Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 8, 2008
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 280 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
239
Mixed:
27
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
deco20Jun 14, 2013
Best movie ever
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
EbriamHNov 28, 2009
Loved it, from beginning to end. I wild rollercoaster of a film, not too different from Snatch but when judged on it's own, it's a great film. The Real RocknRolla can't come fast enough.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
PhillNov 2, 2008
I really enjoyed this movie, it was witty, good and the critics are just complete assholes in judging it, it seems. This movie was a lot better than other ones that got higher scores in Wide Released status.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GeorginaZ.Nov 7, 2008
Although similar in some ways to some previous Ritchie films - RocknRolla delivered some tasty/nasty characters and a large number of belly laughs - Great flick for people who like to see those most deserving "get it in the end" *lol*.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Nov 14, 2008
The critics are off base here. If you enjoyed Snatch or Lock, Stock, this is worth seeing. I was apprehensive based on the Metascore, but this movie is fun and even the notion of a sequel (The Real RocknRolla) got me excited. It probably The critics are off base here. If you enjoyed Snatch or Lock, Stock, this is worth seeing. I was apprehensive based on the Metascore, but this movie is fun and even the notion of a sequel (The Real RocknRolla) got me excited. It probably won't happen, since Ritchie is working on Sherlock Holmes, but i'm keeping my fingers crossed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CynthiaT.Feb 4, 2009
The folks who say all Guy Ritchie films are the same are confusing style and substance. The style is the same as Snath and Lock Stock and 2 Smoking Barrels, but with a different plot. This is a film you can watch a couple of times and still The folks who say all Guy Ritchie films are the same are confusing style and substance. The style is the same as Snath and Lock Stock and 2 Smoking Barrels, but with a different plot. This is a film you can watch a couple of times and still catch new twists. It's a film I could watch with my teenagers and all of us enjoyed it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EbriamH.Feb 6, 2009
Fantastic, Guy Ritchie has made one of the films of 2008. complex, funny and generally an enjoyable film. good stuff.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
seanf.Feb 23, 2009
Great direction, great casting, great acting, cool story line. Best film I've seen in ages. Vastly underrated.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RowanFJun 29, 2009
VS.D, sorry, but go f**k yourself. Rocknrolla may in fact be the EXACT opposite to what you said. If you are considering seeing this film then you MUST do so! It is one of the greatest, most interesting, thrilling, satisfying movies ever. VS.D, sorry, but go f**k yourself. Rocknrolla may in fact be the EXACT opposite to what you said. If you are considering seeing this film then you MUST do so! It is one of the greatest, most interesting, thrilling, satisfying movies ever. The story has some great unexpected twists and literally kept me on the edge of my seat all the way through, ok so its a little complicated but if you stick with it then you'll love it. The action sequences are awesome and original and I wouldn't swap just one of them for the ALL of the action sequences in Quantom of Solace. Plus the acting and characters are truly superb. All of it comes together to form something so unbelievably amazing that you simply HAVE to see it. Half of these reviewers are talking out of their asses, i'm not even sure we were watching the same movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickR.Aug 15, 2009
Awesome! If you liked Snatch, Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, or any other good Cockney Gangster Film, you will love this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
helomyvictimAug 24, 2011
This simply a great movie, it is well acted well directed and is the perfect blend of action and comedy 10 out of 10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EliotDDec 27, 2011
My favourite movie of all time. This movie got a lot of cr*p for no reason. Even though the beginning lacks a tad of action, the rest of the movie is filled with. I am definitely looking forward for the Real RocknRolla. The movie is actionMy favourite movie of all time. This movie got a lot of cr*p for no reason. Even though the beginning lacks a tad of action, the rest of the movie is filled with. I am definitely looking forward for the Real RocknRolla. The movie is action packed and funny. Some people say that the plot twists are too predictable, but I ask them, what plot twists their are none. It's just a flowing movie of awesome. Lots of people compare it to snatch, however it's completely different. Snatch happens in the little league gangs of east london, while as RocknRolla is with the high rollers of West London. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DarkEnergonJul 25, 2012
RocknRolla tells an engaging story, a surprise in itself given just how many character arcs are taken on, but screenwriter-director Guy Ritchie handles this monumental task well, each group of characters have their own individual storyRocknRolla tells an engaging story, a surprise in itself given just how many character arcs are taken on, but screenwriter-director Guy Ritchie handles this monumental task well, each group of characters have their own individual story unfold, but crossover and intertwine with others until the conclusion, where the plot drives each of the characters to the one place. I am reminded of Grand Theft Auto IV and its two DLC ("The Lost and the Damned" and "The Ballad of Gay Tony") and how the main characters' stories, while on the whole entirely different affairs, crossover at certain points, maybe its just me, but that's a narrative technique that I find admirable. The cast pull it off with an aplomb, I mean, come on, Gerard Butler, Tom Hardy, Mark Strong and Tom Wilkinson to name but a few, this movie's casting is nothing short of inspired. But most important of all, the cast seem to have fun with their roles, and it's awesome to see actors who enjoy what they do not just for the extensive salary, but for the joy of acting itself. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
nateMar 23, 2009
I like it how so many people say this movie is boring. You would have to be an idiot to even fathom that! its a fast paced action thriller with good action and well crafted humor. Excited to see the next installment!!!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CoDFatherOct 10, 2010
This movie, by far, is the best film I've seen in a while. Yeah, this review is a little late, according to when the movie first came out, but i just saw the trailer again, so I saw it. Let me just say, as a critic, I do not, I repeat, DO NOTThis movie, by far, is the best film I've seen in a while. Yeah, this review is a little late, according to when the movie first came out, but i just saw the trailer again, so I saw it. Let me just say, as a critic, I do not, I repeat, DO NOT care for what you have to say about this movie, unless you have something good to say about it. I loved this movie, the cinematography, the storyline, the action, the humor, the mystery, it is nearly perfect. 10 out of 10. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
benzy101Mar 28, 2011
guy Ritchie did it again with this movie, it is easily one of the best films i have ever seen witch for some reason is hated by critics. In any case before you gauge it go and watch it ... i promise you will not be disappointed.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
FrankieB.Nov 1, 2008
I thought this movie was awesome. It had a lot of build/set up where I was doubting that the payoff would be satisfying, but all of a sudden this movie takes off to the Guy Ritchie storytelling we all know and love. Some really good sub I thought this movie was awesome. It had a lot of build/set up where I was doubting that the payoff would be satisfying, but all of a sudden this movie takes off to the Guy Ritchie storytelling we all know and love. Some really good sub plots and characters and some that would have been better left on the cutting room floor. Either way, I'm ready for more! Keep 'em coming! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarekP.Nov 22, 2008
Guy ritchie is back with a true badass movie. After very weak Revolver when everyone thought Guy Ritchie lost his breath after Snatch this great movie came up and its just excellent. I cant wait for DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlbertT.Dec 19, 2008
The story was fine, not Ritchie's best work but certainly interesting enough to hold together a movie, but the movie just didn't quite have the signature character of his earlier crime-action flicks. That said, I still enjoyed it The story was fine, not Ritchie's best work but certainly interesting enough to hold together a movie, but the movie just didn't quite have the signature character of his earlier crime-action flicks. That said, I still enjoyed it and would recommend it to any die hard Ritchie fans with a couple of hours to kill. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AbhinavR.Jan 18, 2009
Guy Ritchie needs to add some variety to his movies. Don't get me wrong, I very much enjoyed Snatch and Lock Stock but since then, his movies have been pretty much the same. If this is your first Guy Ritchie movie, one more will Guy Ritchie needs to add some variety to his movies. Don't get me wrong, I very much enjoyed Snatch and Lock Stock but since then, his movies have been pretty much the same. If this is your first Guy Ritchie movie, one more will probably be enough to wrap up his work. 6 out of 10 because it wasn't a bad movie, just a bit cliche for Guy Ritchie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CherylAJan 26, 2009
You had to see this movie a couple of times to really get it and once you do--it's RocknRollin!!!! go GB
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackP.Jan 30, 2009
This is what you get when you mix a good cast with a great story. It's funny, thrilling, and almost perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
sVc.Feb 1, 2009
It's pretty simple. If you like "Lock, Stock" & "Snatch" then your pretty much guaranteed to like this. Richie basically plays the same cards, but in doing so, you know what your going to get. As always, it's a fun ride and you It's pretty simple. If you like "Lock, Stock" & "Snatch" then your pretty much guaranteed to like this. Richie basically plays the same cards, but in doing so, you know what your going to get. As always, it's a fun ride and you will like the characters as well as the dialogue. This movie seems to be a little more stylish then his others. Maybe a little more "grown up" for lack of a better phrase. Put it this way: at the end, there's a hint to a sequel. I'm looking forward to it. Although it didn't do that well at the box office, so I wonder if that will actually happen. I hope it does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichR.Feb 6, 2009
This was pretty fun, although Thandie Newton reinvents the concept of "dry" in this. Anyway, I don't understand why Toby Kebbell (Johnny Quid) isn't an international superstar. He steals just about every movie he's in This was pretty fun, although Thandie Newton reinvents the concept of "dry" in this. Anyway, I don't understand why Toby Kebbell (Johnny Quid) isn't an international superstar. He steals just about every movie he's in (Control, and Dead Man's Shoes with the equally great Paddy Considine, who is Britain's best actor right now). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayBFeb 13, 2009
Like all of Ritchie's films. Fun, twisted and humorous in a accidently-shot-myself-in-the-foot type of way. Don't let the critics fool you, this film is worth a watch or two. (those arseholes are so full of their own feces anyways).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
konstantinKFeb 23, 2009
Pretty decent considering his previous movies. still, corny premise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
titzaMar 10, 2009
Come on, it's a really funny, exciting movie, with a awesome sountrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LukeD.Oct 27, 2009
After the miss steps with 'Revolver' and 'Swept Away' Guy Richie is back with a pretty good film, with a great soundtrack, funny one-liners and a good cast this makes one entertaining gansta movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisG.Nov 10, 2009
Now that Madonna has left Guy Ritchie returns to form and does here what he does best. If you liked Lock, Stock and Snatch you'l like this one as well. I've only seen it one time but it looked brilliant and I think the humor is Now that Madonna has left Guy Ritchie returns to form and does here what he does best. If you liked Lock, Stock and Snatch you'l like this one as well. I've only seen it one time but it looked brilliant and I think the humor is even a tad different from the previous outings. Comes very highly recommended for fans of the genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonnyJun 18, 2010
I'm'a have to give Rowan F a high 5 here, its a fabulous film, one of the most enjoyable action films of the last few years, captivated from start to finish and left satisfied!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
This movie was so much better then I though that it would be. I remember seeing previews for it and thinking it would be just horrible. After watching the movie I was proved wrong, the story soundtrack, acting, flow, plot were all great.This movie was so much better then I though that it would be. I remember seeing previews for it and thinking it would be just horrible. After watching the movie I was proved wrong, the story soundtrack, acting, flow, plot were all great. There where only two minors complaints that I had. First it drug on a little in a couple spots and the dance scene was kinda stupid. Otherwise the movie was fantastic, I loved the robbery scene, I don't think I have laughed that hard in a long time. Overall the movie was enjoyable and fun to watch, this is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heybuddymoviesAug 1, 2011
I like Guy Ritchie as a director, his style and vision for his films. I couldnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BadmojomanSep 26, 2011
This is one of those films people will hate or love. The movie is more of a cult-hit sort of a deal where majority of the public will not be impressed, but a selected few will absolutely adore it. If you have seen Guy Richies previous workThis is one of those films people will hate or love. The movie is more of a cult-hit sort of a deal where majority of the public will not be impressed, but a selected few will absolutely adore it. If you have seen Guy Richies previous work then, its more or less of the same thing (not a bad thing). If you plan to watch it however, I strongly recommend doing so alone or in a small group, DO however turn on the subtitles even if you are a native speaker, since some of the witty jokes are thrown out so casually you might not even notice em. The movie plays mostly off the atmosphere and interesting characters with the story taking a back seat most of the way. I have seen it 3 times and I noticed new things on each sitting(also understood the story as a whole after the final sitting). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SteadyMSep 25, 2012
Fast-paced, a good, fun watch. Lots of small, funny, "character moments" that made it interesting and engaging. Don't know why it has such a low critic rating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StevenFMar 5, 2013
RocknRolla brings an ensemble cast, some who have done extremely well in life after this film, and have thrown them into a very fast-paced and pulsating film that doesn't come up for air.
This isn't necessarily bad, Guy Ritchie, after all,
RocknRolla brings an ensemble cast, some who have done extremely well in life after this film, and have thrown them into a very fast-paced and pulsating film that doesn't come up for air.
This isn't necessarily bad, Guy Ritchie, after all, is the writer and director of this British crime/comedy film, and he does an exceedingly good job at integrating each cast member to be of a particular use when the time comes.
So One Two (Gerard Butler) and Mumbles (Idris Elba) are basically thieves, if the complex story is to be believed, and they owe quite a debt to underground crook Lenny Cole (Tom Wilkinson) and his associate, Archie (Mark Strong), who lead in an awfully witty and humorous script that is up there with the best of Ritchie's films.
There is a vast array of characters who all play minor parts in the big picture, literally, because a painting lent to Cole has been stolen and is being traced down. Tom Hardy, Ludicrous, Jeremy Piven, Toby Kebbell and the cunning yet beautiful Thandie Newton, all play pivotal roles to create a largely entertaining crime film of the Ritchie tradition.
It does, however, have its shortcomings. The plot is a little complex to the point where it can sometimes be too quick, or too much going on to even give a damn to pay attention to the actual story and instead enjoy the action moments. There is also the problem of a large part of the cast being under used or not really standing out in their roles, apart from maybe Thandie Newton, Mark Strong and Tom Wilkinson, the rest just appear to be going along for the sake of it. Toby Kebbell is also annoyingly memorable in his role.
But these small problems aside, this is still and excellent and enjoyable film, with the cinematography being of true excellence, highlighting particular scenes to show their importance, or just to add depth, like most Guy Ritchie films. The witty and smart script is catchy and noteworthy, with plenty of British slang and quips to amuse the best of us, and is well delivered from the talent at show, some more so than others.
it has all the potential to be a classic, with its underlying humour and glitzy take on crime in London, but a few minor story details and over-abundance of characters stop it from being masterful.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CleviathanAug 24, 2015
Watched this at release and I think the issue was I wanted a Lock Stock, watched it last night and it was a great couple of hours of entertainment. Mark Strong superb as ever and great cast and script.
Did Sir Alan get hisLondon dwellings this way?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews