• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Blu, Jewel and their three kids live the perfect domesticated life in the magical city that is Rio de Janeiro. When Jewel decides the kids need to learn to live like real birds, she insists the family venture into the Amazon. As Blu tries to fit in with his new neighbors, he worries he mayBlu, Jewel and their three kids live the perfect domesticated life in the magical city that is Rio de Janeiro. When Jewel decides the kids need to learn to live like real birds, she insists the family venture into the Amazon. As Blu tries to fit in with his new neighbors, he worries he may lose Jewel and the kids to the call of the wild. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 10, 2014
    83
    Choosing any unwieldy subplot to trim from Rio 2 is tough, as they're each so vibrantly rendered.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 9, 2014
    63
    Rio 2 is not what I would call Amazon prime, but it’s got enough silly songs and daffy critters to keep the little ones happy.
  3. Reviewed by: Kate Stables
    Apr 6, 2014
    60
    The predictable plot gets an enjoyably venomous boost from Jemaine Clement’s revenge-obsessed cockatoo Nigel.
  4. Reviewed by: Jenni Miller
    Apr 9, 2014
    50
    A strange combination of mental exhaustion and boredom.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Apr 10, 2014
    50
    The movie feels at once too busy and too derivative. That’s no easy feat, but it’s also one sequel-makers probably shouldn’t aspire to.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 10, 2014
    50
    It's a bright and fun movie, but also repetitive and overloaded with plot. A nice enough diversion, but not a necessary one.
  7. Reviewed by: Eric Henderson
    Apr 8, 2014
    25
    The net effect is a shapeless would-be diversion in which things just happen independently, a string of effects missing any cause.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 7 out of 37
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    rio 2 veryrio 2 very good........................................................................................................................................................ Collapse
  2. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    Ignore the critics reviews, what would they know ... they are not kids... Out of my five year olds mouth about Rio 2 in 3D... "I loved it canIgnore the critics reviews, what would they know ... they are not kids... Out of my five year olds mouth about Rio 2 in 3D... "I loved it can we see it again"... That is all that should be cared about, what the target audience thinks not a bunch of adult critics... I am sure most kids would give this at least an 8... Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2014
    8
    Rio 2 brings newly improved crispy and fleshy visuals than the original. It's story is great which deals family matters and relationship, theRio 2 brings newly improved crispy and fleshy visuals than the original. It's story is great which deals family matters and relationship, the music is funky and lively, the voice casts is well-talented but the only thing that doesn't work out much is the hit-or-miss gags. Overall, it still enjoyable to watch at. Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2014
    7
    I’m not a huge fan of the first “Rio,” as I think it is a very straight forward movie with little to offer. It’s fun and all, but lacking inI’m not a huge fan of the first “Rio,” as I think it is a very straight forward movie with little to offer. It’s fun and all, but lacking in emotional punches.

    “Rio 2” on the other hand is a far stronger movie than the original. It’s cast is superior and well balanced, the story has a few nicely done emotional sequences, and the animation is gorgeous. While I find the songs weaker than the highs of the first film, they are more consistent in terms of quality. The real highlight of the film is its script, which I think is Blue Sky’s first or second best script to date. It is well balanced with a fish out of water story, a well handled environmental message that isn’t being shoved down our throats, and well rounded humor.

    Overall, it’s a fun experience with gorgeous animation. The first third of the film is a bit conventional and rather boring, but the second they get into the Amazon, the film really takes flight and gets better as it progresses. 3.5/5
    Expand
  5. May 19, 2014
    6
    Animation was great and fun to watch. Story line was quite good and the dialogue was good also. I think that this is a good family movie withAnimation was great and fun to watch. Story line was quite good and the dialogue was good also. I think that this is a good family movie with a lot to offer in the way of entertainment. Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2014
    5
    I loved the first Rio but the sequel is just a convoluted mess of side stories mixed together with the main plot. the animation was a trueI loved the first Rio but the sequel is just a convoluted mess of side stories mixed together with the main plot. the animation was a true sight to behold especially in 3D but the humor and personalities of the characters were really dumbed down in comparison to the first with the exception of Nigel. altogether this was very disappointing. Not the worst sequel I've seen but certainly disappointing. Expand
  7. May 1, 2014
    0
    An example of why great movies shouldn't have sequels. This overly boring movie, with dull dialogue, flat jokes and a plot that tries to keepAn example of why great movies shouldn't have sequels. This overly boring movie, with dull dialogue, flat jokes and a plot that tries to keep us intrigued, but all that is does is the opposite. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Trailers