R.I.P.D.

Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 245 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 22 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jul 19, 2013
    60
    Thank heavens — or at least the “Department of Eternal Affairs” — for Jeff Bridges, whose hilariously free-associative performance as a 19th-century frontier marshal-turned-21st-century undead lawman is like an adrenaline shot to the heart of R.I.P.D.
  2. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jul 19, 2013
    50
    A film that grows less compelling and original by the minute, R.I.P.D. serves due notice that the mismatched-buddy-cop movie is wearing out its welcome all over again.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jul 19, 2013
    38
    There is less eye candy than you would expect, and it’s underwhelming.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Jul 19, 2013
    30
    Unfortunately, the interesting drabness of the afterlife’s police department is paired with the colorless paucity of the film’s heavies...The deados, unmemorable CG brutes, spout generic bad-guy dialogue undistinguished by humor or characterization.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Jul 19, 2013
    25
    A dud that squanders a decent cast and succeeds neither as the comedy nor the action film it purports to be.
  6. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jul 19, 2013
    20
    Tired byplay between Reynolds’s mystified straight man and Bridges’s supernatural old pro will kill off any fond memories you have of zesty buddy films past and present.
  7. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jul 19, 2013
    0
    This expensive misfire runs a little less than ninety minutes, which means that there’s likely a 105-110 minute long version that the producers hacked up in order to get the maximum amount of 3D showtimes to not embarrass the studio on opening weekend. Judging by the released product, that version is likely even worse, if such a thing were possible.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 59
  2. Negative: 27 out of 59
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to all this hate. This movie was action packed and a good, imaginative story made this movie great. I can't believe all this hateDon't listen to all this hate. This movie was action packed and a good, imaginative story made this movie great. I can't believe all this hate for such a great movie. OK, maybe it was a bit like Men in Black but the story was completely original. Ryan Reynold and Jeff Bridges performance was great. definitely recommend this for people who want an original, funny, and well made sci-fi movie. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    I rather enjoyed this movie. It was fairly clean for a PG-13. My son enjoyed it, as it brought back "old school" movie themes like GhostI rather enjoyed this movie. It was fairly clean for a PG-13. My son enjoyed it, as it brought back "old school" movie themes like Ghost Busters, a modern theme, and Men in Black charisma. It was funny, the monsters weren't super creepy. It probably would have done better with a little younger target age group. I recommend this. Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2014
    6
    The problem wih this movie is the limited acting range of Kris Kristofferson. Wisecracking sheethead. That's it. Good for a few laughs thoThe problem wih this movie is the limited acting range of Kris Kristofferson. Wisecracking sheethead. That's it. Good for a few laughs tho ........................ Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2013
    4
    Surprisingly, this movie entertained me. I am not saying it isn't a terrible movie because it is terrible but there are much worse ones outSurprisingly, this movie entertained me. I am not saying it isn't a terrible movie because it is terrible but there are much worse ones out there. It is very much a ripoff of MiB and was a lot of wasted potential. Unfortunately, I was actually entertained and almost teared up once or twice. Just expect nothing out of it and you might be mildly entertained or watch it drunk. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2013
    3
    I did go into this hoping it would be better than all the negativity I had previously heard. But sadly, this movie lives up to its reputation.I did go into this hoping it would be better than all the negativity I had previously heard. But sadly, this movie lives up to its reputation. There is almost nothing about this movie that I liked:

    1) Aside from Bacon, none of the other actors seem to be having any fun.
    2) Bridges' character is just too over the top. Frankly I was expecting a him to be walking around with a KFC bucket.
    3) Reynolds is just, pointless. He's a top actor yet his character has no personality or depth for him to work with. I wouldn't be surprised if in every scene he was reading his lines from cue cards.
    4) Animation and effects were really sloppy. 15 years ago they would have been good, but not with today's technology. There are some Youtube videos that look more convincing.
    5) The script is utter garbage. It's one cliche after another. There seems to be no natural flow or progression of the narrative.

    However, I will admit that I did like the humor of the movie, and that is the only reason I give this a 3. Also I did like the idea behind it. I'm sure that when they were pitching this movie, it must have sounded fantastic.But the humor and good premise are nowhere near enough to save this train-wreck.

    Overall:
    Clearly this is either a copy or a tribute to Men In Black that has been given to novice director and an almost lobotomized writing team. A real shame as you can see the idea behind it had some potential.

    Side Note:
    Under no circumstances do I ever want to see a R.I.P.D.2
    Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2013
    2
    This review was originally posted on www.Pixcelation.com by Andrew Korkmas

    A couple days ago I watched “The Wolverine” and to me, it was
    This review was originally posted on www.Pixcelation.com by Andrew Korkmas

    A couple days ago I watched “The Wolverine” and to me, it was boring. The week before I watched “The Conjuring” and while I felt the directing was great, on the whole, the movie reeked of a “been there done that” sort of feel. Today I made a deal with a friend of mine. In exchange for him accompanying me to the local movie theater for a viewing of “R.I.P.D.,” I would watch “Paranormal Activity 4” with him, a movie from a series I loathe with a passion. I bring this up because sadly, “R.I.P.D.” seems to be a combination of both “The Wolverine” and “The Conjuring” because despite some good directing during the action sequences, it was still a boring and much like the characters in the film, lifeless flick.

    The story is as basic as it goes. If you’ve seen “Men in Black,” “Ghostbusters,” hell even if you’ve seen “Jonah Hex” (if you haven’t then don’t) you’ll know this film inside and out. Secret agency that protects the world behind the scenes? Check. Two cops that are completely different in both appearance and attitude that must save the world? Check. “R.I.P.D.” seems to be hell-bent on going for every single cliché action movie characteristic. I honestly can’t think of a single thing about the script that was good.

    I hate when I see good actors stuck in mediocre movies. As such, you can probably imagine how frustrating it is to see two actors I love cast in a bad movie. Jeff Bridges and Ryan Reynolds try. They really do. You can see it in their eyes. They’re desperately trying to save the movie but their lines are so bad that no amount of good acting can save it. It’s like a Shakespearean tragedy just without the good writing…which sadly means Shakespeare has nothing to do with it. And then, there’s Kevin Bacon. I’m not going to pretend like I’m a fan of his acting because I’m not, and this movie certainly doesn’t redeem him in my eyes.

    So the dialogue and writing are horrible and the acting can’t save it, but here’s the thing, the directing was actually good during the action scenes. The actual action itself wasn’t super stimulating but the cinematography was actually good. You could follow the actual action unlike most horrible modern action movies where the directors are hopped up on crack or something so the camera goes all over. The first fight scene was pretty mediocre, second was good enough and the third and final action scene was actually good.

    Like most action adventure movies, there’s usually an element of comedy in it. Somehow, “R.I.P.D.’s” humor ranges from confusing and disturbing, to eight year old humor. What’s worse is the best comedic idea they have is squandered. If you’ve seen the trailers, you know that since the two protagonists are dead, in the real world they don’t look like themselves. Bridges looks like a smoking hot blonde while Reynolds looks like an old Asian man. This sounds great but they don’t utilize it nearly as much as they should.

    Let’s talk about the Deado’s, the undead creatures that Reynolds and Bridges fight in the movie, they look stupid. Saying their designs are unoriginal is an understatement. The only things that differentiate them from normal people are extra limbs, distorted bodies and their greater sizes. There’s one in particular that looks like basically any obscenely obese person in the world just with a “ginger Elvis look” as the characters call it. It’s shame these designs just come across as lazy because any movie involving undead creatures should do the part and make them look interesting. Even in most zombie movies the zombies look good in the sense that the makeup artists and special effects artists took the time to make each zombie look different from the next but in “R.I.P.D” the only differences are that certain ones have more mouths or hands or other body parts than the next. Even Kevin Bacon’s character seems to be just him with a little crack in his head.

    No matter how you look at it, “R.I.P.D.” fails on multiple levels. Like “The Conjuring,” it is proof that good directing is not enough to save a movie that has this many cumbersome flaws. I now completely understand why it has received all the negative reviews it has. I know I preemptively said I would enjoy this movie more than “The Conjuring” in my review of “The Conjuring,” but I have to say that was an accidental preemptive lie…if that’s even a thing. If you have money to burn, then set those dollar bills on fire. Because watching your money turn to ash is far more entertaining than watching “R.I.P.D.”

    “R.I.P.D.” gets a 2/10
    Expand
  7. May 22, 2014
    0
    Short review: Bad.
    Long review: Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad.
    Truely one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. Bad effects, poor acting
    Short review: Bad.
    Long review: Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad.

    Truely one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. Bad effects, poor acting (minus Jeff Bridges), and a story that's about as interesting as Scooby Doo in adult form.
    Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Trailers