R.I.P.D.

R.I.P.D. Image
Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 250 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 22 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jul 19, 2013
    60
    Thank heavens — or at least the “Department of Eternal Affairs” — for Jeff Bridges, whose hilariously free-associative performance as a 19th-century frontier marshal-turned-21st-century undead lawman is like an adrenaline shot to the heart of R.I.P.D.
  2. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jul 19, 2013
    50
    A film that grows less compelling and original by the minute, R.I.P.D. serves due notice that the mismatched-buddy-cop movie is wearing out its welcome all over again.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jul 19, 2013
    38
    There is less eye candy than you would expect, and it’s underwhelming.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Jul 19, 2013
    30
    Unfortunately, the interesting drabness of the afterlife’s police department is paired with the colorless paucity of the film’s heavies...The deados, unmemorable CG brutes, spout generic bad-guy dialogue undistinguished by humor or characterization.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Jul 19, 2013
    25
    A dud that squanders a decent cast and succeeds neither as the comedy nor the action film it purports to be.
  6. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jul 19, 2013
    20
    Tired byplay between Reynolds’s mystified straight man and Bridges’s supernatural old pro will kill off any fond memories you have of zesty buddy films past and present.
  7. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jul 19, 2013
    0
    This expensive misfire runs a little less than ninety minutes, which means that there’s likely a 105-110 minute long version that the producers hacked up in order to get the maximum amount of 3D showtimes to not embarrass the studio on opening weekend. Judging by the released product, that version is likely even worse, if such a thing were possible.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 60
  2. Negative: 27 out of 60
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to all this hate. This movie was action packed and a good, imaginative story made this movie great. I can't believe all this hateDon't listen to all this hate. This movie was action packed and a good, imaginative story made this movie great. I can't believe all this hate for such a great movie. OK, maybe it was a bit like Men in Black but the story was completely original. Ryan Reynold and Jeff Bridges performance was great. definitely recommend this for people who want an original, funny, and well made sci-fi movie. Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    8
    I totally don't understand all the hate towards this movie. Yes, R.I.P.D. has many parallels with Men In Black, but it's not the makers'I totally don't understand all the hate towards this movie. Yes, R.I.P.D. has many parallels with Men In Black, but it's not the makers' fault, it's based on an existing comic after all. Besides, "a MIB clone" sounds like a compliment for me, since I absolutely love the MIB movies. Anyway, this movie's got stellar cast (Reynolds, cowboy Bridges, Kevin Bacon and the ever-pretty Mary-Louise Parker), mostly funny jokes, quite gripping action scenes and, suddenly, a bit of convincing drama. Now the downsides are that the plot's a bit predictable and the visual effects aren't all polished, but those are minor to me. A solid 8 out of 10, don't skip this out because of the critics. Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2014
    6
    The problem wih this movie is the limited acting range of Kris Kristofferson. Wisecracking sheethead. That's it. Good for a few laughs thoThe problem wih this movie is the limited acting range of Kris Kristofferson. Wisecracking sheethead. That's it. Good for a few laughs tho ........................ Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2013
    4
    R.I.P.D had a budget of 130 million dollars, if this is true why is the CGI so incredibly bad? I really don't know what to say. This review isR.I.P.D had a budget of 130 million dollars, if this is true why is the CGI so incredibly bad? I really don't know what to say. This review is not going to be very long because I haven't got a lot to say. The acting is terrible, yes even Kevin Bacon. The plot is impossible to understand, not that it made much of a difference, and (quite obviously) stolen from Men In Black. The CGI reminds me of a 1980's Doctor Who episode. The action is straightforward, without brains and easily forgettable. The ending is such an anti climax that it brings the movie down by a whole point. The only aspect of R.I.P.D which is done well, is the mildly entertaining humor which made me laugh a few times. Simple sentences used to simply describe a dumb and simple Men In Black rip off which was made solely to entertain under 18's. And it doesn't even do that! Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2013
    3
    There are several problems here terrible CGI, awful chemistry, and a forgettable story. Overall I know they were trying to capitalize onThere are several problems here terrible CGI, awful chemistry, and a forgettable story. Overall I know they were trying to capitalize on MIB's success, but just like MIB 3 this film is just not that fun. Plus what was with that terrible accent by Jeff Bridges? D Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2013
    3
    When I say that I was pleasantly surprised by R.I.P.D what I really mean is a terrible movie was just bad. The performances were completelyWhen I say that I was pleasantly surprised by R.I.P.D what I really mean is a terrible movie was just bad. The performances were completely lacking emotionally, but the comedy played well in some areas. Every other aspect was just ho-hum, nothing fantastic, but also nothing noticeably horrid. If it made more sense logically, looked better, and was given some time and care this could have been an O.K. film. Unfortunately, it did not get any of those aspects. I was surprised because it looked terrible in previews, and it was, but not to the level I expected. Expand
  7. May 22, 2014
    0
    Short review: Bad.
    Long review: Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad.
    Truely one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. Bad effects, poor acting
    Short review: Bad.
    Long review: Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad.

    Truely one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. Bad effects, poor acting (minus Jeff Bridges), and a story that's about as interesting as Scooby Doo in adult form.
    Expand

See all 60 User Reviews

Trailers