Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 560 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: The year is 2028 and multinational conglomerate OmniCorp is at the center of robot technology. Overseas, their drones have been used by the military for years, but have been forbidden for law enforcement in America. Now OmniCorp wants to bring their controversial technology to the homeThe year is 2028 and multinational conglomerate OmniCorp is at the center of robot technology. Overseas, their drones have been used by the military for years, but have been forbidden for law enforcement in America. Now OmniCorp wants to bring their controversial technology to the home front, and they see a golden opportunity to do it. When Alex Murphy (Joel Kinnaman) – a loving husband, father and good cop doing his best to stem the tide of crime and corruption in Detroit – is critically injured, OmniCorp sees their chance to build a part-man, part-robot police officer. OmniCorp envisions a RoboCop in every city and even more billions for their shareholders, but they never counted on one thing: there is still a man inside the machine. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 11, 2014
    100
    RoboCop is no canned remake of the 1987 action film. It's a reimagining that responds to everything that has changed in American life over the past 27 years, addressing new threats and exploiting new anxieties.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 12, 2014
    75
    RoboCop is a solid near-future action pic that poses moral questions about artificial intelligence and remote-control combat systems without getting too preachy or ponderous about it.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 12, 2014
    67
    The film has lots of energized mayhem, and Murphy's unraveling of the conspiracy against him isn't dumbed down, yet it's as if the comic-book action poetry of the original has been encased in a suit of generic armor.
  4. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Feb 5, 2014
    60
    In some ways, the thoughtful, dense script marks an improvement on the original, and the cast is certainly tonier this time around. What’s missing is the original’s evil wit, amoral misanthropy and subversive slipperiness.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Feb 11, 2014
    50
    Aggressively loud, terminally mediocre.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 13, 2014
    40
    The result is fitfully interesting, and Mr. Kinnaman, best known for "The Killing" on television, compels our empathy with a kind of macho melancholia. Still, the whole thing comes down to an action adventure that's graphics-rich, logic-poor, coherence-challenged and pleasure-impaired.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Feb 6, 2014
    20
    A deafening, boring action pile-up that is more Call of Duty than Robocop.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 182
  1. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    The original "Robocop" has been an instant classic and a favorite to almost all people. in reference to the remake, it is pretty decent andThe original "Robocop" has been an instant classic and a favorite to almost all people. in reference to the remake, it is pretty decent and worth a watch; it is a refreshing look at one of the best, not disappointing but in fact more than pleasing with a surprisingly a strong re-watchable value to it. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Loved this movie. Pays homage to the original without copying too much and follows an original storyline which I liked a lot. Great action/SFXLoved this movie. Pays homage to the original without copying too much and follows an original storyline which I liked a lot. Great action/SFX and acting. Only docked one point cos it takes a while to get to get going. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    A review about the media Manipulation, the form how the government controls our lives with the premise of security, criticism about the warsA review about the media Manipulation, the form how the government controls our lives with the premise of security, criticism about the wars in the middle east.
    Excellent film
    Expand
  4. WJS
    Feb 6, 2015
    6
    This film looks great and is quite well acted; in fact it's far superior to the original in almost every way, except it lacks any sense ofThis film looks great and is quite well acted; in fact it's far superior to the original in almost every way, except it lacks any sense of humour or satire, which really made the original stand out. Also, the language and violence have been really toned down, which makes this version seem sanitized. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    5
    Not bad, but not good either.

    The 2014 movie is way too toned down, the original had a lot of senseless violence in a apathic society. That
    Not bad, but not good either.

    The 2014 movie is way too toned down, the original had a lot of senseless violence in a apathic society. That was the fun of it, we had stuff like the magnavolt commercial and the ED-209 boardroom shooting to set the tone. The bits with Samuel L. Jackson try to put a spin this, but it isn't utilized properly.

    They should have ditched the PG-13 rating to give this movie the proper tone it needed.

    Though i have to admit that the use of updated technologies like tracking cellphones and drone enforcers was pretty nice. Also, the process where Murphy was adapting to his new body was also handled pretty well.

    In short, this movie has very little of what made the original great.
    Expand
  6. May 25, 2014
    5
    You know i was really wanting to like this movie and hoping that it was going to be good but it sucks that the movie ends up in the REMAKEYou know i was really wanting to like this movie and hoping that it was going to be good but it sucks that the movie ends up in the REMAKE trash bin. It pisses me off that Hollywood likes to take a **** over old great directors and make crappy movies out of great ones. This being the second Paul Verhoeven remake in the last 2 years the other being Total Recall a movie that i thought was garbage and now this lets hope they keep their hands off Starship Troopers beacause ill flip. RoboCop suffers from various plot holes, pointless characters, and for a movie having a $130 million budget the CGI is average at best.

    The movie has a great cast though with Joel Kinnaman, Gary Oldman, Michael Keaton, Samuel L. Jackson, Jay Baruchel, Jackie Earle Haley, Abbie Cornish it just sucks that the sript wasnt better for them although i actually like Joel Kinnaman and was excited to see him as RoboCop and he did a pretty good job so that was great it would haved sucked if he did bad. The action was decent but it wasnt what i was hoping and CGI lacked in some of these parts. Dispite the film being 2 hours long it feels longer then that becuase of how the story roles out and it takes some time before you even see RoboCop hitting the streets for action. A big problem for the movie and i have seen this with some other reviews is how OmniCorp deals with RoboCop/Murphy's memories its pretty much 20-30mins of wasteful minutes.

    Overall i give it a 5.0 Not sure if i want to watch this movie again but if i do it will be only once when its out on blu ray because of Joel Kinnaman.
    Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2015
    0
    I watched this movie and I feel dead inside. How can someone make this kind of crap?
    What's wrong with people? Why would you expose people to
    I watched this movie and I feel dead inside. How can someone make this kind of crap?
    What's wrong with people? Why would you expose people to this kind of horror?
    Avoid at all costs. If you need to see a robocop movie, just get the original. And stay away from sequels or reboot. I rather have a laser pointer pointed to my eye than watch it again.
    Expand

See all 182 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.