Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 467 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: The year is 2028 and multinational conglomerate OmniCorp is at the center of robot technology. Overseas, their drones have been used by the military for years, but have been forbidden for law enforcement in America. Now OmniCorp wants to bring their controversial technology to the home front, and they see a golden opportunity to do it. When Alex Murphy (Joel Kinnaman) – a loving husband, father and good cop doing his best to stem the tide of crime and corruption in Detroit – is critically injured, OmniCorp sees their chance to build a part-man, part-robot police officer. OmniCorp envisions a RoboCop in every city and even more billions for their shareholders, but they never counted on one thing: there is still a man inside the machine. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 11, 2014
    100
    RoboCop is no canned remake of the 1987 action film. It's a reimagining that responds to everything that has changed in American life over the past 27 years, addressing new threats and exploiting new anxieties.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 12, 2014
    75
    RoboCop is a solid near-future action pic that poses moral questions about artificial intelligence and remote-control combat systems without getting too preachy or ponderous about it.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 12, 2014
    67
    The film has lots of energized mayhem, and Murphy's unraveling of the conspiracy against him isn't dumbed down, yet it's as if the comic-book action poetry of the original has been encased in a suit of generic armor.
  4. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Feb 5, 2014
    60
    In some ways, the thoughtful, dense script marks an improvement on the original, and the cast is certainly tonier this time around. What’s missing is the original’s evil wit, amoral misanthropy and subversive slipperiness.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Feb 11, 2014
    50
    Aggressively loud, terminally mediocre.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 13, 2014
    40
    The result is fitfully interesting, and Mr. Kinnaman, best known for "The Killing" on television, compels our empathy with a kind of macho melancholia. Still, the whole thing comes down to an action adventure that's graphics-rich, logic-poor, coherence-challenged and pleasure-impaired.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Feb 6, 2014
    20
    A deafening, boring action pile-up that is more Call of Duty than Robocop.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 146
  2. Negative: 26 out of 146
  1. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    The original "Robocop" has been an instant classic and a favorite to almost all people. in reference to the remake, it is pretty decent and worth a watch; it is a refreshing look at one of the best, not disappointing but in fact more than pleasing with a surprisingly a strong re-watchable value to it. Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    I think this movie is being very much underrated. While it's true the original Robocop is a better film overall, this new version is definitely worth seeing. It's a beautifully shot, well acted bit of thought provoking Sci-fi.

    Just wish that had but a little more dark humor into it.
    Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is obvious that this Robocop is not a remake and therefore I do not see the point of negatively assessing this movie basing it on how it does not have what the original has. It is not funny, it is not vulgar, it is not witty and it is not violent as the original movie that is true but the new Robocop achieves what the it goes for - it certainly elaborates on some dilemmas, it has a certain emotional depth to it and it has just the right amount of action. As a stand alone movie, it is a great one. It is not a step forward in the movie history but it certainly is if not the best, one of the best remakes I have ever seen. I did not like two things and they are related to the action scenes. Some action scenes seemed clouded because of the shaky cam and I think Robocop was too overpowered for its opponents so action scenes seemed like a hunting scene most of the time. Basically there was not a built up tension during action scenes. "Overriding the computer system" was also overused. On top of my head for example at the end he is able to shoot the guy but if he was able to use something else to neutralize or kill the bad guy instead of shooting him directly that would be better. Anything else would have worked out better - is it too much to ask for a smarter ending when the plot of the movie is too obvious from the beginning? You can point out the villains during the first scenes that they appear. Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2014
    6
    Actually a lot better than expected, this is what people would look forward to in a Robocop remake. This is the closest you can get to a good Robocop remake without the completely copying the original. This surprisingly wasn't the CGI mess fans were afraid of. It was less gruesome and gritty than the original, which was personally my favorite part of the original, I didn't even realize the movie was PG-13 till after the movie, I just expected it was R, and that is probably why it lacks the grit. The main actor performs well in his TV series "The Killing" but is somehow puts on a bland performance. I can't even judge the other actors, because anyone who wasn't the lead maybe got 20 minutes of screen time total, with the exception of Gary Oldman's character who put on the best performance in this movie. If you are a fan of the amazing classic, you won't "love" this remake, but you at least won't hate it. Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2014
    5
    First and foremost: remakes have been apart of cinema for a long time and are not going away. Some are carbon copies, some are re-imaginings and others are influenced but quite different. This film falls into the re-imagining category.

    By no means should we accept them, they should be criticized and scrutinized for even being done in the first place, how relevant it is, if it's any good, and does do anything different. Comparing them whilst inevitable isn't always a good idea, i.e. because nostalgia will interfere and therefore affect how we experience the remake. In our minds we will nearly always prefer the previous version as it is more familiar to us and recalls often fond memories. What I'm trying to say is this film should be judged one it's own merits and not be compared to the original.

    Pure entertainment. That's all this is. Seriously you can pic this movie apart quite easily. It is not amazing nor is it a giant turd. Is it relevant? The use of the Novac Element TV show in the film (aka Fox News) blatantly presents biased information to promote an agenda. The idea of the USA having imperialistic interests is rather obvious in this world and the real one, but many people do not acknowledge and accept this or is dismiss it entirely. This pretext used to present a future with robots as the tool of an empire is quite clever and is foreseeable.

    Unfortunately this premise isn't enough to keep the audience enthralled. We simply sit comfortably and watch what unfolds. We don't really care what happens. Though we realize what to expect as the film proceeds and does become predictable. Could we really expect this film to do anything different? No of course not.

    Credit goes to Samuel L. Jackson (or is it Laurence Fishburne? haha) for portraying a charismatic TV host, displaying narcissism and anger in a very believable and entertaining way. Likewise Gary Oldman as a scientist with a heart and having altruistic motives that compromises his values for opportunity and a secure future is very realistic and relateable. Michael Keaton is also noteworthy as the boss of OCP that is determined to find the product for Americans no matter the cost.

    I rather enjoyed the special effects and CGI. Production values appeared quite high and I didn't notice anything bad, wrong or cheap. There is one scene that is rather confronting and impressively done mid-way through which made me feel some sympathy; I heard a person or two in the cinema giggle instead (which may be a coping mechanism to such a confrontational moment). It must be said that most of the science present is the Hollywood version of science which convenient fits the narrative is not meant to be taken seriously.

    As the film draws to it's conclusion you conceive what will happen and it delivers. No surprises except that Robocops partner has a talent for being shot in non fatal areas. I wouldn't want him as my partner.

    Don't expect too much.
    Expand
  6. May 1, 2014
    5
    Originally released in 1987, RoboCop has garnered a huge fan base and the reboot was eagerly anticipated by both the old guard of 80's action fans and a new generation of movie goers. So Padilha has his task cut out for him, could he satisfy both factions?
    Unfortunately the answer is no and it would be surprising if either group were satisfied with the finished product. It seems like yet another case of the-man-behind-the-curtain syndrome, most notably in the decision to aim for a PG13 rating, against Padilha's wishes, in order to ensure a film that went severely over budget recoups some of its investment. I agree that graphic violence is not necessary in order to make a good action movie, just look at The Dark Knight or Star Trek, but RoboCop falls short of the mark here and delivers a very placid final product. It can be argued that's what happens when the creative control is limited but perhaps hiring a director who's previous work is rated 18+ was the greater mistake.
    The cast however is strong and Kinnaman(The Killing) executes his role efficiently, with support from veteran actors Oldman, Keaton and Jackson but even this solid foundation seemed somewhat hollow. In a throwback to the satirical nature, that flowed seamlessly throughout the original, Jackson's portrayal of the rhetoric spewing media mogul appears a little disjointed and does little to add to an already inferior reboot.
    In total RoboCop 2014 does its best to recreate a character that criminals of Detroit should fear but in the end only offers us a modern day Tin-Man and by the closing credits I could not help but think, 'I wouldn't buy that for a dollar'.
    Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    I was so bored during this movie, just as i was bored watching hunger games. I nearly fell asleep and I yawned so many times, I can't even count it. Terrible movie. Expand

See all 146 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.