Picturehouse Entertainment | Release Date: August 10, 2007
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 29 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
2
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JohnS.Feb 5, 2008
Poor, boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PatW.Sep 6, 2007
Absolutely one of the worst teenage films I've seen in my life...can't believe they're still showing it here, terrible!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MichaelE.Aug 21, 2007
Today I saw Rocket Science, or, as I have cleverly dubbbed it, Rushless. Weird high school kid with goofy haircut and emotional problems who has a crush on an unapproachable girl? Check. Flat low angle shots of banal locations? Check. Today I saw Rocket Science, or, as I have cleverly dubbbed it, Rushless. Weird high school kid with goofy haircut and emotional problems who has a crush on an unapproachable girl? Check. Flat low angle shots of banal locations? Check. Annoying, self-consciously hip music score? Check. (I mean, "The Blob" by Bacharach+David on accordion and mini-choir? Ugh. And the Femmes on piano+cello played by old people? Even worse) Tons of irony, with just a little touch of heart at the end so we'll feel like we've seen something? Check. Bursts of stupid violence that have nothing to do with anything? Check. Juvenile angst and ennui presented as cute? Check. The director certainly has the Wes Anderson playbook down pat, but not much else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GrahamG.Jan 28, 2008
There is so little that is not annoying about this movie. I want my time back. Occasionally the stutterer says something witty, but seemingly can't think his way out of uber-typical situations. And at the end there's nothing There is so little that is not annoying about this movie. I want my time back. Occasionally the stutterer says something witty, but seemingly can't think his way out of uber-typical situations. And at the end there's nothing satisfying at all. Just like life. And if I just wanted life, I wouldn't go to the movies. I walked out when the 'I love the unknown' single-lyric song kicked in. A grownup can only take so much. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Jan 31, 2008
Corey Haim in "Lucas" is not the same animal as Corey Haim in "License to Drive", or Corey Haim in "Snowboard Academy". The former-child star was startingly good as a dorky fourteen-year-old misfit in the 1986 coming-of-age film. "Rocket Corey Haim in "Lucas" is not the same animal as Corey Haim in "License to Drive", or Corey Haim in "Snowboard Academy". The former-child star was startingly good as a dorky fourteen-year-old misfit in the 1986 coming-of-age film. "Rocket Science" is more like "Lucas" than "Rushmore", "Welcome to the Dollhouse", and other usual suspects from indie-dom that showcases the trials and tribulations of a socially-challenged minor. Lucas didn't get the girl. Lucas didn't catch the football. "Lucas", a studio film, mind you, didn't swing for the fences; it settled for a modest single up the middle. "Rocket Science" is just like that. Like Lucas, Hal Hefner(Reece Thompson) raises his arms in celebration after a miniature victory. This is, by far, a more satisfying end-result than the more conventional ending that "Rocket Science" teases the audience with, before judiciously pulling back and allowing pragmatic deftness back into the story. You can thank the filmmaker's background in documentaries. The stutterer can't win a statewide debating tournament; the filmmaker knows this, but like any person with a handicap, the stutterer can win some self-respect by being unafraid. "Rocket Science" is...is...is...tr-...tr-...tri-..tri-...-um...-um...trium-...-um...-um...-phant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NoraO.Sep 1, 2007
Excellent film. The film made me laugh and cry. Reflecting on my my teen years as a stutterer, I am not sure how I would have responded seeing the film due to my dark denial and rage towards my stutter. However, if the cards had fallen Excellent film. The film made me laugh and cry. Reflecting on my my teen years as a stutterer, I am not sure how I would have responded seeing the film due to my dark denial and rage towards my stutter. However, if the cards had fallen differently and I had ended up in the theatre I would have been able to see myself on screen and not have felt so damn alone. Hal is a very likable teenager. I'd hang out with him! He's a good kid, seeking love, living in a dysfunctional family, very witty, very funny, bright and with wild, passionate, greatness waiting to burst out. This is the first MOVIE (not documentary) that portrays stuttering accurately. Unlike A Fish Called Wanda or Primal Fear and so many other films that ridicule the stutterer or the character is a murderer (Primal Fear). The same that gay characters were portrayed in movies. The movie is not just about stuttering though. Hal is so much more then his stutter. As is the movie. I'm sorry it's moved out of theatres so quickly. Probably because of poor reviews like the one in the NY Times ... clearly the reviewer did not understand the film or care to understand it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeanF.Feb 2, 2008
Very cool high school film! Reminded me of Election or Rushmore or films of that type. A comedy, but very dramatic and dark. Lots of twists and turns, and surprises. One of the most original movies I've seen in some time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NoraLMay 16, 2010
An unexpected little gem of a movie. didn't know what to expect but..... wow. there is much to recommend here. wonderful performances all around from a young cast and dialogue that is natural but so so funny and sharp. kudos!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful