Columbia Pictures | Release Date: February 12, 2014
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 623 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
325
Mixed:
196
Negative:
102
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Project_hollowFeb 12, 2014
Saw it today and thought it was great! The crowd seemed to enjoy it too. Calling it the worst him you seen, not as good as the first, degraded cast etc is such B.S. Im sure you all have favorite movies or tv games. If you look at the reviewsSaw it today and thought it was great! The crowd seemed to enjoy it too. Calling it the worst him you seen, not as good as the first, degraded cast etc is such B.S. Im sure you all have favorite movies or tv games. If you look at the reviews theres always people giving anything a bad score. Take everything by a grain of salt. Some people are just miserable souls that get off putting down movies. Whatever the case the story, casting (especially Samsual L jackson) and action was great. Expand
16 of 25 users found this helpful169
All this user's reviews
9
oildboy29Feb 13, 2014
A much needed reboot of the Robocop franchise! The original Robocop is a classic, yet this remake/reboot stands on it's own. Great plot, great acting, plenty of action. It's good that the campy crap from part 2 and 3 was thrown out inA much needed reboot of the Robocop franchise! The original Robocop is a classic, yet this remake/reboot stands on it's own. Great plot, great acting, plenty of action. It's good that the campy crap from part 2 and 3 was thrown out in exchange for a deep, rich screenplay. Expand
15 of 24 users found this helpful159
All this user's reviews
8
imafallguyFeb 12, 2014
RoboCop (2014) is so much better than you're expecting that, for most of the 103 minute running time, you completely forget you bought those $16 Imax tickets just out of curiosity to see how bad of a train wreck this film was guaranteed toRoboCop (2014) is so much better than you're expecting that, for most of the 103 minute running time, you completely forget you bought those $16 Imax tickets just out of curiosity to see how bad of a train wreck this film was guaranteed to be. Instead, you'll find yourself surprised at how well it turned out and wishing it was all just a little better. Instead of the crime against humanity we were all fearing, Robocop is a decidedly well crafted film that can't achieve greatness.

Smart, expertly acted (had I known earlier that Gary Oldman and Michael Keaton signed on, I would have had higher expectations), and politically poignant, RoboCop is a remake far better than it has any right to be. It's frustrating to watch such a worthy movie fall all over itself in its earnest attempt to convey a plotline similar to that of the 1987 original. The cerebral bits of the film, of which there are many, prove to be captivating and compelling as the audience is forced to bear the emotional burden of watching Alex Murphy come to terms with being a quadruple amputee.

Then there's the action. Or, rather, near total lack of it. In an ironic twist of fate, the PG13 rated RoboCop didn't turn out to be the watered down, plot-less, ham handed G.I Joe of an action movie so many had feared. It's not much of an action movie at all. The few sequences of robot-kicking-ass-with-style are generic at best and borderline laughable at worst. Unfortunately, there's just not much combat or octane in this film, and mercifully there aren't more scenes that try for it.

RoboCop is a surprising success, either because expectations were so abysmally low or it's actually a good flick. This viewer thinks it's a bit of both, but the former doesn't infringe on the later.

Score: 7.5 (rounded up to 8)

-imafallguy
Expand
17 of 31 users found this helpful1714
All this user's reviews
9
CivmaniakFeb 12, 2014
Very good movie! Great special effects and good play actors. Oldman is very good actor. Much better than I expected. I can't help but feel that some of the less than positive reviews are because of unfavourable comparisons with the originalVery good movie! Great special effects and good play actors. Oldman is very good actor. Much better than I expected. I can't help but feel that some of the less than positive reviews are because of unfavourable comparisons with the original which is unfair because in many ways this is a better movie than the original. Expand
17 of 33 users found this helpful1716
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoer14Feb 12, 2014
The original "Robocop" has been an instant classic and a favorite to almost all people. in reference to the remake, it is pretty decent and worth a watch; it is a refreshing look at one of the best, not disappointing but in fact more thanThe original "Robocop" has been an instant classic and a favorite to almost all people. in reference to the remake, it is pretty decent and worth a watch; it is a refreshing look at one of the best, not disappointing but in fact more than pleasing with a surprisingly a strong re-watchable value to it. Expand
24 of 49 users found this helpful2425
All this user's reviews
6
8bitParadoxFeb 20, 2014
Actually a lot better than expected, this is what people would look forward to in a Robocop remake. This is the closest you can get to a good Robocop remake without the completely copying the original. This surprisingly wasn't the CGI messActually a lot better than expected, this is what people would look forward to in a Robocop remake. This is the closest you can get to a good Robocop remake without the completely copying the original. This surprisingly wasn't the CGI mess fans were afraid of. It was less gruesome and gritty than the original, which was personally my favorite part of the original, I didn't even realize the movie was PG-13 till after the movie, I just expected it was R, and that is probably why it lacks the grit. The main actor performs well in his TV series "The Killing" but is somehow puts on a bland performance. I can't even judge the other actors, because anyone who wasn't the lead maybe got 20 minutes of screen time total, with the exception of Gary Oldman's character who put on the best performance in this movie. If you are a fan of the amazing classic, you won't "love" this remake, but you at least won't hate it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
tysonatthemovieFeb 26, 2014
I enjoyed the robotic themes contained in this film, but it certainly does not capture the feel or spirit of the original. The best thing going for it is that they did not attempt to make the same plot again. Gary Oldman is the highlight,I enjoyed the robotic themes contained in this film, but it certainly does not capture the feel or spirit of the original. The best thing going for it is that they did not attempt to make the same plot again. Gary Oldman is the highlight, Samuel L. Jackson is the boring shoe-horn to try to make this movies seem like a critique of society. Ultimately, just another mediocre remake. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
shahriar1378Jan 2, 2015
این فیلم بسیار فیلم زیبا و سرگرم کننده ایه و کار خودشو به بهترین شکل انجام میده،هین فیلم تکشن زیبایی دارد ولی فیلمنامه فیلم مشکلات جزیی دارد مثلا وقتی بدنشو به اون روبات چسبوندن فیلم خیلی کم و ناچیز به سمت این میرود که چرا این اتفاق افتاده واین فیلم بسیار فیلم زیبا و سرگرم کننده ایه و کار خودشو به بهترین شکل انجام میده،هین فیلم تکشن زیبایی دارد ولی فیلمنامه فیلم مشکلات جزیی دارد مثلا وقتی بدنشو به اون روبات چسبوندن فیلم خیلی کم و ناچیز به سمت این میرود که چرا این اتفاق افتاده و داستان را ناقص میکند.درکل فیلم فیلم بسیار قوی و خوبی است که گرچه به پای نسخه اول خود نمیرسد ولی در کل فیلم قوی است Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TheWaffleFeb 21, 2015
A great reimagining of the original classic. There are a few head-scratching departures from the original (particularly Murphy's "death" scene and the decision to go for PG-13 rather than R) and far too little screen-time for Murphy's partnerA great reimagining of the original classic. There are a few head-scratching departures from the original (particularly Murphy's "death" scene and the decision to go for PG-13 rather than R) and far too little screen-time for Murphy's partner played by Michael "Omar" Williams, but this is a great action flick in the vein of Dredd and The Raid. RoboCop is fast-paced without feeling rushed, and the cast is fantastic, especially Jackie Haley, Michael Keaton, and Gary Oldman. RoboCop himself isn't stellar but he gets the job done. Overall I was totally misled by the critics and blogosphere who tried to cast this as an empty action romp. RoboCop has as much brains and heart as any other action movie in the past few years. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
KadeemluvmusicJul 21, 2016
Rebooting a stalled franchise for over two decades isn't really a thing anymore unless you come up with fresh ideas to make the movie that is more or less of a masterpiece. I'd had to watch Robocop (2014) again. In my opinion, it's still aRebooting a stalled franchise for over two decades isn't really a thing anymore unless you come up with fresh ideas to make the movie that is more or less of a masterpiece. I'd had to watch Robocop (2014) again. In my opinion, it's still a good reboot but fairly not quite as bloodier and gorier than the 1987 badass iconic sci-fi juggernaut that makes me happy why the 80s is still the best decade ever.

The new version of Robocop just kinda disappoints me. The violence had to be toned down to a somewhat family audience, if that's what the PG-13 rating had in mind. The acting is okay, but pretty stiff. Samuel L. Jackson was hillarious when he played the president. If any movie tentpole or straight-to-DVD movies that have Jackson in it, count me in (except the new Tarzan movie because it was a snooze). The only problem in this reboot was the shedding of Alex Murphy's backstory. I thought the origin story of him was just too cheesey, and to think that he's out to protect the law from a daily dose of menacing prototype machines, trust me Robocop is no Judge Dredd. So yeah, the story is rubbish and the CGI effects are laughable. If they need a sequel, they must find a way to make this movie even more special, like get its R-rating back and try not to overcompensate yourself by not screwing your longtime fans of the original. Still a good reboot, though. Maybe I'll pick it up for a rental.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
oblique15Dec 6, 2014
This kept my interest allot more than I expected it to. I didn`t like the style of Robocop from the commercials, so I went into this with low expectations. Turns out the movie was pretty entertaining. I just hated the ending. I won`t say whatThis kept my interest allot more than I expected it to. I didn`t like the style of Robocop from the commercials, so I went into this with low expectations. Turns out the movie was pretty entertaining. I just hated the ending. I won`t say what happens, but it just leaves you thinking there should be more.It was pretty much like OOOOOOOOOOOOOK? It`s over? If the ending was even close to Epic I would give it a higher rating. Instead the ending was so dull, and that is not a good thing, since it`s the last thing you remember. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
WalkingDead5640Apr 24, 2014
Surprisingly found this a cool movie and fun time at the cinema. A much need reboot, though it doesn't add too the original too much, it dwells deeper into the concept and emotional affect of what it means to put a man inside a machine. GreatSurprisingly found this a cool movie and fun time at the cinema. A much need reboot, though it doesn't add too the original too much, it dwells deeper into the concept and emotional affect of what it means to put a man inside a machine. Great action and pacing! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
chepod8Jun 12, 2015
Solo veo dos problemas, primero que su nivel de violencia es menor a la original, y segundo, que es un remake. Fuera de eso se me hace un digno policía futurista de vanguardia.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
Robocop ofrece una historia interesante al público, que al principio mis expectativas eran un poco bajas (tampoco tanto) pero después de ver el film resulto ser algo mejor.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
dadoctormavJun 21, 2015
This movie didn't disappoint, just because the killings aren't brutal compared with the first two movies means that this movie sucks. It actually gave us a better view and pace of the movie. The director carefully tried to let the 80's kidsThis movie didn't disappoint, just because the killings aren't brutal compared with the first two movies means that this movie sucks. It actually gave us a better view and pace of the movie. The director carefully tried to let the 80's kids where dying to see - what remains of Alex under the armor, tweaking Alex's brain that had overall impact on the main protagonist's family and his duty as a cop. One thing I didn't like is how easily the character of Anton died. Hoping for a sequel. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Shadiac1985Dec 19, 2015
What I don't get is why so many people give it a negative score only because it doesn't look or feel like the 1987 movie? So what? A reboot of the franchise is not a remake, these are two different things. When the franchise gets rebooted, itWhat I don't get is why so many people give it a negative score only because it doesn't look or feel like the 1987 movie? So what? A reboot of the franchise is not a remake, these are two different things. When the franchise gets rebooted, it borrows an only theme but brings it into the actual setting. Watch the 1958 "The Thing" and Carpenter's movie. That's how you do a reboot. Now watch the 2011 garbage and that's how you do a bad remake. See the difference?
This movie is more kid-friendly than the 1987 flick. So what? You'll get to see all the same basic plots: a good cop gets turned into a cyborg, he has his doctor assistant, a big corporate meanie, a caring co-worker, a former wife and kid... But, unlike the straight-to-the-point 1987 flick, this one also shows us how simple men are torn between following orders and being human. This movie seriously doesn't deserve such low scores, it's better that the remake of "Judge Dredd" (and I mean, really better!) plus it ends on a good note of Murphey reuniting with his family, unlike the dystopian 1987 flick where he ends up accepting he's a cyborg or something.
And by the way - an outstanding performance by both Kinnaman and Keaton. Was really worth it.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
vahnFeb 13, 2014
First things first: the original movie was a masterpiece and I love it for how cheesy, how gorey and how fun it was to watch, and NOTHING will touch it.

With that said, the remake of robocop was surprisingly very good...and actually more
First things first: the original movie was a masterpiece and I love it for how cheesy, how gorey and how fun it was to watch, and NOTHING will touch it.

With that said, the remake of robocop was surprisingly very good...and actually more deep than the original, with a lot of development on the story and less on action. Infact, I really loved the many characters and how they didn't just disappear (heck, Murphy's wife is not only present in this version, but she's an active character and an actual anchor for Murphy. That's one big thing to add!), whereas in the original I just remembered the policewoman friend of Murphy Anne Lewis and I can't recall many others at all (at least, until the sequels). A lot of the movie is about story development and about a lot of controversies about robots taking over the security (a lot reminiscent of the movie I,Robot in a way), and that was something that lacked a lot in the original: proper backstory and motivations. I honestly went in the theatre ready to be disappointed but, surprisingly, I enjoyed it a lot and I was also asking myself questions about the scenery and the characters (AKA: I hope there's a sequel!)

What really fails in the movie is probably the fact that this is definitely more action oriented than the original (actually, the actions scenes are few and nothing special...but better than in the original) and...well robocop's new form is pretty bland and just not special: the original Robocop was very clunky and not agile at all and that was the charm, while in here he's able to be extremely agile and even has a bike to go through the city just like Batman does...yeah in a way he's more like a superhero here, which is not completely a fail. I just felt the new Robocop armor is just bland.

Also the story is a bit of a mess at the end but I won't spoil it: let's just say I was trying to understand what happened at the end and that's that.

In short, it's a worthy remake, but it's NEVER going to reach the quality of the original, which I liked as a kid but LOVED as an adult the more I grew up. But like I said the remake is a worthy one, because it develops on part that the original didn't bother to develop.

I think it's decent: you'll either like it it, or won't bother with it.
Expand
14 of 21 users found this helpful147
All this user's reviews
7
dirtchiliFeb 12, 2014
Definitely not a re-hash of the old Robocop story. Good action flick, but in no way a classic. Action was good, acting was ok, had a good time watching it but nothing really sticks with you.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Nov 22, 2014
I watched this film without touching any of the movies from the original trilogy. I thought the film was pretty decent. It seems like more of a prequel because it just didn't quite have the big tough villain that I thought it should. There isI watched this film without touching any of the movies from the original trilogy. I thought the film was pretty decent. It seems like more of a prequel because it just didn't quite have the big tough villain that I thought it should. There is a possibility that there may be a second film that may add more dept now that we know where Robocop came from. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
MKUltramanFeb 16, 2014
Perfectly adequate - yet forgettable. This movie boasts some impressive visual effects and entertaining social commentary, yet never really comes alive through any of its performances. A rather dull climax as well. Perfectly good, yet notPerfectly adequate - yet forgettable. This movie boasts some impressive visual effects and entertaining social commentary, yet never really comes alive through any of its performances. A rather dull climax as well. Perfectly good, yet not destined to be a classic - especially in the shadow of the original 1987 film. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
8
whousthatFeb 13, 2014
This review contains spoilers. Overall, not bad. I expected much much worst (like Total Recall). Good concept on the re-imagining of the story, upgraded tech is well done and world is fairly credible.

Story itself has a few holes, biggest one is what's with the right hand??? I get the head, brain, spinal cord, some organs and a life support system, but a right hand not attached to anything? Not credible. It doesn't even serve any purpose in the movie, unless it was a deleted scene. Physiologically speaking, a detached hand connected to a cybernetic forearm would just be a lump unless a very complex attachment for tendons, life support, ... was in said forearm. Which I didn't see.

Anyway, overall good, not great.
Collapse
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
9
MMaharFeb 13, 2014
Pretty darn good. Exceeded expectations and never got the feel they were just pandering to the audience. Definitely worth a theater view; you'll be entertained!
12 of 19 users found this helpful127
All this user's reviews
10
bessaniFeb 15, 2014
A very good action movie with a decent amount of commentary and discussion about the state of the world… I would give a solid 8 to 9 this movie, but I'll give a 10 just to counter-balance the jerks who gave it zero for absolute no reason. LetA very good action movie with a decent amount of commentary and discussion about the state of the world… I would give a solid 8 to 9 this movie, but I'll give a 10 just to counter-balance the jerks who gave it zero for absolute no reason. Let the original RoboCop stay where it belongs, as an eighties classic and give a chance to this one! Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
2
stakoMay 3, 2014
This was one of the most insultingly stupid movies I've ever watched. How anyone gave this one a pass, or even more than a score of 3 here, is beyond me, and makes me consider suicide. Let me elaborate.
I'd like to start off by saying that I
This was one of the most insultingly stupid movies I've ever watched. How anyone gave this one a pass, or even more than a score of 3 here, is beyond me, and makes me consider suicide. Let me elaborate.
I'd like to start off by saying that I saw the movie just now. I did want to go to the cinema to see it, but I decided not to, as I'm not a Robocop fan. But I was excited for it, even more so than my friends who are actual Robocop fans - I liked Robocop's new design, the direction the trailers were showing off... but apperantly, all that had to go do the trash bin. Except the new suit, which was the only good thing in this movie.
To be frank - the worst thing that happened to this movie, is the Director's vision. His vision was totally wrong, the movie was shot so terribly for an action flick, I don't even know how this dude graduated, if he has even ever considered studying film making. If not, sir Jose Padiha, you need to. A lot. Because what you did to this movie is atrocious. Ugly drama shots, overexposed and too long shots of things that overall do not matter to the plot, no comedy relief in a movie struglling with itself... I have no words to express my anger. How does someone as obviously ungifted as this guy get to direct this big of a movie is simply unexplainable.
On the acting side we have nothing too - we have almost no one good and fitting. And why is Samuel Jackson there? For a poster name, duh. Joel Kinnaman does a good job as Robocop, though not memorable, he was tolerable and likable. But beyond that - everyone else was absolutely useless.
Also, the script was extremely weak. I can, on the spot, think up a much better script than what was offered. Not that the original RoboCop had a brilliant one, but it had much more to go for than that.
I also want to point out, that one of the musical tracks used in this movie is a stolen track from Howard Drossin's OST of Splatterhouse (2009) - it was simply a tad reworked. Even if they did pay for it, it was so obvious that it ruined the whole scene it was used in for me, because not only was it a re-used track, but also the reworked version they used caused the original track to use all of it's appeal.
And to top it all off - the ending was so stupid, I lack the words to even try and talk about it. Worst ending ever - that's all I can say.
I didn't enjoy this movie at all. It was one of the worst movies I've ever watched, and I seriously am sorry for all the Robofans out there.
Just another heap of junk - a pile of ruined potential, courtesy of Hollywood. Also, Jose Padiha - I hope you retire soon, or get actual education. For your own sake.

All in all:

Acting - 2/5 - Not memorable, Samuel Jackson just along for the cash, obviously. Nice Alex Murphy though.
Directing - 2/5 - the worst thing that could have happened to this movie. It's not bad, it just doesn't go well with the whole concept. Further more - this movie contains the worst ending ever shot. Ever.
Script - 1/5 - so many missed out opportunites...
OST - -1/5 - stolen and generic.
Enjoyment - 0/5 - I did not enjoy a single moment of this movie. It was too long, too dramatic, in conflict with itself and simply terrible.

Overall: 1/5 - terrible CGI-fest of a movie that has no other reason to exist than to cash in on a famous name. The only good thing in it was the new Robocop Suit Design, which I, personally, like.
Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
6
BikerjamesFeb 18, 2014
If this was the first Robocop film made I would rank it higher, but it doesn't cover any ground the original didn't cover. The graphics and special effects are better, of course, but the bad guys in the original film are much better, and theIf this was the first Robocop film made I would rank it higher, but it doesn't cover any ground the original didn't cover. The graphics and special effects are better, of course, but the bad guys in the original film are much better, and the first film has a grittier, more realistic feel to it. Not a bad film, but unoriginal. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuAug 4, 2014
This rebooted Robocop is actually a lot better than I thought it would be. I imagined a Transformer-like CGI driven mess but, thankfully, I was off the mark on that one. Robocop was in fact a thoughtful, interesting re-imagining with someThis rebooted Robocop is actually a lot better than I thought it would be. I imagined a Transformer-like CGI driven mess but, thankfully, I was off the mark on that one. Robocop was in fact a thoughtful, interesting re-imagining with some nice things done with the titular hero's family life. Is it as good as the original? Not a chance, but it was still pretty good. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
David_HMar 1, 2014
I'm old enough to have seen the original Robocop in the 1980s, I liked the original and I have to say this was done very well. It is not a sequel, it is in fact a pure re-make that is fairly true to the original screenplay. I hadn't seen thisI'm old enough to have seen the original Robocop in the 1980s, I liked the original and I have to say this was done very well. It is not a sequel, it is in fact a pure re-make that is fairly true to the original screenplay. I hadn't seen this actor before but he played the role of tough cop with a good heart very well. Ironically, the only character that seemed to space out a bit in some of the scenes was the well known actor Michael Keaton. I'm a fan of Keaton but I'm not sure he was a good choice as the evil CEO-type. But overall the movie has great action and quite entertaining. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
Ming120Jun 3, 2014
It's hard to top the original Robocop, and I didn't expect this movie to do so. I think it certainly falls flat in certain areas. It does, however, in my opinion, deserve the RoboCop title and is a worthy remake in it's own right. Is itIt's hard to top the original Robocop, and I didn't expect this movie to do so. I think it certainly falls flat in certain areas. It does, however, in my opinion, deserve the RoboCop title and is a worthy remake in it's own right. Is it better than the original? No. Is it a movie worthy to watch? I would think so.

The movie is good to look at; the concept of having a man in a machine is always intriguing; Robocop's new look is fairly decent; and overall the movie is packed with enough action to keep you entertained.

What the movie seriously lacks, however, is coherent storytelling. It's really hard to anchor down an antagonist, and at times, it's hard to have much affinity for Robocop because most of the characters drawn out in this movie are two dimensional. It's hard to find motive from the bad guys, it's hard to find reason behind the actions of several key players in the movie. There were very few moments where I felt like Robocop was challenged. Many of the major plot points seem forced. The inevitable victory of Robocop over the "bad guys" seems stale. This movie had so much potential, if only it were written a little more coherently.

With all that is said though, this new Robocop is a fun movie to watch. Like Pacific Rim, it doesn't really need to make too much sense--it only needs badass robots, cool graphics, and battles everywhere.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
dharmaMay 30, 2014
Not equal to the original, but surprisingly, one of the better adaptation of 80's classic we've seen so far. The secret..it stays true to the spirit of the original while adding new things of its own. Some great supporting casts from KeatonNot equal to the original, but surprisingly, one of the better adaptation of 80's classic we've seen so far. The secret..it stays true to the spirit of the original while adding new things of its own. Some great supporting casts from Keaton and the ever reliable Samuel Jackson helps. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
starscream97Jun 24, 2014
This movie reminds me a lot of Terminator: Salvation. While they are both good movies, it feels like the people making them thought that they were better than they actually were. What I mean by this is that the whole "what makes us human?"This movie reminds me a lot of Terminator: Salvation. While they are both good movies, it feels like the people making them thought that they were better than they actually were. What I mean by this is that the whole "what makes us human?" plot is WAY too heavy handed and while I appreciate what they were going for, I don't watch a movie called Robocop to think about huge moral dilemmas when I walk out. Still, I was able to look past that and find a very enjoyable, though somewhat sloppily paced, action movie. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
isg1983Mar 1, 2014
Surprisingly decent movie even for the ones who would be rather negatively biased. Great actors and great scenes attached, yet without a decent closure to it.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
FranzHcriticFeb 21, 2014
It degrades the classic original with going in depth with tones that are corny and unimportant and they are not what made the original a hit and I have to say masterpiece of sci-fi. Its few action scenes and Samuel Jackson are somewhatIt degrades the classic original with going in depth with tones that are corny and unimportant and they are not what made the original a hit and I have to say masterpiece of sci-fi. Its few action scenes and Samuel Jackson are somewhat interesting and funny, it ultimately is too safe, with too many pedestrian roles, and without gore, which in a movie about a criminal-killing machine, is a little bit of a necessity. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
ThunderHawkFeb 26, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First thing, I am not a Robocop fans, though I like action movies and I prefer lots of quick action than drame movies and thriller movies.

As in all action or superhero movies, the plot is mostly known, that somehow the good will triumph over the bad. Only a few movies could change that, and certainly not movies that feature famous superheroes like Thor, Ironman, Robocop, or Batman. Sure, some of the heroes allies may be killed off, but the hero itself will not die. We may reduce all superhero movie score because of this factor alone. And not only superhero, the "regular joe heroes" will most of the time triumph, but do have a bigger chance to be killed than the superheroes.

On with the movies.
The beginnings are great, though nothing is extraordinary, all is expected. The great scenes are when Murphy starts kissing with his wife, until Murphy sees what he had become. The moment is great because I can relate to Murphy's feeling that he couldn't possible to enjoy bodily delights again, and how much he had lose. The character who play his wife is also beautiful and plays great.

Then the movie become bland and more expected.
The hero starts up good. The action while Robocop is beating the robots is not great.
The action when Robocop beating his killer are bad. The thugs are foolish enough to fight in darkness. Yes, they have NV googles, but Robocop's own vision has infrared. I guess this is fought in the dark to keep the movie PG-13.
The heroes become villain for a while, then the heroes snaps back because of his family.
Right after the hero snaps back, the hero hunts the big goon by himself.

The problem is that :
- The action, through many, is lame, most of the actions are robot vs robot while I want see Robocop killing humans.
- The final action and fight are boring, and Robocop directly takes off to kill the big goons, so boring.

But the overall movie is pretty much enjoyable.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
hippoguy17Feb 26, 2014
It is a fun movie and unlike most remakes was as good or better than the original. The acting was very good in that they don't look like they are acting. Abbie Cornish is way hot. She is going to be someone. I thought that the two best actorsIt is a fun movie and unlike most remakes was as good or better than the original. The acting was very good in that they don't look like they are acting. Abbie Cornish is way hot. She is going to be someone. I thought that the two best actors were Jackie Haley and John Paul Ruttan. I went early show and only paid $5. I got more than my money's worth. They left it open to a sequel and I guess the box office take will be the judge. There was a couple of very good action scenes and one biological scene that I closed my eyes for. I liked it. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
GurolgeApr 29, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is obvious that this Robocop is not a remake and therefore I do not see the point of negatively assessing this movie basing it on how it does not have what the original has. It is not funny, it is not vulgar, it is not witty and it is not violent as the original movie that is true but the new Robocop achieves what the it goes for - it certainly elaborates on some dilemmas, it has a certain emotional depth to it and it has just the right amount of action. As a stand alone movie, it is a great one. It is not a step forward in the movie history but it certainly is if not the best, one of the best remakes I have ever seen. I did not like two things and they are related to the action scenes. Some action scenes seemed clouded because of the shaky cam and I think Robocop was too overpowered for its opponents so action scenes seemed like a hunting scene most of the time. Basically there was not a built up tension during action scenes. "Overriding the computer system" was also overused. On top of my head for example at the end he is able to shoot the guy but if he was able to use something else to neutralize or kill the bad guy instead of shooting him directly that would be better. Anything else would have worked out better - is it too much to ask for a smarter ending when the plot of the movie is too obvious from the beginning? You can point out the villains during the first scenes that they appear. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
DrastreApr 29, 2014
I liked it. It was well paced, kept me interested, had some good action. It's no where NEAR as good as the original, which is one of my top 5 favorite movies ever. But, it's a good flick.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
GoinBananazAug 19, 2014
While I did enjoy this movie I didn't think it measured up to the original. The action scenes were good but seemed somehow muted. I don't like some of the updates they made. I prefer the original silver suit he wore as opposed to the blackWhile I did enjoy this movie I didn't think it measured up to the original. The action scenes were good but seemed somehow muted. I don't like some of the updates they made. I prefer the original silver suit he wore as opposed to the black one in this movie. Also the voice was very fitting in the first one but his voice in this one just didn't fit as well. I thought the acting was great and the storyline good. I gave this movie a 7 out of 10. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
krm_yltAug 15, 2014
I like the different angle for this robot story. It adds a lot of human perspective, not just shooting.
Also, i can see different characters surrounding this "almost" robot. Therefore, i enjoy watching this movie.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Robocop" 10 Scale Rating: 8.0 (Great) ...

The Good: Way WAY better than I expected. A great mix of sci-fi and action that more than holds up against the original. While Kinnaman was a little too stiff early on, he gets much better as the
"Robocop" 10 Scale Rating: 8.0 (Great) ...

The Good: Way WAY better than I expected. A great mix of sci-fi and action that more than holds up against the original. While Kinnaman was a little too stiff early on, he gets much better as the film progresses. Heavyweights Micheal Keaton, Gary Oldman, and Samuel L. Jackson turn in great performances as the cast did a good job all around. A very pleasant surprise early in 2014.

The Bad: A little overly cynical at times. I was fine with it being dark, but sometimes it was a little much. Eventually, Robocop overcomes his programming with no explanation. They hint that it might be his "human soul" at work, but that just seemed a little too convenient and silly.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
GodReviewsFeb 14, 2014
Please stay away from this movie as much as possible. The only thing that it had going for it, but sadly crushed it to pieces after the first 20 minutes, was the concept on how the United States reacted to machines controlling the generalPlease stay away from this movie as much as possible. The only thing that it had going for it, but sadly crushed it to pieces after the first 20 minutes, was the concept on how the United States reacted to machines controlling the general population of humans on the U.S compared to how they were using them in other countries, The Senate voting and all the drama surrounding the issue that was much more enjoyable than the rest of the movie. Many negatives like terrible acting, (Samuel L. Jackson was the best in the movie, so that says something), terrible writing which got pretty silly at times and cliche, bland characters and character development, and most of all terrible action sequences. NOTHING in this movie even got me scared to see Robocop died (which I would've rather seen so the movie would finish faster) I don't even know how this movie got passed by Columbia Pictures, but this is just absurd. Right when you think the movie will go into the right way or story, the cast and crew just say NOPE straight out with this terrible excuse of a "remake". If Hollywood keeps making remakes like these, well then I won't be watching any remakes any time soon... 2/10. (Only watchable if you are drunk) Expand
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
8
FranManFeb 14, 2014
Better than the 2nd and 3rd movie of Robocop Franchise. The Special effects are very well. The action is satisfactory. The actors accomplished his rolls. The only bad thing is may be some plot hole. But this is really a good movie. I amBetter than the 2nd and 3rd movie of Robocop Franchise. The Special effects are very well. The action is satisfactory. The actors accomplished his rolls. The only bad thing is may be some plot hole. But this is really a good movie. I am waiting for a second one. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
9
thedeuce75Feb 14, 2014
I think this movie is being very much underrated. While it's true the original Robocop is a better film overall, this new version is definitely worth seeing. It's a beautifully shot, well acted bit of thought provoking Sci-fi.

Just wish
I think this movie is being very much underrated. While it's true the original Robocop is a better film overall, this new version is definitely worth seeing. It's a beautifully shot, well acted bit of thought provoking Sci-fi.

Just wish that had but a little more dark humor into it.
Expand
11 of 19 users found this helpful118
All this user's reviews
10
juliosithFeb 12, 2014
This film is really good. My expectations were low but I think Padilha did an excellent job on inserting some "soul" in the film, that is not just action. The characters are very well chosen, the action scenes (not many action scenes as I wasThis film is really good. My expectations were low but I think Padilha did an excellent job on inserting some "soul" in the film, that is not just action. The characters are very well chosen, the action scenes (not many action scenes as I was expecting) were good scripted and the lack of stupid jokes we have seen constantly in the films nowadays is an excellent addition. Expand
12 of 21 users found this helpful129
All this user's reviews
1
skykappahMay 6, 2014
I simply don't understand why they made Robocop 2014 the way they did... It's too talky and boring for kids... And it's then also too talky and boring for adults as well!
I know who they were going for now... people called Reginald who
I simply don't understand why they made Robocop 2014 the way they did... It's too talky and boring for kids... And it's then also too talky and boring for adults as well!
I know who they were going for now... people called Reginald who would take a flask of earl grey tea with them to the theator.. "Oooh crivens that robotic fellow jumped very highly indeed."

For your own good don't waste your time. They set out to make a completely different take on Robocop which is fair enough, I don't have a problem with that... It's just that it's absolutely crap. Very slow and boring.. The pacing is like watching paint dry and the action is just little random flecks of dust sticking to that paint. Better if you bought the toy and stared at it.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
7
DownByTheRiverMar 29, 2014
Surprising decent remake that could have been a disaster.

Pros: Great action, great acting from Jackson, Oldman and Keaton. Went a different route than the original which is nice. Actual had a good story going on Cons: Serviceable
Surprising decent remake that could have been a disaster.

Pros: Great action, great acting from Jackson, Oldman and Keaton. Went a different route than the original which is nice. Actual had a good story going on

Cons: Serviceable performance at best from Kinnamen as Robocop. Other than Keaton villains were not good. Felt fairly brief and rushed at some points.

Overall I enjoyed Robocop and I would suggest that if you're interested to check it out at some point.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKFeb 23, 2014
I enjoyed this film, but I did not see the original version. I thought Joel Kinnaman and Gary Oldman gave very interesting performances, and I liked Michael Keaton a lot too. Although the theme is interesting and what happens to the heroI enjoyed this film, but I did not see the original version. I thought Joel Kinnaman and Gary Oldman gave very interesting performances, and I liked Michael Keaton a lot too. Although the theme is interesting and what happens to the hero pretty weird, the believability of Kinnaman, Oldman, and Keaton were what made the film work for me. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
Rob7309Mar 7, 2014
While entertaining at times, I still found myself asking why this movie was made. I had watched the original just days before seeing this so that may have made me a little more nit picky. What really makes the original better than this is theWhile entertaining at times, I still found myself asking why this movie was made. I had watched the original just days before seeing this so that may have made me a little more nit picky. What really makes the original better than this is the villains, the violence and the satire. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
7
tylerdurden1Mar 30, 2014
Put the original classic out of your mind and just watch this reboot for what it is and you might see all the good qualities it has. It brings fresh new angles to the story and a different understanding of the main character Murphy/robocop.Put the original classic out of your mind and just watch this reboot for what it is and you might see all the good qualities it has. It brings fresh new angles to the story and a different understanding of the main character Murphy/robocop. Action and effects were solid as well. If I had one thing to pick that they could have done different it would have been to make villain a little more ruthless and sinister. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
4
LowbrowCinemaFeb 23, 2014
What do you get when you strip out the wit, satire, and ultraviolence of Paul Verhoeven's ROBOCOP (1987)? You get this tepid 2014 remake that has no bite and no satire. This new version has nothing new to say and was clearly made byWhat do you get when you strip out the wit, satire, and ultraviolence of Paul Verhoeven's ROBOCOP (1987)? You get this tepid 2014 remake that has no bite and no satire. This new version has nothing new to say and was clearly made by committee. Everything special about ROBOCOP has been removed and what you're left with is a bad version of THE TERMINATOR. It is important to state that the first 10 minutes allude to a new movie with something to say about American global domination but all of that is dropped 20 minutes in and then the film just plods along with cheap sentimentality and obvious anti-corporate ideology. What a waste of a talent like Joel Kinnaman. Get a new agent! Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
sleven06Feb 13, 2014
Let,s just start by saying my expectations were really low since 'am a fan from the original trilogy (exept 3rd one that wasn't really good) and I was pretty suprised of how they totally regenerate the franchise^^.Of course, the movie shouldLet,s just start by saying my expectations were really low since 'am a fan from the original trilogy (exept 3rd one that wasn't really good) and I was pretty suprised of how they totally regenerate the franchise^^.Of course, the movie should had been at least an hour longer since they had to ''compress'' the story in a lil less than 2 hours, BUT they give Alex a more ''human side'' than in the originals, because I remember when i was a kid I always ask myself; why don't he just go see his god d*** family to told them he is still ''alive'' and i was pretty happy that they add this side of his life once he turn a robot..It just make more sense to me.Action side it is full of it, he can finally run/jump, which I find more appealing/appropriate for an advanced rebot like this.The Only down side of this movie is that it's really too short, if they had a bigger budget they could have easily elaborated the story. BUT, since i fugure it's only the first one of a new departure in Robocop movies, I just hope people won't listen to most of the bad ''official reviews'' out there, because they were obviously expecting a remake instead of a ''fresh new start'' for this franchise.I would rate it 8 out of 10 but i put a 10 just to balance the bad reviews out there,that I think they are totally unfair.Great movie, really entertaining, already waiting for the sequel. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
5
StormwolfFeb 18, 2014
Not bad, but not good either.

The 2014 movie is way too toned down, the original had a lot of senseless violence in a apathic society. That was the fun of it, we had stuff like the magnavolt commercial and the ED-209 boardroom shooting to
Not bad, but not good either.

The 2014 movie is way too toned down, the original had a lot of senseless violence in a apathic society. That was the fun of it, we had stuff like the magnavolt commercial and the ED-209 boardroom shooting to set the tone. The bits with Samuel L. Jackson try to put a spin this, but it isn't utilized properly.

They should have ditched the PG-13 rating to give this movie the proper tone it needed.

Though i have to admit that the use of updated technologies like tracking cellphones and drone enforcers was pretty nice. Also, the process where Murphy was adapting to his new body was also handled pretty well.

In short, this movie has very little of what made the original great.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Feb 19, 2014
Well, once again the critics are bashing a perfectly entertaining and fun movie just because they thought it didn't live up to the original. Who cares! This is still a very fun movie to watch and the action is entertaining from start toWell, once again the critics are bashing a perfectly entertaining and fun movie just because they thought it didn't live up to the original. Who cares! This is still a very fun movie to watch and the action is entertaining from start to finish! I've never heard of Joel Kinnaman, but I thought he did rather well as the titular hero. However, he's almost upstaged by the supporting cast that full of much bigger names, such as Gary Goldman, Michael Keaton, Samuel L. Jackson, Jackie Earl Haley, and even Jay Baruchel! Fortunately, everyone manages to work well together onscreen. To put it simply, the action and visuals are pretty darn cool. The movie never felt like it was dragging and kept me entertained from start to finish. And yeah, just like every great action movie out there, there are some cheesy moments. So obviously, the critics are gonna whine about it as usual. But don't listen to them. This is just a fun popcorn action flick and you'll likely enjoy it just as long as you don't go in expecting more! Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
ciorgaFeb 13, 2014
Not sure whether it's because I am a science worker or that I praise human life and family values pretty much this movie was a huge positive to me. It dealt with many particular issues in a very direct manner. It seems to be a harbinger ofNot sure whether it's because I am a science worker or that I praise human life and family values pretty much this movie was a huge positive to me. It dealt with many particular issues in a very direct manner. It seems to be a harbinger of something bigger not only in the cinematography. Expand
11 of 20 users found this helpful119
All this user's reviews
7
Josh7929Feb 16, 2014
Not as good as the original, as most aren't, but enough changes to keep one entertained. More than an action film. Especially liked the subtle nods to the original as well as Keaton's Batman.
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
9
SandrickFeb 17, 2014
I found this to be a bold new reimagining that made references to the original but was not bound by it. It had great performances all around and it was a fun ride that left me wanting a sequel. I liked Kinneman in the lead role and The suitsI found this to be a bold new reimagining that made references to the original but was not bound by it. It had great performances all around and it was a fun ride that left me wanting a sequel. I liked Kinneman in the lead role and The suits and effects worked well.

My only gripe would be that there was no central villain that carried the plot. ED 209 is more of a side-note than an actual dangerous adversary. The gun runner that tried to kill Murphy had no real development, and Keaton's character should have be demonized more. That was one of the great things that the original did so well... Bottiker tossing Bobby at the cop car in '84 for example has more villainous development in less than a minute than this film had in 2 hours. I do like how the both the original and this film both offer views of how corporations are thought of in their respective time periods.

It does not matter that this film received the PG-13 rating vs R. Sure they could have splashed more needless gore and violence in there to Verehoven-ize it, but would that have given it any more heart? As an origin piece I found that it worked extremely well, but I hope that Robo has a more cohesive hero story and adversary should a sequel come to light.
Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
8
shcakupFeb 15, 2014
Great cast and great story, can't wait for the sequel. I'll admit that this isn't the original but no remake can ever be. The original robocop is cheesy and looks as dated as a film can but doesn't mean I don't love it. The new movie works onGreat cast and great story, can't wait for the sequel. I'll admit that this isn't the original but no remake can ever be. The original robocop is cheesy and looks as dated as a film can but doesn't mean I don't love it. The new movie works on so many levels and the cast is fantastic. This isn't like the constant reboots of other films, it has some heart unlike Robo. Go see it, you'll be entertained. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
2
Nobilis1984Feb 15, 2014
Peter Weller's "Robocop" dragged through the mud.
It is dreadful to see what you have made ​​of the ingenious template with Peter Weller. Although it has built many good CGI effects and good action scenes, the film disappointed down the
Peter Weller's "Robocop" dragged through the mud.
It is dreadful to see what you have made ​​of the ingenious template with Peter Weller. Although it has built many good CGI effects and good action scenes, the film disappointed down the line. Robocop himself is really bad embodies, so that you could poke each kipper actor in the suit. All other roles are filled with big names but convince any more. The plot is a joke. Murphy is a robot and he continues to behave like a man. Since it was still credible in the original. There, Murphy broke off contact with the family and was officially dead yet many other points in the film are a disaster but I get upset otherwise too much on. It's a shame what you did from Robocop.
Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
10
ZutiFeb 16, 2014
Thought it was a very well made remake, adding it's own take to the story and becoming quite a charming movie on its own. Making nods to the original perfectly. There were many parallels towards the original, and showing you new and horribleThought it was a very well made remake, adding it's own take to the story and becoming quite a charming movie on its own. Making nods to the original perfectly. There were many parallels towards the original, and showing you new and horrible views on what it really would be like to put someone in a suit like that. Literally stripping him of his humanity at some points. Great stuff. Go in with a positive mind and partially wipe yourself of the older movies. Take your own ride along with the movie. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
10
dreday1984Feb 16, 2014
Went to go see this movie last night, and all I have to say is wow. Great remake of the original Robocop 1987. I'm a long time fan of the first two films back in the day and I wasn't sure if this would live up to the original, but it did andWent to go see this movie last night, and all I have to say is wow. Great remake of the original Robocop 1987. I'm a long time fan of the first two films back in the day and I wasn't sure if this would live up to the original, but it did and even made a name for its self. It had everything from action, very fast paced and alot of emotion and a very well placed cast. I give it a 10/10 Must See! Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
9
X0RFeb 16, 2014
Many reviews so far have trashed the new Robocop remake, I had low expectations going in. This version though is so much better than the dated 1987 cheesy original version, better actors, story is greatly improved and has a realisticMany reviews so far have trashed the new Robocop remake, I had low expectations going in. This version though is so much better than the dated 1987 cheesy original version, better actors, story is greatly improved and has a realistic believability that Hollywood skips on movies that are targeted at the 15-25 year old age group. Comparing the original versus this remake isn't really apples-to-apples, the remake has a consistent storyline focus, great acting -- and thankfully, doesn't rely on cliches in the dialogue/script. I understand why people still like the original, but 75% of remakes nowadays are complete junk, this one is actually a gem.

So I can see that if you're a consumer that doesn't have an open mind to a film that has had quality control and careful thought put into it, you'll be insulted by this new version - and if that's the case, you've got more problems than just being disgruntled that you weren't spoon fed the same velveeta cheesedik entertainment that Hollywood generally wants you to consume.
Expand
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
0
Leo9127Feb 13, 2014
What an insult to the original, remember the thought provoking original, the brilliant satire, the now iconic costume, and the violence of the original, none of it is here, the CGI is awful, the new suit looks like a lame Batman knock-off,What an insult to the original, remember the thought provoking original, the brilliant satire, the now iconic costume, and the violence of the original, none of it is here, the CGI is awful, the new suit looks like a lame Batman knock-off, actors like Michael Keaton, Samuel L Jackson, and Gary Oldman, are wasted, and the action is so generic, nothing at all like the original, this just joins the enormous list of **** Hollywood remakes of classics, that should be left alone. Expand
9 of 17 users found this helpful98
All this user's reviews
7
NomusFeb 15, 2014
I was very sceptical about this movie at first. I also rewatched the old trilogy before going to the theater but after i watched the remake i must say its pretty solid movie. It's okay robocop movie it doesnt have that old Robocop vibe asI was very sceptical about this movie at first. I also rewatched the old trilogy before going to the theater but after i watched the remake i must say its pretty solid movie. It's okay robocop movie it doesnt have that old Robocop vibe as before but its a good action movie that worth watching. Old batman and Oldman play their roles very well (to be fair i was expecting to see old robocop actor as OCP CEO). Robocop actor itself is a pretty okay guy. I doesn't even regret about having Battlefield 4 black guy instead of hist teammate Luis. The armor design is pretty modern(there is a gag about old robocop armor in the movie) and that crappy black suit is not robocops final design. It defenetly worth watching even if you're an old robocop fan. Movie has its problems but overall its solid. Not an instant classic but still solid. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticFeb 14, 2014
As my first official 2014 film watched (man January sucks), RoboCop is a really solid effort. The best part of this film is its supporting cast with Keaton, Oldman, and Jackson giving this film its core. B
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
7
StaticSpineFeb 23, 2014
At first I must say that the movie turned out rather different than I expected. I thought it would be a straightforward action movie with a lot of gunfinghts and explosions, but this time the remake focused on some other things, it was moreAt first I must say that the movie turned out rather different than I expected. I thought it would be a straightforward action movie with a lot of gunfinghts and explosions, but this time the remake focused on some other things, it was more about the the ethic problems of man/machine beings and people's attitude to them. Also the movie is more story-based than action/visual-effects-based, and the story is somehow twisted, so I could say that the story is decent. The major advantage of the movie is outstanding performance by great actors, I must mention Michael Keaton, Jackie Earle Haley, Samuel L. Jackson and of course Gary Oldman, they all made a great job and created convincing characters. Joel Kinnaman as Robocop was actually okay, though I'd wait for someone more famous for this role (just considering the other actors). I liked the movie, but it was not what I expected, so my score is not that high, BUT I can advise to watch this movie to everyone, because it's decent. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
7
Rustyknife96Feb 18, 2014
I went into this expecting it to flop, because most remakes do. I was impressed that it didn't flop. I'm glad it didn't, having a good cast is a big part of movies. it wont make a movie, but it can certainly break one (not having a goodI went into this expecting it to flop, because most remakes do. I was impressed that it didn't flop. I'm glad it didn't, having a good cast is a big part of movies. it wont make a movie, but it can certainly break one (not having a good cast). the story was believable, it was fairly well grounded, the few moments of "FPS mode" were a bit much, but overall it was a good movie that's worth watching (not for 20 bucks, though. ill say ten bucks, maybe five). I do not like how they skimmed over the whole idea of the city being rampant with crime. all we saw was a criminal with a warrant, an insanely long list of people with warrants, one crime boss and two corrupt cops, and a semi-corrupt police chief. so the criminal element was lacking a bit. if this was going to be worth anything at all, it definitely would not be stellar. and that's what it was: worth watching, but not a stellar movie. Still outdid Desolation of Smaug any day of the week. i read the Hobbit book, and i was pissed about the movie(s) Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
3
knicksfan567Feb 21, 2014
Honestly its not very good. You rather watch the original than this. The action is good but aside from that everything else is lazy bland and sloppy. The thing that made the original a classic is the story its R rating giving us a deep storyHonestly its not very good. You rather watch the original than this. The action is good but aside from that everything else is lazy bland and sloppy. The thing that made the original a classic is the story its R rating giving us a deep story packed with action this one is all action with a bland story and forgettable characters. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
7
PHJFeb 25, 2014
Quircky but okay Movie

The new Robocop is a nice movie, it have a start, a midle and an end and follows correcly the history, it put's you in the reality of Alex Murphy (the Robocop) and into the near future witch the movie passes. The
Quircky but okay Movie

The new Robocop is a nice movie, it have a start, a midle and an end and follows correcly the history, it put's you in the reality of Alex Murphy (the Robocop) and into the near future witch the movie passes.

The strong points is in how everything happens and connect, the acident, the need of someone to be Robocop, the movie works well, witch drops you into the movie and hold your attention from the begining to the end.

The weak point is some action scenes, witch doesn't have a nice camera angle game, so sometimes you loose your self and can't follow nicely the action scenes (witch is something important on Robocop), you don't know who is firing, who is dying, this spoiler some action scenes. Another week point is that the movie have some unnecessary scenes, nothing like sexual context or something like this, some scenes only could never exists, some scenes don't add anthing to the movie.

VEREDICT

Robocop can hold you from the begining to the end, puts you into the history of the movie and contextualizates you into the near future context of the movie, witch is nice. The movie disappoint in some action scenes, you really don't know what is happening, the camera switchs is terrible in the action scenes. Is a nice movie, has it problems, but is a clear 70 out 100 movie.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
frminvtMar 23, 2014
I was hoping this reboot would avoid the over the top grotesque that was prominent in the original. For the most part I was pleased. I liked that in this version Murphy was presented more as a human being with something to lose.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
quincytheodoreFeb 19, 2014
It does have some sparks, but ultimately deteriorates into realm of predictability with thick cumbersome political plot. The first half decently tells the origins and human aspect of RoboCop, some of these scenes are well constructed andIt does have some sparks, but ultimately deteriorates into realm of predictability with thick cumbersome political plot. The first half decently tells the origins and human aspect of RoboCop, some of these scenes are well constructed and scripted. Unfortunately, it leaks out interest, trudging into mediocre shoot'em up as it goes. Corporate plot angle is uninspiring, and while the cast is robust enough, the movie falls apart as soon as RoboCop leaves assembly line.

Joel Kinnaman as Alex Murphy, the destined organic material on the machine, does a good performance. The better moments of the movie are how this sturdy rather stubborn detective undergoes life-changing experience, yet still clings to what little humanity he has left. He exhibits vigor and occasional fragility, a compelling story despite the expected human cyborg premise. Gary Oldman as Dr. Dennet Norton, is nothing but superb pick, he seemingly able to become different person in his every persona. As the doctor who's responsible of Murphy's rebirth into more than half machine, he displays much empathy and also pragmatism as his ways aren't always up to moral value he wants.

Donning the role of antagonist is the eccentric entrepreneur, Raymond Sellars played by Michael Keaton. Able to throw money and time just for good advertisement, this man is no villain. In fact, he looks a bit comical at times, surely annoying but works more as commentary of greed than actual threat. Samuel L, Jackson plays a TV persona, Tom Navek, who has a pro machine agenda. He's charismatic, almost in excessive marketing fashion, even though his character is quite unique since he uses monologue aplenty and doesn't interact much with other. With these quirky characters, I can't help but think they wanted to be modern strange authority figures like in Hunger Games, although lacking in sly and wit.

Graphic is good, gadgets appears functional, robots move fluidly and most importantly RoboCop doesn't lumber as if he hasn't been greased for months. The stylistic leaner black tone is admittedly eye-catching, plus it's already a given that superhero reboot always wear dark. Visual clues or indicator effects are good addition to modernize the perspective. Holographic HUD makes the detail sleeker; it's a nice touch and merges well with the action. However, there is one shooting scene in darkness which flickers unreasonably, moment like this is too hectic for their own overly expressive good.

RoboCop starts out decently, the special effects are good replacement for the original's practical ones, cast does satisfactory job, but as it enters the third act it bleeds out like the titular protagonist did. It's by no means a failure, it's merely an average sci-fi movie.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
ViolettSep 2, 2014
In short: nothing special. I didn't see a point to rework original movie. This film does not bring anything new. This is just one more action movie - same as hundreds of such kind.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
LansdenrsFeb 16, 2014
The storyline was rather boring. It was cool how they showed Robocop transform throughout the movie. Samuel L Jackson Completely ruined the movie. 6/10
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
kxt71May 23, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Defiantly an underrated movie! I gave this movie a ten to help balance out all the overly negative reviews influenced by fanboyism of the original. I think this movie deserves a solid 8. It has it's pros and cons like any other movie. I'll start with the bad first.

One thing many others noticed about this movie is the lack of a clear villain. The inside job arc with Anton the weapons dealer starts OK with the build up but ends pretty weak, with him being unceremoniously killed off in a gunfight. I did like how it lead to uncovering corruption in the police force, but overall it wasn't built up too well. Then it changed gears and painted the CEO of Omnicorp as a bad guy. It was clear he was a scumbag from the start, however his ultimate fate sends mixed messages. It appears as if Robocop has killed him in the end, but was his rampage really justified? I believe it would have been better if they either made him more of a villain instead of a petty **** or dealt with his attempted murder differently. The in between treatment just doesn't work. He's not evil enough to warrent death, but enough of an **** that viewers feel something must be done. It leads the ultimate ending unsatisfying. The actions scenes did shake a bit too much.

Despite the above flaws, Robocop is still a very entertaining watch. It does more right than wrong. First I really enjoyed seeing the robotic side of Robocop. They attempted to add a bit of "hard sci-fi" to Robocop instead of just making him run on mysterious magic technology. The way they "fed" him and choose which "parts to keep" made a twisted kind of sense. All the simulations and HUD data was also very entertaining to see. It gave Robocop a very robotic feel haha. Also the CGI actions scenes were fun to watch. This Robocop is a lot more fluid then his original. Although there is a complaint I have to make. Since they went the "hard sci-fi" route with Robocop, they should have went all the way. There were some scenes where he magically overcomes his programing and no explanation whatsoever is given. The characters themselves litterally had no idea! That's a huge cop out considering how much detail they went into about his creation and programing. It would be a lot more satisfying if they gave a token scientific explanation and tied in with Robocop's human side overcoming his machine side. It would also give the movie a clearer message.

Overall this was a pretty good movie. It works as a modern film remake of an original. It isn't going to be a classic, but it does stand pretty well on it's own despite what angry fans of the original tell you.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
Venomq7May 15, 2014
Although a solid reboot with nice effects, movie is very predictable and lacks thrills the original had. Just another generic blockbuster flick than leaves you in the middle of the road to catch a ride back home.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
EinRandJul 22, 2014
Pretty, yet hollow.
Great CGI and action. Nothing to complain about, yet why spend all that money on a reboot that offers nothing new to the story? The tech and the action are all light years above the previous iteration, and from a
Pretty, yet hollow.
Great CGI and action. Nothing to complain about, yet why spend all that money on a reboot that offers nothing new to the story? The tech and the action are all light years above the previous iteration, and from a superficial viewpoint it contains so many pretty gizmos that all but the most ADHD prone will remain attentive.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
TheFilmFanaticNov 2, 2014
RoboCop is what we usually expect from a remake: a very safe story that is incredibly similar to the original as to not upset the fans. Although it brings the idea of RoboCop into the 21st century, the film lacks any flare or innovation for aRoboCop is what we usually expect from a remake: a very safe story that is incredibly similar to the original as to not upset the fans. Although it brings the idea of RoboCop into the 21st century, the film lacks any flare or innovation for a long dormant franchise. Even a star-studded cast could not save these very stereotypical and comical characters from an unfocused story. There is little empathy for the protagonist's situation with too much focus. Not a must-see but for the cast this recycled robot tale is worth a watch. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MKSauceLOLFeb 15, 2014
I'm not going to judge it based on the original like most people have
Pros:
-Great Acting -the Pacing is Excellent -Feels just like the original (Almost) -Same Premise as the original (kinda) -The Dialogue is Good Cons: -There's some
I'm not going to judge it based on the original like most people have
Pros:
-Great Acting
-the Pacing is Excellent
-Feels just like the original (Almost)
-Same Premise as the original (kinda)
-The Dialogue is Good
Cons:
-There's some shaky cams here and there
-There are some Green Screen fails here and there as well
Recommendation: Everyone BUT the fans of the original
Expand
10 of 21 users found this helpful1011
All this user's reviews
2
ShalaRaanFeb 14, 2014
This remake makes absolutely no sense. It's confusing, bland and dull. I only gave it a rating of 2 because of the special effects. The story itself is utter nonsense, the plot makes no sense at all and it's so badly acted it's painful toThis remake makes absolutely no sense. It's confusing, bland and dull. I only gave it a rating of 2 because of the special effects. The story itself is utter nonsense, the plot makes no sense at all and it's so badly acted it's painful to watch this mess. The original is far from perfect with it's cheesy dialogues but it at least is a lot of fun, the storyline is understandable and clear, the baddies are well defined and everything that's happening makes sense. The remake is anything but. At first, I've been glad that the new RoboCop wasn't just a re-shooting of the old story, copying it scene after scene. After 30 minutes in, I changed my mind and wanted it to be a perfect one-on-one copy of the old story. Because even the lamest recreation would've been so much more fun to watch than this garbage. Expand
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
10
Derick28Feb 12, 2014
Loved the movie. Great actors. a Fresh new storyline which in my opinion was really needed. Just enough action scenes and very emotional at the same time.
11 of 24 users found this helpful1113
All this user's reviews
0
evil_warMar 31, 2014
I have some words for the movie makers, this movie sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucksI have some words for the movie makers, this movie sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks suck

Thats all, god damn america
Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
4
DemoraseFeb 12, 2014
Fairly strong and solid first half that succeeds in raising interest and anticipation, but then the movie takes a very wrong turn and devolves into mindless, pointless action for the whole remaining hour.
14 of 31 users found this helpful1417
All this user's reviews
5
LamontRaymondFeb 13, 2014
The movie starts out strong - I greatly enjoyed the establishing scenes and the officers emotional journey of getting acclimated to being in "the robot." But as things go awry, the writing and the directing go haywire. It seems like it wouldThe movie starts out strong - I greatly enjoyed the establishing scenes and the officers emotional journey of getting acclimated to being in "the robot." But as things go awry, the writing and the directing go haywire. It seems like it would have been a better miniseries - like they just shoved a bunch of crap in to the last hour without much forethought. Expand
9 of 20 users found this helpful911
All this user's reviews
8
FelipeQueirosFeb 21, 2014
Cara o diretor escolheu um filme CULT para fazer refilmagem, ele ficou louco !!! Mas mesmo assim ficou uma obra única ! Confesso que fiquei chateado com algumas senas que parecia que o RoboCop fosse mais violento mas a produtora queria faixaCara o diretor escolheu um filme CULT para fazer refilmagem, ele ficou louco !!! Mas mesmo assim ficou uma obra única ! Confesso que fiquei chateado com algumas senas que parecia que o RoboCop fosse mais violento mas a produtora queria faixa etária baixa ele não pode colocar essa cenas. Gostei quando ele viu oque sobrou do corpo real e pediu a morte melhor cena. Não superou ,mas não desapontou em quase nada. Valeu Pelo diretor Brasileiro José Padilha !!!!!! Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
4
bubbstaFeb 14, 2014
It started so well. So good in fact that it had the potential to be one of the best films this year. I was sitting thinking "wow this is gonna be good" when i saw some of the action. 3/4 of the way through....im still thinking "wow this isIt started so well. So good in fact that it had the potential to be one of the best films this year. I was sitting thinking "wow this is gonna be good" when i saw some of the action. 3/4 of the way through....im still thinking "wow this is gonna be good"......and then it ended. The second half took a turn for the worst. To put it simply, the WHOLE of the movie would have been the first half if i was directing. Robocop 2014 leaves you waiting for something that never happens. However, i can understand any positive reviews because the action scenes were pretty cool. But for me....imagine your favourite movie ending half way through. It wouldn't be enough, but you would be quite happy with what you did get to see. That's is Robofail 2014. Expand
7 of 16 users found this helpful79
All this user's reviews
1
MawnUFeb 12, 2014
Needless, pointless, watered down. Also, degraded all the cast, which was made up of very able, very talented and well respected actors.
Robocop had the Director, the actors, the scenario, the atmosphere and the era it deserved back in
Needless, pointless, watered down. Also, degraded all the cast, which was made up of very able, very talented and well respected actors.
Robocop had the Director, the actors, the scenario, the atmosphere and the era it deserved back in 1987... there is no movie called "Robocop" in 2014.
Poor. You forget about it as soon as you get out of the theater.
Expand
12 of 28 users found this helpful1216
All this user's reviews
0
Thunder5555Feb 3, 2015
I watched this movie and I feel dead inside. How can someone make this kind of crap?
What's wrong with people? Why would you expose people to this kind of horror?
Avoid at all costs. If you need to see a robocop movie, just get the
I watched this movie and I feel dead inside. How can someone make this kind of crap?
What's wrong with people? Why would you expose people to this kind of horror?
Avoid at all costs. If you need to see a robocop movie, just get the original. And stay away from sequels or reboot. I rather have a laser pointer pointed to my eye than watch it again.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobMay 8, 2014
While it may not have a lot of action, The plot is actually pretty good and it's very well acted with a highly experienced cast. It's definitely worth watching and I'd highly recommend it. It's one of few remakes that actually lives up to the hype.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
VonSeuxMar 18, 2014
UNDERRATED. This movie has great acting, cast, and direction by José Padilha. It gives a middle finger to the American way of life SECURITY/FREEDOM. Don't let fanboys and comparison fool you. It's rare to see an action, teen appealing movieUNDERRATED. This movie has great acting, cast, and direction by José Padilha. It gives a middle finger to the American way of life SECURITY/FREEDOM. Don't let fanboys and comparison fool you. It's rare to see an action, teen appealing movie with this strong message. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Mar 15, 2014
Solid performances and action highlight this clunky, yet effective reboot from Jose Padilha. "Robocop" is an exciting and fresh look at a long-dead franchise.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
lucaslaFeb 23, 2014
The movie was awesome. It's very different from the original and so good in it's own way that compare it to the original makes no sense. Great cast, it has a focus on the story, drama and science fiction. Action scenes are great too, with CGIThe movie was awesome. It's very different from the original and so good in it's own way that compare it to the original makes no sense. Great cast, it has a focus on the story, drama and science fiction. Action scenes are great too, with CGI only on the robots, it's not like the actions scenes of Iron Man. The movie is different and have no gore, but it has a lot of impactating scenes even with no gore, and this is even better. All the suits are great, even the black suit, and Robocop is kick-ass in the police department! Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
6
Movie1997Feb 13, 2014
While it's nothing compared to the original, even though the original wasn't that remotely great of a movie, this reboot surprised me by it's cool action sequences and visual style. The flaws I had with this movie is that while most of actingWhile it's nothing compared to the original, even though the original wasn't that remotely great of a movie, this reboot surprised me by it's cool action sequences and visual style. The flaws I had with this movie is that while most of acting is good, the main character (Joel Kinnaman) never surprised me. I only saw a really cool robocop, not a big and vital character. I enjoyed the other performances such as Samuel L. Jackson, Gary Oldman, even Michael Keaton; just to name a few. Other flaws I had was this new origin story of how Alex Murphy becomes robocop. The way he became robocop didn't serve a good purpose to the movie whatsoever. Plus, the villains were wasted. Other than that, I can say that i surprisingly enjoyed this reboot even with its flaws in comparison to the original. It's a good "B" movie, and for that I'll give this a B-! Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
rodrigo28Mar 7, 2014
A review about the media Manipulation, the form how the government controls our lives with the premise of security, criticism about the wars in the middle east.
Excellent film
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
6
MagicManRAWFeb 13, 2014
My first review. Oh Boy! Saw this movie last night and it was ok. First, you can not compare this to the original. Same concept, but nearly totally different movie. I am not going to go into what makes the two different. Just watch theMy first review. Oh Boy! Saw this movie last night and it was ok. First, you can not compare this to the original. Same concept, but nearly totally different movie. I am not going to go into what makes the two different. Just watch the movie presents and let it stand on its own.

Frankly, this is just an ok movie. The story is ok. The action is ok. The special effects are ok. If this were a summer movies, don't bother and save your money. But, since this is Feb and not much going on with action movies in the winter, it might be worth $11. They should have added some more humor. It will be interesting if they make a sequel and how they develop the character. They did set a nice base for character development. The acting was very good, esp Gary Oldman. Jackie Haley was pretty decent with his boring character. Joel was ok and likable, but boring and that is how it was written.

Bottom line is it is an ok film and at this time if you like action type movies it is worth your money to see it, but do not expect a fun movie.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
chwMay 25, 2015
The 2014 RoboCop was good, but nothing is like the original. Plus, this movie didn't have a single thing different than the original. All they did was add Murphy's family, which added fourteen minutes or so to the original script.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
Raizulee1Feb 12, 2014
Holy crap, this movie is so bland as hell, it has stupid storyline and plotline, The main character "Murphy" death is so pathetic and anti climatic compare to the 1987 "Murphy" death. Most of the character is bland and no personality. TheHoly crap, this movie is so bland as hell, it has stupid storyline and plotline, The main character "Murphy" death is so pathetic and anti climatic compare to the 1987 "Murphy" death. Most of the character is bland and no personality. The main protagonist is a boring guy. Its obviously not worth a remake, the 1987 Robocop was way more badass than this! Oh.......btw this movie is racist too......... Expand
14 of 33 users found this helpful1419
All this user's reviews
1
djniceyFeb 12, 2014
I'm so glad I got a free ticket to this rubbish and didn't pay to watch it, even so its 2 hours wasted. The film is atrocious, its by far the worst film I've seen in a long time, the acting is wooden, the Murphy character is so hollow andI'm so glad I got a free ticket to this rubbish and didn't pay to watch it, even so its 2 hours wasted. The film is atrocious, its by far the worst film I've seen in a long time, the acting is wooden, the Murphy character is so hollow and bland you develop no attachment to the lead protagonist and the story is so slow and lame you just end up wanting the film to end as quickly as possible, and the ending when it eventually comes is just as lame as the rest of the film. The 'action' is so cheesy its laughable and some of the acting is cringeworthy. The original is so, so, much better. This pointless cash in of a remake isn't a scratch on the original film. Expand
11 of 26 users found this helpful1115
All this user's reviews
7
TheGruffmanFeb 16, 2014
Very surprised. I thought this was going to be absolutely terrible (mostly due to the PG-13 rating). However, it was really solid throughout, and the action sequences were very exciting, which is a necessity for a RoboCop film. HighlyVery surprised. I thought this was going to be absolutely terrible (mostly due to the PG-13 rating). However, it was really solid throughout, and the action sequences were very exciting, which is a necessity for a RoboCop film. Highly recommended for any fans of the originals Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
0
headcaseFeb 12, 2014
An absolute waste. Terrible departures from the original (Officer Anne Lewis is now Jack Lewis? What), no Clarence Boddicker, and finally, no soul. Disgusting.
12 of 29 users found this helpful1217
All this user's reviews
7
lenny68Feb 12, 2014
Much better than I expected. I can't help but feel that some of the less than positive reviews are because of unfavourable comparisons with the original which is unfair because in many ways this is a better movie than the original.
7 of 17 users found this helpful710
All this user's reviews
5
bm2759Feb 13, 2014
First and foremost: remakes have been apart of cinema for a long time and are not going away. Some are carbon copies, some are re-imaginings and others are influenced but quite different. This film falls into the re-imagining category.

By
First and foremost: remakes have been apart of cinema for a long time and are not going away. Some are carbon copies, some are re-imaginings and others are influenced but quite different. This film falls into the re-imagining category.

By no means should we accept them, they should be criticized and scrutinized for even being done in the first place, how relevant it is, if it's any good, and does do anything different. Comparing them whilst inevitable isn't always a good idea, i.e. because nostalgia will interfere and therefore affect how we experience the remake. In our minds we will nearly always prefer the previous version as it is more familiar to us and recalls often fond memories. What I'm trying to say is this film should be judged one it's own merits and not be compared to the original.

Pure entertainment. That's all this is. Seriously you can pic this movie apart quite easily. It is not amazing nor is it a giant turd. Is it relevant? The use of the Novac Element TV show in the film (aka Fox News) blatantly presents biased information to promote an agenda. The idea of the USA having imperialistic interests is rather obvious in this world and the real one, but many people do not acknowledge and accept this or is dismiss it entirely. This pretext used to present a future with robots as the tool of an empire is quite clever and is foreseeable.

Unfortunately this premise isn't enough to keep the audience enthralled. We simply sit comfortably and watch what unfolds. We don't really care what happens. Though we realize what to expect as the film proceeds and does become predictable. Could we really expect this film to do anything different? No of course not.

Credit goes to Samuel L. Jackson (or is it Laurence Fishburne? haha) for portraying a charismatic TV host, displaying narcissism and anger in a very believable and entertaining way. Likewise Gary Oldman as a scientist with a heart and having altruistic motives that compromises his values for opportunity and a secure future is very realistic and relateable. Michael Keaton is also noteworthy as the boss of OCP that is determined to find the product for Americans no matter the cost.

I rather enjoyed the special effects and CGI. Production values appeared quite high and I didn't notice anything bad, wrong or cheap. There is one scene that is rather confronting and impressively done mid-way through which made me feel some sympathy; I heard a person or two in the cinema giggle instead (which may be a coping mechanism to such a confrontational moment). It must be said that most of the science present is the Hollywood version of science which convenient fits the narrative is not meant to be taken seriously.

As the film draws to it's conclusion you conceive what will happen and it delivers. No surprises except that Robocops partner has a talent for being shot in non fatal areas. I wouldn't want him as my partner.

Don't expect too much.
Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
7
SenshudoTVFeb 12, 2014
While the remake does step away from majority of the action from the original movie, it builds a better sense on how integrating man with machine could come about and what might be the implementations of that. Reflecting on real worldWhile the remake does step away from majority of the action from the original movie, it builds a better sense on how integrating man with machine could come about and what might be the implementations of that. Reflecting on real world political debates on drones, and the ethnics behind machines. This film is a must watch. Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews