Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 14, 2010
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 332 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
175
Mixed:
103
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
EthanPeterOct 20, 2010
If it reinvents the legend at all, one has to wonder why the legend exists in the first place. The story and characters are painfully boring. You've already seen all this action before, and the elements it borrows were selected from theIf it reinvents the legend at all, one has to wonder why the legend exists in the first place. The story and characters are painfully boring. You've already seen all this action before, and the elements it borrows were selected from the bottom of the barrel. Watch Kevin Costner's again instead. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
3
Forrestgump1Sep 25, 2010
"This movie i was expecting more , It was morally disappointing i expected way more from the Genius's behind Gladiator , Its way to long , It drags on more than it should and in the end your leaving with a Headache .. i actuall fell asleep at"This movie i was expecting more , It was morally disappointing i expected way more from the Genius's behind Gladiator , Its way to long , It drags on more than it should and in the end your leaving with a Headache .. i actuall fell asleep at one point" .. D+ Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
mrcriticSep 22, 2010
This movie is plain torture. One of... if not the worst movie of 2010 so far. Russell Crowe is in basically every Ridley Scott, and I've disliked only 1 or possibly 2 movies that they've collaborated on. This movie is plain awful. I'd ratherThis movie is plain torture. One of... if not the worst movie of 2010 so far. Russell Crowe is in basically every Ridley Scott, and I've disliked only 1 or possibly 2 movies that they've collaborated on. This movie is plain awful. I'd rather watch The Bounty Hunter 3 times straight than watch a portion of this movie worthy enough to be crapped on. Just garbage. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
AlbertP.May 17, 2010
Awful...from beginning to end.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
MikeHMay 14, 2010
One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Very boring acting, Fighting scenes dont compare to other films. Anyone else think its Gladiator meets A Forrest?
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JoV.May 20, 2010
Big money , big names , big brand and in the end ? a scam , its isnt about Robin Hood , its about something else and nobody is sure of what it is(magna carta , robin hood , crowe/scott ego ,killing some french which is always good) The hero Big money , big names , big brand and in the end ? a scam , its isnt about Robin Hood , its about something else and nobody is sure of what it is(magna carta , robin hood , crowe/scott ego ,killing some french which is always good) The hero seems to do what he does because he s paid for ( like me when i dont wanna go to office but still go) To finish , i find its a bit rude to french , and it hides the fact that , at this era of time , french won (in france since the english invaded them and they were reuniting the kingdom), which is something that english-speacking people cannot allow, so they rewrite the history.ahhh good old english racism against france that america embraces with joy.......it makes sell more , thats all that is important finally:p i would be ashamed to have my name in the credits. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MikeLJun 20, 2010
If you want to sit through 2 hours of boring dialogue, with boring characters, boring action, not funny jokes, cliched storyline and Russel Crowe, then this movie is for you.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
OlegM.May 15, 2010
I gave it a 1 just for compassion's sake. Cate Blanchettte and Russel Crow acting - reluctantly - in this movie saved it from Zero. What a JOKE. History is faked. Psychology is faked. PR is kept intact. If you loath spending money on I gave it a 1 just for compassion's sake. Cate Blanchettte and Russel Crow acting - reluctantly - in this movie saved it from Zero. What a JOKE. History is faked. Psychology is faked. PR is kept intact. If you loath spending money on bullshit - don't go and spend your money on this crap. (i did just because i was in Vienna and had 2 hours to kill before the plane to Paris). Cheers, my Children, Oleg Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PaulMay 17, 2010
Perhaps the worst film of the year. Blanchet and Crowe are a awful couple. I want my money and two hours of my life back!
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
DaleC.May 17, 2010
Not every movie / story / TV show needs a "reboot". And that word in its current sense needs to be rebooted out of our lexicon. Rather than worrying about a reboot of a story that's been done to death, how about just telling a good Not every movie / story / TV show needs a "reboot". And that word in its current sense needs to be rebooted out of our lexicon. Rather than worrying about a reboot of a story that's been done to death, how about just telling a good story in an interesting way. Period. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
TrevorjMay 19, 2010
BOOOORING. I kept sitting in my seat praying it got better, only to be disappointed at the credits. Action is messy and sparse. They tried to make it darker, but the combat scenes just aren't brutal enough to convey that message. BOOOORING. I kept sitting in my seat praying it got better, only to be disappointed at the credits. Action is messy and sparse. They tried to make it darker, but the combat scenes just aren't brutal enough to convey that message. Recommend a skip. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
NeilBMay 20, 2010
The more and more I think about this movie the more I think it is a rip off. The movie was so bad, I can't even explain how bad it really was. There was little for the actors to work with in the way of lines and story. They butchered The more and more I think about this movie the more I think it is a rip off. The movie was so bad, I can't even explain how bad it really was. There was little for the actors to work with in the way of lines and story. They butchered one of my faviorite stories worse then Kevin Cosnter did. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
killdarrenMay 14, 2010
Hollywood has officially run out of ideas. There is truly nothing original left. Here we go another King Arthur or Robin Hood movie. They release one every five or six years, dirty it down and all claim it's the "authentic story." Hollywood has officially run out of ideas. There is truly nothing original left. Here we go another King Arthur or Robin Hood movie. They release one every five or six years, dirty it down and all claim it's the "authentic story." Russel Crow is his usual neanderthal self, Blanchett overacts like always, and Ridley Scott phones it in more than ever before. Here's a legend for you "Film producers so clueless they try to make a Robin Hood movie seem like a new, original and fresh idea." Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JohnHMay 14, 2010
It gets a 1 because it claims to be a movie, and actually is. This movie is awful. The story in this movie get more and more ridiculous. A little piece of me died while I watched this. Save your money and watch it on WGN in about 10 years.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
RajRMay 16, 2010
For anything of value that this film had to offer, you're better off watching Gladiator again and pretending that you haven't seen it before..... An hour into this movie, I felt like I had been in the theater for 3 and a half hours.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
DavidDMay 17, 2010
Within the first ten minutes i could tell it was gonna suck...and it did for another two hours. Absolutely awful movie and story. Don't waste your money, see something else.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
aliciarMay 18, 2010
I was bored, literally, from start to finish. really predictable. acting is intolerably bad. and i couldn't stop thinking about robin hood men in tights and the scene in shrek with the merry men. i would've walked out of the movie I was bored, literally, from start to finish. really predictable. acting is intolerably bad. and i couldn't stop thinking about robin hood men in tights and the scene in shrek with the merry men. i would've walked out of the movie if my boyfriend wasn't with me. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
KenBJun 12, 2010
Just a mess that fools around with the legend for no good reason. No laughs, no charm, no romance, no sexual vibes. And when everyone showed up at the D-Day landing it was laughable.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
westhJun 3, 2010
Like a mash-up of every unconvincing battle scene created in the last 10 years, peopled by characters you really don't give s*** about. Offensively audacious in its early promotion of a sequel (at the end you see, "the story has just Like a mash-up of every unconvincing battle scene created in the last 10 years, peopled by characters you really don't give s*** about. Offensively audacious in its early promotion of a sequel (at the end you see, "the story has just begun" or some such nonsense). It was a truly awful flick -- either Ridley Scott let his PA do all the work, or the man has just completely lost his mind. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
TomBMay 17, 2010
Very dull and had me looking at my watch after 25 minutes. Couldn't wait for it to end and would have walked out, but my wife had high hopes for it improving (which she also said it failed to deliver). The script was overdone and tried Very dull and had me looking at my watch after 25 minutes. Couldn't wait for it to end and would have walked out, but my wife had high hopes for it improving (which she also said it failed to deliver). The script was overdone and tried to sound artsy-Shakespearean and instead just contributed to this mess of a film. Very relieved when it ended. Skip it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
FrancescoM.May 18, 2010
A really awful movie... We were all expecting something more or less as good as Gladiator, unfortunately it fell very, very short of this...! Historicaly, it´s all wrong, the plot is confused, the main enemies are now the French which A really awful movie... We were all expecting something more or less as good as Gladiator, unfortunately it fell very, very short of this...! Historicaly, it´s all wrong, the plot is confused, the main enemies are now the French which is ridiculous... I give it 2 out of 10 for depicting well the english villages of the end of the XIIIth Century but that´s all... Kevin Cosner´s Robin Hood was, in many ways, much better... Some critics here are so outrageously positive (look at Randy H´s comment for exemple) that I suppose they were made by people working with the Film... It could only be. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DChommerMay 18, 2010
Dreadful film that I could not wait to be over. Long, dull, and simply incomprehensible mess of a film. Must have suffered from a ton of cuts from the director's original version because there are plenty of odd and out of place shots. Dreadful film that I could not wait to be over. Long, dull, and simply incomprehensible mess of a film. Must have suffered from a ton of cuts from the director's original version because there are plenty of odd and out of place shots. Don't bother. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JeffZMay 23, 2010
Fell asleep about 20 minutes into the movie, and my friend had to wake me up. Though.. I give the movie props for the last 15 minutes or so, when there were some amazing panaromic shots and some decent action going on. But, other than those Fell asleep about 20 minutes into the movie, and my friend had to wake me up. Though.. I give the movie props for the last 15 minutes or so, when there were some amazing panaromic shots and some decent action going on. But, other than those 15 rare minutes, the film was terrible. Just terrible. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
SteveMMay 25, 2010
Absolutely brutal. This is coming from someone who liked Prince of Thieves just so people know how easy I am to please. There was nothing Robin Hood about this movie. It tried to do way to many things at once and none of it was good. Bad Absolutely brutal. This is coming from someone who liked Prince of Thieves just so people know how easy I am to please. There was nothing Robin Hood about this movie. It tried to do way to many things at once and none of it was good. Bad action scenes, lame dialogue, unlikeable characters and a brutal plot all came together to make a great big mess. Please give me my $10 back. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JamesPMay 27, 2010
Marginally entertaining in a Robin Hood through the lens of 'Saving Private Ryan' sort of way. Generally slow and booring though, with (almost) nothing to do with the generally understood legend. It felt like 'Gladiator' Marginally entertaining in a Robin Hood through the lens of 'Saving Private Ryan' sort of way. Generally slow and booring though, with (almost) nothing to do with the generally understood legend. It felt like 'Gladiator' with none of the style and less of the interest in the characters. Like one of the other user reviewers, one of the few movies that has had me checking my watch within 30 minutes. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
mau1133Aug 21, 2010
such a bad movie, i would have to say it is the director, cuz u know the cast is good. well i was relly disapointed and i definitly don´t recomend it
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
DarthCriticNov 30, 2010
And the barrage of bad movies for 2010 continues! It starts great, then tries to add every element of the typical movie - love story, one-liner humor, etc. And where did the stupid kids with masks come from? Give me the good ol' Disney oneAnd the barrage of bad movies for 2010 continues! It starts great, then tries to add every element of the typical movie - love story, one-liner humor, etc. And where did the stupid kids with masks come from? Give me the good ol' Disney one with Sir Hiss any old day over this junk. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
RaywaterJan 17, 2011
What a huge disappointment, Ridley is reminding me more of Ron Howard with every release, no imagination no flashes of originality which are vital to hold an audiences attention and maintain momentum over such a well known and much usedWhat a huge disappointment, Ridley is reminding me more of Ron Howard with every release, no imagination no flashes of originality which are vital to hold an audiences attention and maintain momentum over such a well known and much used storyline. Bought the blu-ray version which I just rented the DVD. Tv movie anyone!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
carlos28200Oct 25, 2011
this is the most boring film in history, it does not tell the real story of robin hood, i got sleep 4 times watching this in a cinema, terrible
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
TheBlackMistOct 7, 2011
The idea of this film was good, BUT. a lot of actors just seem to be reprising their roles eg Russell Crowe playing his Gladiator role in a Robin Hood outfit. It takes a lot for a film to make me want to walk out of the cinema in disgust, IThe idea of this film was good, BUT. a lot of actors just seem to be reprising their roles eg Russell Crowe playing his Gladiator role in a Robin Hood outfit. It takes a lot for a film to make me want to walk out of the cinema in disgust, I did not walk out, but by the time I got to the last 20minutes I was saying to myself "please please just end" there was hardly any plot line to fall in love with and it just seemed a VERY empty film.

I will say this though. Fans of the Robin Hood : Prince Of Thieves in my opinion will HATE this

and

Fans of Gladiator that have NOT seen Robin Hood : Prince Of Thieves will probably find this entertaining.

Sorry Ridley Scott but for me this is probably one of your worst films
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
EricMexlerFeb 14, 2012
Wrong in every way: a protracted, predictable and cliched story, a seriously clunky script, appalling acting by a cast that should know better. An utterly pointless waste of time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
RedAFXApr 11, 2012
Miscasted to oblivion, predictable, terrible dialogue, one dimensional performances, the worst soundtrack I have ever encountered, simply boring, not one redeeming quality except for two action sequences, one of which which were unnecessarilyMiscasted to oblivion, predictable, terrible dialogue, one dimensional performances, the worst soundtrack I have ever encountered, simply boring, not one redeeming quality except for two action sequences, one of which which were unnecessarily unrealistic and exaggerated, Ridley Scott did the best he could with his camera setups, but proves he put his cast after visuals once again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
GarianAug 7, 2012
I watched this film quite a while ago, and for the life of me, I can barely remember any scenes of it, all I can remember is that the actor did not make a convincing main character at all. That, and the fact that it dragged on so long that II watched this film quite a while ago, and for the life of me, I can barely remember any scenes of it, all I can remember is that the actor did not make a convincing main character at all. That, and the fact that it dragged on so long that I was actually bored watching it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews