Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 228 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 22 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jul 19, 2013
    60
    Thank heavens — or at least the “Department of Eternal Affairs” — for Jeff Bridges, whose hilariously free-associative performance as a 19th-century frontier marshal-turned-21st-century undead lawman is like an adrenaline shot to the heart of R.I.P.D.
  2. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jul 19, 2013
    50
    A film that grows less compelling and original by the minute, R.I.P.D. serves due notice that the mismatched-buddy-cop movie is wearing out its welcome all over again.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jul 19, 2013
    38
    There is less eye candy than you would expect, and it’s underwhelming.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Jul 19, 2013
    30
    Unfortunately, the interesting drabness of the afterlife’s police department is paired with the colorless paucity of the film’s heavies...The deados, unmemorable CG brutes, spout generic bad-guy dialogue undistinguished by humor or characterization.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Jul 19, 2013
    25
    A dud that squanders a decent cast and succeeds neither as the comedy nor the action film it purports to be.
  6. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jul 19, 2013
    20
    Tired byplay between Reynolds’s mystified straight man and Bridges’s supernatural old pro will kill off any fond memories you have of zesty buddy films past and present.
  7. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jul 19, 2013
    0
    This expensive misfire runs a little less than ninety minutes, which means that there’s likely a 105-110 minute long version that the producers hacked up in order to get the maximum amount of 3D showtimes to not embarrass the studio on opening weekend. Judging by the released product, that version is likely even worse, if such a thing were possible.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 56
  2. Negative: 25 out of 56
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to all this hate. This movie was action packed and a good, imaginative story made this movie great. I can't believe all this hateDon't listen to all this hate. This movie was action packed and a good, imaginative story made this movie great. I can't believe all this hate for such a great movie. OK, maybe it was a bit like Men in Black but the story was completely original. Ryan Reynold and Jeff Bridges performance was great. definitely recommend this for people who want an original, funny, and well made sci-fi movie. Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    8
    I totally don't understand all the hate towards this movie. Yes, R.I.P.D. has many parallels with Men In Black, but it's not the makers'I totally don't understand all the hate towards this movie. Yes, R.I.P.D. has many parallels with Men In Black, but it's not the makers' fault, it's based on an existing comic after all. Besides, "a MIB clone" sounds like a compliment for me, since I absolutely love the MIB movies. Anyway, this movie's got stellar cast (Reynolds, cowboy Bridges, Kevin Bacon and the ever-pretty Mary-Louise Parker), mostly funny jokes, quite gripping action scenes and, suddenly, a bit of convincing drama. Now the downsides are that the plot's a bit predictable and the visual effects aren't all polished, but those are minor to me. A solid 8 out of 10, don't skip this out because of the critics. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2013
    6
    I have no idea why the other users on this site are being so harsh. I though it was an okay, some what cheesy action comedy. But anyone whoI have no idea why the other users on this site are being so harsh. I though it was an okay, some what cheesy action comedy. But anyone who says it's bad didn't needs to get better taste in movies. Personally, I had a great time seeing it, and I think you will too. Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2013
    4
    R.I.P.D had a budget of 130 million dollars, if this is true why is the CGI so incredibly bad? I really don't know what to say. This review isR.I.P.D had a budget of 130 million dollars, if this is true why is the CGI so incredibly bad? I really don't know what to say. This review is not going to be very long because I haven't got a lot to say. The acting is terrible, yes even Kevin Bacon. The plot is impossible to understand, not that it made much of a difference, and (quite obviously) stolen from Men In Black. The CGI reminds me of a 1980's Doctor Who episode. The action is straightforward, without brains and easily forgettable. The ending is such an anti climax that it brings the movie down by a whole point. The only aspect of R.I.P.D which is done well, is the mildly entertaining humor which made me laugh a few times. Simple sentences used to simply describe a dumb and simple Men In Black rip off which was made solely to entertain under 18's. And it doesn't even do that! Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    3
    "R.I.P.D." 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Bad) ...

    The Good: Jeff Bridges is pretty good, though you have seen him play similar characters before.
    "R.I.P.D." 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Bad) ...

    The Good: Jeff Bridges is pretty good, though you have seen him play similar characters before. His performance alone gives the movie a couple of extra points. Ryan Reynolds was his usual charismatic self, even if he seems to be the same guy in every film.

    The Bad: I wouldn't mind that the film rips off Beetlejuice, Ghostbusters, and the Men in Black franchise if it added something new. It doesn't, so the result is a disaster. The story itself is incredibly weak and lazy. The special effects are horrible and cartoon-like, which is unacceptable here in 2013. Kevin Bacon hammed it up and while I don't think he took the film seriously, his performance was unexpectedly poor.
    Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2013
    3
    Only saw this because it was free (I work at a theater) so that should should tell you something right there. This isn't worth any of yourOnly saw this because it was free (I work at a theater) so that should should tell you something right there. This isn't worth any of your cash, probably not your time either. I wasted my time for 2 reasons, it was free as i previously stated and because of Jeff Bridges who happens to be the only reason I gave this movie a 3. R.I.P.D. was too corny for my taste and this is coming from someone who enjoys sci-fi channel original movies. Stay away from this one, wait for Redbox, it's worth a dollar rental but nothing more. 3/10 Expand
  7. May 22, 2014
    0
    Short review: Bad.
    Long review: Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad.
    Truely one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. Bad effects, poor acting
    Short review: Bad.
    Long review: Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad.

    Truely one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. Bad effects, poor acting (minus Jeff Bridges), and a story that's about as interesting as Scooby Doo in adult form.
    Expand

See all 56 User Reviews

Trailers