Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: March 11, 2005
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 180 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
124
Mixed:
35
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Very good movie,hope in future thier is more.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EthanK2013Jan 12, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Robots is my best favorite movie I ever watched. It's filled with excitement, spectacular real-life animation, fun, humor, romance, danger, and good music. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Delaforce828Oct 14, 2014
A funny, hilarious adventure that looks visually amazing, with a decent storyline, and has such a great chase scene, and a great battle scene. Actors like Robin Williams steals the show and are given funny things to say. Overall Robots isA funny, hilarious adventure that looks visually amazing, with a decent storyline, and has such a great chase scene, and a great battle scene. Actors like Robin Williams steals the show and are given funny things to say. Overall Robots is funny, charming, and such a delight to watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
WesE.Nov 6, 2005
It's good at first, but by the midway point of it's slightly overdrawn conclusion, Robots delves into a virtual cornocopia of childish stupid. No matter what talent was put into the pleasing visual/aural achievement (it's the It's good at first, but by the midway point of it's slightly overdrawn conclusion, Robots delves into a virtual cornocopia of childish stupid. No matter what talent was put into the pleasing visual/aural achievement (it's the best looking animated film to date), it doesn't quite compensate for a story this immature and goody-goody. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
RogerSmith97Nov 4, 2011
Parts Of This Movie Are Genuis And Laugh Out Loud Funny... But Some Arent. Somtimes I Fell There IS NO CREATIVITY WHATSOEVER.... Because It's "Robots"...
This Isent A Bad Movie... Im Just Stumped On How To Score It...
5
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
MichaelDJan 9, 2011
It wasn't funny to me. I was so bored.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
paulgreenFeb 11, 2012
It was weird and fake and too silly. So horrid, I almost puked. Completely ridden with overused cliches, there were at most three times where I laughed, one of which was due to how ludicrous the plot was. Honestly only enjoyable to theIt was weird and fake and too silly. So horrid, I almost puked. Completely ridden with overused cliches, there were at most three times where I laughed, one of which was due to how ludicrous the plot was. Honestly only enjoyable to the extremely young. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
HellboyMay 3, 2005
Man This Waz One Of The Funniest Movies Ive Ever Seen U Have To See This Movie One Of The Greates This Year So Funny OMG WELL SEE THIS MOVIE ITS FUNNY AS HELL.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IlzeS.Aug 6, 2005
Movie was funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatC.Mar 14, 2005
Oh geez, I don't know. It's so average I feel open to ridicule for expressing any like or dislike. The plot is totally predictable formula sewage, but harmless to the infantile. The application of concept and talented voices to Oh geez, I don't know. It's so average I feel open to ridicule for expressing any like or dislike. The plot is totally predictable formula sewage, but harmless to the infantile. The application of concept and talented voices to hypothetical live robots results in some clever & almost memorable moments. The pace is crisp and fast, but blink and you'll miss the cleverest stuff in the movie (watch for the male & female restrooms). lt's almost like the fimmakers are thinking, "We love our little concept film, but we're being forced to pass off so much crap in it we're going to move it by you real fast and hope you don't notice." One thing's for sure: Unlike the better Pixar flicks, this one lacks breadth of perspective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LuisVMar 17, 2005
It was really funny and not stupid like shrek
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Jun 1, 2005
What's makes Pixar great is that they assume people are intelligent. A film like "The Incredibles" works on two levels; as a visual wonderland for small children, and as sophisticated social commentary for adults. "Robots" is great to What's makes Pixar great is that they assume people are intelligent. A film like "The Incredibles" works on two levels; as a visual wonderland for small children, and as sophisticated social commentary for adults. "Robots" is great to look at; something that can't be said about the recent "Madagascar". But damnit, the robots talk (I'd rather hear a collection of inappropriate music choices by Giorgio Moroder) and they're even less engaging than the zebra, hippo, giraffe, and lion. At least "Madagascar" doesn't resort to a lazy "Star Wars" reference, lowest common denominator hijiniks like flatulence, and digressions into spectacle. And the whole concept of upgrades as a means to map out a robot's life from infancy to senior citizenry isn't particularly well-thought out either. A montage that bridges Rodney's gradual transformation from baby to young "man" might've been a good idea. Another good idea would've been to ripoff "Futurama" and give us a Bender-like robot because Fender is almost as irritating as Jar-Jar Binks. "Robots" steals from "A.I." so why stop there? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AriN.May 10, 2007
It was weird and fake and to silly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesG.Oct 8, 2005
Robin Williams is so funny. I love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Mar 10, 2005
Awesome Movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VinceH.Mar 12, 2005
Is this on the level of a Pixar movie? I'd say no. This movie lacks the transcendent qualities and aesthetic pleasures that movies like "The Incredibles" and "Finding Nemo" had. The characters are not as well-devloped or funny. The Is this on the level of a Pixar movie? I'd say no. This movie lacks the transcendent qualities and aesthetic pleasures that movies like "The Incredibles" and "Finding Nemo" had. The characters are not as well-devloped or funny. The moral-heart story concerning Rodney and his dad is affecting, but overall this is a movie played strictly for kid-chuckles. The movie doesn't really have any scenes/character moments/jokes that stand out and are really memorable (except for one hilarious scene where Fender does a Britney Spears-type music video dance). Blue Sky has yet IMO to make a feature on the level of any of the Dreamworks or Pixar CGI-films, but perhaps "Ice Age 2" will change things. On a side note, the trailer for "Madagascar" is much better than this whole film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertR.Mar 13, 2005
This was very enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
gog.Mar 22, 2005
Pros: hilarious, great animation, cool roller coaster sequence, cons: generic ending overview: Calling all children! You live on mars if you do not watch this!!! (P.S. teens and adults will laugh out loud!)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarisaMar 26, 2005
It was pretty much what I expected from it, and nothing more. It was a cute kids animation movie. There were some funny parts, but nothing too halarious. It was okay. I was impressed with the cool subway scenes though. Otherwise, nothing special.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
UsagiY.Mar 26, 2005
A nice retelling of Shrek with Robots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
miker.May 3, 2005
I liked it. There is lots to critize, but I think that overall it was fast paced eye candy. The characters were not particularly well developed, but the studio threw so much on the screen, that it was impossible to catch it all. ie the "curb I liked it. There is lots to critize, but I think that overall it was fast paced eye candy. The characters were not particularly well developed, but the studio threw so much on the screen, that it was impossible to catch it all. ie the "curb your dog" scene in one frame, that shows the dog with his ower carrying a big magnet to pick up the poop. Lots of magnet and robot dance jokes. All in all, the 1 1/2 went quickly for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidP.Sep 30, 2005
Robots makes the third graders that wrote Madagascar look like geniuses.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NicholasDSep 12, 2006
Great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kblakeMar 11, 2005
As good as the incredibles... although it is simple storyline based on good vs. evil, it is very well done. robin williams' comedy is wonderful for both children and adults.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mkMar 11, 2005
Lots of fun for the kids!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GuyNoirMar 10, 2005
So horrid, I almost puked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PatPMar 11, 2005
Completely ridden with overused cliches, there were at most three times where I laughed, one of which was due to how ludicrous the plot was. Honestly only enjoyable to the extremely young.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
superseanMar 12, 2005
More Animation then substance, Robin Williams killed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeghanR.Mar 12, 2005
VISUALLY STUNNING! Bluesky studios does it again. I only wish animated movies could be longer than 90 mins... My mom and daughter loved it. There is something in it for everyone. Its a must see again movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinMar 13, 2005
Pretty good, I personally liked it more than Ice Age, but thats probably mostly due to me liking robots more than mammoths.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
lizMar 14, 2005
Do not see this movie! SO many dacing, dumb potty jokes, awsome animation i say it was made to show off on its animation, i poohs hefflump movie better then this, if you want a good movie go rent ice age.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JanaH.Mar 16, 2005
Could have been alot better given the creative ensemble from Blue Sky, Babaloo, etal. Writing is suspect. Too loud. Too predictable. Too much going on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelleC.Mar 17, 2005
Very nice kid friendly film. Not too bad for Spring break treat!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterMar 18, 2005
The animation effects are stunning. One wonders how it is possible to create and master such a complexity. From an artistic and comedy viewpoint, there are some really great moments and creations too. The story line is a bit simplistic but The animation effects are stunning. One wonders how it is possible to create and master such a complexity. From an artistic and comedy viewpoint, there are some really great moments and creations too. The story line is a bit simplistic but that wasn't really the reason for me to go and see the film. The reason was for the sheer creation: animation and comedy - and in these areas the film just excels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RedSMar 19, 2005
A loud and colorful parade of recycled cliches, complete with one-dimensional characters that either don't develop at all because they're evil, or "overcome their difficulties and reach their goals" because - you've guessed it A loud and colorful parade of recycled cliches, complete with one-dimensional characters that either don't develop at all because they're evil, or "overcome their difficulties and reach their goals" because - you've guessed it - they're good. A waste of technology, talent, and your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
derekMar 8, 2005
Not as impressive as Ice Age, but a satisfying and fast moving story. Fun for all, especially those under 12.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FayM.Apr 11, 2005
This move did not live up to its trailer. It was a boring story line, it was not funny in the slightest, a lot of went over my 8 year olds head. The story was not original, the Incredibles was a far more superior movie. Certainly felt for This move did not live up to its trailer. It was a boring story line, it was not funny in the slightest, a lot of went over my 8 year olds head. The story was not original, the Incredibles was a far more superior movie. Certainly felt for the first time "what a waste of money to see a movie". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HarrisonB.Jul 16, 2005
Very funny. Robin Williams is hilarious. Although the animation is amazing, some of the jokes I've heard before. Nevertheless, still a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
timcJul 2, 2005
Some stars must be given to the artistic effort of the visuals, but this movie's greatest weakness is severe indeed. The lat 1/3 runs like the typical Hollywood formulae smash-em-up and is loud, obnoxious, and dull. Hollywood thinks Some stars must be given to the artistic effort of the visuals, but this movie's greatest weakness is severe indeed. The lat 1/3 runs like the typical Hollywood formulae smash-em-up and is loud, obnoxious, and dull. Hollywood thinks loud, violent action is the way to end all movies, God I'm so tired of that. Don't waste your time like me and my girlfriend did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonOct 13, 2005
This movie was pretty good for an animated one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeJoeNaMar 11, 2005
I love this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DerekMar 11, 2005
Better than sharks tail, not as good as Shrek. My four year old was amazed, but didn't really understand what was going on. The "in-jokes" were funny, but one wonders how many references one will remember ten years from now (I recently Better than sharks tail, not as good as Shrek. My four year old was amazed, but didn't really understand what was going on. The "in-jokes" were funny, but one wonders how many references one will remember ten years from now (I recently re-watched alladin which suffers from the same problem). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChandlerAMar 14, 2005
Excellent visuals, but terrible otherwise. Not even close to Ice Age's level of hilarity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
K-DogMar 14, 2005
Looks ok visually, nothing stunning. The real problem is that it just isn't funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Mar 17, 2005
A must see no matter what kind of review it gets. This is not cartooney, the metalm looks metal . However the wit from the characters is non stop.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
sooyoungu.Mar 18, 2005
Adorable and fast paced. The special effects make you wish you could ride their subway system. Should be right up there with The Incredibles!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MGrazMar 19, 2005
When I first saw the trailer for this movie I was willing to give it a fair shot... then I saw "professional" reviews claiming it was better than The Incredibles. This movie is utterly devoid of anything approaching "original." The plot has When I first saw the trailer for this movie I was willing to give it a fair shot... then I saw "professional" reviews claiming it was better than The Incredibles. This movie is utterly devoid of anything approaching "original." The plot has been done a hundred times... good guy's utopia gets perverted by bad guy until underdog-hero talks sense into good guy and both overthrow bad guy. As for the animation... making robots seem life-like isn't very impressive... I've seen more "life" from Anime robots a decade ago. There was little humor to this movie apart from the most obvious sight and sound gags... even the "adult" jokes seemed forced and out of place. The only reason I'm not giving this movie a "1" is the man-hours that went into making it. At best, rent this when it comes out... don't buy it and certainly don't pay to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarkB.Apr 14, 2005
Which way you going, Blue Sky? The third of the "Big Three" corporate computer animation conglomerates, the Chris Wedge-led company got off to a nice start a couple of years ago with Ice Age, a very pleasing blend of state-of-the-art visuals Which way you going, Blue Sky? The third of the "Big Three" corporate computer animation conglomerates, the Chris Wedge-led company got off to a nice start a couple of years ago with Ice Age, a very pleasing blend of state-of-the-art visuals and--with such elements as (partially) human-friendly wild beasts, the early death of a mother figure and the improbable but hugely satisfying return of a "dead"' character--old-school Disney. Robots, their followup, had a choice: it could've followed in the huge footsteps of Pixar (devising a fully-imagined, completely believable alternate universe: the city of Monstropolis, under the sea or inside a kid's bedroom--populating it with singularly appealing, unforgettable characters and THEN adding great comedy) or it coud've gone the Dreamworks route (the Shrek films and particularly Shark Tale, which use environment and atmosphere mostly as hooks on which to hang a series of hit-or-miss gags). Sadly, it went to the dark side, and as a result Robots goes over like a lead balloon. It's a near-complete disaster in every category, starting with the shockingly nondescript vocal characterizations: it's impossible to imagine anyone other than John Goodman as Pixar's Sully the monster or Ellen DeGeneres as Dory the fish, but Ewan Macgregor, Halle Berry, Greg Kinnear and most of the rest of the cast are so bland and indistinctive that I can't imagine why 20th Century Fox bothered to shell out the big bucks to hire them when I have any number of neighbors and coworkers who could've done the job at least as well for much less! (And before you bring up Robin Williams as an exception, I challenge you to view this and Disney's Aladdin back to back and see if you don't agree that, unlike his truly wild and inspired Genie, Williams comes across here as muzzled and tranquilized.) The production and character design are clearly very self-satisfied but a metallic eyesore--all the robots with the possible exception of little Widget (voiced by Wedge) are astonishingly unattractive, and I can't imagine a 3-year-old taking a replica of one of them to bed without getting nightmares. The script, cowritten by yockmeisters Lowell Ganz and Babaloo Mandel (who shouldn't be trusted with anything not involving baseball or that Ron Howard or Billy Crystal have a hand in--and even that, as anyone who's seen Father's Day can attest--is no guarantee) goes for the lowest, cheapest and most obvious pop-culture schtick at every turn--when it's not indulging in fart jokes, that is. (And incidentally, when robots do break wind, wouldn't they...uh...you know, clank? And why sign on Mel Brooks if you're going to have a flatulence scene and not involve him in it?) The big set pieces make no sense whatsoever even on their own terms: upsetting a long line of elaborately positioned dominoes is only impressive if you do it live; animating it completely defeats the purpose. For cryin' out loud, even the short subject, a cartoon featuring Ice Ages's neurotic, acorn-obsessed critter Scrat, is a rip-off! No doubt I'm coming across as more than a little harsh and nasty about a film that a lot of hard work obviously went into, but to stretch the mechanical analogy a tad more, all I can say is that a lot of hard work went into the Edsel, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JakoWakoApr 21, 2005
Just a loud, boring, insufferable piece of s... An utter waste of time. Don't bother.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveR.Sep 29, 2005
Really liked this movie - just saw it on DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JacobApr 3, 2014
While the film may be a tad cliché and gimmicky at times I still enjoyed the film. There was heart and some fantastic animation. I’d say its worth a rent. If you are watching this film its not that bad the beautiful animation will pull youWhile the film may be a tad cliché and gimmicky at times I still enjoyed the film. There was heart and some fantastic animation. I’d say its worth a rent. If you are watching this film its not that bad the beautiful animation will pull you throw even if the humor will make you roll your eyes at some points. There is enough charm here to keep you entertained unfortunately not enough to make this film a stand out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Oct 24, 2010
its not an excellent movie. its just perfect. the jokes were funny, the characters were enjoyable, and the animation was pretty decent. if those are the same guys who did Ice Age, then this is what you're looking for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
heyitsmegrif4Jan 2, 2012
It has a really similar plot to a lot of movies and isn't as funny as it should be but Robots benefits from its fantastic voice performances from Robin Williams and Amanda Bynes. I give this movie 61%.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sil3nt_nickMar 25, 2013
A fun, charming and hilarious film containing the voice talents of Ewan McGregor, Robin Williams, Halle Berry and Amanda Bynes. The film is perfect for a child to watch and fun for parents as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticAug 7, 2014
Not the best animated film. It isn't the first 'Ice Age', but it was still funny and exuberantly written. Maybe a few arcs could have been taken out, and some jokes missed their marker, it made up for it with a pleasant story that didn't makeNot the best animated film. It isn't the first 'Ice Age', but it was still funny and exuberantly written. Maybe a few arcs could have been taken out, and some jokes missed their marker, it made up for it with a pleasant story that didn't make me want to wretch halfway in, when the hero usually falls in love. Again, just because it's enjoyable doesn't mean it's a work of art. But still, nice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersNov 1, 2016
Another classic from my childhood, I'm impressed and delighted to say that "Robots" still holds up very well to this day. It's still visually sound, it's still pretty hilarious, and the voice acting is still pretty great. It may not rank asAnother classic from my childhood, I'm impressed and delighted to say that "Robots" still holds up very well to this day. It's still visually sound, it's still pretty hilarious, and the voice acting is still pretty great. It may not rank as Blue Sky's best film, but it's certainly an enjoyable romp for the whole family! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Robots mechanizes success.
The movie Robots is light, fun, and a little bit forgettable. The story is solid but not great and the jokes are okay but not hilarious, just a good kids film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
hayashimegumiJul 31, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Robots (2005) is a visually pleasing and entertaining film. It is quite artsy but generally robots and androids lovers will like this! It sets in an entirely mechanical world, where each and every robot is unique in their own ways. This film, the second by Blue Sky Studios is certainly way way way finer than the first Ice Age film. They should have been rewarded a most improved studio kind of award!

I loved the concept and visuals, it is quite entertaining to watch as a whole as it is mechanically gorgeous but in terms of story and character creations, it is a little...lacking. For example, I did not know there was a specific love interest for the main character until I read up on it cause I don't see any obvious chemistry or hint. *lol*

Nonetheless, the film does have an inspiring message and there are some scenes in the film that left me dumbfounded; their version of baby making is hilarious and the fast paced Robot City's cross town express is surely epic. Hence, don't be fooled by the movie poster; the animation is much vivider and livelier than it looks. At first I thought it might be boring but boy, I was wrong!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
Robin Williams is in classic form as he steals scene after scene as "Fender" with witty dialogue all the way through. A fitting successor to "Ice Age", this animated motion picture is both funny and intelligent. I just howled at the sceneRobin Williams is in classic form as he steals scene after scene as "Fender" with witty dialogue all the way through. A fitting successor to "Ice Age", this animated motion picture is both funny and intelligent. I just howled at the scene with Fender teaching Rodney to make whoopee cushion noises with his arm pits, then the Rusties follow suit, leading to an encore by Aunt Fanny, to put the "fun" in dys_fun_ctional. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DanBurritoSep 13, 2015
Move over Ice Age-THIS is Blue Sky's best movie. Not only is the animation a treat, the voice actors do a superb job, especially Robin Williams. The story is good too, it's really interesting. The laughs just keep on coming and the ideas areMove over Ice Age-THIS is Blue Sky's best movie. Not only is the animation a treat, the voice actors do a superb job, especially Robin Williams. The story is good too, it's really interesting. The laughs just keep on coming and the ideas are really creative and fresh. I loved this when I was small and I still love it now. It's a classic, I'd recommend it for all ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CriticFerJul 18, 2016
Robots may be not as great as Ice Age 1, but is a very good movie with a fantastic animation, funny characters, a good messege, a fantastic cast like Robin Williams and good comedy. Even is not much famous, i still a great movie growing upRobots may be not as great as Ice Age 1, but is a very good movie with a fantastic animation, funny characters, a good messege, a fantastic cast like Robin Williams and good comedy. Even is not much famous, i still a great movie growing up with this movie. Chris Wedge and Carlos Salhdana knows very well how can they do good movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeJan 29, 2016
Robots is a good movie from Blue Sky Studios. What I normally don't get is why just on the 7's? It's only my opinion and you can have yours back while reading this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FuturedirectorMar 19, 2016
Robots is colored and has some laughs. But characters may be unremarkable and story-telling not enjoyable enough to put the audience in shock. Robots doesn't soar, and it's plot is great, despite the not-good enough film that has came to the world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
J2005Sep 15, 2016
For a movie as predictable and underdeveloped as Robots, this film has a lot of sentimental value.

The visual magic, sophisticated retro designs and relevant gags help to further make up for the rusty story underneath the chassis.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews