Black cop buddy films out ever. Kevin and Ice Cube pulled this together. Respectable to me as far as humor ,story and character development goes . Felt really balanced with the drama and heavier moments . Next movie Universal Pictures needs to do is a Black gay comedy to break the cycle . Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2015
    6
    I give this a 5.5 which translate to a 6 but I was expecting more effort in the plot than what it turned out to be. I love Kevin Hart and II give this a 5.5 which translate to a 6 but I was expecting more effort in the plot than what it turned out to be. I love Kevin Hart and I think he is naturally funny, but he did nothing here that I haven't seen before. Good thing Ice Cube showed up as his polar opposite or else this would've turned exponentially banal.

    As far as comedy movies go, this is average as it gets and really seems formulaic. I don't easily laugh at old elements of comedy and I tend to look for something new so this movie disappointed me there. Another thing I want to say is not all the scenes are particularly captivating so expect lulls in the film.

    All in all, it gets a 6 because you'll get the laughs and who doesn't love a bit of cop-badguy action?
    Word to describe: Wandering, it's not as good as you think as it gets predicative so your mind will wander every once in a while.
    Watch it with some friends and it's okay to get the annoying movie friend to come because it's a comedy. Even the annoying movie friends deserve to laugh a bit.
    Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    5
    This film is just not very well put together. The plot is predictable even for a buddy cop movie, and the action is not very good. ThatThis film is just not very well put together. The plot is predictable even for a buddy cop movie, and the action is not very good. That being said Kevin Hart was funny and the movie did score some big laughs in the theater I was in. However despite its humor the movie does start to drag on. I would only recommend this movie if you are a big Kevin Hart fan. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2014
    5
    Completely unfunny, tedious, spectacularly moronic, and completely barren of any laughs whatsoever, Ride Along is a complete waste of comedicCompletely unfunny, tedious, spectacularly moronic, and completely barren of any laughs whatsoever, Ride Along is a complete waste of comedic talent and time. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2014
    3
    Ride Along is a predictable buddy cop action-comedy that falls victim to Tim Story's inability to create adequate character development orRide Along is a predictable buddy cop action-comedy that falls victim to Tim Story's inability to create adequate character development or storytelling in his films. Instead what is left is an unoriginal cliched plot filled with more jokes than real story. Although the chemistry of Ice Cube and Kevin Hart is good, Hart's manic demeanour becomes overbearing sometimes. The buddy cop genre is terribly cliched but a little more effort in story and characters would have gone a long way to making this a better film. Ride Along is a very undemanding piece of action entertainment so if I were you, I'd just ride along and not expect anything. Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2014
    0
    this movie is definitely a piece of **** I know this because it popped up on my computer and pissed me the **** off. I would never, and willthis movie is definitely a piece of **** I know this because it popped up on my computer and pissed me the **** off. I would never, and will never support such an asinine form of advertisement, and refuse to participate in such a bogus form of intellectual degradation. Piss the ****ed off.
    Me
    Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Trailers