Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 532 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: The year is 2028 and multinational conglomerate OmniCorp is at the center of robot technology. Overseas, their drones have been used by the military for years, but have been forbidden for law enforcement in America. Now OmniCorp wants to bring their controversial technology to the homeThe year is 2028 and multinational conglomerate OmniCorp is at the center of robot technology. Overseas, their drones have been used by the military for years, but have been forbidden for law enforcement in America. Now OmniCorp wants to bring their controversial technology to the home front, and they see a golden opportunity to do it. When Alex Murphy (Joel Kinnaman) – a loving husband, father and good cop doing his best to stem the tide of crime and corruption in Detroit – is critically injured, OmniCorp sees their chance to build a part-man, part-robot police officer. OmniCorp envisions a RoboCop in every city and even more billions for their shareholders, but they never counted on one thing: there is still a man inside the machine. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 11, 2014
    100
    RoboCop is no canned remake of the 1987 action film. It's a reimagining that responds to everything that has changed in American life over the past 27 years, addressing new threats and exploiting new anxieties.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 12, 2014
    75
    RoboCop is a solid near-future action pic that poses moral questions about artificial intelligence and remote-control combat systems without getting too preachy or ponderous about it.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 12, 2014
    67
    The film has lots of energized mayhem, and Murphy's unraveling of the conspiracy against him isn't dumbed down, yet it's as if the comic-book action poetry of the original has been encased in a suit of generic armor.
  4. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Feb 5, 2014
    60
    In some ways, the thoughtful, dense script marks an improvement on the original, and the cast is certainly tonier this time around. What’s missing is the original’s evil wit, amoral misanthropy and subversive slipperiness.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Feb 11, 2014
    50
    Aggressively loud, terminally mediocre.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 13, 2014
    40
    The result is fitfully interesting, and Mr. Kinnaman, best known for "The Killing" on television, compels our empathy with a kind of macho melancholia. Still, the whole thing comes down to an action adventure that's graphics-rich, logic-poor, coherence-challenged and pleasure-impaired.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Feb 6, 2014
    20
    A deafening, boring action pile-up that is more Call of Duty than Robocop.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 172
  1. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    The original "Robocop" has been an instant classic and a favorite to almost all people. in reference to the remake, it is pretty decent andThe original "Robocop" has been an instant classic and a favorite to almost all people. in reference to the remake, it is pretty decent and worth a watch; it is a refreshing look at one of the best, not disappointing but in fact more than pleasing with a surprisingly a strong re-watchable value to it. Collapse
  2. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    A great remake of a classic movie, that many of us grew up with. Robocop stays true to it's predecessors while still making the movie it'sA great remake of a classic movie, that many of us grew up with. Robocop stays true to it's predecessors while still making the movie it's own.

    It includes a interesting and in-depth explication of Murphy's back story, while adding an interesting twist to the entire cooperation, it's intent and inner workings.

    Once and awhile the movie is a little slow, but never enough to make you want to shut the movie off.
    Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    A review about the media Manipulation, the form how the government controls our lives with the premise of security, criticism about the warsA review about the media Manipulation, the form how the government controls our lives with the premise of security, criticism about the wars in the middle east.
    Excellent film
    Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2014
    6
    RoboCop is what we usually expect from a remake: a very safe story that is incredibly similar to the original as to not upset the fans.RoboCop is what we usually expect from a remake: a very safe story that is incredibly similar to the original as to not upset the fans. Although it brings the idea of RoboCop into the 21st century, the film lacks any flare or innovation for a long dormant franchise. Even a star-studded cast could not save these very stereotypical and comical characters from an unfocused story. There is little empathy for the protagonist's situation with too much focus. Not a must-see but for the cast this recycled robot tale is worth a watch. Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2014
    5
    First and foremost: remakes have been apart of cinema for a long time and are not going away. Some are carbon copies, some are re-imaginingsFirst and foremost: remakes have been apart of cinema for a long time and are not going away. Some are carbon copies, some are re-imaginings and others are influenced but quite different. This film falls into the re-imagining category.

    By no means should we accept them, they should be criticized and scrutinized for even being done in the first place, how relevant it is, if it's any good, and does do anything different. Comparing them whilst inevitable isn't always a good idea, i.e. because nostalgia will interfere and therefore affect how we experience the remake. In our minds we will nearly always prefer the previous version as it is more familiar to us and recalls often fond memories. What I'm trying to say is this film should be judged one it's own merits and not be compared to the original.

    Pure entertainment. That's all this is. Seriously you can pic this movie apart quite easily. It is not amazing nor is it a giant turd. Is it relevant? The use of the Novac Element TV show in the film (aka Fox News) blatantly presents biased information to promote an agenda. The idea of the USA having imperialistic interests is rather obvious in this world and the real one, but many people do not acknowledge and accept this or is dismiss it entirely. This pretext used to present a future with robots as the tool of an empire is quite clever and is foreseeable.

    Unfortunately this premise isn't enough to keep the audience enthralled. We simply sit comfortably and watch what unfolds. We don't really care what happens. Though we realize what to expect as the film proceeds and does become predictable. Could we really expect this film to do anything different? No of course not.

    Credit goes to Samuel L. Jackson (or is it Laurence Fishburne? haha) for portraying a charismatic TV host, displaying narcissism and anger in a very believable and entertaining way. Likewise Gary Oldman as a scientist with a heart and having altruistic motives that compromises his values for opportunity and a secure future is very realistic and relateable. Michael Keaton is also noteworthy as the boss of OCP that is determined to find the product for Americans no matter the cost.

    I rather enjoyed the special effects and CGI. Production values appeared quite high and I didn't notice anything bad, wrong or cheap. There is one scene that is rather confronting and impressively done mid-way through which made me feel some sympathy; I heard a person or two in the cinema giggle instead (which may be a coping mechanism to such a confrontational moment). It must be said that most of the science present is the Hollywood version of science which convenient fits the narrative is not meant to be taken seriously.

    As the film draws to it's conclusion you conceive what will happen and it delivers. No surprises except that Robocops partner has a talent for being shot in non fatal areas. I wouldn't want him as my partner.

    Don't expect too much.
    Expand
  6. May 25, 2014
    5
    You know i was really wanting to like this movie and hoping that it was going to be good but it sucks that the movie ends up in the REMAKEYou know i was really wanting to like this movie and hoping that it was going to be good but it sucks that the movie ends up in the REMAKE trash bin. It pisses me off that Hollywood likes to take a **** over old great directors and make crappy movies out of great ones. This being the second Paul Verhoeven remake in the last 2 years the other being Total Recall a movie that i thought was garbage and now this lets hope they keep their hands off Starship Troopers beacause ill flip. RoboCop suffers from various plot holes, pointless characters, and for a movie having a $130 million budget the CGI is average at best.

    The movie has a great cast though with Joel Kinnaman, Gary Oldman, Michael Keaton, Samuel L. Jackson, Jay Baruchel, Jackie Earle Haley, Abbie Cornish it just sucks that the sript wasnt better for them although i actually like Joel Kinnaman and was excited to see him as RoboCop and he did a pretty good job so that was great it would haved sucked if he did bad. The action was decent but it wasnt what i was hoping and CGI lacked in some of these parts. Dispite the film being 2 hours long it feels longer then that becuase of how the story roles out and it takes some time before you even see RoboCop hitting the streets for action. A big problem for the movie and i have seen this with some other reviews is how OmniCorp deals with RoboCop/Murphy's memories its pretty much 20-30mins of wasteful minutes.

    Overall i give it a 5.0 Not sure if i want to watch this movie again but if i do it will be only once when its out on blu ray because of Joel Kinnaman.
    Expand
  7. Mar 27, 2014
    0
    There are movies that are really awful, movies that makes you laugh even when you don't suppose to, movies that makes you sleep or makes youThere are movies that are really awful, movies that makes you laugh even when you don't suppose to, movies that makes you sleep or makes you yell to the person that recommended you that movie...
    Robocop IS NOT that kind of movie, it is really well directed, its special effects are one of the best I've seen, the sound effects are unique and the realism of the pain experienced in dangerous places like the Middle East is outstanding.
    But somehow, I DIDN'T GIVE A **** THE MAIN STORY, the wife's problems, or who was the villain after all... Robocop fails trying to catch the audience attention to the main characters an the actual history.
    This movie deserves a 6/10 ... ... But I give it a 0 because there is some people giving it 10 so I have to balance this **** because I'm a ****
    Expand

See all 172 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.