Rise of the Guardians

Rise of the Guardians Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 240 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: Rise of the Guardians is an epic and magical adventure that tells the story of Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy, the Sandman, and Jack Frost – legendary characters with previously unknown extraordinary abilities. When an evil spirit known as Pitch lays down the gauntlet to takeRise of the Guardians is an epic and magical adventure that tells the story of Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy, the Sandman, and Jack Frost – legendary characters with previously unknown extraordinary abilities. When an evil spirit known as Pitch lays down the gauntlet to take over the world, the immortal Guardians must join forces to protect the hopes, beliefs and imagination of children everywhere. (Paramount Pictures)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Nov 21, 2012
    88
    The shaggy, whimsical characters have a primal familiarity, as though they were developed by a tag team of Maurice Sendak and Walt Disney.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Nov 20, 2012
    75
    Thoughts become things. That's the message of Rise of the Guardians, a charming if slightly dark and cobwebbed animated feature about how believing in something makes it real, or real enough.
  3. Reviewed by: Jody Mitori
    Nov 23, 2012
    75
    The Guardians make a winning team that is a prime candidate for a sequel, just like "The Avengers."
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Nov 20, 2012
    63
    This spirited enough yarn is sincere and heartening in its belief that our devotion to these youthful myths is healthy for our sense of wonderment.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 20, 2012
    60
    It has a great voice cast, a kinda-sorta interesting premise and the 3-D is effective, but somehow it just doesn't add up.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Nov 23, 2012
    50
    The movie lacks a resonant center. The script seems to have been written by committee, with members lobbying for each major character, and the action, set in vast environments all over the map, spreads itself so thin that a surfeit of motion vitiates emotion.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Nov 21, 2012
    12
    I can't remember ever seeing such a spectacular implosion of a squad of all-stars as Rise of the Guardians. Well, not since Yankee Stadium in October.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    i love love love this film. The characters,the story line, everything. Definitely a top film. Although it is aimed at children, this isi love love love this film. The characters,the story line, everything. Definitely a top film. Although it is aimed at children, this is totally a full age friendly film.
    Pitch Black is a complex character and at some parts you almost feel sorry for him... until he is a complete dooshbag yet again.

    Would definitely recommend.
    Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    One of the most underrated animated films of all time. May not be as visually impressive as I hoped it would be but I fell in love with theOne of the most underrated animated films of all time. May not be as visually impressive as I hoped it would be but I fell in love with the characters, They are simply too awesome not to like. It's rare that I enjoy a film as much as I did this one, I actually broke out smiling during the end and didn't stop until it was over, It's a very cute film that I am sure kids and adults will enjoy. The only negative thing I can say about it is that the plot is a little shallow, Dialogue isn't as good as I hoped it would be. However, I enjoyed this film so much that I can overlook that. I would highly recommend due to the incredibly likeable characters and how much originality the film has. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    First off, I love animated films. I thought this movie was really good as it gave us an insight how the Guardians work, even if it was a bitFirst off, I love animated films. I thought this movie was really good as it gave us an insight how the Guardians work, even if it was a bit cheesy at times! And I'm fourteen and I loved this film so that just goes to show it doesn't matter what age you are, animation is always good! Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2013
    7
    While there are certain things in the film could have been handled better the stuff that is good in this movie is unbeliavblely good. TheWhile there are certain things in the film could have been handled better the stuff that is good in this movie is unbeliavblely good. The world of the guardians and their powers make this film enjoyable to watch. This is a great movie for kids and even adults to a certain extent and make sure you watch it in 3D because it only adds to the experience. Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2012
    7
    Rise of the Guardians has really great action scenes. Visually striking, very entertaining but it's not so good in storytelling. A sort ofRise of the Guardians has really great action scenes. Visually striking, very entertaining but it's not so good in storytelling. A sort of Avengers set in school set, intriguing. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2012
    6
    A reasonably fun holiday flick that feels at times a bit disjointed and a bit lacking in depth. Certainly we can connect with the themes,A reasonably fun holiday flick that feels at times a bit disjointed and a bit lacking in depth. Certainly we can connect with the themes, but the movie fails to draw us into the "magic". Expand
  7. Rem
    Jun 1, 2014
    3
    Without a doubt this movie tries to be more than what it is. Dreamworks hit a new low with this film, and it shows in their completelyWithout a doubt this movie tries to be more than what it is. Dreamworks hit a new low with this film, and it shows in their completely annoying and idiotic character Jack Frost. Also while I understand that this is a children's movies, some of the dialogue is incredibly cringeworthy and the jokes come up empty. The animations are decent, but the idea of listening to Chris Pine's effort in trying to portray a clueless teen boy, it's just not worth it. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too) Image
    Published: November 7, 2012
    The holiday movie season kicks off this weekend with what could be the best James Bond film yet, but there are plenty more treats in store over the coming weeks, including new films from Quentin Tarantino, Kathryn Bigelow, Michael Haneke, David O. Russell, and Judd Apatow and the first of three Hobbit films.
  2. Every Marvel Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Every Marvel Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: March 14, 2016
    We rank every recent Marvel film from worst to best by Metascore.
  3. The 20 Best Xbox One Games of 2015

    The 20 Best Xbox One Games of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the 20 highest-scoring games released for the Xbox One console in 2015.
  4. Holiday Gift Guide: 14 Picks for Xbox One Owners

    Holiday Gift Guide: 14 Picks for Xbox One Owners Image
    Published: November 17, 2015
    Looking for an ideal gift for the Xbox One owner in your life? We've compiled a variety of critically-acclaimed games released in recent months for Microsoft's latest console.