Rise of the Guardians

Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Nov 21, 2012
    88
    The shaggy, whimsical characters have a primal familiarity, as though they were developed by a tag team of Maurice Sendak and Walt Disney.
  2. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Nov 26, 2012
    80
    It's gorgeously designed, deftly written and frequently laugh-out-loud funny. For child or adult, this is a fantasy to get lost in.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Nov 21, 2012
    80
    It's a grand, colorful adventure, an escapist romp draped in tinsel. And, who knows -- if you're all good little boys and girls this year, perhaps it will also be the first installment in a new DreamWorks holiday tradition.
  4. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Nov 20, 2012
    80
    One of the best kid's films of the year, full of delight and action and charm and comedy.
  5. Reviewed by: Jody Mitori
    Nov 23, 2012
    75
    The Guardians make a winning team that is a prime candidate for a sequel, just like "The Avengers."
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    Nov 23, 2012
    75
    A satisfying holiday treat for adults and children alike.
  7. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Nov 21, 2012
    75
    While Rise Of The Guardians boasts a great deal of visual energy and amounts to a lot of fun, it's mostly lacking in that kind of depth elsewhere.
  8. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Nov 20, 2012
    75
    There's an audience for this film. It's not me. I gather younger children will like the breakneck action, the magical ability to fly and the young hero who has tired of only being a name. Their parents and older siblings may find the 89-minute running time quite long enough.
  9. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Nov 20, 2012
    75
    Thoughts become things. That's the message of Rise of the Guardians, a charming if slightly dark and cobwebbed animated feature about how believing in something makes it real, or real enough.
  10. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 20, 2012
    75
    Rise of the Guardians is an all-star addition to holiday movies lists but the real question is: Which holiday?
  11. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 19, 2012
    75
    Rise of the Guardians is enjoyable as a stand-alone adventure - not groundbreaking animation but a solidly entertaining 90 minutes for older children and adults.
  12. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 21, 2012
    70
    As much as its premise may sound like the start of a bad joke, Peter Ramsey's movie preserves just enough genuine childhood wonder in its whooshing, high-tech theatrics to make it a delight.
  13. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Nov 20, 2012
    70
    Works so hard at celebrating wide eyes and naïve joy that it comes close to spoiling its own intermittent wonderfulness.
  14. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Nov 20, 2012
    70
    At times, it approaches some of Pixar's best.
  15. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Nov 20, 2012
    67
    It's all more lightweight-likable than exciting.
  16. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Nov 20, 2012
    63
    This does seem to leave room for bigger, bolder, more momentous adventures down the line.
  17. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 20, 2012
    63
    With its fanciful razzle-dazzle, Rise of the Guardians is appealing, if slightly hectic, family fare.
  18. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Nov 20, 2012
    63
    This spirited enough yarn is sincere and heartening in its belief that our devotion to these youthful myths is healthy for our sense of wonderment.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 220 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 50
  2. Negative: 2 out of 50
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    4
    This movie was beautiful to look at. The characters were striking and vibrant in appearance. The writing was never very clever or insightfulThis movie was beautiful to look at. The characters were striking and vibrant in appearance. The writing was never very clever or insightful though. I think I would have loved this movie if I was under the age of 10, but their was very little that would entertain adults as well as children. Overall it wasn't unpleasant, but I wouldn't really recommend seeing it to anyone either. Full Review »
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    i love love love this film. The characters,the story line, everything. Definitely a top film. Although it is aimed at children, this isi love love love this film. The characters,the story line, everything. Definitely a top film. Although it is aimed at children, this is totally a full age friendly film.
    Pitch Black is a complex character and at some parts you almost feel sorry for him... until he is a complete dooshbag yet again.

    Would definitely recommend.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    6
    A reasonably fun holiday flick that feels at times a bit disjointed and a bit lacking in depth. Certainly we can connect with the themes,A reasonably fun holiday flick that feels at times a bit disjointed and a bit lacking in depth. Certainly we can connect with the themes, but the movie fails to draw us into the "magic". Full Review »