User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 165
  2. Negative: 36 out of 165
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2012
    8
    Let me start off by saying this is a musical. Don't expect a classic. If it's not your type of thing, this movie won't change that. Now that we got that out of the way I have to say that I actually liked it. It's starts off okay unfortunately. I'm not a big fan of people just singing a song and every random person joins them. I know you're going to tell me that pretty much every musicalLet me start off by saying this is a musical. Don't expect a classic. If it's not your type of thing, this movie won't change that. Now that we got that out of the way I have to say that I actually liked it. It's starts off okay unfortunately. I'm not a big fan of people just singing a song and every random person joins them. I know you're going to tell me that pretty much every musical do that, but no. The good ones have a certain thing that connects the people, what they want to say and the songs. Not randomly start singing just to sing. That said, it gradually gets better and to the point of me smiling when a song started. Tom Cruise is amazing on stage. I really believed he was a rockstar when he sang. His stage presence is amazing. If you're hoping to see the same rock of ages from Broadway to the screen, you are going to be disappointed. The story is different, and there are a few songs that weren't in the broadway musical. For the story, well it doesn't do anything new. You can pretty much tell what's going to happen, two young people with big dreams meet and fall in love and you can guess the rest. But don't let that get in the way if you like musicals. I had a great time watching it in theaters. I give it a 7.5 because I still had a pretty good time. I don't regret watching it. It's not a classic by any means, but it is nonetheless entertaining and worth your time. Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    8
    Rock of Ages. Even though I like all kinds of movies, Musicals aren't always my kind of thing. The only two I can actually think of at the moment that I liked and enjoyed was "The Newsies" and "The Sound of Music." However, I became overly excited to discover that Tom Cruise played a rock star and actually sings in this 80's rock n' roll musical. (Big Tom Cruise fan in case you didn'tRock of Ages. Even though I like all kinds of movies, Musicals aren't always my kind of thing. The only two I can actually think of at the moment that I liked and enjoyed was "The Newsies" and "The Sound of Music." However, I became overly excited to discover that Tom Cruise played a rock star and actually sings in this 80's rock n' roll musical. (Big Tom Cruise fan in case you didn't already know.) The movie looked pretty good anyways - so I was more then down. A highly entertaining, feel good, 80's rock n' roll musical, with a fantastic cast and performances (both acting and singing) make "Rock of Ages" nothin' but a good time. The way I see it - Tom Cruise was a rock star long before this highlight in his career, but hearing him sing like a rock star only makes him more worthy of the title. And yeah, Cruise can sing, and he's damn good at it. All hail Tom Cruise the rock star!!! Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2012
    7
    While "Rock of Ages" is fresh in my mind from the 4:20 pm showing today at the Laemmle Claremont 5 at the Claremont Village (CA), I walked out with mixed feelings on a number of levels. First, let me state that the music was great and on key - true to the original renditions such as Stacee Jaxx (Tom Cruise) hitting the right octaves with
  4. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    Just came from seeing Rock of Ages with Tom Cruise, Alec Baldwin, Russell Brand and many more. I have not seen the Broadway version, so I can't compare the movie to that, but I gotta say it was a HOOT. The music is rock and roll and largely from the 80s. I think that folks who are/have been into rock & roll and are between 40 and 65 now will get the biggest kick out of it. Not to say thatJust came from seeing Rock of Ages with Tom Cruise, Alec Baldwin, Russell Brand and many more. I have not seen the Broadway version, so I can't compare the movie to that, but I gotta say it was a HOOT. The music is rock and roll and largely from the 80s. I think that folks who are/have been into rock & roll and are between 40 and 65 now will get the biggest kick out of it. Not to say that folks younger and older than that won't, but I think that age range is the target audience.

    It reminds me of a mix of Rocky Horror PIcture Show (naughtiness and ridiculousness) and Footloose (joyfulness from music and dancing). So if you're going to go, don't expect to take it seriously, cuz it is ridiculous & funny.
    Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    I wasn't really sure what to expect from Rock Of Ages. Being that I don't like musicals with the exception of Grease. So what do I think of the soundtrack? Was it what I expected? No. It was way better than I expected. Not sure who actually sang and who lip-sync, but all the songs sounded amazing. I caught myself jamming, tapping my foot, and at times rocking my head back and forth.I wasn't really sure what to expect from Rock Of Ages. Being that I don't like musicals with the exception of Grease. So what do I think of the soundtrack? Was it what I expected? No. It was way better than I expected. Not sure who actually sang and who lip-sync, but all the songs sounded amazing. I caught myself jamming, tapping my foot, and at times rocking my head back and forth.
    Now about the storyline. It started kinda shaky in the beginning. The storyline really came together and got more exciting when Stacee Jaxx's character was introduced. From there on, it just took off and it was an exciting ride. I'm not a big fan of 3D movies at all. But to really get the full experience of this movie, you'll really want to see it in 3D. This movie was made for 3D.
    Now the people who stole show in this movie... I was really surprise and blown away how good Tom Cruise was as Stacee Jaxx. I really don't think anyone else could have done a better job as Stacee Jaxx. Malin Akerman also gave an amazing performance. Paul Giamatti was perfect as the music manager. The surprise star of the movie who just impressed me the most has to be Mary J. Blige. I knew the girl can sing. I didn't know she could really act. She was awesome. I really hope to see Mary J. Blige in more movies.
    If you grew up in the 80's, this movie will bring back fond memories of the good old days. Everyone else. Rock and roll doesn't get any better than this. You will not be disappointed at all. I give this movie 4.5 out of 5.
    The soundtrack is definetly worth buying. So go check it out.
    Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    I have to agree completely with SheriReho's review. I also thought this would make an awesome Rocky Horror style repeat viewing movie. Have a couple drinks, loosen up, wear some of your worst 80's apparel, and have a blast singing along. No one will win an Oscar for this, but it AIN'T NOTHIN' BUT A GOOD TIME and I think that was the producers' intent. Cruise, Baldwin, Blige, et alI have to agree completely with SheriReho's review. I also thought this would make an awesome Rocky Horror style repeat viewing movie. Have a couple drinks, loosen up, wear some of your worst 80's apparel, and have a blast singing along. No one will win an Oscar for this, but it AIN'T NOTHIN' BUT A GOOD TIME and I think that was the producers' intent. Cruise, Baldwin, Blige, et al totally camped it up, and you could almost feel they had a kick making this. My biggest surprise was Russell Brand. Normally I can't stand to watch him in a commercial, but he and Baldwin were the biggest scene stealers together. Yes, I'm in my 40's and grew up in that era, so the familiarity was wonderful. No, I don't think this is an E.T. type film that EVERYONE will love. But how many musicals can you go see that you know almost all the words to all the songs before you see it? I loved that. (look for the cameos of some real-life 80's charttoppers too.) I am so glad I ignored the critics' reviews that said this was terrible. (Ebert gave like 4 stars to Prometheus, my daughter and her boyfriend saw it, and both thought it was boooring!) So if you think you might like this type movie, a musical comedy based on 80's era rock songs, go ahead and see it. If you're more into Kubrick, Coppola, or Tarantino, you may not want to bother. It's all a matter of taste, but to me, most of it was delicious. Collapse
  7. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    This movie made me smile, loved all the 80's music took me back to high school! Laughed at some of the cornines which I am sure was intended. This was great, it was supposed to be over dramatized which the 80's were actually that. Loved Tom Cruise as Stacey Jaxx he did a great job of portraying what most of the bands and lead singers must have really been a lot like after all the intenseThis movie made me smile, loved all the 80's music took me back to high school! Laughed at some of the cornines which I am sure was intended. This was great, it was supposed to be over dramatized which the 80's were actually that. Loved Tom Cruise as Stacey Jaxx he did a great job of portraying what most of the bands and lead singers must have really been a lot like after all the intense partying! LOL. One critic actually said he was bored. Idiot he really didn't get the movie then and took it way to serious. Go see it, don't expect Gone With the Wind, have some laughs enjoy the over-dramatized era and characters, take a walk down memory lane if you lived it, if you didn't don't go see it you won't get it! Expand
  8. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    Wow, a new sorprise this year. I remember that when I watch the trailers of Rock of Ages I say: "I wanna watch this movie", but when the critics appear I say: "oh no", after I decide watch the movie, and the ressult: Other great musical, have much incredible songs, the performances are cool, the character amazing. I think that Rock of Ages is the Footloose of this year.
  9. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    First off, this movie can not be fairly rated. Let me explain why. If the critics were a group of people over 55 years old and under 30, they wont even get it. If you are viewers and over 55 and under 30, you wont get it either. You had to live the era. I'm 47 give or take a year. I lived it and give it a strong 8. If it would have been all original bands and singers it would be an 11, offFirst off, this movie can not be fairly rated. Let me explain why. If the critics were a group of people over 55 years old and under 30, they wont even get it. If you are viewers and over 55 and under 30, you wont get it either. You had to live the era. I'm 47 give or take a year. I lived it and give it a strong 8. If it would have been all original bands and singers it would be an 11, off the chart. I will admit you feel like a goof ball almost halfway through the movie for even still being there then, BAMB, it hit key points of my life and what that time period meant to me. There were only about 17 people at the midnite showing. 5 of them were dancing in the isles and happy even when the movie was over. Most all 17 people stayed even through the credits just to listen to the songs as the played out. As everyone left I found my self sitting there with a tear in my eye for my own personal reasons. Yeah it was made cheesy, that is how it was meant to be you bu** hole critics. You will love it or hate it. Depends on your life experiences. I guarantee your jaw will drop a few times and you will just have to see it to believe me. Viewers even clapped at the end of the movie which I haven't heard in awhile. If you are in your teens I even think you will like it. 55 and over dont vote so this movie can at least get a fair review. Your vote shouldn't count. To the rest of us, ROCK ON ! ! IT WILL NEVER DIE FOR US JUST LIKE OUR PARENTS MUSIC THEY LISTENED TO WILL NEVER DIE. Don't prejudge this movie Expand
  10. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    I love musicals, stage or movies. I
  11. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    This movie is awesome. Rock gods-check. CBGB's fail parody-check. Boy bands trashed and called out-check. Hot chick power groupies-check. A bus of Night Ranger fans singing Sister Christian-check. Genre discipline, killer sound, respect to LA' s last great music scene, and self-deprecating humor balled up with precision and aimed at the few people alive that actually get it-CHECK

    Alec
    This movie is awesome. Rock gods-check. CBGB's fail parody-check. Boy bands trashed and called out-check. Hot chick power groupies-check. A bus of Night Ranger fans singing Sister Christian-check. Genre discipline, killer sound, respect to LA' s last great music scene, and self-deprecating humor balled up with precision and aimed at the few people alive that actually get it-CHECK

    Alec Baldwin and Russell Brand deserve best supporting actors in a musical comedy about glam rock. Best parody about cliche rockers from the 80's I never saw! Hilarious and proof positive most critics are sheltered over opinionated failures from alternate realities where they matter. And to those of them who are frustrated with their children and loved ones. These trials and tribulations are mostly YOUR fault. PWN IT. Haha you know who you are.
    Expand
  12. Jun 9, 2015
    9
    Big time fun, saucy, loud, sexy, with creative twists on the music, dancing, and high camp. From the beginning we are brought right in to the movie and stay there for the duration. I am totally surprised so many critics panned it. I guess they just don't like musicals, and fun movies. I stayed away because of the reviews, then saw it by accident when I found the dvd in a box of stuff.Big time fun, saucy, loud, sexy, with creative twists on the music, dancing, and high camp. From the beginning we are brought right in to the movie and stay there for the duration. I am totally surprised so many critics panned it. I guess they just don't like musicals, and fun movies. I stayed away because of the reviews, then saw it by accident when I found the dvd in a box of stuff. Wow, what fun. Expand
  13. Oct 15, 2012
    7
    Nobody wanted to see a movie musical anymore...that seemed to be the message that audiences were giving Hollywood in the last couple of years or so. After going through a 'second' Golden Age of sorts with Moulin Rouge and Chicago as well as Mamma Mia, musicals are not performing well in the Box Office. It's too bad because Rock of Ages is actually pretty good. Stand out performance byNobody wanted to see a movie musical anymore...that seemed to be the message that audiences were giving Hollywood in the last couple of years or so. After going through a 'second' Golden Age of sorts with Moulin Rouge and Chicago as well as Mamma Mia, musicals are not performing well in the Box Office. It's too bad because Rock of Ages is actually pretty good. Stand out performance by Tom Cruise is a highlight, with other cast members doing pretty good as well. Of course, the story is cliche but nobody wants to see a musical because of its storyline. Give this one a chance on the DVD. Expand
  14. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    This is the musical story of a man, a woman, and a band. Two young folks meet in Los Angeles in the 80s. They both want to make it big. At the same time, a rock star is going to break up his band and go solo. The mayor is dying to close down the biggest club in town and take over the property. Good versus evil, freedom versus control- who's going to win? Yes, the movie shamelessly playsThis is the musical story of a man, a woman, and a band. Two young folks meet in Los Angeles in the 80s. They both want to make it big. At the same time, a rock star is going to break up his band and go solo. The mayor is dying to close down the biggest club in town and take over the property. Good versus evil, freedom versus control- who's going to win? Yes, the movie shamelessly plays with your heartstrings and it's almost like a live-action anime, because you can see the plot points coming up Main Street, but the movie turns out to be greater than the sum of its parts. Tom Cruise is the whacked-out singer who constantly staggers around under the influence of something or other. The two young leads play their parts with believable eagerness. Mary J. Blige has a really good supporting role as the no-nonsense but kind manager of a gentleman's club. Russell Brand and Alec Baldwin play managers of the rock hall, who are trying to keep the scene alive. You may have to forgive the movie a bit of a muddled section in the middle, but overall, it has a lot of laughs, and will keep you rooting for the good guys to win. Expand
  15. Mar 23, 2013
    7
    As of writing this review I'm 17, I wasn't even thought of being born at the time this music came out however that doesn't mean I haven't heard some of it before and it doesn't mean that it isn't awesome! So Rock of Ages is a film adaptation of a the hit musical that tells the tale of a girl who moves to Hollywood to become a singer, when she arrives she begins to fall in love, becomesAs of writing this review I'm 17, I wasn't even thought of being born at the time this music came out however that doesn't mean I haven't heard some of it before and it doesn't mean that it isn't awesome! So Rock of Ages is a film adaptation of a the hit musical that tells the tale of a girl who moves to Hollywood to become a singer, when she arrives she begins to fall in love, becomes and barmaid in a well known Rock n Roll bar. When her boyfriend becomes famous and they split for incredibly poorly justified reasons the boy goes on to realise that the music industry isn't what it seems and the girl realises that becoming a pole dancer wasn't such a good idea either. All this happens whilst Tom Cruise A.K.A Stacee Jaxx turns from drunk superstar to...sober superstar and whilst the anti-rock movement tries to shut down the last great bastion of rock and roll.
    Rock of Ages is a collection of stories that dont seem to be that good, but when tied together with the excellent music seem to become a hell of a lot more interesting.
    Rock of Ages is by no means a film you should go out of your way to see, but it is a damn good time for anyone who likes Rock music
    Expand
  16. Jun 21, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As I am waiting for the big Expand
  17. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    I had viewed the preview of the movie Rock of ages, and it seems like a really good movie to watch, even better than the movie Chicago. Tom Cruise, has been around in the movie industry for many years, and his acting always seems to amaze me. If none of the movie critics had mentioned his name, I would never known it was even him, that's how good of an actor he really is and may I add heI had viewed the preview of the movie Rock of ages, and it seems like a really good movie to watch, even better than the movie Chicago. Tom Cruise, has been around in the movie industry for many years, and his acting always seems to amaze me. If none of the movie critics had mentioned his name, I would never known it was even him, that's how good of an actor he really is and may I add he looks damn good for a man who just weeks ago just turned the big 50. He looks the same and will never change, I think that. I also think Alec Baldwin is really, really a cool and so funny guy of all comedians. I had to take a really good look, because I did not know it was he, Alec Baldwin. The music scenes are really good and the punch lines are dead on to the point. Catherine Zeta, who is very pretty and a really good actress, is full of surprises. There is a host of big stars and very familiar faces in this comic/musical of a movie. Julianne Hough is a first time actress in her first big motion picture, great job kid, great job. Bravo Expand
  18. Mar 25, 2013
    7
    Yes, it's a musical and yes, It seems hokey at first. But if you are of a certain age, something about it works. It's the music you heard on the radio. It was the LA scene back then. If you let go of your embarrassment, it's a lot of fun. Tom Cruise does a great job as a specie rockstar. The rest of the cast is very good also.
  19. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Rock of Ages is a blast! The music is great, Tom Cruise rocks his performance and Julianne Hough is stunning to put it mildly. This film is the Grease of the new generation. Its pure movie bliss and an instant classic. Bravo.
  20. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Don't get all the bad reviews. This movie's a ball if you like 80's rock- and I really don't get how anyone wouldn't like 80's rock. It's the best.
  21. Apr 27, 2013
    7
    Rock of Ages. What should I say? This is a great music drama! The film is slow but paces up till the ending, I loved Tom Cruise as Stacy Jaxx and Russell Brand as Lonny. Both actors were great! But Rock of Ages isn't special because of the roll rocking cast, its good because of the story, the colours, the amazing performances and direction by Adam Shankman. Would buy on DVD.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 42
  2. Negative: 12 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jun 22, 2012
    50
    Why, as a patron of Rock of Ages, do I wish I had taken the precaution of entering the theater drunk? [25 June 2012, p.84]
  2. 30
    Rock of Ages withholds nothing and makes miracles seem cheap.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 15, 2012
    40
    Unfortunately, like the Poison song says -- and, in many ways, like the decade itself -- it ain't nothin' but a good time.